casual bike talk..

Quazacolt
post May 29 2023, 11:55 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 25 2023, 11:07 PM)
mt09, decided to bite the bullet, give it a shot... its actually fairly manageable even with my limited exp riding.

took a 3 min test run on it, and im now one ear deaf... cause its exhaust is basically a straight pipe, thank god he kept the old exhaust, will probably revert to the stock pipe.
larger bikes, bigger oil capacity, way more power that you don't have to always wring it to its limits... the oil can definitely go for a longer interval. and for your case, probably just an annual service la...
Quazacolt
post May 29 2023, 12:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 26 2023, 11:37 AM)
v3, i tend to buy really old things, this time decided to get something relatively new and under warranty.

btw about bikes, service intervals i have been getting very different responses
- some say can service sendiri no issue with waranty
- some tell me big bike must go back to taikong (kinda far away)
- many tell me the exhaust wont cause troubles when servicing, just that kalau nak claim warranty kene swap balik
- some say service intervals ikut milage not duration (e.g. ikut 5k, x kira how many bulan)

havent contacted the service centre to get more details... got to find a yamaha sc that can deal with bigger bikes nearer to my place
sorry ya i slowly still reading posts.

warranty, just follow what the booklet/shop/center you're sending to.
what's the period? 2 years 20k km? not long anyways... HLYM Warranties leaves a LOT to be desired. lol.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 26 2023, 12:11 PM)
- some say can service sendiri no issue with waranty
* not the case with kawasaki. id assume yamaha is the same as u need to chop the book.

- some tell me big bike must go back to taikong (kinda far away)
* any authorised service center should be fine. keyword - authorised

- many tell me the exhaust wont cause troubles when servicing, just that kalau nak claim warranty kene swap balik
* correct. they can see the exhaust as a cause to void warranty. so hopefully u have a full system that can just be swapped back to stock instead of welding back the stock midpipe - muffler

- some say service intervals ikut milage not duration (e.g. ikut 5k, x kira how many bulan)
* generally its both ie whichever comes first. but...up to u. if bike still under warranty, suggest u follow what the book says if u wanna maintain ur warranty.
safest way is always by the book. not by word of mouth. when in doubt, refer book. if book not enough details, refer to ur nearest authorised service center.
correct.
Quazacolt
post May 29 2023, 12:07 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 26 2023, 02:16 PM)
im abit confused... owners told me 5k... checking the service manuals, 10k pulak, anyway not too worried daily also i think 1 tahun i wont reach 5k so, tukar je lah.

can i check this at any sc or just the one the owner sent it to?
also, this is owner manual je

this isn't the service/workshop manual that you have ever torque specs for every bolts and you can basically build up the bike your self.

typically 300-400pages +++
Quazacolt
post May 29 2023, 02:27 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

*refrains comment on my less than a year RE004 tire puncture* laugh.gif

touch wood lucky i never encounter something like that on bike... would be very very disastrous if it ever happen as i'm only left with a wheel. car at least still got 3 wheels. and somehow miraculously everything held up until the final stop road side.

QUOTE(alexei @ May 29 2023, 01:18 PM)
what oil viscosity did you use on the R25?
followed manual 10w40 used only fully synthetic.

from Yamalube from Service center, to Motul 7100, a batch of Torco which i even gotten UOA for, Liqui Moly race

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 29 2023, 12:08 PM)
left my keys on the r25 more than 10x so far... havent gotten it stolen yet (inb4 noone wants the r25)
more like you lucky la... the engine is decently hot item. lol.
steal to chop up for parts. (i'm still [not actively] looking an engine wink.gif )

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 29 2023, 02:30 PM
Quazacolt
post May 30 2023, 11:35 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 29 2023, 11:17 PM)
but he encountered a spontaneous rotating assembly disassembly caused by most probably some form of metal fatigue failure when the conrod/piston decided to leave the block.
both conrods and pistons still in the block!
they just aren't connected anymore and the entire engine seized when it happened sad.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 30 2023, 12:09 AM)
If uve ever ridden with him before ull know its not luck

Lol
i slow je sweat.gif
250cc how fast can i go jek
Quazacolt
post May 30 2023, 03:09 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 30 2023, 02:44 PM)
No
cry.gif
Quazacolt
post May 30 2023, 08:38 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 30 2023, 07:47 PM)
Eh what? I thought your conrod flew out of your engine lol. It seized?
No, both conrods just broken clean within the engine and the engine just seized.
You probably saw pictures of an already opened engine. But the conrods both ends are connected (one end piston the other crank shaft, they just aren't connected anymore)

If i didn't clutch to let the wheel loose it'll continue its lock and I'll just fall. Fortunately all was well, despite the gathered attention around toll exit thanks to the trail of burnt rubber and smoke.
Quazacolt
post May 30 2023, 11:36 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 30 2023, 10:43 PM)
Damn that's some crazy failure mode. I demand detailed pictures of said conrod.

Did you reflash/increase the rpm limit?
bone stock everything. air filter exhaust no remap no rpm limit raised nothing.
Quazacolt
post May 31 2023, 11:22 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 31 2023, 10:04 AM)
u flatout redlined the thing ka??

or...... typical r25 issue, your oil pump gears worn to nothingness?
Oil pump plastic gears are perfectly fine no missing or worn teeth.

It remembered it was even replaced during recall (my bike went through all recalls save the last 1 or 2 ones cuz engine already dead since Mar 2018 until today)
Quazacolt
post May 31 2023, 09:45 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ May 31 2023, 09:17 PM)
How was the Motul 7100 relative to others that you’ve tried?
Really good, just the price a bit on the higher side.

The best (which I've missed listing), is back in the days Tesco got import Repsol race top of the lines, at a bargain price!

Shifting etc feels the best and clutch feel and engagement the best.

But now almost impossible to find.
No I'm not referring to the UMW made ones, the imported from Madrid Spain ones.
Quazacolt
post Jun 4 2023, 12:43 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 2 2023, 02:35 PM)
Everything feels more exciting when you max everything out at the edge of its handling. Even if you are on a kapchai.

It's more exciting to ride a slow bike fast than a fast bike slow.
yeah about that... sad.gif

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 3 2023, 08:28 PM)
Limits on a litre sportsbike...well try hitting it. You'd be doing some real silly speeds and having a death wish.

Where is the fun in riding a fast bike slow?
and that's why i only look forward to getting a liter SuperSports.

nothing else. it is all or nothing for me.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 4 2023, 12:46 AM
Quazacolt
post Jun 4 2023, 09:40 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jun 4 2023, 06:32 AM)
supersports where got liter its 600 owai
I just prefer being specific on using " liter class Super SportsBike "cuz SBK is way over used.
Mouthful i know, but it seems like the trend with Honda at least lol!

Yes I'm familiar with FIM WSBK / WSSP thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Jun 13 2023, 11:24 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jun 12 2023, 03:00 PM)
How many bikes you guys have? I've got 1. I want to add another 1 because #hoarder
3, realistically 2 kapchai's only.
R25 still dead.
Quazacolt
post Jun 13 2023, 11:46 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 11 2023, 07:41 PM)
. And you don't need to be at 4000-5000rpm, for general cruising, 2000-3000rpm is good enough especially if you want to save fuel.
not applicable to high cc bikes such as your liter bikes, lol.

though to be more specific, it's not a need to be above 4k rpm, the bike just behaves smoother and probably cause for that notchy/1st gear lock out that happens to some bikes.
Quazacolt
post Jun 14 2023, 12:57 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 13 2023, 10:33 PM)
, below 4000rpm most of the time. 2000rpm change gear then cruise in 6th above 60kmh all the way. And it does makes a really noticeable difference in fuel consumption.
Yes exactly what I've said, higher cc bikes with abundant of power across the rev range is not very fussy on lower RPM
Quazacolt
post Jun 19 2023, 11:39 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 19 2023, 09:00 PM)
there were those that has been using proton oil filters on their z250 for over 50k km and still runnng fine.
Yeah those are cheapest of cheap lol

Last i used them and remembered correctly they were like RM 6 or 7 buying a boxed row (a dozen?) For my Iswara.
Quazacolt
post Jun 20 2023, 04:25 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 20 2023, 04:06 PM)
Mine is 1 year, not sure about the 150cc one

wa that valve clearance inspection at 24k km

R25 also similarly 20k km
Quazacolt
post Jun 30 2023, 08:22 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jun 27 2023, 08:42 PM)
old syllabus drum brake = rear lagi kuat dari depan
disc brake another story
k41AA

Very apparent in old/really budget kapchai where both front and rear are drum brakes
Quazacolt
post Jun 30 2023, 01:02 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Jun 26 2023, 09:28 PM)
Noob question: how do you know the tire is warm or not? I only thought it matters only to slick tires.
Feel, or just straight up tpms with accurate tire temperatures
Quazacolt
post Sep 10 2024, 03:39 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 7 2024, 08:42 AM)
Just curious, are there actually any women biker group around? Can introduce? Cause I feel like it’s something that I have always wanted to learn and ride my whole life and if I don’t do it, I think I’m going to regret it for not doing it later in my life. So I wanna start somewhere…
wow, surprise seeing you here! wub.gif

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 10 2024, 03:26 PM)
Wow I didn’t know taking licenses also need to queue these days?
only certain driving schools since B2 Kapchai are always in high demand.

if a location is full, you may survey another location that's convenient to where you're staying

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 10 2024, 03:41 PM

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.1865sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:54 PM