casual bike talk..

WH4CockcooBird
post Apr 29 2023, 10:12 AM

194 posts

With your boxes full, how would you secure your expensive / sexy looking helmet if you decide to stop at R&R for a short nap?

I would imagine take out something from box and put the helmet in, before going to a bench or somewhere for a short nap?
WH4CockcooBird
post Apr 30 2023, 03:48 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Apr 29 2023, 12:54 PM)
hug your helmet while sleeping 🤣
yeah was thinking of this option too.. tongue.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 19 2023, 10:30 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(david22022022 @ Jul 19 2023, 07:24 AM)
what earplugs ypu guys use? disposables, reusables, customs? currently using 3m and they are good for the price, just the consistency of quality sucks on each packed earplugs. sometimes you can roll them and they stay that rolled position for a while which makes entering the ear so easy. but sometimes the roll instantly expands leaving you no time to jam it into the ear.
Tried many types, wanted to share all the types here but been forgetting and lazy to take photos.

- Those with strings attached silicon plug, the plug may get dislodged from it's perfect position in ear when you put on your helmet. Need special care on where the strings are before you put on helmet. On long ride it hurts the ear 'cos it's a bit hard.

- Those roll type, not all are equal.

The best I had found, and using is this. Bought a load of them. Usually reuse few times before I throw away for new one, when the sponge effect weaken.

WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 19 2023, 10:37 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Jul 18 2023, 07:57 PM)

Hello all, last time I did saw one of you guys diy installing helmet intercom speaker.
I have one shark riddils helmet I did go through the helmet but I didn't find any marking or hole, appreciate if someone could guide me on how to open the hole for speaker.
You mean this?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4861615/+671#

WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 19 2023, 01:02 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Jul 19 2023, 12:47 PM)
Yea, been searching this for quite some time... Any idea how to accurately locate speaker position?
Well, I think you can put on your helmet, take a chop stick slide in between your ear hole and helmet, then try poke and make a dent in the helmet foam as a marker.. that should be your center spot.

else just agak agak and pray to whatever god....

else just go buy a Shoei or HJC tongue.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Sep 5 2023, 08:16 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 4 2023, 09:45 AM)
wow this current ops, my friend kene for the foglights/spotlights. never bukak but he kene because its there
Wah.. really go by the book.

I like it.
WH4CockcooBird
post Sep 5 2023, 08:22 AM

194 posts

I have spotlight too knowing the law doesn't allow, but my safety comes first.

I adjusted it to make sure it's optimum, not blinding on coming vehicles, yet give me enough coverage where my headlight lacks.

I will turn it on when I am filtering through heavy traffic, or ride at night / in the rain. Otherwise, it remains off.

WH4CockcooBird
post Sep 30 2024, 11:02 PM

194 posts

Hey guys.

My friend just got a used Versys 650, mint condition.

Previous owner have installed 2 spotlights and 1 charger. Wiring looks messy but not like spaghetti mess lah.

Do you all know any shop around Subang area that is willing to take out all the wiring for accessories, re-arrange and re-run them?

This post has been edited by WH4CockcooBird: Sep 30 2024, 11:03 PM
WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 1 2024, 11:48 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 1 2024, 10:52 AM)
this will actually be good for ur friend to do on his own. itll help him learn the bike more.

i personally enjoy doing this kinda stuff lol
Wiring is something he hated most biggrin.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 1 2024, 01:50 PM

194 posts

Guys, any spotlight to recommend? Or cincai buy any will do.

Want yellow mostly.

and, why people install 2 pairs of spotlight?
WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 1 2024, 07:45 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Oct 1 2024, 02:28 PM)
satu tembak wide
satu tembak jauh

if u dont ride at night no need lah to install
semak je and silau u know for incoming vehicle
I ride at night through hutans and bukits without streetlight.

WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 2 2024, 07:56 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 2 2024, 10:36 AM)
can look on shopee for those with both white and yellow light... usually referred to as mini driving lights. those are really bright.

u can have both hi n low beam... which color is hi or low is dependant on how u orientate the light.

Thanks a lot.

How about wiring and switch?
I will try to DIY and see if I can open up the fairings of the damn scooter.
WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 4 2024, 07:33 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 3 2024, 09:38 AM)
If you have budget and want to simplify. Newer generation premium lights have a wireless switch.

So just power (from a relay feed) to the lamps. The wireless switch can toggle on/off and different modes. Saves an extra wiring loom to the handle bar.

If you go for a wired switched option, see if you can mount the switch somewhere on the fairing instead of the handlebar. I have 2 broken harnesses from the constant movement of the handlebar. But then again my mileage is a lot higher than most riders.

Generally I dislike toggle mode yellow/white (2 wire - power and gnd). Sometimes they can go out of sync. Find lamps that have independent power for yellow/white (3 wire , white, yellow, gnd) so you can get use a hardwired 3 way switch)
Will consider the wireless switch option.

I don't like toggle mode. Prefer direct mode either I get white or yellow per my previous bike's installation.

Will look up options with wireless switch.

Thanks!
WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 4 2024, 05:20 PM

194 posts

Found this spotlight wiring with wireless switch for RMB75 (~MYR48) only.

Sorry somehow I can't upload photo after pressing the "upload image" button.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=619953...d=4788341721947

Gonna order one.
WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 5 2024, 07:07 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(elimi8z @ Oct 4 2024, 11:12 PM)
Do you guys ppf your bikes?
No.

WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 5 2024, 05:34 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Oct 5 2024, 02:26 PM)
I just came back from Vietnam (for leisure travel) and I have decided to get a motor license. It's just easier if I could rent a bike somewhere and travel especially in SEA. If I go for BFull, is it going to be difficult? The bike is also heavier right with bigger CC? I see a lot of those scooter (like Yamaha XMAX 250), are those easy to ride vs kapchai? I am used to bicycle, my only concern with motorcycle is definitely safety but I don't plan to speed lah. Nor travel around KL a lot with bike. Thinking to just start with a scooter? Vespa is cute but i heard it's expensive stuffs. And then ride to gym or tapau food only. Hahaha!
I had no bike license and never rode a bike my entire life of nearly half century.

3 years ago I decide to check off this mid life crisis and go for it. I took Full B.

I have height advantage at 182cm.

I had also spent more time at learning school to practice, that’s on top of the compulsory hours. I keep going back at weekends to practice before my exam.

Those practice days with heavy bikes made me realize what I should get after I got my license. Scooter.

Advantage of full B at learning school is number of learners are just a handful to compete with the available bike at learning school.

Don’t be afraid to fail and had to retake. Count this as blessing so you can clock more hours of practice. Every hour of learning you will gain more sense with riding and contribute to your safety awareness.

Just go do it and don’t think so much.

WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 5 2024, 08:30 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Oct 5 2024, 04:47 PM)
lol so what can I do?
Get your license first.

Figure out if you like shifting gear or not while handling big bikes.

Figure out if you ride for the thrill of speed with bugs in the teeth, or, to enjoy scenery ride comfortably no brain power needs to change gear match speed at difficult bends.

Easy ride, scooter.

Easy ride get on off, walkthrough scooter like Vespa, Vario.

Easy ride with long range capability, maxi scooter with large fuel tank and large storage below seat. Plenty in this category that's quite capable.

WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 5 2024, 09:30 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Oct 5 2024, 09:18 PM)
I am pretty short. Only at 156CM. Is full B with the heavy bike a bit too much?
Even if i take B2, i can still practice on my own right if i have my own bike?
The process of taking license is the same for B or B2.

If you have none right now, suggest just suck it go for full B.

Rather than B2 then have to repeat the process to go full B.

Stop analysing, just go driving school ask the process, and ask tell them your concern if you are able to handle the big bike. They will / should have lower seating big bikes if you think you cannot handle.
WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 5 2024, 09:33 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 5 2024, 09:27 PM)

If you can drive a manual car, you already have the mechanics sorted, the only difference is using your left hand for the clutch instead of your left foot.
Yep. I handled this pretty well, after I learnt how to gear shift the big bike... down up up up down down down half up.
That half up to neutral always caught me biggrin.gif

But clutching never an issue, just follow the rhythm like driving manual car.
WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 5 2024, 09:36 PM

194 posts

I was having a lot of concern and reserves going from my heavy ADV160 (at 125kg) to ADV350 (at 185kg). Told myself just suck it, force myself to sell away the 160 after I get the 350.

Force myself to ride the bigger heavier 350 around and voila, 1 week plus I was zooming up and down Loke Yew / Kuching during peak hour land filtering with confident.

Can still be heavy to push around to park but found ways to overcome this. Just sit on it and use my leg to push.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1892sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:56 PM