Samsung Samsung Galaxy S8/S8+ discussion thread v3, Available 5th May

SUSalanee
post Apr 27 2017, 11:42 PM

88 posts

Samsung Galaxy S8+ screen replacement to cost dearly

Yordan 26 April 2017 Samsung Android
The Galaxy S8+ is one gorgeous device and that Infinity screen plays no small part of that. However, it's also a very expensive piece so you better be careful with it - the replacement are going to be more expensive than ever.

If you manage to break it, replacing the display at an authorized repair center will set you back €250. That is 25% higher than the Galaxy S7 edge where the screen costed €200 to be replaced.

This means you better have a firm grip or a nice case because sometimes the Gorilla Glass 5 won't be enough. And if you are particularly clumsy, you might want to invest in one of those insurance programs.

Via (in Polish)
SUSalanee
post Apr 27 2017, 11:45 PM

88 posts

Samsung Galaxy S8 (Verizon/unlocked) currently going for under $700 in US

Himanshu 27 April 2017 Samsung Android Deals
If you are planning to purchase Samsung's latest flagship (the Galaxy S8), you'll be glad to know that the device is currently available at discounted rates in the country. Specifically, the Verizon/unlocked variant is currently going for under $700 - $699.99.

eBay retailer alldayzip (a Top Rated Plus retailer) is offering the handset at that price. If you compare, that's a discount of $56 given that Verizon is officially selling the phone for $756.

As of writing, the listing says more than 91% of the stock has been sold, and only Midnight Black color option is available (rest all are out of stock). So, those interested in availing the deal may have to act really fast.

Source | Via
emy_xvidia
post Apr 27 2017, 11:48 PM

2,735 posts

Great info on the 1st page. Appreciate it. biggrin.gif
SUSkc6012
post Apr 27 2017, 11:54 PM

Apple Super Fans
2,501 posts

Got my LED VIEW for S8 at SGD50
xDragonZ
post Apr 27 2017, 11:55 PM

553 posts

QUOTE(Radec @ Apr 27 2017, 11:32 PM)
The paint easily came off. I did open my s7 myself and wanna replace new glue seal again and I ter-tear it then the side become transparent. Emo man.. Haha

Chriss
post Apr 28 2017, 12:12 AM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

ranting.gif mad.gif ranting.gif mad.gif SME ranting.gif mad.gif ranting.gif mad.gif

https://www.sammobile.com/2017/04/27/hong-kong-to-get-unlocked-galaxy-s8-with-6gb-ram/

This post has been edited by Chriss: Apr 28 2017, 12:13 AM
Zi-Tech
post Apr 28 2017, 12:17 AM

Eh, pangkat sudah tukar ka
774 posts

the roadshow page suddenly down...
derict
post Apr 28 2017, 12:20 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 27 2017, 04:35 PM)
Eh the deal seems good leh. But it's my first time hearing this shop. You sure it's reliable? hmm.gif

This looks like a good deal too:

http://www.11street.my/productdetail/pre-o...h-free-35600197
@Duckies Yes, i heard from my friend working in 11street. This is Samsung authorized Dealer.... Good deal yeah? Only till 29th for preorder.
jerryhean
post Apr 28 2017, 12:31 AM

~Cool~
1,747 posts

QUOTE(derict @ Apr 28 2017, 12:20 AM)
@Duckies Yes, i heard from my friend working in 11street. This is Samsung authorized Dealer.... Good deal yeah? Only till 29th for preorder.
What is the freebies?
xDragonZ
post Apr 28 2017, 12:46 AM

553 posts

QUOTE(jerryhean @ Apr 28 2017, 12:31 AM)
What is the freebies?
FREE GIFTS worth RM599
1 x Original Samsung S8/S8 Plus Screen Protector RM49
1 x Original Samsung Original Wireless Charger (Fast charger)*** RM339
1 x Original Clear Case RM59
1 x Original Samsung Power Bank RM99
1 x Original Samsung Combo Micro Usb and Type C Cable RM49

derict
post Apr 28 2017, 12:52 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(xDragonZ @ Apr 28 2017, 12:46 AM)
FREE GIFTS worth RM599
1 x Original Samsung S8/S8 Plus Screen Protector RM49
1 x Original Samsung Original Wireless Charger (Fast charger)*** RM339
1 x Original Clear Case RM59
1 x Original Samsung Power Bank RM99
1 x Original Samsung Combo Micro Usb and Type C Cable RM49
The above is from SME direct. 11street one is as per below;

FREE GIFTS worth RM599 + Tech 11 RM100 Coupon:
1 x Hardwear Screen Protector (http://www.hardwearshop.net/)
1 x Samsung Original Wireless Charger (Fast charger either Stand/ Normal Pad)***
1 x Rock Space Cana Series Back Case
1 x Rock Space Micro Flat USB Cable
1 x Rock Space P16 Quick Charge Power Bank
1 x Rock Type C Cable
derravile
post Apr 28 2017, 01:02 AM

Choking on my aspirations
1,958 posts

QUOTE(orangegurl @ Apr 27 2017, 04:17 PM)
yea im gonna order, gonna try thier 1st service hehe~ u want?!
yup, how much would it be for the postage?

BBXiong
post Apr 28 2017, 01:45 AM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(xatu @ Apr 27 2017, 11:35 PM)
Learn to read properly and think deeper.

Don't be so simple minded
it's interesting how some people took the word right out of your mouth when u wanted to reply them =D

Different production batch would cause different colour characteristic, typically with LCD it is minimal, but it seem like it would affect AMOLED more. Obviously since they are the same display, only one factory colour calibration setting is used, which causes some other batches to have different white point. This is common even in bigger monitors like Dell ultra sharp series. Even iPhone has 2 screen tone on certain models, one being warmer than the other. All they need to do is a way to id the panel batch and use another calibration setting that will make the white point consistent, or give us 2 colour profile for us to choose, depending on the panel characteristic

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Apr 28 2017, 01:46 AM
TSpowerangah
post Apr 28 2017, 01:48 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Apr 26 2017, 10:11 AM)
if you want smooth get an iphone btw samsung sometime its slightly lag due to the animation you can turn it down.

i feel just paying for smoothness you dont need hua wei. my redmi note 3 2gb ram 16gb is very smooth

i pay for samsung for the overall experience  like looks +design + interface+features. most of spend nearly 50 to 70% on the phone i it to look stunning not like my ex haha
I just turn it off completely

QUOTE(derict @ Apr 26 2017, 10:37 AM)
I heard from TBM is 4/5th May. Infact, they said stock already in but they can't release it till the said date.

I'm still thinking if i should get this phone knowing the WiFi & red tint problem. Not sure if its really software issue instead of hardware. + its like random and it doesnt happen to all units ...
WiFi problem? Do elaborate sad.gif

QUOTE(metfan @ Apr 27 2017, 08:55 AM)
Guys...what brand of sd card are you using? Can recommend me?
I've used kingston twice but it just won't last me more than a year...
Is sandisk ultra okay? What about samsung evo plus?
I noted that sandisk is cheaper than samsung but the specs are almost the same...
Any advice?
Kingston always spoil on me, they never last

QUOTE(Spectre.KL @ Apr 27 2017, 11:09 AM)
I have ordered mine from Shoppu. Was apprehensive earlier but then realized its an online startup from AEON and that was enough for me
for me, flat discount of 300 mattered more, since i wont have much use with the wireless charger or the puny powerbank.
Deal breaker was the screen warranty only within the first year
All screen warranty only first year, 2 year extended warranty does not cover screen replacement

QUOTE(o0o0 @ Apr 27 2017, 11:45 AM)
what time u going Sunway Pyramid ?
help me to buy please.. can pay u extra abit..

u can find US people review the Gear360 in youtube,
quite alot of good comment, but provided u like to shoot video and post it online..
Actually i buy it mainly use for Car Driving Recorder,
coz few days ago met in an accident, now realize it important to have a cam-recorder in car when driving,
so this 360 degress video recorder is perfect,
when going vacation, can bring it out too..
If for in car recording, better just get a dash cam as 24/7 recording a Gear 360 file is going to be big and a hassle to clear it everyday. Plus, if 360 you're going to see yourself too in the recording, not just the road, lol
TSpowerangah
post Apr 28 2017, 02:00 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(juks @ Apr 27 2017, 11:59 AM)
Ooh 11th street jst called, they want to film the lucky selected customers.
Throwing in some gift bundle too.
Anyone else got the call?
Haha that's why they ask you to stay until night at your office sweat.gif

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Apr 27 2017, 12:02 PM)
This round of pre-order really kinda sucks.

Freebies almost the same as those early birds and the worst is we only get it one day earlier.
Plus no discount whatsoever vmad.gif

QUOTE(buybuylaptop @ Apr 27 2017, 12:05 PM)
When can we see the real phone at shops? Anyone know?
Stop asking this question already, use the search function on the earlier threads, (I'll add this in the FAQ)

QUOTE(Velocity @ Apr 27 2017, 01:01 PM)
nope u lose 300 to 500 compare selling at garage sales.
Fast sale, not profit sale

QUOTE(o0o0 @ Apr 27 2017, 03:01 PM)
2500 lifestyle tax exemption for next year.. (including buying phone, laptop, book, badminton racket...)
depend on your tax bracket..
if your tax rate is 16% then 2500 x 16% = 400
so u pay 400 lesser tax..

when s9 release, sell the s8 at 2700,
2700 + 400 + top up few hundred then can get s9 again..
then claim next year tax agian.. continue the looping until government take away the lifestyle tax exemption..

so just pay few hundred every year, u got to use the latest flagship, change new 1 every year..
cheaper than shitty Maxis zerolution...
Tell me what flagship phone can sell at RM2700 after 1 year? People are selling their S7Edge (SRP RM3099) however nowadays can get RM2500 for a new one. No way you can sell it for RM2700 this time next year. Probably RM2000 maybe
TSpowerangah
post Apr 28 2017, 02:00 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(Vape On @ Apr 27 2017, 04:10 PM)
Funny.

I use s7edge since day1. I first time hear this gps gate from
From people like you.
rclxms.gif
No lah, there was quite a fuss in the S7E threads about the GPS failing after an update tongue.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 27 2017, 10:27 PM)
Btw it seems like Samsung Malaysia have remove the galaxy s8 roadshow and trade in program link
Right now when try to access it show webpage not available rclxub.gif
Yep, I noticed it too
lordskarn
post Apr 28 2017, 04:05 AM

157 posts

Lazada status today :
27/04/2017
Your item(s) is being packed and ready for shipment at our merchant's warehouse.

With the long weekend and public holiday Monday, guess earliest would be 2nd-4th May biggrin.gif

Lazada here it says
Standard Delivery: Free
Get by Tue, 2 - Fri, 5 May 2017

Maybe if lucky will get on Tuesday

This post has been edited by lordskarn: Apr 28 2017, 04:13 AM
SUSVape [On]
post Apr 28 2017, 06:57 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 27 2017, 02:51 PM)
But it is quite true coz Iphone is more "user-friendly".  All my 4 bosses (young and old) use Iphone, they were using Blackberry previously.  Most of the other office staff are using Android.  My wife's work place also same.  hmm.gif

There was once one of my older (65 years old) boss's Iphone spoilt and because Samsung was hot that time (can't remember which model - maybe S7E or Note 5), he asked his PA to buy one for him.  After using for few hours, he ask her to go buy Iphone instead and pass the Samsung to her.  laugh.gif
Ppl using iphone usually have no time optimizing the phone or fiddle with settings laugh.gif
sharpman
post Apr 28 2017, 06:59 AM

Veteran LYN Forumer
1,110 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Apr 27 2017, 06:55 PM)
anyone here picking it up on 04 May?? hmm.gif
I am picking up on 4th May smile.gif Already got my Annual Leave approved
SUSVape [On]
post Apr 28 2017, 07:00 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Apr 27 2017, 02:58 PM)
yes, smartphone can claim.  So do keep the receipt.

But bosses running big business dun need to transfer files or music.  They just take call, whatsapp and read/reply email.  While on business trip, take some photos.  That's all, even the wallpaper/ringtone is stock.  sweat.gif
My wallpaper / theme is pitch black. And my ringtone is Over The Horizon. Not a boss laugh.gif

162 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0273sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:24 AM