casual bike talk..

jaykay4540
post Feb 22 2022, 11:38 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 22 2022, 08:54 AM)

Initially, I was asking your experience on setting up conventional forks for track use. I asked because my current forks and shocks are not balanced or neutral. Specifically, my forks even with 20wt oil is softer than my rear shock, a modified stock emulsion shock.

Adding to that, I am not looking at spring rate to fix the stiffness, rather looking to improve damping on the forks.

Maybe the spring gotta do with it, I don't know. YSS fork kit, any experience?
Cartridge kit is a bit pricey, as I just want to achieve better damping performance for road use.
i see. the answer is yss spring upgrade kit definitely much better damping than original spring.
i started with original suspension on my fz. can only add oil to make it stiffer. problem is reduce effectiveness of spring to absorb impact.

then the cbr and fz from mototech both using yss upgrade kit.
feels so much different. its soft and you can feel the feedback from the handle, but stiff enough to keep the bike stable.
one example is, let say both ori and yss have same travel distance, when you applied forces, the ori will instantly bottomed out, compared to yss that gradually compressed and released.

so i would say yss upgrade kit is worth it.
jaykay4540
post Aug 13 2023, 07:21 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(FamousLastWords @ Aug 12 2023, 03:30 PM)
any 2022 KTM RC 390 owners here? contemplating to get one as a weekend bike/highway riding
suggest to buy used unit. not worth to buy new.
jaykay4540
post Aug 29 2023, 01:55 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Aug 28 2023, 06:53 PM)
problem cheapo lever if jatuh terus patah ori one more durable
cheap mah. buy 5 sets siap siap ohwai
jaykay4540
post Nov 4 2023, 10:14 PM

65 posts

short review on new Kawadenas z900 SE
got Blemboo and Ohling yoooww

This post has been edited by jaykay4540: Nov 4 2023, 10:15 PM
jaykay4540
post Nov 29 2023, 12:13 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 28 2023, 10:33 AM)
2-300 only? i think thats the price per fork?

when i did my versys it was more total... but that oso had leak la.

forgot stock oil weight... i think 5w....cant remember though.

Z9SE Ohlins is rear only... front is same as stock iinm,
z9se front fork not ohlin, but got extra adjustment than normal z9.

jaykay4540
post Dec 5 2023, 11:49 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 29 2023, 08:59 AM)
I recall the front is fully adjustable, plus it works with radial calipers
the brembo monobloc is gooding yoowww drool.gif
jaykay4540
post Dec 12 2023, 02:07 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 6 2023, 01:39 PM)
can you help me see what disk it comes with? I think it's a Brembo disk

i didnt see any blembo mark on the rotor
jaykay4540
post Jan 7 2024, 10:53 PM

65 posts

KTM reintroduce SMT variant. Details as below

KTM 890 SMT launching
jaykay4540
post Jan 17 2024, 10:50 PM

65 posts

how to break in new brake pad?
i just change a new sintered pad and it didnt bite as strong as I expected.
jaykay4540
post Jan 19 2024, 03:07 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jan 17 2024, 11:46 PM)
Assuming the brake fluid is fine, the system has been bled and the pads are installed correctly, you may try wiping down your brake discs with brake cleaner to remove residual brakepad material from your old brakepads. If the calipers were regreased or if brake grease is applied to the back of the brakepads during installation, needless to say that care has to be taken to make sure no grease ends up on the brakepad material and on the brake discs.

Apart from that, there is no special 'break-in' method for new brakepads that I am aware of. You just use your brakes normally, being careful not to take risks as they may not grip as much until they bed in with the brake discs after like 50kms or so of use.

Mine are working fine and they bite well during commuting, except the organic material of the new Daytona Golds makes the lever feel spongier than before. But they don't make that hissing sound against the brake discs while pushing the bike around in the car park.
Brake response is good. not squishy or super hard either. just that braking distance is a bit longer that I expected. Mid braking, i tried to applied more force but no change in braking power.
will try to clean with brake cleaner as your suggestion.

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jan 18 2024, 08:02 AM)
rotor elok tak? scammmer jay owai
elok sajohh. brake tak wikang saja whistling.gif

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 18 2024, 11:10 PM)
what pads? got photo?

to break in, ride at moderate speed and press the brake while the bike keep going
do not let the bike stop with the brakes engaged hot
can use throttle like trail braking, but careful not to overheat the brakes else the disk will turn blue/black
using NiBK sintered brake pad. will try to force braking while throttle as well.
hopefully can "cook" the pad faster
jaykay4540
post Jan 19 2024, 11:39 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 19 2024, 04:18 PM)
the idea is to 'mate' the brake pads to the old disk

is it on your CBR? I was hoping you took a photo of the brakepads
never heard this brand before, so I googled a bit, seems they only make ceramic and semi-metallic brakepads, not real sintered brake pads

this one says "ceramic sintered"

if the brakepads look like this (without the grooves), I think will be quite difficult to use, no initial bite and very prone to fading
now you mentioned it, indeed ceramic sintered. i got scammed? OMG
ohwai
ya the cbr. we tested it for the first time last sunday in Sepang Gokart track.
super hot day. come back home with these ugly set of tyres.

start of the day with fresh set of tyres.

This post has been edited by jaykay4540: Jan 19 2024, 11:44 PM
jaykay4540
post Jan 21 2024, 10:55 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 21 2024, 09:02 PM)
confirm the pads not suitable for you
get proper pads that matching the disk

are those R11? macam melted, maybe you all too power liao
or everyone else's tyre also kena like that?
deymmm. its hard to find parts for this tukun bike.

ya R11. was super hot that day. i even got sunburned laugh.gif
but thats actually gokart slick rubber that we picked up on the track.
hot tyre + hot rubber = taik lekat fml
will avoid trackdays with gokart team next time.
jaykay4540
post Feb 20 2024, 12:33 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 19 2024, 04:08 PM)
I just posted my 800NK review at the 800NK thread for those interested for a read.
demm. qc need to be step up so much.
jaykay4540
post Mar 15 2024, 12:57 AM

65 posts

Havent tried D400 but D250 felt pretty heavy and under powered.

Is D400 better in terms of power delivery?

jaykay4540
post Apr 23 2024, 03:51 PM

65 posts

usually touring tyres have higher side wall.
Giving the tyres D profile. bigger contact patch on the middle.

sport tyres with low side wall makes the tyre profile like V
more contact on lean and also easier to flip the bike from side to side.

so pick tyres that look handsome on your bike. malu la supersport using 70 sidewall. :laugh:
tak laju takpe. yang penting hensemm laugh.gif
jaykay4540
post Apr 26 2024, 10:29 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 23 2024, 08:47 PM)

I thought sidewall is the same given the tyre size punya second number?

My impression:
Metzeler - round round one, kinda like U shape, difficult to get rid of chicken strips because the edges are at a ridiculous lean angle
Michelin/Battlax - flatter, modestly V-shaped, lesser chicken strips
Pirelli - the most V of them all, except older models like Rosso II
ya lor. 70 above usually touring tyre.
deswai i said supersport dont use laa tyres with high sidewall not good looking biggrin.gif
jaykay4540
post May 6 2024, 01:15 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ May 6 2024, 10:18 AM)
If you bought a used bike from a shop and they changed the engine oil for you, would you still change the oil if you didn't know what kind of oil/filter they put in?

Recently got a Ninja 400 and as part of the package the shop did an oil change while I was paying up, but I wasn't looking when they did the work so I don't actually know what oil did they use and whether they changed the filter. I did check that the oil is fresh and light in color still.
wow. which shop? how much you got it for?
jaykay4540
post May 9 2024, 12:05 PM

65 posts

tested riding in sepang gokart last night
improved a lot regarding track lighting.

small suggestion: wear clear visor & use pinlock antifog as night time it gets colder

NIGHT TRACKDAY TESTED
jaykay4540
post May 14 2024, 12:09 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ May 14 2024, 11:02 AM)
if using latest model 1-2 month max bro
where u send?
i send my bike to mok wangsa maju kawtim everything
in mok we trusttt wkwkwkwk
jaykay4540
post May 29 2024, 11:49 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ May 28 2024, 04:45 PM)
passed my bfull JPJ on first test  rclxms.gif . 7.2sec on titi, 5.65sec on emergency brake. hahaha
mantabs. rempit legal now thumbup.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0316sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:19 AM