7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

casual bike talk..

Quazacolt
post Mar 5 2022, 05:20 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Mar 5 2022, 11:14 AM)
Yea, I was referring those indeed:

a thick pair of jeans/chinos that should somehow mitigate the abrasion damage I assume.

I think as long as you can put up with the hassle of putting them on, the knee guards are much more cost-effective and maintenance free than riding pants. For jacket however I can see a reason for buying them as they block wind/rain/elements and you usually won't wear something as thick as denim for top when you are in our tropical weather, and a good leather jacket does look cool too, unlike riding pants...
I assumed the same!

I learned first hand (with blood, lol) They ended up no better than tissue paper on the road laugh.gif

It is really your choice bro.
You will compromise/sacrifice.
So long you're ok with your choice.
Quazacolt
post Mar 5 2022, 05:24 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Mar 5 2022, 12:18 PM)
equipments degrading or tearing over time, probably you have to change an entire set again 5 years down the road when the seams and threads start giving way.
No worry on degradation from reputable brands.
They will take many long years.

You degrade it faster crashing lol.
Quazacolt
post Jun 30 2022, 10:42 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(nojalanpulang @ Jun 27 2022, 07:58 AM)
What usually happens after you ter-hit someone's side mirror? I'm a newbie and I ter-hit a car's side mirror with my side mirror in a jam. The side mirror I hit was still in tact. I didn't stop because there were other riders following behind me so didn't want to cause an obstacle for them.
to me, depends how much you believe in karma and if you are also a driver or not.

i mean, if you're also a driver, it doesn't feel nice if other hit and damage your mirrors right? even a simple proton mirror, with folding motors, can cost over a thousand.
any non local and the cost escalates very quickly to 2-3 thousands at least per mirror.

if no damage, mirror can still fold, personally, I ok la.
but my own car mirrors has been hit and 1 side motor damaged which cost like 5k to replace whole unit, i just let it be cuz no budget lol.
personally when i was actively riding, i never hit a mirror before, so i guess my faith in karma is unfounded tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2022, 06:41 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Aug 14 2022, 02:32 PM)
Jalan Kapar, not Kapar Motor.. It's TM Motoworld, former name Sin Seng Huat.. Never service there before, but their sales service is top notch.. Taking used bike also quite reasonable.. Recommended 2 friends the to sell bike there, both say they give higher than other bike shop they went..
Eh SSH rebranded? Didn't know
Quazacolt
post Aug 31 2022, 11:48 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Aug 30 2022, 03:24 AM)
anyone have any comments on the r25 or ninja 250? its real odd that the used ninjas seem to go for slightly less than the r25 given they cost more new
any known big issues with the r25 aside from the numerous recalls?
i also hear kawasaki parts might cost abit more than yamaha bits? this true?
supply and demand market, and more "need" to cannibalize bike parts for R25 lol

yes Kawasaki parts might cost a bit mainly cuz Japan/TH made, while R25 mainly Indonesia made.
economics of scale in general and not so much quality difference.

but considering the marketing for Yamaha portraying it being higher performance and new riders (like me) who gullibly went with that marketing, probably pushed the bike way past its intended usage and yeah, durability went down the toilet.
Quazacolt
post Sep 26 2022, 09:17 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 23 2022, 10:24 AM)
As an aside, for those taking B Full test, do you know if you don't wear riding boots while taking a full B, they will take off a point? B2 just requires shoes, preferably without laces.
It's easy to spend upwards of 5k on good riding equipment and I know many won't have a budget for it. But even budget gear is better than no gear
TIL! never knew they bother with your gear during B full test. (well i passed in a go first try and never looked back lol)

and yes agree, i spent 5 digits on my gear collection but that's also cuz i wanted mid/mid high tier level stuff, and branded reputable, AND i bought for my wife as well which was about 3-4k already.
Quazacolt
post Sep 26 2022, 09:23 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 24 2022, 01:23 PM)
After listening to the advise here, I decided to go to one of Penang biggest motor shop and have a look. the staff recommended me alpinestar jacket and glove
BOTH for 180 is definitely fake

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 25 2022, 12:10 PM)
Most fake ones comes with foam "amour".  Lol

Foam "amour" is just like no amour at all.  Serve no purpose .
genuine stuff either don't come with armor (you self buy) or already full on CE graded armor
applicable to either the back /chest armor, and/or elbow and shoulder armors.
really depends on the tier/pricing you pay.

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 26 2022, 08:31 AM)
ya taycon
taycon
oh shit, din know got fake 1... bangwall.gif
RM180

is the benkia brand ok? i saw it on tht serdang motorcycle shopee shop. or mayb i can get different armor padding to replace the fake 1
yeah many fakes.
no idea on benkia brand.

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Sep 26 2022, 08:52 AM)
Rm180  = fake.
Real and branded ones , the most basic models is around rm600++.
yeah and a lot of the 600+ basic stuff from branded models doesn't include any armor at all lol (eg: foam paddings, which doesn't do a whole lot and self buying will easily push the price upwards 800-1k+)

QUOTE(chinti @ Sep 26 2022, 08:55 AM)
i see, guess i will need go find proper armor padding to replace it  sad.gif

are there any shop which i can get good padding?
i believe Penang got David Choo https://www.facebook.com/dcbikermalaysia/
they sell genuine stuff
Quazacolt
post Oct 4 2022, 03:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 4 2022, 02:59 PM)
guys, this might be a stupid question, but how do you normally fill up petrol on your bike?
say you use credit card, card approved, then do you sit on the bike (to let it be upright) or do you just leave it on the side stand and pump manually?

I said pump manually as in hold the pump yourself and not use the auto hold function? idk what's it called.
Cuz I've been driving for 10 years, and usually would just leave the pump handle with the auto hold thing clicked in, wait till it clicks out and stop on its own.

So for a bike, does that auto hold works?
Just asking cuz gonna go for my first refuel soon.. dont want any accident to happen.
no stupid questions - and it ultimately depends on the pump clicker configuration /condition if the valve/pressure sensor disengages quick enough (or if it even works)
in short - yes the auto hold/auto stop fuel nozzle works for all bikes.

bike gets a bit more unnerving due to the very small fuel tank and that's especially true for kapchai
you can literally see fuel sloshing and splashing about as that puny RM2-3 refueling approaches the clicker auto stop
if you're on a bigger bike having >10 liters, less of a concern as it has a lot more room for the fuel nozzle auto stop to work better.

that said, i just setel app/credit card pay wave and let it auto click. if it overflows it overflows then. not bothered.
try not to sit on the bike as you don't want petrol all over yourself.
Quazacolt
post Oct 4 2022, 04:01 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 4 2022, 03:58 PM)
so just get some tissue or paper towel and wipe it off right?
thanks for answering  laugh.gif
after refuel and closed cap tightly, flush around affected spill with water
most petrol station have a bucket of water around, you can park your bike to a pump that has water ready or before refuel fill up a bucket prior just in case.
Quazacolt
post Oct 4 2022, 04:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 4 2022, 04:03 PM)
Alrighty, thanks thanks  rclxms.gif
Water around the fuel pump yes, but barely see any tissues around nowadays haha..
no worries, you don't want to smear around oily petrol on your bike anyways.
tissue/paper towels is after water flushing and wipe dry. but ok even if you don't as thee bike dries itself during rides

ya sponge is ok, but most stations the sponges are badly deteriorated, and/or very dirty.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 4 2022, 04:04 PM
Quazacolt
post Oct 6 2022, 01:49 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 4 2022, 04:03 PM)
Alrighty, thanks thanks  rclxms.gif
Water around the fuel pump yes, but barely see any tissues around nowadays haha..
or use the squeegy with the sponge to just squeeze water onto the affected area i guess.. :/

that answers a long pending question in me: the pumps that don't properly work with petrol overflowing, is likely due to bad maintenance from station owners sad.gif
Quazacolt
post Oct 6 2022, 01:53 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(technosakai @ Oct 4 2022, 05:11 PM)
basically filling it till the bream as much as you can fill
no need no point.
there's an overflow hose and excess fuel will just be wasted lol
Quazacolt
post Oct 6 2022, 02:00 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 4 2022, 06:44 PM)
auto stop basically returns some fuel back to the nozzle, and choke it
no quite, It is a Venturi effect that i have linked an explanation on how it works
Quazacolt
post Oct 27 2022, 01:56 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Oct 25 2022, 11:27 PM)
Same here buddy. I placed a booking earlier this month and was told might get the bike Dec-Jan.
pre grats bro! wub.gif
Quazacolt
post May 22 2023, 09:42 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ May 21 2023, 12:58 PM)
Actually main reason to upgrade bike is because previous bike doesn't have ABS,
lol i no desire to upgrade even though no ABS.

only wanting to add another bike in my stable laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post May 22 2023, 03:57 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ May 22 2023, 11:02 AM)
How many times is the average short rider prepared to drop his bike (and getting into potentially ugly situations in the street) before mastering that technique? That's the question nobody is prepared to ask.
Nightstalker1993
I'll bring up another scenario(s) :

How many times a short rider is prepared to risk dropping the bike on a car or other bikes? laugh.gif

How about repair fees for those cars and bikes?

Ever seen a domino collapse on a bike parking? (I have, few times btw, lol)
Quazacolt
post May 23 2023, 12:13 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 22 2023, 09:45 PM)
Nah.. nightmare fuel for me is slow tight u turn on a steep incline. Try that some day. Hahaha.

And if you do drop it like that, good luck pickup up a heavy or loaded bike......
Woah nostalgia, A rider in group had EXACTLY that at our Betong ride laugh.gif

Was on a multi strada
Quazacolt
post May 25 2023, 11:01 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 24 2023, 11:47 AM)
when i got my L, i just went full retard...
- 0 exp, bought my r25 a day before my lessons, figured out the clutch/shift mechanism
- went for my first class. instructor asked if i knew how to use a clutch, said yes so he plonked 0 exp me onto the z650.. instantly went down  rclxub.gif
- next day, slapped the L onto the r25 and simply committed!  laugh.gif see bike behind me, get out of the way and queue with the cars. if i see a bigger bike pass, then i ikut je. had the mindset - what they can pass i can too
Ya my brand new R25 dropped within first hour of ownership laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post May 25 2023, 11:02 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 25 2023, 10:50 AM)
*Insert "we are not the same" meme here*

Ah pain.
Quazacolt
post May 29 2023, 11:49 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ May 26 2023, 02:16 PM)
im abit confused... owners told me 5k... checking the service manuals, 10k pulak, anyway not too worried daily also i think 1 tahun i wont reach 5k so, tukar je lah.
one thing on the service manual though - 20k km valve clearance check.
which i think, make sense if you're really pushing the bike and high RPM majority of the time.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 27 2023, 11:39 AM)
No need confused....the whole 5k thing is a malaysian mindset thing coz we think our country very hot. But there are other, hotter countries out there with much lesser rain  that follows the manual n runs fine.

But new oil is never a bad thing. So it would be up to u if u wanna follow manual or change every 5k.
R25 kan? i 5k and eventually even 2500 km service my oil...
conrod also snap anyways. so F it la laugh.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0302sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:35 AM