casual bike talk..

WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 26 2022, 12:58 PM

194 posts

Looking at CFMoto 650 and Honda CB500X, for touring.

Like the CFMoto that comes with side boxes and save me headache trying to buy more, and has 150cc more..

On the other hand CB500X is a Honda lah...
Service and parts is a no brainer...

On the other hand, CFmoto... still don't have much comfort with their service network and parts availability lah... like MForce, seeing what my friends had to suffer when need to repair their bike, told myself to avoid anything MForce.

Don't know why I post here lah, but hope to see what existing owners had to comment smile.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Jul 27 2022, 01:40 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jul 26 2022, 02:05 PM)
You can order parts online from China, if the KTNS didn't have stock, delivery max 2 weeks. And  CFMoto support network currently only in KL Setapak and offcourse their Kilang in Jawi - Penang.  If you not from Klang Valley or Penang area I suggest to avoid this brand for now.

However their community growing and for now still have strong support from the Distributor in MY (KTNS). as KTNS only concentrate in small number of bike variant unlike MFORCE which everything they sapu.
That's what I noticed, it's the reason I am even considering CFMoto and not considering anything MForce.

Seems like servicing outlet and parts availability is still quite limited for CFMoto from CFMoto sad.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Aug 6 2022, 09:52 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Aug 5 2022, 10:35 AM)
i wasn't thinking about top box as an option. thanks  icon_rolleyes.gif
Was in this dilemma

Ends up installs top box,
And when really need to leave helmet on bike,
I just bring my cheap helmet to leave it there
WH4CockcooBird
post Nov 26 2022, 07:49 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 24 2022, 03:09 PM)
sad, i failed B2 JPJ test today.
too nervous and fail on titi haiz
during practice go how many times also no problems
Sorry to hear that.

During my exam day, a few B2 simply die fire, right after titi, and just about to complete the circuit on the final stop before heading to park the bike. These are locations right in front of the examiners and seen by everyone there. It was an immediate strike out.

Can't offer much advise on handling titi. Like riding a bicycle, I just know I had to keep going in order to not fall. So I accelerate and brake at the same time to maintain constant speed after ram myself up the titi.
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 5 2022, 11:10 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 5 2022, 01:45 PM)
ooh thanks for the explaining, i just found this out yesterday.
previously when i practice titi i always on/off throttle if losing too much speed, or tap tap rear brake if its too fast hence causing it to be very unstable
din know its so much easier n stable just by holding throttle + pressing rear brake  sweat.gif
my retest is on this coming thursday
Yes, throttle + press rear brake to regulate on titi.

All the best this Thursday, yukenduit!
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 5 2022, 11:13 PM

194 posts

I learn to conquer my riding fear of lane split by going through the toughest traffic in KL.

Touch wood, only a few light knock on some poor sod's rear view mirror. So light that mirror didn't fold forward.. light tap.

It's dangerous!!

Have to always make sure I am not too fast over the static or slow moving cars, at most I do is 20km/h over the slow moving cars.

Need to keep eye on their front tires for any slight steering hint they are gonna just switch lane in front of you.

This is nerve wrecking.

WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 6 2022, 12:09 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 6 2022, 11:53 AM)

btw, whats a good site to search for used bike other than mudah?
Other than mudah is Facebook, in groups where people are offering to sell their bikes.

WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 8 2022, 10:52 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 8 2022, 03:01 PM)
do you have tips for tht slight moment when u bumped up the ramp and kinda move left n right?
Because you stop throttle at the point you bump up, and it will cause the imbalance straight away.

Bump up fast, then slow down by regulating rear brake and not turn off throttle.

Practice smile.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 9 2022, 02:03 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 9 2022, 09:58 AM)
i have been watching a lot of youtube video yesterday for tips and these are wat i learnt from japanese driving school video.
its amazing they can cross the titi in more than 2 minutes

1. like everyone here suggested, go up the ramp faster
2. use rear break
3. don't move your body, especially lower body as it will causes the bike to be very unstable
4. control the bike by only using handlebar, not your body
5. try not to go in a straight line and force to hold the handlebar still, instead move the handlebar left n right so the motor will move zigzag, this is way more stable then going slow in a straight line
Don't overthink and over ANALyse things.. just do it +1

WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 13 2022, 09:43 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 13 2022, 09:11 AM)
i try not to ride at night or rainy day at all

tht day ride during a drizzly night darn scary

with visor down i get all the water droplets on it and the droplets make all the lights more glaring making it hard to see the road
That's why it's always good to apply rain-x plastic or something equivalent for water repellant

The bigger problem riding in rain with full face helmet is fogging up of my glasses.
The visor has anti fog liner so that helps.
Glasses fogging up is pain in ass.

But general rule still applies
Try to avoid riding at night or in rain if possible.
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 14 2022, 11:39 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Dec 14 2022, 10:59 PM)

And yes riding slow in rainy weather at night is pretty hard with the droplets blending all the lights together.
Oddly I don't really encounter glasses fogging issue, my helmet has a breath guard piece that works quite well I guess, and if you had ridden for 5-10 minutes, your glasses should had equalized with the helmet interior temperature that it shouldn't fog up. My helmet is a Shoei Neotec 2 though laugh.gif

I actually placed order for a CB650R already, waiting patiently now.... cry.gif
My HJC C70 causes fogging on my glasses in the rain, had to leave a crack on the visor and not fully shut it.
My GT Air 2, new addition, haven't rode in rain yet.

I uses Ipone water repellant on my visor, the same one as Skyblu3 showed you.

When did you book the CB650R?

WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 15 2022, 10:07 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Dec 15 2022, 01:15 AM)
Your C70 does not have chin ventilation? At lower speeds usually i open the chin ventilation, else yeah come to think of it my glasses will start fogging up too but at higher speeds all vents closed there is enough air coming from the neck cushion that my glasses do not fog up.

I booked the CB650R in early Oct. No idea when will get, last I heard end dec or early Jan hmm.gif
Chin vent on C70 does not seem to provide the needed ventilation, no diff open or shut.

GT Air2 chin vent is working very well and very obvious. Can feel how the air flow in and go out behind your head, the cooling needed at the right place.

If you can get in Dec / Jan you are very lucky.
I booked my Forza in April 2022 and still waiting biggrin.gif
I hope they tell you the year, not just month... hope year is not 2024 biggrin.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 16 2022, 01:54 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Voopoo @ Dec 16 2022, 12:35 PM)
what insurance did you purchase? those bawah pokok small lil shops before the border is not enough right?
i wanna give it a try crossing border but sked of punctured tyre, theft etc..
any advise?
I had been following this guy on FB.
He writes quite useful article about such thing like insurance.
He also helps with recovery and incidences in Thailand.

WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 16 2022, 01:55 PM

194 posts

One day... one fine day.... I will cross over .... 🤪
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 16 2022, 02:34 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(Voopoo @ Dec 16 2022, 02:10 PM)
thank you, will follow him to learn more
should do it when you can, am itching to give it a go but waiting to upgrade my bike first before crossing over. long rides on a 250 is really exhausting.
I am new to riding, mid life crisis lah. hahaha...

Still building up my balls to ride.

I had done long rides on my ADV150, like 400km a day.
Surprisingly not tiring at all... not at all!

Love it's seating position, no vibration and smooth ride.
Suspension to me is really good.

My next long trip for few days, planning to visit northern border.
Have not been to Perlis, not to mention all the border point crossing to Thailand.

No intention to cross over.

I am torn between the two routes below:

[a] KL -> Kuala Perlis -> east bound visit all border crossing -> Tumpat -> then decide coastal via KTrg and LPT back to KL or other route.

[b] KL -> Kuala Perlis -> visit some border point -> then Penang Taiping etc spending 1 night at each and slowly come back KL.

going to be a 4-5 days trip.
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 16 2022, 04:58 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(xnobys @ Dec 16 2022, 04:25 PM)
Do check out Kuala Sanglang's coastal route if you are heading to Perlis from the south.

If Kuala Perlis to Taiping via Gerik, do check out Sumpitan's route to Kamunting/Taiping.

Before going in the East - West Highway, please ensure that you fill up you fuel tank in Gerik (if from Perak) or Batu Melintang (if from Kelantan). It would be about 100km+ without petrol station in between the 2 areas.
Thanks for that suggestion.

Just checked my Google Map.
Yes, those 2 routes were marked, just don't know the same biggrin.gif

Yeah, petrol filling is also marked.
Thanks for the pointer.

Good thing my bike is frugal on fuel.
One tank 280km~350km range.
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 17 2022, 02:30 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 17 2022, 12:22 PM)
Yo, I paid deposit for my used pcx already.
It's a steal.
Year 2017, mileage only 7k. Body and engine all nice nice.
OTR RM6k
Congrats!
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 19 2022, 09:37 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 19 2022, 08:00 AM)
another good page to follow is this ANF

regularly posts in kembaraku and adventure touring about insurance claim that they handle in thailand. very good service i would say.
cikgu joe satun doesn't sell insurance package. this ANF does. rather than buying insurance package somewhere and be left with no support across the border i say better get from ANF.
Noted and notes taken.

By the way, care to share a few places for newbie like me to travel to for 1-2 nights and what hotels / place of interest to look for?

Tempted to start a new dedicated thread for Thailand

Hmmm…
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 19 2022, 12:11 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(xnobys @ Dec 19 2022, 12:01 PM)
I would suggest you start from Gerik because most of the nice view in on your left rather than on the other side of the road. The R&R viewpoint is also on your left.

The road is good in general but some areas are filled with potholes.

Better start in the morning as the air is fresh and there would be continuous vehicle you could ask for assistance if there is an emergency. Heard a lot of horror stories from people who travelled in the evenings/nights.
If I am heading East, my plan was to stay one night at Gerik and slowly move east the next morning.

That way I can enjoy (hopefully) most stops and views before arriving at KB / Tumpat
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 20 2022, 01:04 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 19 2022, 02:25 PM)
I vote for a new thread in biker base for Thailand.
We could pitch in with tips and places to stop, places to eat, places to stay.

I vote you be thread starter since I'm lazy to organize and edit the first few post with info hehe
KANASAI!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Ok, challenge accepted..

Thread started..

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

0.2623sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:35 PM