casual bike talk..

Jason
post Mar 11 2023, 01:42 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Mar 10 2023, 06:18 PM)
I hope I'm asking in the right section.. Prefer to ask here rather than in Kopitiam section

I'm planning to buy the cheapest bike to "park" my number plate.. My runner said the cheapest bike available now is Modenas Kriss MR3 which is RM 3.3k.. Is this really the cheapest bike in the market now ?

Next, I have a colleague who wants to rent this bike from me.. He's a foreigner that's why he can't take loan to buy a new bike for himself.. Is it ok to charge him RM 100 rental per month? How's the maintenance of this bike ? In this situation, maintenance should be borne by him or me ?

Thanks smile.gif
Rent way too cheap imo. Market I think minimum RM10 a day.
Jason
post Mar 22 2023, 01:01 AM

6,354 posts

Kawasaki Eliminator 400
Pretty nice, and build in front and rear camera wow. We need that for our bikes. At least fatal accident can still haul the other vehicle’s driver to jail if it’s their negligence.

https://www.cycleworld.com/motorcycle-news/...or-400-returns/
Jason
post Apr 22 2023, 09:50 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(vavisalai @ Apr 22 2023, 04:01 PM)
2 bikes that I’m surveying around the 20k price point. Been riding the good old virago for sometime now.

1) 4 cylinder used xj6 (or other variant)
2) 2 cylinder used Ducati monster 795/696

Just wondering what would you all go for with the options above?

Thank you.
You probably want the 796 instead. But at RM20k would take longer to score one. It has the SSA, and more “full sized” as the 795 is like the Asia size version.

Challenge with Ducati is the desmo. For a weekend bike it’s fine. But for a commuter, running cost is gonna bite you.

I can’t ride for nuts but always dream of the 1098s or 1198s. Just super sexy. I think it’ll look good as an art piece in my living room. But can’t afford such art. And don’t think my back can take the riding position.
Jason
post May 31 2023, 09:17 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 29 2023, 02:27 PM)
*refrains comment on my less than a year RE004 tire puncture* laugh.gif

touch wood lucky i never encounter something like that on bike... would be very very disastrous if it ever happen as i'm only left with a wheel. car at least still got 3 wheels. and somehow miraculously everything held up until the final stop road side.
followed manual 10w40 used only fully synthetic.

from Yamalube from Service center, to Motul 7100, a batch of Torco which i even gotten UOA for, Liqui Moly race
more like you lucky la... the engine is decently hot item. lol.
steal to chop up for parts. (i'm still [not actively] looking an engine wink.gif )
How was the Motul 7100 relative to others that you’ve tried?

Jason
post Jun 1 2023, 02:09 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 26 2023, 06:56 AM)
Ya that bike is really hard to find neutral. I tested 3 bikes all had the same problem. Sometimes I can't find neutral I just turned it off in gear haha
Come test my bike. I think I have better luck finding g spot than finding neutral.

QUOTE(eddydo @ May 28 2023, 11:06 AM)
ayam gonna get a used ninja 650

Any recommended service shop to take the bike for inspection before purchasing?

was thinking chia motors or some other place in subang if possible.
Before you buy, why you choose Ninja 650? I assume you rode the Z650 when taking license?

I owned it, also bought used as my first beginner bike. Got rid of it first chance I had. Hell didn’t even get on the highway with it.

Nothing wrong with it, but if I was asked to choose again now, I won’t consider it at all.
Jason
post Jun 2 2023, 01:07 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jun 1 2023, 05:25 PM)
Mainly budget issue, it's my first bike after full. there's no >250 cc bikes within budget other than the ktm rc390.

curious, why did u get rid of it?
My personal opinion.

Your budget 20k +/-2k I guess.
I feel there are better used alternatives out there for the same price.

The Ninja 650 is a Jack of all trades. It doesn’t do anything bad, doesn’t do anything exceptional either.

I was attracted to it because it looks the part of a sports bike. Enough power and has ABS. Not too heavy. And that’s all to it. Mine had a stock exhaust. It sounds pedestrian and was not exciting.

On paper, my current bike is significantly heavier than the Ninja, but it is nicer to handle and maneuver even in slow speeds. The weight on the Ninja feels high up which doesn’t feel good in leaning and changing directions. Power wise no complaints, how fast you wanna go anyway.

I got rid of it because I knew I won’t be happy (or unhappy with it). Doesn’t make me feel excited to ride it. I don’t commute with bike so joy is my #1 criteria. Selling it allowed me to get what I want. Immediate joy when I test rode my current bike, how planted it felt, and how torquey it is.

My suggestion is, ride more bikes before you buy! When brands have open day for test ride go for it. When I went to Triumph PJ and have a look see and chat to ask questions they were happy to offer test rides even when I said I was just browsing and doing comparisons.

This post has been edited by Jason: Jun 2 2023, 01:09 AM
Jason
post Jun 9 2023, 02:12 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 9 2023, 12:58 PM)
I think what matters more is when you ride it. You won't see the headlight anyway.
True, but when you are walking towards your bike feel like puke.gif
Jason
post Jun 12 2023, 03:00 PM

6,354 posts

How many bikes you guys have? I've got 1. I want to add another 1 because #hoarder
Jason
post Jun 12 2023, 04:39 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jun 12 2023, 04:30 PM)
2 but really tempted to add an Interceptor 650. But it'll have to wait until after I get my son a Kenari when he ships off to college end of next year.
What bikes you have, and why the Interceptor 650? The look is very appealing. ohmaigawd the mark 2 chrome finish is so sexy and so impractical at the same time. I think need to PPF it otherwise its gonna look like crap in no time.
Jason
post Jun 12 2023, 05:10 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jun 12 2023, 04:50 PM)
Triumph Tiger 850 & CFmoto 700 CLX.

Interceptor 650 because it's a classic that can be bought brand new and cheap-ish. It's the kind of bike that you buy and keep forever since it won't start to look old after 10 years because it is already a classic.
Can I interest you in pushrods and belts? No chain lube needed and no valve clearance ever. Just some puddle of oil every few years. And power is calculated by units of freedom and torque.

How's the built quality of CFmoto versus Triumph? My time in the Triumph showroom really impressed me with the build quality... was checking out the Speed Twin and Trident. The RE 350 and 650 had a lot of rough edges when looking at it in detail, and its so apparent when you visit RE then Triumph back to back.

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 12 2023, 05:04 PM)
Just buy la. your 1 bike is more expensive that my net worth.
bro don't play me, my bike very cheap only. cheaper than Z900.
Jason
post Jun 12 2023, 08:53 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jun 12 2023, 06:04 PM)
Got no complaints about my Triumph. It'll be due for a major service this Oct, but I dunno if the new distributor has the same expertise as Fast Bikes PJ.

The CFmoto had an error code pop up last month. Had to send it to Mforce coz no other workshop has the OBD tool, they said clogged injectors and proceeded to clean them. My wife rode it on our 1200km trip to Bentong, Kuantan, Kuala Rompin, Tg Sedili, Desaru & Melaka last week and it popped up again. The same code. She took it back Mforce again Fri last week and told them to make sure it wasn't a case of faulty sensors. Hope to get it back in time for the next ride to Seri Iskandar next week.

For the asking price, I would expect the RE Interceptor 650 to be a little rough around the edges. But that 270-deg crank twin is hard to resist esp with illegal India-mari exhausts. Of course, if I want a more refined build quality then I'll have to cough up for a Triumph Street Twin lor.... which I'm reluctant to, coz the bike will just be for shits & giggles. Wife loves the Hunter 650, but I told her it's a thumper and it'll vibrate just like the Dominar 400. Gotta bring her to test ride them both when we're free.
Apart from the electrical gremlins. How does the CFMoto feels like terms of touch points relative to the Triumph? Really curious how good (or bad) are China bikes.

The twin of the interceptor is a better choice imo versus a thumper. Is the hunter cheaper than int? Can’t even find a used triumph for the price of a new Int 650.
Jason
post Jun 28 2023, 11:40 AM

6,354 posts

Oooh Triumph’s new Bajaj made 400s look quite nice. I wonder if it has the Triumph’s fit and finish, cause if it does, that will give RE serious competition.

Eh tmr holiday who wants to go ride in the morning. That Katana owner not free cause he got a brand new Ferrari (in costs). Congrats!
Jason
post Jun 28 2023, 08:25 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 28 2023, 08:11 PM)

If you look at the RE Himalayan and scram closely that bike fit and finish is a bit of a letdown.

Yup... but everyone says at that price point apa lagi mau.

If this TriumphBaj is that good, and priced to fight RE.. we got a winner.
Jason
post Jun 28 2023, 09:27 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jun 28 2023, 08:37 PM)
Himalayan rm30k
Scram rm27k
Hunter rm22k
Trident 660 rm44k
Tiger 660 rm50k

If they price the street 400 at rm30k at scrambler 400 at rm35k it's gonna be a worthy competitor to the RE
But knowing triumph, it's not gonna be cheap. Prolly 40k for the street 400 and 50k for the scrambler haha
Then it is no brainer to take a Trident 660 at RM44k over the 400. Unless, you really want that look then ok lor. I am pretty sure they can price it at 3xk. If an India built G310R can come in at sub 30k.. no reason why TriumphBaj can't.

That BMW G310R is quite nice despite being made in India. Less rough edges versus RE.

Jason
post Jun 30 2023, 09:49 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 29 2023, 01:02 AM)
This review says the BMW is pretty shut laugh.gif

They keep whacking the engine and lack of power. Which is probably true. The build, fit and finish not bad. And the design also looks quite good. My friend has it, she's short and petite so the bike is small enough. Plus she bangsawan so gotta ride a BMW la kan. Lights also look good at night.

Jason
post Jul 3 2023, 10:35 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jun 13 2023, 04:19 PM)
currently is having cfmoto 250nk for about 4 mth plus only biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
still on arranging time to get B full
How’s the 250NK? Any issues or problems? Esp build quality.

Not very popular in Malaysia, I guess due to dealer and service network not great. But the bike looks good — like KTM’s cousin.
Jason
post Jul 11 2023, 11:34 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jul 3 2023, 11:25 AM)
just like a single cylinder kapcai just with a bigger cc heart.

now currently is having small issue for gear censor is lagging.
Nothing nice to say about it? It’s in my shortlist of second hand bike to get

Previously was looking at D400 but the horror story put me off, and I don’t want another heavy bike. Didn’t want to spend more than 6k, so dropped the idea of a Z250.

Now it’s between the 250nk or the NS200. Research seems to indicate nothing to complain about the NS200, but looks wise the 250nk is another level altogether.
Jason
post Jul 12 2023, 06:15 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 12 2023, 10:00 AM)
Just what horror story on the D400? Hahaha

I am coming up to 60k on my D400 averaging 22k per year and short of some wear and tear parts, it seems reliable and parts are easily sourced. And I dare say few D400 riders will use the bike harder than I use mine. Maybe I'm the lucky few.

Sometimes it just luck when getting a bike. Note that lemon bike will have more vocal owners ...understandably.
ZZR-Pilot shared in the other thread. No bike is perfect, but enough to make me shy away.

Plus the D400 is heavy so dropped it. Too heavy to pick it up again.

NS200 looks like a viable choice. No major complaints it seems.
Jason
post Jul 12 2023, 11:24 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jul 12 2023, 08:22 PM)
The ns is no lightweight for the cc though. And shares the same niggles as the bigger brother. For the price difference the 400 is much more bike than the NS....assuming you have a Full B

For the weight, you get used to it after a while.
For intended use and purpose, I much prefer the CFMOTO 250NK. Same weight as the NS200. 50cc more.

Want to keep it around the 150kg mark or less. And D400 price much higher.

Oh and I’ll be dropping the bike, so the weight matters. Got to pick it up.
Jason
post Jul 21 2023, 03:35 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 20 2023, 07:40 PM)

I'm planning to get a Versys, and lower the whole bike to enjoy
What’s the benefit over getting a Z650?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2149sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled