casual bike talk..

Patent
post May 2 2023, 02:27 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 2 2023, 09:20 AM)
Can try to see if the owner has kept a service history or parts replacement. Unlike a car, a bike is a very personal item.... Very few owners will be ignorant of what was done on the bike. The owner should be able to get into all sorts of nitty gritty about the bike. If the owner doesnt know or reluctant to talk about the bike. ....be aware.

Cosmetic parts can be refurbished or replaced..so the only way to test is to ride it and make sure it doesn't handle funny. Bring a multimeter and check if the charging system is ok. Check the chain and wear on the sprockets. Do a cold start so how it runs or how easy it starts. Go for a test ride check how it revs, go up and down each gear , make sure power delivery is smooth. Check the brakes. Listen for weird sounds and noises. Check if the wheels line up. Open up the seat and check the subframe and rest of the frame for any damage or odd weld spots. Check if the wiring is intact and not hacked up like shit with wire taps all over the place. If aux wiring is done, check to see if the owner actually bothered to do it correctly with different colour wire and proper termination.

Check to see how the tyres wear. It tells a story on how the bike was ridden. If the bike only shows wear on the centre, it probably wasn't pushed hard into corners. Same goes to the peg feelers.
How old a bike are we talking about here?

I would generally ignore any light bumps and scrapes. Who among us don't jatuh bodoh once in a while......
For me I lucked out on my 2nd hand Dominar. Ended up more reliable than some new off the showroom floor bikes.
If no knowledge in wiring, how to know if they dont make cincai work for that bike?

What is the limit for mileage of a used bike? lets say you found a bike that you really like and price is nice.. but its at 100k mileage. Is that better to be avoided?
I read in Z250 facebook group that the recoil and rectifier need to be replaced after 50k, is this the same for other bikes?
Patent
post May 17 2023, 08:17 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

i like mt-25 and mt-09 look
remind me of gundam zaku

i agree that mt-10 is ugly though
Patent
post May 24 2023, 07:32 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

jatuh bodo is rite of passage for every rider laugh.gif
Patent
post Jun 4 2023, 03:52 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

How much is the saman from jpj for modifying your exhaust ?
Patent
post Jun 7 2023, 10:57 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

you can find kerosene in shopee also
Patent
post Jun 10 2023, 05:44 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

question about downshifting gear

is the following a bad practice?
lets say you are at gear 3 around 40 kmh and stopping to a traffic..
Slowly pull the break, your bike is slowing then pull clutch and shift down straight to gear 1 to a stop.
Not touching the throttle during this whole sequence

I know that down shifting like that when your bike is running is bad for your engine because unnecessary load with rpm or something (I'm not even sure) so it should be fine when you are stopping right hmm.gif

Patent
post Jun 10 2023, 11:53 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 10 2023, 10:16 PM)
so wrong... so so wrong.

no effect at all, clutch pulled in.. gear no effect to engine.

whoever told u that needs to be spanked for being a notti boi.
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 10 2023, 11:02 PM)
Not sure who told you this is bad though.... But the only thing I could think of is if you had suddenly released your clutch when on first gear while still moving at speed (say, if traffic suddenly cleared, and you need to go) you might cause a rear tyre lock due to engine/wheelspeed difference...but nowadays with all those slipper clutches on bikes, it's tough (but still possible at higher speeds) to do that.

Usually I don't shift to first until standstill. And I keep it in first, clutched in, rear brake on all the time during stops.
so is it fine if im currently at gear 4 running 40 kmh then slows down my bike to 20 kmh then downshift it gear 2 straight then continue cruising at that speed?
sometimes I hear the engine like growling when downshifting and my bike feels jerky feels like I'm doing something wrong.. not sure if I should learn rev matching
Patent
post Jun 11 2023, 02:03 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 11 2023, 12:17 AM)
If you hear your engine growling or jerking when you release the clutch cable, then yes you need to Rev match. I would say Rev matching is an essential skill a rider should learn. If you don't Rev match and downshift, the split second loss of traction on the rear wheel might lead you to lose control I'd your bike does not have a slipper clutch.
So in this case is it bad for my engine or any components in the bike if I don't do rev matching other than potential accident.
Patent
post Jun 12 2023, 10:47 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 12 2023, 09:17 AM)
I think his jerkiness is at low speed, I'd say he should probably raise the throttle and feather in the clutch to avoid that.
Not sure what he rides, but if correct is a Z250. I think many bikes do that when at low speed, or different speed when the gear is too tall.

Your bike should have clutch assist. Can you feel the difference?
I think is Z250.

yeah I'm riding a 2017 Z250
you are right that usually happens when I downshift and let go throttle completely
I think I should've let go the clutch more slowly and also pull in the throttle a bit
Patent
post Jun 13 2023, 01:01 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

Is there a general guideline to know which rpm is ideal for your bike?
I just do half the rpm from redline
Patent
post Jun 30 2023, 12:35 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

anyone knows whats the usual price range of valve clearance for 4 inline 600cc bikes?
Patent
post Jul 6 2023, 08:48 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

those staying in KL.. where do you get your B full license?
I asked like 3 places and all replied they have long waiting list that might take 6 months of more to complete it

Would love to get the license in less than 3 months so no need to renew L license
Patent
post Jul 7 2023, 06:01 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 7 2023, 11:20 AM)
my adik is taking right now at metro, next week taking exam. all in so far about 2 months iirc
which metro?
is it the one in puchong?
Patent
post Jul 13 2023, 08:49 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

finding a used z250 at 6k need some luck also..
chances are it is old model (2015 below) so need to check properly
Patent
post Jul 20 2023, 11:08 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jul 20 2023, 09:38 AM)
Rant ahead,

I have versys gen2 version since 2016, it's a good bike no doubt.

But due to my work getting more and more site orientated, I ride less and less as years go on. With such a high Riding height, it will be difficult for me to go through sand and gravel area, and with its curb weight at 200kg, I am not trying my luck. Shame really, Riding only during Friday and weekend is wasted in this bike.

Rant done.

Is there other current or upcoming bike that's lighter and almost the same spec as versys 650?
its the nature of adventure-touring bike to have high seat and weight >200 kg
if you are looking for something lighter and lower height might need to look at naked bike like z650, mt-07 or cb650

gonna need to do some modification like adding tall windshield though if you are used to wind protection from versys
Patent
post Jul 20 2023, 08:40 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 20 2023, 07:40 PM)

I'm planning to get a Versys, and lower the whole bike to enjoy
cannot just get a ninja then increase the handlebar height? hmm.gif
Patent
post Jul 25 2023, 10:33 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

I know people use safety nut on Brembo brakes so it won't get stolen
but is Nissin brakes hot stuff too? that one need safety nut? hmm.gif
Patent
post Jul 26 2023, 10:19 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 26 2023, 09:00 AM)
Kapcai brake caliper also got stolen.
+1
the queue was long, plus the carpark was not that big, so I decided to skip
ohmy.gif well I guess I have to get those safety screws

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Jul 26 2023, 09:39 AM)
My calipers were not stolen, just gear and brake levers, pump assy and side mirrors on my z650. Lol.
How did that happen? Parked too long or bad parking spot?
Patent
post Jul 26 2023, 01:20 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 26 2023, 12:29 PM)
Don't lose the key, and it's not 100% proof.

Any recommendation or they all work the same?
I know the screw size depends on bike just wondering which one is more reliable
Patent
post Jul 26 2023, 04:23 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,004 posts

QUOTE(xnobys @ Jul 26 2023, 02:17 PM)
There were even cases where the entire handle was stolen. The thief just simply unscrew the handlebar clamp and they get the entire brake system.

Cheaper alternatives to safety nut is to cover the hex hole with epoxy putty (gam batu). It will take roughly about 30 minutes to really remove the hardened putty to enable you to use your hex key into the hole.  tongue.gif
damn that is pretty brutal.. handlebar also gone cry.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 26 2023, 02:30 PM)
truth be told, ALL oso kinda shit. the bolt itself is not too bad but the outer cover thing as well as the adapter is made of super soft metal...

a well known mechanic told me the worse one set hes ever encountered is from the brand Proformance... coz it rusts and the thing is super soft.
instead he recommended getting security bolts similar to this: https://my.rs-online.com/web/p/security-screws/6212681?gb=b

i.e a non common bit pattern with the post in the middle of it. but if u can get an even lesser common bit pattern even better. allen is damn common, torx is somewhat common oso la but still ok. unfortunately these type of security/tamper proof screws not easy to find non allen and torx. so torx is the best bet la.
wow finding the torx screw is way cheaper

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0825sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:00 AM