6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V5!, The madness continues!

TSblacktrix
post Mar 16 2007, 01:37 AM, updated 19y ago

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Ok guys... you know the drill...... NEW GUITAR THREAD!!!!!

And the award goes to:

blacktrix 519
Everdying 349
echobrainproject 155
sean392 120
asura_86 110
SweetTooth 108
blackangel 107
BlueSilver 97
skydancer 74
led_zep_freak 73
noisetrigger 71
joeboto 68
soulfly 66
Criptonox89 56
antonio 48
headhunter7 43
winkybear 35
ReeveX.com 34
MetalZone 25
RustReaver4D1 23
Banzai_san 23
Mysterious X12 21
z3r0l33t 20
Silver Isle 19
Equilibrium777 19
+3kk! 15
ntc3freak 15
Pix 15
the_registered 13
destroyer 7
Clavicus 7
TheWhacker 7
newbie2 7
Diazepam 6
Savor_Savvy 6
valkyrie1232 6
chapree 6
Joshiet 5
AlienProbe 5
chenster 5
xnobys 4
ian31 4
modD 4
MoNnY 4
metalhead 3
guitarnoobster2 3
Bassix 3
changhao 3
DisenchanteD 3
michly 3
Zavier18 3
moderneagle 3
shouta 3
ggoo 3
wui223 3
Eunose Roadster 2
mumeichan 2
kernel 2
ILFr 2
arafat 2
darrencw 2
bsmohd 2
^Hobbes^ 2
Lefty 2
u-djinn 2
zeroglyph 2
yuejon 2
kInOzAwA 1
SHOfrE3zE 1
alfee29 1
raining again 1
Silver & Cold 1
neuvas 1
mvtan 1
asuk 1
jep 1
jones007 1
ninelives1980 1
nerd 1
zzub 1
jackanory 1
Ryo 1
CountPuchi 1
Hanzo 1

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 16 2007, 01:38 AM
SweetTooth
post Mar 16 2007, 02:20 AM

2,650 posts

First! thumbup.gif
wow not bad spam so many posts!
+1
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 02:28 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

must
spam
more

tongue.gif
skydancer
post Mar 16 2007, 02:43 AM

308 posts

wow, 519, thats time 7 times more than my posts
^Hobbes^
post Mar 16 2007, 03:01 AM

I'm surreal only imaginary
777 posts

I've only got 2 post, which means i need to spam even more to climb the ladder?

Btw any one bought an amp from US before ? From what i've gathered, their voltage is 110v and ours is 230v. So do i really need a transformer or any one in Msia can modify the original transformer in the amp itself to 230v?

I am considering the Epiphone Valve Jr or the Fender Champ 600 couple with a TS808 or TS9 pedal. Any comments on those equipments?

This post has been edited by ^Hobbes^: Mar 16 2007, 03:11 AM
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 03:23 AM

30,735 posts

there is such a thing as 'export model' which you can request.
^Hobbes^
post Mar 16 2007, 04:13 AM

777 posts

Thanks for the info, I'll try and ask them if they have any export version, btw i am getting them from Musicians Friend.

Also i hope the Epi Valve Jr lives up to its expectation.

Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 04:25 AM

30,735 posts

musicians friend do not ship to a non-US address.
unless you have a friend there whos willing to get it and send it over here.
^Hobbes^
post Mar 16 2007, 04:32 AM

777 posts

Yeah i know but my parents and brother is going to the US for 3 weeks to help him settle down there, when they come back they'll bring it back for me.

Btw heard you are the Epi/Gibson pro here, have you heard anything about 59SR and 60ST pickups? Couldnt dig much info from Google, all i know is that they are Alnico 5 and my neck PU seems louder than my bridge PU, have any clue why its behaving as such ?

This post has been edited by ^Hobbes^: Mar 16 2007, 04:32 AM
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 05:20 AM

30,735 posts

they're modelled after gibson's 490/498 combo.
by current gibson standards, they're nothing great, but still good.

neck pu louder? uhhh then drop the neck pu height, increase bridge pu height etc.
else, your bridge pu might not be wired properly, coil dying, pot dying etc.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 16 2007, 05:21 AM
Bassix
post Mar 16 2007, 05:50 AM

-----
1,171 posts

wow i have 3 posts!!!

.... make that 4 tongue.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 16 2007, 08:24 AM

13,063 posts

Ok, some one needs to transfer the user bars. Can someone please do that?

Also, For amps, I don't think it's as easy as plugging it into a transformer and let 'er rip. Correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't your amp blow up if you plug it into a transformer?

I know it sounds tempting..... believe me..... I KNOW...... I was at Guitar Center in US and could get a full tube amp for around RM2000 (Think Randall) and could EASILY ship it back via Fed-Ex or whatever..... but then when you think you need to modify the power voltage to fit our standards and all that..... it gets really expensive AND troublesome quickly.....

So...... FYI.

Anyway, Let's ALL Call up to harass Swee Lee and see if they can bring in the Epi Valve amps!
echobrainproject
post Mar 16 2007, 09:29 AM

4,765 posts

wah, my spam went up so high.
sean392
post Mar 16 2007, 09:41 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 16 2007, 09:29 AM)
wah, my spam went up so high.
dam you beat me by 35 posts
lol

nice lets keep this going
XD
asura_86
post Mar 16 2007, 09:47 AM

**blank**
1,217 posts

i can't spam much anymore...no connection in office cry.gif cry.gif just got back from office...need to go back in another 30minutes... laugh.gif
joeboto
post Mar 16 2007, 09:50 AM

insert title
913 posts

lol, how did u count teh spam quantity, blacktrix?
is there any generator which do that?

+1 for meh!
Banzai_san
post Mar 16 2007, 09:52 AM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 16 2007, 08:24 AM)
Also, For amps, I don't think it's as easy as plugging it into a transformer and let 'er rip. Correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't your amp blow up if you plug it into a transformer?
No. It should not. A transformer should be able to "transform" our 230/240V electricity to 110V as required by the "US amp". ie the electricity flowing from the transformer into the amp should be 110V smile.gif

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Mar 16 2007, 09:55 AM
darrencw
post Mar 16 2007, 10:19 AM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

Guys,my gibby studio kena whack by my fender.now got dings on the top of the guitar ady.My retarded friend...zzz

Anyway,

tommorow got small unplugged gig session for a dinner event.Havent choose any songs yet...donno what to play also.Been thinkin about playing gnr's patience and matchbox's unwell.tried out and sounds too dull.then now changed to bon jovi's i'll be there for you and hinder's lips of an angel.no acoustics.Only 2 guitars....10 minutes set...any suggestion? 50 watts and 30 watts amp enough for a room of 150 people? do i need miking ?
TSblacktrix
post Mar 16 2007, 10:22 AM

13,063 posts

How big is this place? A huge hall? Small hall? Dinner room?
All those count....

And I've heard of Gibsons and Fenders fighting...... but this is ridiculous!

darrencw
post Mar 16 2007, 10:25 AM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

lets say its 1/3 the size of sunway's biggest ballroom.
but the amount of people is not so high.i've been gigs before,but not unplugged.zzzz

my gibby now got ding...heartache...
SweetTooth
post Mar 16 2007, 10:30 AM

2,650 posts

just came back from undang test thumbup.gif

i realised that the red jazz III picks are less stiff compared to the black ones :S no wonder black ones are called stiffos
Banzai_san
post Mar 16 2007, 10:53 AM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(darrencw @ Mar 16 2007, 10:19 AM)
Guys,my gibby studio kena whack by my fender.now got dings on the top of the guitar ady.My retarded friend...zzz
sorry to interrupt.. but what is "guitar ady" ? (I feel soo noob blush.gif )
joeboto
post Mar 16 2007, 11:02 AM

insert title
913 posts

already laa
echobrainproject
post Mar 16 2007, 11:25 AM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Mar 16 2007, 10:30 AM)
just came back from undang test thumbup.gif

i realised that the red jazz III picks are less stiff compared to the black ones :S no wonder black ones are called stiffos
could u bring it to the jam? wanna try to see whats the fuss is all about
Banzai_san
post Mar 16 2007, 11:34 AM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(joeboto @ Mar 16 2007, 11:02 AM)
already laa
laaa.. doh.gif ingatkan apa tadi DOH...
Im still not familiar with the "shorthand"s & sms way of writing unsure.gif
Thanks joe
soulfly
post Mar 16 2007, 12:27 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

check this out

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-03D..._Shop_Model.htm
skydancer
post Mar 16 2007, 01:22 PM

308 posts

nice guitar, but the price... aw.... somehow i dont like the headstock tongue.gif
lord_vader
post Mar 16 2007, 01:37 PM

The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner
1,010 posts

wow, kerry king sig. somehow i recalled the axe he used in
decade of agression.
^Hobbes^
post Mar 16 2007, 01:51 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 16 2007, 05:20 AM)
they're modelled after gibson's 490/498 combo.
by current gibson standards, they're nothing great, but still good.

neck pu louder? uhhh then drop the neck pu height, increase bridge pu height etc.
else, your bridge pu might not be wired properly, coil dying, pot dying etc.
Thanks for the info rclxms.gif
Then i guess i'll need a luthier to check on my guitar already and i am also considering whether to upgrade PU or not tongue.gif
If i'll ever upgrade it will be Alnico 2 Pro rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ^Hobbes^: Mar 16 2007, 01:53 PM
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 03:07 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Mar 16 2007, 01:51 PM)
Thanks for the info rclxms.gif
Then i guess i'll need a luthier to check on my guitar already and i am also considering whether to upgrade PU or not  tongue.gif
If i'll ever upgrade it will be Alnico 2 Pro  rclxms.gif
btw, if you're ordering from musicians friend.
they have no such thing as export model, as they dont do that market in the first place.

and sweelee does special orders for the epi valve junior.
but of cos, the customary deposit is required, which they require 30%.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 16 2007, 03:24 PM
SiAo.NeRd
post Mar 16 2007, 03:28 PM

25 posts

does bentley carry jazz III picks ????

im using tortex jazz picks for now
wanna give the jazz III a try =p

*sean392 here* teruse friends acc ><

This post has been edited by SiAo.NeRd: Mar 16 2007, 03:29 PM
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 03:29 PM

30,735 posts

i got enough jazz III picks to last awhile tongue.gif

bentley dunno, i got mine from harmony in dsara uptown, RM2.50 each.
sean392
post Mar 16 2007, 03:36 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

any other shops?
2.50??
dam thats pretty expensive ><
jimdunlops web says that jazz III thinnest is 1.13mm
im using 1.00 and .88 tortex jazz

lol
1.13 sounds really hard ><
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 03:41 PM

30,735 posts

not really.
since the pick is shorter, it just slides off the strings.
not much tension between pick and strings, unlike that 1.00 regular tortex sized pick.
sean392
post Mar 16 2007, 03:43 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 16 2007, 03:41 PM)
not really.
since the pick is shorter, it just slides off the strings.
not much tension between pick and strings, unlike that 1.00 regular tortex sized pick.
thing is
im using tortex jazz
same cutting as the jazz III
curious how the jazz III feels like =p
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 03:45 PM

30,735 posts

go buy one la...RM2.50 only...and lasts much longer than the regular tortex or whatever.
darrencw
post Mar 16 2007, 04:04 PM

LYN's biggest gearwhore.
1,171 posts

My command of english is terrible.Learn from some forumers,spam too much in kopitiam and this is what happens.
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 16 2007, 04:46 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 16 2007, 03:43 PM)
thing is
im using tortex jazz
same cutting as the jazz III
curious how the jazz III feels like =p
Haha, I switched from the Jazz III to the Tortex Jazz. I think the Tortex Jazz is just a wee bit bigger than the Jazz III. I prefer the Tortex Jazz because I find that the grip is better (the Jazz III tends to slip if I play for more than half-an-hour).

Jazz III, especially the red one, is a bit too plasticky feeling for my taste... smile.gif

Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 05:12 PM

30,735 posts

i hold the jazz III with the jim dunlop wordings pressing on my thumb.
seems to give it a better grip than the other way around tongue.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 16 2007, 05:14 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 16 2007, 05:12 PM)
i hold the jazz III with the jim dunlop wordings pressing on my thumb.
seems to give it a better grip than the other way around tongue.gif
Yeah, crush Dunlop's name with your thumb! tongue.gif

Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 05:19 PM

30,735 posts

metallica has started recording their new album.

pics here.
http://www.metallica.com/index.asp?1=1&item=600185

we all know lars has kirk as a toyboy, now looks like trujillo has become hetfield's toyboy.

skydancer
post Mar 16 2007, 05:23 PM

308 posts

i dunno to compare, for me both are nice. but then, jazz III does look more plastic, while tortex jazz looks nicer tongue.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 16 2007, 05:28 PM

1,100 posts

Wah... nice looking bass. Any idea what brand/model?

Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 05:36 PM

30,735 posts

its a fernandes bass.
skydancer
post Mar 16 2007, 05:38 PM

308 posts

hopefully their new albums sounds better than the previous one
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 05:41 PM

30,735 posts

hopefully?
i dont see how metallica can do any worse than st anger.
unless somehow they get the stupid yellowcard singer to guest on it.
skydancer
post Mar 16 2007, 06:00 PM

308 posts

who knows? bt probably not tongue.gif
^Hobbes^
post Mar 16 2007, 06:32 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 16 2007, 03:07 PM)
btw, if you're ordering from musicians friend.
they have no such thing as export model, as they dont do that market in the first place.

and sweelee does special orders for the epi valve junior.
but of cos, the customary deposit is required, which they require 30%.
Maybe its better if i order through sweelee, but then, they do not ship to Malaysia and they might jack up the price sky high.
soulfly
post Mar 16 2007, 06:58 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Mar 16 2007, 05:28 PM)
Wah... nice looking bass. Any idea what brand/model?
trujillo always use Fernandes bass biggrin.gif

anyway.... have you guys listened to Megadeth's new version of A Tout Le Monde? The one that has Cristina Scabbia singing in it.... awesome guitar tone and solo work.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 16 2007, 07:34 PM

13,063 posts

I just came back from BeatSpot.....
Played the heck out of that Zakk Wylde Epi Camo....
Honestly..... still too bright for my tastes....... prefer the tone of my Bullseye and the EMG actives......

Not much new there though.

Hmmmmmmmm...... I wonder.... if we order THROUGH Yamaha.... maybe we can get the Epiphone Valve amp from Swee Lee singapore????

Makes me drool......

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 16 2007, 07:35 PM
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 08:06 PM

30,735 posts

actually for guitars, you should be glad its brighter and not darker.

its always better and easier to cut high end, then to add on.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 16 2007, 08:14 PM

13,063 posts

That's true....... but I REALLY like the Camo...... TEMPTATION..........

Oh well.

I checked out Musician's Friend and I converted the Price of an Epi So-Cal Tube Head and Cab and it comes up to about RM2800....... RM3500 also I wouldn't mind getting it from Swee Lee/Yamaha!

Yeah.... it's no JCM800 (Or Even a Ceriatone)...... But RM3500 and I get a WHOLE Half Stack and Head?? Sweeeeeeeeeeeeet
^Hobbes^
post Mar 16 2007, 08:28 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 16 2007, 07:34 PM)
I just came back from BeatSpot.....
Played the heck out of that Zakk Wylde Epi Camo....
Honestly..... still too bright for my tastes....... prefer the tone of my Bullseye and the EMG actives......

Not much new there though.

Hmmmmmmmm...... I wonder.... if we order THROUGH Yamaha.... maybe we can get the Epiphone Valve amp from Swee Lee singapore????

Makes me drool......
Maybe we can sort of bulk buy from them ? Like say gather 5 people who are interested and order through them.

Either that or i may try music123 cuz AFAIK they do export, and i'll ask for the export models

This post has been edited by ^Hobbes^: Mar 16 2007, 08:29 PM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 16 2007, 08:29 PM

13,063 posts

I don't think much of us here are interested in the amp.....
Maybe Echo is..... but that's about it.
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 08:30 PM

30,735 posts

dont forget the 30% tax tongue.gif
^Hobbes^
post Mar 16 2007, 08:35 PM

777 posts

If its classified as personal effect its only 10% tongue.gif
From my previous experience, i bought an epi lp custom, metronome, hardcase, schaller lock, gig bag, dimarzio cables in one shipment and they tax me 10% only tongue.gif

And if my parents carried it for me and they are not carrying other taxable items chances are high that they can pass through customs without hassle.
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 08:36 PM

30,735 posts

the 30% tax applies to electrical equipments.
guitar does not fall under that, it only falls into the individual custom officer's pocket.
^Hobbes^
post Mar 16 2007, 08:39 PM

777 posts

Correct me if i am wrong, i thought Malaysia does not have any duty on electrical items?

AFAIK, metronome classified as electrical ?
Everdying
post Mar 16 2007, 08:46 PM

30,735 posts

unless malaysia abolished it, then far as i know theres always been a 30% import tax on amps etc.

the metronome is a waste of time for them to tax if its an individual, get what from it? RM5? blah.

now an amp, 30% can net you a couple hundred RM to at least a thousand.

if im not mistaken, the 10% you got taxed on is a sales tax, which is standard for all goods.
import tax is another thing altogether.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 16 2007, 08:52 PM
headhunter7
post Mar 16 2007, 09:33 PM

2,355 posts

Blacktrix.. your bullseye and the camo..has the same material don't they?

only the camo has emg-hz's.Was it THAT much of a difference?

How much do they go for over there?
TSblacktrix
post Mar 16 2007, 09:42 PM

13,063 posts

Didn't Ask..... didn't care.
Remember.... I had to buy the EMG-ZW separately......

And no.... they are NOT the same material.
The Camo uses a Maple Fret, where else my Bullseye uses a Rosewood fret.
Maple = Brighter, Rosewood = Warmer....

Take your pick.
headhunter7
post Mar 16 2007, 10:13 PM

2,355 posts

Hmmmmmmm..

I want a lespaul, but never had enough cash for it.
But nah not the Camo,
I've always wanted an LP Custom.
>_>

SweetTooth
post Mar 16 2007, 10:41 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 16 2007, 11:25 AM)
could u bring it to the jam? wanna try to see whats the fuss is all about
i'll bring a black and a red. will buy them soon

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 16 2007, 03:29 PM)
i got enough jazz III picks to last awhile tongue.gif

bentley dunno, i got mine from harmony in dsara uptown, RM2.50 each.
yea i bought from harmony too. the guitar store damansara perdana carries them too.

jazz iii's are very durable, i bought 2 and still using them (i use the black one more)
echobrainproject
post Mar 16 2007, 10:56 PM

4,765 posts

haha. tube head plus cab for 3k+ sure is tempting. if its really that price count me in. however, i highly doubt it. imagine shipping, tax then ship again all the way to kuching. lol.
soulfly
post Mar 16 2007, 11:03 PM

15,903 posts

i got a noob theory question

how do you determine a song's key? can somebody explain... let say for the song "Enter Sandman"

read everywhere but none gave a simple answer (laymans answer) sweat.gif
skydancer
post Mar 16 2007, 11:07 PM

308 posts

my jazz II end seems to get round after a week of using
SweetTooth
post Mar 16 2007, 11:17 PM

2,650 posts

^
my jazz iii still steady after so much abuse thumbup.gif
anyone bought from www.zzounds.com before ?
Equilibrium777
post Mar 16 2007, 11:33 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 16 2007, 11:03 PM)
i got a noob theory question

how do you determine a song's key? can somebody explain... let say for the song "Enter Sandman"

read everywhere but none gave a simple answer (laymans answer) sweat.gif
Do you read notes(taugeh what we chinese call it). If you do then look at the beginning of the score, there will be sharps or flats beside the trebleclef. If there is 1 sharp on the F then it's in the Key of G, 2 Sharps then its D, etc etc

If not then it's hard to explain as you have to use your ears. . . it's like if you can find a string of notes that progress in a symetrical Do Re Mi kinda thing then you string it together with the :

1-Whole-2-Whole-3-Half-4-Whole-5-Whole-6-Whole-7-Half-Octave

Formulae. . .

I hope this helps. . . cause usually people either have perfect or relative pitch and use their ears, or just look at the the score(which IMO is MUCH more easier)
soulfly
post Mar 16 2007, 11:57 PM

15,903 posts

can you give an example by using a song?
sean392
post Mar 17 2007, 12:35 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

lookie wat i found today
=/
three screws on the trussrod cover, funny headstock, a v-ish shaped neck,
funny body shape at neck joint, alpine white but has a quilt maple top
all for a cool rm1800 @ mahogany amcorp
lol

but i did lift it up n played it
it actually did sound like an sx lp

but dont take my word for it
im a self proclaimed tone deaf dude. =p
@everdying
looks like this dude is spreading his stocks around

This post has been edited by sean392: Mar 17 2007, 12:39 AM
SweetTooth
post Mar 17 2007, 12:53 AM

2,650 posts

what do you call that cage thing around the fretboard? its usually white..
echobrainproject
post Mar 17 2007, 12:54 AM

4,765 posts

im starting to hate the guy spreading those fake gibsons around.
sean392
post Mar 17 2007, 01:04 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Mar 17 2007, 12:53 AM)
what do you call that cage thing around the fretboard? its usually white..
the neck binding?
for customs i think its white
i took the pic in secrecy
=p they din know

but i think the binding was right on
white but it looks cream in my phone =/

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 17 2007, 12:54 AM)
im starting to hate the guy spreading those fake gibsons around.
yeah
i wouldnt mind if its honduras mahogany and a 1/4" maple top tho =p
well i dont think it will be
wait till everdying eventually stumbles on a clear finish one
so he can identify it for us lol =p

jk
its kinda degrades the real thing
heck there was a guitar shop in summit usj selling fake epiphones
if epiphone acoustics had headstocks like martins
then maybe they werent =p
but the lp classic there is 100% fake =.=
recently alot of fake stuff is being produced, its gotta suck to know your hard saved/earned cash is spent getting fakes ><

This post has been edited by sean392: Mar 17 2007, 01:08 AM
joeboto
post Mar 17 2007, 01:23 AM

insert title
913 posts

every guitar seems to hav fakes nowadays.
maybe one day got ESP fakes o.O
im sure i'll buy it (if below rm500 laaa)tongue.gif
SweetTooth
post Mar 17 2007, 01:46 AM

2,650 posts

fake sx come out sell in supermarket hang on the wall
jackson_asdf
post Mar 17 2007, 01:57 AM

36 posts

i wonder why everyone's choosing SX instead... YAMAHA and IBANEZ guitars that are lower than RM1000 have better sounding than other SX guitars.. SX guitars are juz a copy...
Everdying
post Mar 17 2007, 02:39 AM

30,735 posts

and ibanez is just a copy of charvel jackson.
oh wait, ibanez also used to copy gibson.

anyway, so do you all still think the LP Supreme in yamaha curve is real?
since now mahagony has got guts to sell a fake.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 17 2007, 02:49 AM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 17 2007, 07:38 AM

13,063 posts

Yeah.... Now that you mentioned it.........

Anyway..... if I wanted to buy a Gibson, I'd wait for my US trip and get one.

And yes, my first choice is the Gibson Standard if I had the cash, but if not, I'm still torn between a Gibson BFG or the Dimebag Razorback.
soulfly
post Mar 17 2007, 10:01 AM

15,903 posts

blacktrix: explorer brows.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 17 2007, 10:07 AM

13,063 posts

But.... the only guitar that will triumph all of the above, would be if Gibson announces the DethKlok signature guitar or an AFFORDABLE Gibson Flying V Zakk Wylde Signature.
echobrainproject
post Mar 17 2007, 10:15 AM

4,765 posts

AFFORDABLE Gibson Flying V Zakk Wylde Signature

dream on. gibsons aint affordable, not to mention a flying V + signature series.
blackangel
post Mar 17 2007, 11:15 AM

556 posts

wow so many days didn online..v5 already..haha i also got 7..must spam more..

hmm..gibson..always a dream...

today i learnt a new thing again...which is adjusting my guitar pickups to the correct height for a balance in most things..from google haha..no wonder when i change pickup volume has an obvious change...now i know more about pkcups!

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 17 2007, 01:57 PM
SweetTooth
post Mar 17 2007, 02:17 PM

2,650 posts

i have yet to learn the technical stuff of guitars.. right now i just play whistling.gif
blackangel
post Mar 17 2007, 02:37 PM

556 posts

actually those things are in the process of learning..u need to learn bit by bit and those technical stuffs actually will help u be better...

hmm..i hate ppl who sell fake guitars..if its a copy of model then its ok..but not a replica...and the alphine white fake lp the headstock..the vinly there looks like augus young devil vinly on his sig SG..

yes blacktrix..go US showroom and buy..not here..cuz everybody knows this is the paradise of imitation stuffs..though they are not made here..but....i dun mind DVD though tongue.gif

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 17 2007, 02:38 PM
Everdying
post Mar 17 2007, 02:57 PM

30,735 posts

heres one selling a fake LP, right here in garage sales tongue.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/425366
SweetTooth
post Mar 17 2007, 03:53 PM

2,650 posts

ok i just uploaded the wes borland clinic videos, check the wes borland clinic thread

Added on March 17, 2007, 4:04 pmbtw i think i wanna get a cheap acoustic. any reccomendations? budget about rm200 and below tongue.gif

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Mar 17 2007, 04:04 PM
+3kk!
post Mar 17 2007, 06:02 PM

8,275 posts

weee.....just came back from spore 4 buddy guy and he ROXXXOR

walked into the crowd and play, played with his teeth, one handed and numerous ways you can think of using only yr right hand to play guitar, and kutuk clapton and all the 70 UK rock people when they just started getting the blues. and omg the 1337 guitarings skillz......

AND HE COVERED VOODOO CHILD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

spore always get the good stuff
sean392
post Mar 17 2007, 10:08 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 17 2007, 06:02 PM)
weee.....just came back from spore 4 buddy guy and he ROXXXOR

walked into the crowd and play, played with his teeth, one handed and numerous ways you can think of using only yr right hand to play guitar, and kutuk clapton and all the 70 UK rock people when they just started getting the blues. and omg the 1337 guitarings skillz......

AND HE COVERED VOODOO CHILD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
spore always get the good stuff
wow
sounds like it was reallllllllllly cool
sighs

and guess wat
i went to kl with my friend cuz he wanted some new drum sticks
n was in chambers sg wang n i stumbled on an epiphone lp
and so i asked to test it
again, it was light, the epiphone branding inlay on the headstock was rather thick
and the body n neck woods had almost no grains

im not gonna jump to conclusions, but i managed to sneak a pic of the "made in korea" sticker which looked very different from mine
also this epiphone was very similar to the one i saw in summit subang

everdying care to confirm?
from chambers
mine

sry bout the horrible pic quality but i had no chance to properly take the pic since the lady was standing infront of me
Everdying
post Mar 17 2007, 11:01 PM

30,735 posts

nothing wrong with that MIK sticker.

but GUESS WHAT tongue.gif
today i went to yamaha at the curve to check out the LP supreme.
apparently it had been sold.

i wonder if we have a spy here...

anyway, i tried some MIC LP's there, very light.
the only one that came close to the weight of my MIK LP was the ZW camo.
i wont get the ZW tho, i cant stand maple that looks like the one on the ZW, looks like maple you find on RM500 guitars.
blackangel
post Mar 18 2007, 12:14 AM

556 posts

hmm..everydying, does ishibashi website guitars for the epiphones are made in Japan?hmm..
SweetTooth
post Mar 18 2007, 01:20 AM

2,650 posts

my guitar weight is 5.0 kg. whats the average weight? or the weight you are comfortable with
Everdying
post Mar 18 2007, 03:06 AM

30,735 posts

interesting mini review from someone on the recent G3.

Gilbert played some Racer-X, and some stuff off his new album. Satch did some old stuff, and some new stuff I've never heard before. Petrucci rocked hard, but he has put on some weight and now he has manboobs. Pretty good screwin show. You won't be dissapointed.
^Hobbes^
post Mar 18 2007, 03:38 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 16 2007, 08:46 PM)
unless malaysia abolished it, then far as i know theres always been a 30% import tax on amps etc.

the metronome is a waste of time for them to tax if its an individual, get what from it? RM5? blah.

now an amp, 30% can net you a couple hundred RM to at least a thousand.

if im not mistaken, the 10% you got taxed on is a sales tax, which is standard for all goods.
import tax is another thing altogether.
If i am not mistaken that import tax is more commonly known as duty while the 10
% is sales tax.

The thing i am confused is whether Malaysia still have 30% duty on electricals or not. According to some, they say certain electrical items have duty while some dont have. They told me some items like computer stuff and digital camera doesnt attract any duty.

Maybe some expert can enlighten us on this issue?
soulfly
post Mar 18 2007, 02:03 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 17 2007, 10:07 AM)
But.... the only guitar that will triumph all of the above, would be if Gibson announces the DethKlok signature guitar or an AFFORDABLE Gibson Flying V Zakk Wylde Signature.
Dean VMNT la tongue.gif
SweetTooth
post Mar 18 2007, 02:29 PM

2,650 posts

i bought the jazz III picks already. will bring them next saturday
blackangel
post Mar 18 2007, 05:00 PM

556 posts

dean vnmt?lolz.....anyone got comments on GIM lp?what wood they use huh?
TSblacktrix
post Mar 18 2007, 05:56 PM

13,063 posts

Ummmmm. Zakk Wylde fan.... not A Mustaine Fan.......

Oh, and have you guys ever heard of Rockabye Baby! ???

Imagine Metallica, The Cure, Led Zepplin, Nirvana, U2, Smashing Pumpkins, Tool, Nine Inch Nails......

All redone as Lullabies. Yup. Lullabies.

Freakin' awesome!!!!!

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 18 2007, 05:59 PM
echobrainproject
post Mar 18 2007, 06:32 PM

4,765 posts

is there anything wrong with my guitar when after a while of playing it feels like static electricity builts up to a point when it gives a slight shock to my hands. its the first time i experienced smth like this.
Equilibrium777
post Mar 18 2007, 06:54 PM

1,228 posts

you're wiring nvr earthed properly? that should be the reason. . . used to experience that with my axes. . . then it seems that i nvr earth my amp properly. . . or the earth wiring to your bridge pup loose?
TSblacktrix
post Mar 18 2007, 07:04 PM

13,063 posts

Yeah.... happened to me before too.
I changed the plug head to my Amp, and all went ok already.
echobrainproject
post Mar 18 2007, 07:41 PM

4,765 posts

hmm...gonna be a tough one to fig out since im not using any amps. checking the earthing for my effects and racks
blackangel
post Mar 18 2007, 07:57 PM

556 posts

well...talk about shock...that day i was dumb enuf to play during thunderstorm...thunder struckand it went thru my amp n to the guitar n to the strings...i can recall back the 2 sparks on my fingers....luckily man..if not i wont be replying here..ahaha
Pix
post Mar 18 2007, 08:47 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

wow ! i didn't think it was possible ! did you plug your amp to the ground ?
TheWhacker
post Mar 18 2007, 09:06 PM

3,914 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 18 2007, 07:57 PM)
well...talk about shock...that day i was dumb enuf to play during thunderstorm...thunder struckand it went thru my amp n to the guitar n to the strings...i can recall back the 2 sparks on my fingers....luckily man..if not i wont be replying here..ahaha
Are you like crazy ? shakehead.gif

When there's a thunderstorm, you have to off every single equipment in the house, be it the modem, computer, air-con, TV, radio. And just to be extra save .... i always unplug all power cables from the plugs during a thunderstorm.

I have never had a burnt modem or a burnt PSU and never got shocked before biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 18 2007, 08:47 PM)
wow ! i didn't think it was possible ! did you plug your amp to the ground ?
I think its possible ... coz your body completes the cycle flow of the electricity. sweat.gif

I can't think of having 100K++ Watts going through your amp and your guitar sweat.gif
Equilibrium777
post Mar 18 2007, 09:14 PM

1,228 posts

echo try and open the back cover of your gutiar and see if the wire to your bridge is connected properly. . . sometimes the solder will drop if not done properly. . . if not then check our plug points for non-3 pin stuffs. . . happened recently or very long already?

and man, blackangel you're one lucky dude. . . still can laugh. . .xD your guitar now i presume plays much better? your pup just got 1000Volts extra. . . i think can own EMG pups d. . xD nothing fried? cause i'm surprised the pup didn't fry. . your amp for that matter
gapnap
post Mar 18 2007, 09:21 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Mar 18 2007, 09:06 PM)
Are you like crazy ?  shakehead.gif

When there's a thunderstorm, you have to off every single equipment in the house, be it the modem, computer, air-con, TV, radio. And just to be extra save .... i always unplug all power cables from the plugs during a thunderstorm.

I have never had a burnt modem or a burnt PSU and never got shocked before  biggrin.gif 
I think its possible ... coz your body completes the cycle flow of the electricity.  sweat.gif

I can't think of having 100K++ Watts going through your amp and your guitar  sweat.gif
hey bro ,

remember me? tongue.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...4&#entry3979174

you sure those gears are yours? not the church ? icon_idea.gif tongue.gif
blackangel
post Mar 18 2007, 09:26 PM

556 posts

YEAH MAN! everything still working cool inclding my pedal!!hmm at the moment la..haha! hmm TheWhacker...actually..i didn play DURING the thunderstorm..but its like very dark going to rain...then i was playing n i continued...suddenly Einstein Theory was proven! speed of light faster than speed of sound!i felt the shock n saw the blue sparks on my fingers! then only the sound came!!what the helll!
SweetTooth
post Mar 18 2007, 09:44 PM

2,650 posts

^
haha!
all my life rain or thunderstorm also i dont plug out anything just continue my life o.O
echobrainproject
post Mar 18 2007, 09:58 PM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Mar 18 2007, 09:14 PM)
echo try and open the back cover of your gutiar and see if the wire to your bridge is connected properly. . . sometimes the solder will drop if not done properly. . . if not then check our plug points for non-3 pin stuffs. . . happened recently or very long already?

ive opened up to check the cables. however, i dont see any linking to the bridge (its a les paul). its not wired like my strat. as for 2 pin plugs, how to check as theres no earth pin in the first place? (the gt8 uses a 2pin). it just happened and i posted as soon as it started occuring. (dont know for how long as i havent touch my electric for a few days. hehe).

pix, looking bck at the flash us thread, do u still have ur peavey amp?
sean392
post Mar 18 2007, 10:03 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 18 2007, 09:58 PM)
ive opened up to check the cables. however, i dont see any linking to the bridge (its a les paul). its not wired like my strat. as for 2 pin plugs, how to check as theres no earth pin in the first place? (the gt8 uses a 2pin). it just happened and i posted as soon as it started occuring. (dont know for how long as i havent touch my electric for a few days. hehe).

i think he sold it to a lucky tahitian =/
blackangel
post Mar 18 2007, 10:32 PM

556 posts

what makes u said the tahitian lucky?
sean392
post Mar 18 2007, 11:07 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 18 2007, 10:32 PM)
what makes u said the tahitian lucky?
well he got a cool amp from pix
a peavey classic 50
Everdying
post Mar 18 2007, 11:42 PM

30,735 posts

the ground wire in the epi...
there should be a hole in the cavity above the 2 vol pots with a wire going to it.
noise_terrorist
post Mar 18 2007, 11:44 PM

133 posts

guys,
where can i attend a guitar class,
i want to learn a proper basic shredding,
any recommended? but the fee not to high la, rm100++ per month maybe

SweetTooth
post Mar 19 2007, 12:10 AM

2,650 posts

i realize that i dont alternate pick all the time, i economy pick o.O
gapnap
post Mar 19 2007, 12:48 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(noise_terrorist @ Mar 18 2007, 11:44 PM)
guys,
rm100+ a month? blink.gif whoa that is sh1tload

where you stay ? tongue.gif
noise_terrorist
post Mar 19 2007, 01:34 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Mar 19 2007, 12:48 AM)
rm100+ a month?  blink.gif whoa that is sh1tload

where you stay ?  tongue.gif
if got cheaper than that is better, but i doubt so...

Pix
post Mar 19 2007, 04:35 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

i sold my classic to a tahitian guy... i got a good price for it ! my gear should indeed be updated in the flash us thread, but i dun really care if it's not biggrin.gif

TSblacktrix
post Mar 19 2007, 08:50 AM

13,063 posts

You have an Orange......
I don't think you need to update it further tongue.gif
Equilibrium777
post Mar 19 2007, 11:09 AM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 18 2007, 09:58 PM)

i see your problem. . . =D i changed my GT-6 at home to connect to a seperate 3-pin connector. . . this way i had no hum. . . i suggest you find those 2 to 3 pin heads from the DIY shop. . . your problem should disapear soon after =D

hope my advice helps

cheers
supercolossal
post Mar 19 2007, 11:09 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 18 2007, 06:32 PM)
is there anything wrong with my guitar when after a while of playing it feels like static electricity builts up to a point when it gives a slight shock to my hands. its the first time i experienced smth like this.
Try to check the power cable which you use to connect to the power socket from your amp. I had that problem before and changing the cable solved my problem.
blackangel
post Mar 19 2007, 06:03 PM

556 posts

i tabbed out negaraku and now everytime playing it as slow warm up haha.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 19 2007, 06:33 PM

13,063 posts

I play it Zakk Wylde style......
Or more like Hendrix Style.........
SweetTooth
post Mar 19 2007, 07:33 PM

2,650 posts

do you guys use your tone knobs much, or at all? tongue.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 19 2007, 07:51 PM

13,063 posts

Yeah.... To add Tonality.
Really! I do enjoy playing with my knobs!
Sometimes when I bring my guitar to uni, the girls enjoy playing with my knobs also. They can turn it up, turn it down..... all around. Then, once they are satisfied, they start flicking my switch up and down......

Sometimes, if they bring their guitars, they let me twist their knobs also. Most of the time, if they bring their guitars along, I mostly have to tune their strings. And most of the time, I will have to change their G-Strings as well.

.......sorry. I blame the Guinness.
echobrainproject
post Mar 19 2007, 07:52 PM

4,765 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuWS4Alp43s

cool video! love it!
soulfly
post Mar 19 2007, 09:00 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 19 2007, 07:52 PM)
darn.... that one guy was playing a King V doh.gif

blackangel
post Mar 19 2007, 09:00 PM

556 posts

u talking about what G strings ? tongue.gif
asura_86
post Mar 19 2007, 09:05 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

i think he meant thongs or t-backs...biggrin.gif
Everdying
post Mar 19 2007, 09:14 PM

30,735 posts

maybe he wished your g-string would rub against his nut more.
just try not to play with the toggle too much.
^Hobbes^
post Mar 19 2007, 09:19 PM

777 posts

Also dont try to play with the tone knobs too much, later swollen or drop out tongue.gif
asura_86
post Mar 19 2007, 09:49 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

anyways, i tested my guitar again today...i can get tunings from my tuners, my multifx...but when i connect to the amp, there's no sound....even when turning on the amp, there's no sound also..

edit: problem found...amp die...need to claim warranty cry.gif

This post has been edited by asura_86: Mar 19 2007, 09:59 PM
joeboto
post Mar 19 2007, 10:14 PM

insert title
913 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 19 2007, 07:51 PM)
Sometimes when I bring my guitar to uni, the girls enjoy playing with my knobs also. They can turn it up, turn it down..... all around. Then, once they are satisfied, they start flicking my switch up and down......

Sometimes, if they bring their guitars, they let me twist their knobs also. Most of the time, if they bring their guitars along, I mostly have to tune their strings. And most of the time, I will have to change their G-Strings as well.

o.O
nobody wanna play my tone knob! cry.gif
SweetTooth
post Mar 19 2007, 10:35 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 19 2007, 07:51 PM)

can i siggy that brows.gif

and about the video i was laughing when i watched music and lyrics(it was the intro)
then it kinda became like a numa for awhile

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Mar 19 2007, 10:37 PM
noise_terrorist
post Mar 19 2007, 11:06 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(noise_terrorist @ Mar 18 2007, 11:44 PM)
guys,
nobody reply ka? : (
blackangel
post Mar 20 2007, 12:06 AM

556 posts

anywhere..u can find one.between 90-100...im sure there are...i name u some..rhapsody in midvalley..then hmm sunway the guitar store? n...not really sure anymore..im taking lessons at subang ss15 in a shop more for guitar repairing.
Everdying
post Mar 20 2007, 12:10 AM

30,735 posts

you're taking lessons from amil? tongue.gif
echobrainproject
post Mar 20 2007, 07:02 AM

4,765 posts

who is taking lessons from amil? which amil?
Pix
post Mar 20 2007, 07:23 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

EBP, i watched the movie in which there is this "pop" video clip, last sunday ! the keyboard guy is actually Hugh Grant, and that's the only part of the movie which is hilarious laugh.gif all the rest is just some typical romantic comedy...

notice the great hip's moves...
TSblacktrix
post Mar 20 2007, 08:05 AM

13,063 posts

I think after all the whammy tricks I've been pulling off, my Whammy bar on my RR3 is now as loose as a 2$ Lady of the Night. It just can't stay in the same position at all........

Would buying a new Whammy Bar fix this problem, or is it the bridge itself?
soulfly
post Mar 20 2007, 10:02 AM

15,903 posts

did the bridge go back to normal position?
TSblacktrix
post Mar 20 2007, 01:44 PM

13,063 posts

No. Bridge is the same.
It's just that the whammy bar is loose, that's all.
Even screwed on tight, still will be loose.......
SweetTooth
post Mar 20 2007, 02:14 PM

2,650 posts

^
isn't that normal? most of my friend's one are like that if you move the guitar around the whammy will just limp away
winkybear
post Mar 20 2007, 02:18 PM

489 posts

My ibanez's whammy bar can change to either loose or a little tighter...depends on how deep I cucuk in. Got two white thingies on the bar for two different tightness.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 20 2007, 02:33 PM

13,063 posts

I need it to be quite tight fo a few solo parts of my song, but just can't get any grip whatsoever.
Everdying
post Mar 20 2007, 03:00 PM

30,735 posts

i only use original floyd rose whammy's, those are about RM50.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 20 2007, 03:13 PM

13,063 posts

Those should be able to fit into my RR3's Licensed FR right?

Anyway..... will be looking to upgrade the FR to an Original Lo-Pro FR by the end of the year, so getting an extra whammy bar shouldn't be a problem......

Besides online, anywhere in KL to get the Whammy bars??
Everdying
post Mar 20 2007, 03:22 PM

30,735 posts

the RR3 is a schaller licensed trem right?
then will fit no prob.

cheap bars are crap, they will always come loose, i think maybe cos of the softer metal.
bentley stocks floyd rose parts, but their selection is pathetic.
you have to check if they have the bar or not.

ANYWAY.
tony iommi's new SG, doubt it'll be a production model.
FLOYD ROSE FTW tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 20 2007, 04:38 PM

TSblacktrix
post Mar 20 2007, 05:43 PM

13,063 posts

Actually, it's a Jackson made FR.

Floyd Rose(R) Licensed Jackson(R) Low Profile JT580 LP Double Locking 2-Point Tremolo.

But that Tommy Iommi SG looks bada$$!!!

Everdying
post Mar 20 2007, 05:57 PM

30,735 posts

btw, sean392.
i can now confirm that my epi LP custom and orville SG '61 RI have the exact same neck thickness.
1st fret - 22mm.
12th fret - 24mm.
the LP neck tho is more rounded, so feels thicker abit.

my gibson SG with floyd has the 60s slim taper neck.
1st - 20.5mm.
12th - 23mm.

for comparison gibson 50s neck.
1st - 23mm.
12th - 25.5mm.

sean392
post Mar 20 2007, 06:06 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 20 2007, 05:57 PM)
btw, sean392.
i can now confirm that my epi LP custom and orville SG '61 RI have the exact same neck thickness.
1st fret - 22mm.
12th fret - 24mm.
the LP neck tho is more rounded, so feels thicker abit.

my gibson SG with floyd has the 60s slim taper neck.
1st - 20.5mm.
12th - 23mm.

for comparison gibson 50s neck.
1st - 23mm.
12th - 25.5mm.
thx alot man!!!
now gotta save up to get that MIJ epi or that orville

Everdying
post Mar 20 2007, 06:08 PM

30,735 posts

now pencil thin are the ibanez wizards, 18mm at 1st fret and a very flat back.
i can never play those necks properly for long periods.

but you want thin necks right?
how about that MIC LP? tongue.gif
blackangel
post Mar 20 2007, 06:12 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 20 2007, 12:10 AM)
you're taking lessons from amil? tongue.gif
haha no not amil, he is taking for like rm120 per month...afterall his teaching is more for on stage performance i guess...hmm there are alot of old classic amp there!the 1st one...not those bentley selling one..those are reissues.
sean392
post Mar 20 2007, 06:22 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 20 2007, 06:08 PM)
now pencil thin are the ibanez wizards, 18mm at 1st fret and a very flat back.
i can never play those necks properly for long periods.

but you want thin necks right?
how about that MIC LP? tongue.gif
ugh
not that thin
i cant even play jackson necks for more than 20 minutes
i have short fingers so i cant take overly large necks and longer scales [strats are kind of tough for me]

plus the next lp i have i really want that open book headstock, as i dont really like the current epiphones headstock [with the exception of the MIJs of course]

but i looooove my mik lp's neck dimensions
tho upper fret access is really HORRIBLE
i cant bend 21st/22nd fret while playing standing properly
need to lift the guitar

This post has been edited by sean392: Mar 20 2007, 06:28 PM
Everdying
post Mar 20 2007, 06:27 PM

30,735 posts

wait ah, when i get my '74 standard then i measure the neck.
it definitely feels somewhere around 50s style thickness.
but its pretty comfortable cos sits nicely in your palm.
sean392
post Mar 20 2007, 07:42 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

@everdying
does those MIJ lps come with a 1/4" maple cap?
this goes for both custom and std/classic
Everdying
post Mar 20 2007, 07:44 PM

30,735 posts

yea, maple caps, but just normal ones.
the flame on top is a veneer.

the gibson ones are real flame maple caps tho.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 20 2007, 07:44 PM
sean392
post Mar 20 2007, 07:48 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 20 2007, 07:44 PM)
yea, maple caps, but just normal ones.
the flame on top is a veneer.

the gibson ones are real flame maple caps tho.
blegh
flames aint my taste
i like plain tops
the customs get the maple caps too right
soulfly
post Mar 20 2007, 08:09 PM

15,903 posts

blacktrix..... is this the one you're eyeing on? brows.gif

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 20 2007, 08:10 PM
Everdying
post Mar 20 2007, 08:10 PM

30,735 posts

old pic of ZW tongue.gif

anyway, now watching all of metallica's the videos collection on dvd.
sean392
post Mar 20 2007, 08:23 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

zakk looks alot better without his viking beard IMO

blackangel
post Mar 20 2007, 08:46 PM

556 posts

is that a gibson ZW v u guys talking about at the previous page? hmm..i wonder...i think Randy Rhoads had one..polka dot one also..im not sure whether issit a jackson or gibson

zakk was really handsome n macho..but now..aihh..i got his hardcore pentatonic lessons...that time i think he was around 30++...looked young

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 20 2007, 08:47 PM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 20 2007, 08:58 PM

13,063 posts

Nope. That's the Randy Rhodes Polka Dot Harpoon that was specially re-made for Zakk by the GMW Guitar company.

The one I'm looking for is used in their new video, Blood Is Thicker Than Water:

The video is absolutely horrible BTW........
blackangel
post Mar 20 2007, 09:11 PM

556 posts

GIMME A clear view of the guitar!haha...i wonder...i think zakk voice..not really suitable for heavy metal songs eh...but he plays damn heavy..his voice is special...but i dunno what genre he shld be in..
sean392
post Mar 20 2007, 09:41 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

his voice
sounds
similar to ozzy i think
the_registered
post Mar 20 2007, 09:51 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

ZW looks fat these days. Is it the beer?
sean392
post Mar 20 2007, 09:59 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(the_registered @ Mar 20 2007, 09:51 PM)
ZW looks fat these days. Is it the beer?
and the various whiskeys and the various vodkas and the various rums and the various

uhhh.....

lol
living a good life man =]
Everdying
post Mar 20 2007, 10:03 PM

30,735 posts

how meeting pantera and slayer can have a negative effect on kids tongue.gif

heres a ozzy quote from 88.
"Zakk is a great kid, real quiet & shy , doesn't smoke...doesn't touch booze at all.."

he still doesnt smoke if not mistaken.
and the reason why he works out is to burn off all that booze tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 20 2007, 10:03 PM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 20 2007, 11:10 PM

13,063 posts

Yeah. No smoking, no tats, no drugs.

Just lots of booze.

Incidentally, the story goes that Sharon once sent Zakk to Promises rehab clinic (that's the same one Britney went to!), and within less then a day, he jumped the fence and got out.

"I don't have a drinking problem. I just like to knock back a few cocktails before going on stage, but I'll never be drunk once I'm on stage"
-Unquote.

echobrainproject
post Mar 20 2007, 11:19 PM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 20 2007, 08:05 AM)
I think after all the whammy tricks I've been pulling off, my Whammy bar on my RR3 is now as loose as a 2$ Lady of the Night. It just can't stay in the same position at all........

Would buying a new Whammy Bar fix this problem, or is it the bridge itself?
thats a sign u should wrap it up and send to me as a gift.
thank you.
SweetTooth
post Mar 20 2007, 11:26 PM

2,650 posts

^
what about me? tongue.gif
sean392
post Mar 20 2007, 11:48 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 20 2007, 11:19 PM)
thats a sign u should wrap it up and send to me as a gift.
thank you.
im sure its too bulky after you recieve the rr3
i'll help you keep your lp biggrin.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 21 2007, 12:19 AM

13,063 posts

The only way you're walking out with my RR3, is if the pointy end is skewered through your shoulder.
winkybear
post Mar 21 2007, 12:33 AM

489 posts

Im stoked, check out Behringer's new line of amps... Bugera :

http://www.bugera-amps.com/

Now I know its a Behringer and all...but its tube...and best of all, check out the price! Im guessing it would be availabe in Malaysia right?

This post has been edited by winkybear: Mar 21 2007, 01:09 AM
MetalZone
post Mar 21 2007, 01:52 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 20 2007, 01:44 PM)
No. Bridge is the same.
It's just that the whammy bar is loose, that's all.
Even screwed on tight, still will be loose.......
Your whammy bar is the screw on type similar to OFR?
Everdying
post Mar 21 2007, 03:23 AM

30,735 posts

JT580 is based on the lo-pro with screw on type.
so yea, he needs a new arm.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 21 2007, 07:18 AM

13,063 posts

I'll wait and see if they deliver the performance.
It does look quite cool though.

echobrainproject
post Mar 21 2007, 07:20 AM

4,765 posts

disappointing that the samples shown are from youtube and taken with a lausy cam at NAMM.
blackangel
post Mar 21 2007, 12:31 PM

556 posts

rr3 thru shoulder..haha...how to determine whether ur guitar is what wood ? i mean without asking the guitar seller..i only know that mahogany is warm n etc etc..
sean392
post Mar 21 2007, 01:13 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 21 2007, 12:19 AM)
The only way you're walking out with my RR3, is if the pointy end is skewered through your shoulder.
lol i'll just take my friends =p

my friends rr3 also has problems with the whammy bar
where do i get the ofr lo pro arm??
plan to get it for his bday

+3kk!
post Mar 21 2007, 01:21 PM

8,275 posts

mate have to ask how you guys upload vids of yrself playing.....?

mine all comes up to like 80 mb and somehow i have to make it smaller. any ideas?
winkybear
post Mar 21 2007, 01:38 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Mar 21 2007, 01:21 PM)
mate have to ask how you guys upload vids of yrself playing.....?
mine all comes up to like 80 mb and somehow i have to make it smaller. any ideas?
Hmm Im interested to know as well. How do you record your vid and sound at the same time? I know...an extremely noob question. Plan to get a webcam when I have the moolah.
asura_86
post Mar 21 2007, 01:43 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

u need to set your resolution and your compression type...

for web, a 320 x 240px, with 25fps (15fps if u can stand the jaggy-ness)...you can try to use microsoft dv compression, or if u really wanna keep everything super small, compress them to flash/.swf file, like what youtube did...but the quality will drop...
TSblacktrix
post Mar 21 2007, 01:58 PM

13,063 posts

I think I'll have to order the Lo-Pro online.
Will need Everdying's list of suppliers for that one.
supercolossal
post Mar 21 2007, 05:04 PM

620 posts

Do you mean the Ibanez lo-pro ? How much would it cost?

TSblacktrix
post Mar 21 2007, 05:15 PM

13,063 posts

No.... The OFR (That's Original Floyd Rose to you) Lo-Pro Trem.
supercolossal
post Mar 21 2007, 06:34 PM

620 posts

Ohhh smile.gif how much would it cost, I wonder if it'll fit in my RG470 to replace my LoTrs next time.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 21 2007, 07:34 PM

13,063 posts

Last I checked, around USD250 without shipping.
Hopefully, can find a dealer in Singapore.
Everdying
post Mar 21 2007, 07:39 PM

30,735 posts

there are no OFR dealers, or apparently new ones for sale, in SG.
closest is thailand.

but now you can get kahlers in SG, wonder if i should mod the epi for one tongue.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 21 2007, 07:53 PM

13,063 posts

How about the Stewmac Schaller FR? Any good? Will it fit my RR3?
Everdying
post Mar 21 2007, 09:36 PM

30,735 posts

no idea.
depends how deep the route is on your guitar, the post spacing etc.
joeboto
post Mar 21 2007, 11:27 PM

insert title
913 posts

wrong thread to post, but in case to help about vids posting, you can use super software, play with the setting tho.

http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html

use flv as the output.
SweetTooth
post Mar 21 2007, 11:41 PM

2,650 posts

anything wrong with a loose whammy ar? still can play ok ?
blackangel
post Mar 21 2007, 11:54 PM

556 posts

hmm guys, anyone know where can i download backing track? or..how to make them?need it for better practice
headhunter7
post Mar 22 2007, 12:21 AM

2,355 posts

http://www.guitarbt.com

Lots of backing tracks..

I want the RR3..I guess I should work while waiting for the offer to university eh? >_>

Need to wait till june.
sean392
post Mar 22 2007, 12:23 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 22 2007, 12:21 AM)
http://www.guitarbt.com

Lots of backing tracks..

I want the RR3..I guess I should work while waiting for  the offer to university eh? >_>

Need to wait till june.
work la
i think bents brought in more rr3's
rm2200 after discounts i think
bout 2 months work with a shitty pay will almost get u there i think?
haha
but rr3 is quite unbalanced
the neck is really heavy compared to the body

http://download.yousendit.com/2B3B6CE244C35187

haha
nothing better to do

cover of a song from beat crusaders

changed it to my style abit

just sharing with u guys
i cant sing to save my life, but i gave it a shot =p

pardon the many mistakes and the out of tune singing
lol

This post has been edited by sean392: Mar 22 2007, 12:26 AM
led_zep_freak
post Mar 22 2007, 08:19 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 20 2007, 07:23 AM)
EBP, i watched the movie in which there is this "pop" video clip, last sunday ! the keyboard guy is actually Hugh Grant, and that's the only part of the movie which is hilarious laugh.gif all the rest is just some typical romantic comedy...

notice the great hip's moves...
Music and Lyrics!!! I have the OST and the tracks on it are GREAT GREAT GREAT! The Pop! Goes My Heart song is bloody addictive. laugh.gif

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 22 2007, 12:23 AM)
work la
bout 2 months work with a shitty pay will almost get u there i think?
haha
but rr3 is quite unbalanced
the neck is really heavy compared to the body
http://download.yousendit.com/2B3B6CE244C35187

haha
nothing better to do

cover of a song from beat crusaders

changed it to my style abit

just sharing with u guys
i cant sing to save my life, but i gave it a shot =p

pardon the many mistakes and the out of tune singing
lol
Hey, your singing is not as bas as you described!!! A little more work on it and it will sound good. smile.gif smile.gif

I like the song, keep it up! thumbup.gif

Added on March 22, 2007, 8:27 amEDIT: W00T! That's my first post of V5! I'm a retired spammer. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Mar 22 2007, 08:27 AM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 22 2007, 08:41 AM

13,063 posts

Yes. The RR3 is REALLY top heavy. Must always be aware that it will droop. And if you're the type who likes to keep their guitars in pristine condition, it's going to be very hard to keep this baby from chips from the long, sharp, pointy ends.
echobrainproject
post Mar 22 2007, 09:06 AM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 22 2007, 08:41 AM)
Yes. The RR3 is REALLY top heavy. Must always be aware that it will droop. And if you're the type who likes to keep their guitars in pristine condition, it's going to be very hard to keep this baby from chips from the long, sharp, pointy ends.
well, buy a new wide strap to solve that problem
TSblacktrix
post Mar 22 2007, 10:10 AM

13,063 posts

I DO have a wide strap already......
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 10:11 AM

1,100 posts

Yeah, the balance on the RR3 is a bit top heavy. But you get used to it after a while and you'll learn how to compensate for it sub-consciously...

I agree with Blacktrix, it's gonna be hard to avoid knocking the pointy end into things when you first get it. I smacked my pointy end into the wall on like the 2nd day I got the thing, and it got chipped. cry.gif

TSblacktrix
post Mar 22 2007, 11:27 AM

13,063 posts

But it perfectly balances my arsenal.... which is why I love my RR3 so much.
For the heavier, crunchy stuff, I still go back to my ZW LP.... because of the EMG 81/85.
But if I wanted something "thinner" and "Sharper", the RR3 is the way to go.
Plus, I'm having so much fun with a Whammy.
headhunter7
post Mar 22 2007, 12:03 PM

2,355 posts

I dont mind about the top heavy thing, but what I'm concerned about is the tuning stability and higher frets..
It's a set neck isn't it?
skydancer
post Mar 22 2007, 01:38 PM

308 posts

the, the rr3 is a bolt on construction
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 01:52 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 22 2007, 12:03 PM)
I dont mind about the top heavy thing, but what I'm concerned about is the tuning stability and higher frets..
It's a set neck isn't it?
bolt-on, as skydancer says. The joint is a bit on the bulky side, though. 20th fret is easy to access, but the 22nd fret can be a difficult if you're playing fast. Hehe, I'm ditching my RR3 for an Ibanez with 24 frets and the AANJ joint, so I won't have to worry about upper fret access any more. rclxm9.gif

The tuning-stability is good, if you have the trem set up properly and you know how to install strings correctly. I don't use the whammy much so I'm not sure if it can keep in tune after some serious dive-bombing... smile.gif

TSblacktrix
post Mar 22 2007, 02:07 PM

13,063 posts

I do some SERIOUS dive bombing and so far so good. Just want to change to an OFR Pro for extra insurance.

And yes, the bolt on can hinder your playing above the 20th fret..... but after so many years using a bolt on LP, there's no problem for me already tongue.gif
supercolossal
post Mar 22 2007, 02:11 PM

620 posts

Yaya, Ibanez AANJ joints are good. Btw anybody has any experience using the LoTRS trem on an Ibanez? I don't use it much, but just wanna know about your experiences using it.
blackangel
post Mar 22 2007, 02:27 PM

556 posts

2200 for RR3 seems tempting haha.but i wont get it for now..pointy ends keep me in trouble cuz the room i rent here is quite small!i wonder if u change the seymour with EMG how would it sound..hm
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 02:38 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 22 2007, 02:27 PM)
2200 for RR3 seems tempting  haha.but i wont get it for now..pointy ends keep me in trouble cuz the room i rent here is quite small!i wonder if u change the seymour with EMG how would it sound..hm
My RR3 is the 2004 model, I think... the one which came with Duncan-Designed Detonators (horrible imitations of the SD Invader). Swapped them with EMG81/85 and never looked back.

The sound? Bloody high output (read- ub3rmassive amounts of gain), trebley (the 85 is a bit less bright than the 81 tho) and "mechanical". The 81 is great for metal-chainsaw-massacre riffing... hehe... yet the 85 can sound very sweet as a neck pup on the RR3.

TSblacktrix
post Mar 22 2007, 03:03 PM

13,063 posts

I already have 2 guitars with EMG 81/85.... didn't want the same sound.....

Luckily my RR3 was the Re-issue with the PROPER JB and Jazz pickup. I actually have a set of EMG Passives lying around and every day DAMN tempted to swap 'em in.....

But must restrain!!!
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 22 2007, 03:06 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 22 2007, 03:03 PM)

Luckily my RR3 was the Re-issue with the PROPER JB and Jazz pickup. I actually have a set of EMG Passives lying around and every day DAMN tempted to swap 'em in.....

But must restrain!!!
Seriously, I thought EMG passives are supposed to be quite crappy?

You're bringing your RR3 for the Gathering right? Would love to hear how the JB sounds like in it. smile.gif

And bloody hell, yours is the one with transparent black finish right? Mine has the flat black finish... Bentley didn't have the transparent finishes back then... sad.gif

Equilibrium777
post Mar 22 2007, 04:03 PM

1,228 posts

Anyone know where to get replacement EMG parts? cause i have an EMG H4A passive pups i think. . . i found it in the storeroom while cleaning up recently =.= didn't even kno i had them. . . i cant find the 4 way wire to connect to the back of the pup. . . anyone know where to get them? i have the pup but no wires etc
soulfly
post Mar 22 2007, 07:10 PM

15,903 posts

But must restrain!!!
demand soundclip from the JB/Jazz rclxm9.gif

anyway... the RR3 is made of alder or basswood?
sean392
post Mar 22 2007, 07:12 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 22 2007, 07:10 PM)
demand soundclip from the JB/Jazz  rclxm9.gif

anyway... the RR3 is made of alder or basswood?
alder...........
soulfly
post Mar 22 2007, 07:14 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 22 2007, 12:23 AM)
work la
were there any King V?

sean392
post Mar 22 2007, 07:37 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 22 2007, 07:14 PM)
were there any King V?
king v's
i dont recall in bents
but i seen plenty in guitar collection

i think i saw 1 before in bents
but my memory is blurry =/
blackangel
post Mar 22 2007, 08:20 PM

556 posts

But must restrain!!!
same for me...just let the rr3 do what its supposed to do. that can make u change ur gears when u switch songs!more cool right haha
Everdying
post Mar 22 2007, 08:28 PM

30,735 posts

this just sold on ebay...
beautiful piece.

heres the seller's description.

Here's '95 MIJ Orville by Gibson Les Paul Standard LPS-R Limited.

LPS-R Limited stands for Les Paul Standard, Rosewood top, Limited production.
Orville released this LPS-R Limited and LPS-K Limited which is Koa top version in '95, just for one year.

One piece Mahogany body with carved Maple top with Rosewood veneer
One piece Mahogany neck
Rosewood fingerboard
Wood (maple) binding, edge part of top of lower bout is carved Ebony
Gibson USA Pickups (I'm not sure which models)
Rosewood headstock veneer
Brazilian Rosewood truss rod cover
Quilted Maple pickguard
Oil finish

sean392
post Mar 22 2007, 08:30 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

holy shi-
thats a real looker
mahogany + rosewood
lol
its gonna sound really dark

notice the switch is broken lol

how much did it go for?

This post has been edited by sean392: Mar 22 2007, 08:31 PM
blackangel
post Mar 22 2007, 08:33 PM

556 posts

see its body ...hmm if i were to buy it, i wouldnt gig it or go jamming with it.it be my baby staying at home n taken good care of while enjoy playing it.
Everdying
post Mar 22 2007, 08:36 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 22 2007, 08:30 PM)
holy shi-
thats a real looker
mahogany + rosewood
lol
its gonna sound really dark

notice the switch is broken lol

how much did it go for?
basically USD1150.
most "orville by gibson" selling around that price now, some can go up higher.

blackangel
post Mar 22 2007, 09:12 PM

556 posts

was Stairway to heaven recorded with telecaster after the acoustic part?
soulfly
post Mar 22 2007, 10:05 PM

15,903 posts

awesome finish....

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 22 2007, 10:05 PM
Everdying
post Mar 22 2007, 10:21 PM

30,735 posts

damn, mustaine is growing manboobs too.
Equilibrium777
post Mar 22 2007, 10:44 PM

1,228 posts

mustaine just moved to Dean =.= man he changes sponsors damn often. . . pity those who chase his guitars. . .
soulfly
post Mar 22 2007, 10:51 PM

15,903 posts

during his early age he uses BC Rich (including Metallica era) .... but never was been an endorser

then he endorsed Jackson (which was his longest endorsement from Peace Sells but Who's Buying era till The World Needs A Hero era)

then when Jackson was sold to Fender, he sold off all his Jackson collection... then he got offer from ESP. i think he endorsed ESP since 2004.... and endorsed Dean early this year (mainly because of business and not dissatisfaction)

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 22 2007, 10:53 PM
SweetTooth
post Mar 22 2007, 11:27 PM

2,650 posts

"Also, there are some guitars that are literally held together by the string tension. I remember reading a story about a guy who had recently gotten hired as a guitar tech for the Ramones. Wanting to make a good impression on Johnny Ramone he decided to restring his guitar for him right before the show. He removed all six strings and Johnny's Mosrite guitar literally fell apart in his hands. The string tension held the whole guitar together! What's worse, the bridge of the guitar bounced across the floor and fell down the air conditioning duct.

If I remember the story correctly, they spent quite some time using a coat hanger and chewing gum trying to rescue the bridge from the duct. He retrieved it and managed to keep his job, living to restring the guitar another day. But not all six strings at once!"

source
TSblacktrix
post Mar 22 2007, 11:28 PM

13,063 posts

Dave's V's are DAMN cool.....
I just wished they were FR equipt.

And actually.... Bents DID have a trans black finish for the RR3 when you bought yours......
It was sitting in the storage room...... Reserved for me tongue.gif

And for the gathering, you can DEFINITELY hear the diff between the RR3 with SDs and the LP with EMGs.
SweetTooth
post Mar 22 2007, 11:51 PM

2,650 posts

man i really need new strings.. these strings are so black and the sound is so dead. 6 months never change string sweat.gif
ernie ball super slinky strings ok ar ?never bought electric strings before
TSblacktrix
post Mar 23 2007, 12:30 AM

13,063 posts

Try out D'addarios. I'm really surprised at how durable they are.

Or can also try Elixir Anti-Rust strings...... lots of LYN members here swears by it.
Snipe_EX`
post Mar 23 2007, 01:38 AM

128 posts

I change strings every month! thus plays well anytime

-ernie balls hybrid slynkys
MetalZone
post Mar 23 2007, 01:50 AM

2,515 posts

LOL watch this... a comedian ranting about cannon in D's cello parts while playing guitar
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdxkVQy7QLM
Bassix
post Mar 23 2007, 04:45 AM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Mar 22 2007, 06:50 PM)
LOL watch this... a comedian ranting about cannon in D's cello parts while playing guitar
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdxkVQy7QLM
he speaks my mind laugh.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 23 2007, 09:21 AM

13,063 posts

Urgh. I'm so freakin' sick of Canon in D.
It's like everyone who plays guitar starts playing that.......
To me, it's the "Titanic" of songs and JerryC is it's Leonardo DiCarpio.

And I'm sure my ears will be bleeding once again at the gathering..... :s

soulfly
post Mar 23 2007, 09:40 AM

15,903 posts

I've never heard of Canon in D.

I know Canon 350D...400D...etc
headhunter7
post Mar 23 2007, 09:52 AM

2,355 posts

^ LOL XD

I'm using regular slinkys, .010s biggrin.gif

Very heavy tone if dropped half a step XD.

I want the RR3.............................!
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 23 2007, 10:22 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 22 2007, 11:28 PM)
And actually.... Bents DID have a trans black finish for the RR3 when you bought yours......
It was sitting in the storage room...... Reserved for me tongue.gif

And for the gathering, you can DEFINITELY hear the diff between the RR3 with SDs and the LP with EMGs.
Errr... I doubt it if you got yours with the SDs. This was back in Jan 2004 if I'm not mistaken. The RR3s came with chrome hardware and DD Detonators - I don't think Jackson had released the RR3s with real SDs yet back then. hmm.gif

Anyway, since you're bringing yours too, guess we can do a comparison between RR3+SD and RR3+81/85... tongue.gif

headhunter7
post Mar 23 2007, 10:25 AM

2,355 posts

I wonder if Bentleys do bring in this

http://www.jacksonguitars.com/products/sea...rtno=2913024577

...now I'm torn between that and an Epi Les Paul Custom in Alpine White.

cry.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 23 2007, 10:29 AM

13,063 posts

Whoops. Sorry.
I remembered someone in this forum also bought the RR3 the same time I did.
tongue.gif

And yeah, I've seen that RR model when it was announced. Looks damn cool. And I think Single Humbuckers are making a comeback!
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 23 2007, 10:33 AM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 23 2007, 10:25 AM)

cry.gif
Really depends on your style... having only one pickup (a bloody 81 in the bridge some more!) may limit what you can play... the 81 in the bridge is not very forgiving for lead playing - way too much gain and very very bright. sweat.gif

IMHO, not a very versatile guitar.. but if you're an Laiho-wh0r3, then go for it! wink.gif

led_zep_freak
post Mar 23 2007, 11:10 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 22 2007, 09:12 PM)
was Stairway to heaven recorded with telecaster after the acoustic part?
The solo was recorded with a telecaster. Clean rhythm parts are with his 12-string (Not the double-neck as Pagey got the double-neck after he recorded Stairway) while the ending riffs are tracked with his Les Paul.
headhunter7
post Mar 23 2007, 11:15 AM

2,355 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Mar 23 2007, 10:33 AM)
Really depends on your style... having only one pickup (a bloody 81 in the bridge some more!) may limit what you can play... the 81 in the bridge is not very forgiving for lead playing - way too much gain and very very bright.    sweat.gif

IMHO, not a very versatile guitar.. but if you're an Laiho-wh0r3, then go for it!  wink.gif
Yeah.single emg..
Cuz I do have my ibanez which does metal really well..

How much do the Epi LP custom go for?
I've never seen one here yet. >_>

Hey guys, guess what song this is an I'll give you a link to a "Thriller" biggrin.gif

http://www.esnips.com/doc/d18aeddc-03c2-45...ec5e2f78/A-Clip

This post has been edited by headhunter7: Mar 23 2007, 12:20 PM
blackangel
post Mar 23 2007, 01:43 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 23 2007, 09:21 AM)
Urgh. I'm so freakin' sick of Canon in D.
It's like everyone who plays guitar starts playing that.......
To me, it's the "Titanic" of songs and JerryC is it's Leonardo DiCarpio.

And I'm sure my ears will be bleeding once again at the gathering..... :s
same i just hate it...jz play it in piano version will do...blacktrix..as an organiser of the jamming sessions...i suggest u make a theme for every jam! hmm...like this jam u guys gonna have classic rock jam...next jam will be punk rock..blues jam etc etc sumthing like that..cuz i see ur song lists like everytime the same.hmm jz my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 23 2007, 01:44 PM
skydancer
post Mar 23 2007, 06:05 PM

308 posts

the rr24 is cool, but the its kinda pricey, around RM4k, if not mistaken. so far dont tink its available in malaysia, hopefully bentley will bring them in, can go test play tongue.gif
SweetTooth
post Mar 23 2007, 06:25 PM

2,650 posts

rr24 only single humbuckers.. just like alexi laiho's one
i just bought elixir anti rust strings for a whopping rm39 >.<
sean392
post Mar 23 2007, 07:50 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 23 2007, 11:15 AM)
Yeah.single emg..
Cuz I do have my ibanez which does metal really well..

How much do the Epi LP custom go for?
I've never seen one here yet. >_>

Hey guys, guess what song this is an I'll give you a link to a "Thriller" biggrin.gif

http://www.esnips.com/doc/d18aeddc-03c2-45...ec5e2f78/A-Clip
if u wanna get an epi lp get it from ishibashi
theres those MIJ ones which are better

the axe itself is 1.9
when added with all shipping n insurance is bout 2.4

credits to hobbes for the info

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Mar 23 2007, 06:25 PM)
rr24 only single humbuckers.. just like alexi laiho's one
i just bought elixir anti rust strings for a whopping rm39 >.<
thats standard for elixir nanoweb electrics
prices just got raised in ss15 guitar collection
now nano n poly webs cost rm42
clowns -.-ll
aih
join in the elixir fan club lol

This post has been edited by sean392: Mar 23 2007, 07:52 PM
headhunter7
post Mar 23 2007, 08:11 PM

2,355 posts

I've been eyeing the Fernandes LP..

Around 1.2k after convert.
Full mahogany body + maple top. O_O

Save up to 2000, that other 800 is for pickup upgrade.WOOOOOOOOOOT.

This post has been edited by headhunter7: Mar 23 2007, 08:12 PM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 23 2007, 08:15 PM

13,063 posts

You just have a hard-on for Alpine White LPs..... right?

I actually LOVE the Fernendes Revelle guitar. Waaaaaay wicked cool.
headhunter7
post Mar 23 2007, 08:22 PM

2,355 posts

Raging hard-ons.smile.gif

I've never really played a Les Paul before,
except for my friends PRS SE Tremonti, ..Another PRs i tried in mahogany PRS SE Soapbar.( WHITE!!!)

...Hm..so if its Rm1.2k,
+ shipping..around 1.5k?

Gotta start working now! XDXD
Everdying
post Mar 23 2007, 09:51 PM

30,735 posts

the below are all in the japanese market.

LP custom with chrome hardware looks so much better.

LP goth with EMGs.

LP 1-piece all mahagony.

Added on March 23, 2007, 9:55 pmtongue.gif

Added on March 23, 2007, 9:57 pmand for blacktrix.
ZW LP Aged, doubt can find this anywhere else tongue.gif

yea, you should know by now i really hate gold on guitars.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 23 2007, 09:57 PM
echobrainproject
post Mar 23 2007, 09:57 PM

4,765 posts

woooots! drooling over the LP custom with chrome. sure looks classy! any idea how much?
Everdying
post Mar 23 2007, 10:01 PM

30,735 posts

converted comes up to RM10.8k tongue.gif

that yellow SG jr there is RM1700.

and just in case blacktrix wants to know.
that ZW LP Aged is RM22.6k tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 23 2007, 10:02 PM
sean392
post Mar 23 2007, 10:29 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 23 2007, 08:11 PM)
I've been eyeing the Fernandes LP..

Around 1.2k after convert.
Full mahogany body + maple top. O_O

Save up to 2000, that other 800 is for pickup upgrade.WOOOOOOOOOOT.
really??
i can get it alr....
hmm....

@everdying
any idea that this burny/fernandes lps are made in fujigen?
echobrainproject
post Mar 23 2007, 10:34 PM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 23 2007, 10:01 PM)
converted comes up to RM10.8k tongue.gif

im going to own one one day
sean392
post Mar 23 2007, 10:38 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 23 2007, 10:34 PM)
im going to own one one day
yeah
its a good goal
set it high man
so we can achieve it

=]

ur doing mechanical right?
im first yr, gonna major in chemical eng

lets make it big in the future XD
echobrainproject
post Mar 23 2007, 10:45 PM

4,765 posts

yeap, doing mechanical engineering.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 23 2007, 11:13 PM

13,063 posts

GASSSSSSSSS......
But I've seen it before in Musician's Friend.

The OFFICIAL title is: Gibson Custom Shop Limited Run Zakk Wylde Bullseye Aged Les Paul Electric Guitar

That's a mouthful!

Here are more details:

Yes. You're paying 22k for a Scratched and bruised guitar.
Everdying
post Mar 23 2007, 11:24 PM

30,735 posts

i think that person who thought of it hates gold on guitars too tongue.gif
valkyrie1232
post Mar 23 2007, 11:36 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 23 2007, 10:25 AM)

cry.gif
Dude, that's no brainer! Obviously the Jackson! (sorry i'm just plain biased) tongue.gif

And speaking of Snow White guitars, I'm whoring about the DK2M too... whistling.gif
headhunter7
post Mar 24 2007, 12:27 AM

2,355 posts

Oih oih stop!!!!! GAS-ing OVERLOADDDDDDDDDDD!!!

XDXDXD

Haha valkyrie..aren't white guitars awesome?

What are your favourite finish on guitars, guys?
asura_86
post Mar 24 2007, 12:29 AM

**blank**
1,217 posts

plain...or textured finish...no more glossy finish...had to wipe every time after playing...
blackangel
post Mar 24 2007, 12:37 AM

556 posts

instead of the fernandes or epip from ishibashi..i was looking at the edwards. i wonder are they nice? equipped with seymour pickups.
^Hobbes^
post Mar 24 2007, 01:07 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 24 2007, 12:37 AM)
instead of the fernandes or epip from ishibashi..i was looking at the edwards. i wonder are they nice? equipped with seymour pickups.
IMO, quality wise, i guess they are the same if they were manufactured in Fujigen, the only bonus is the SD pickups. Maybe the Edwards is a better buy than the Epi.
I was considering both before i got mine

Btw, any one has got a links or reviews on Crate V8 Palomino and the Fender Blues Jr ?
sean392
post Mar 24 2007, 01:07 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

@everdying
are burny/fernandes made in fujigen??
blackangel
post Mar 24 2007, 02:52 AM

556 posts

i guess so..but Edwards finishing is really good compare to fernandes. from the pictures...MIJ epiphone pickup also muddy?
sean392
post Mar 24 2007, 12:21 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

is this dude legit?
http://forum.jamtank.com/viewtopic.php?t=1...cd194e64c2f56b4

maybe planning to change to a Jazz/JB or Jazz/Custom Custom
Everdying
post Mar 24 2007, 12:36 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 24 2007, 12:21 PM)
is this dude legit?

go buy la.
can get about same price in bentley if they have stock.

he probably brings in himself from SG or something, where the SD costs SGD99 there.
like those ppl who sell SD for RM350, and claim they accidentally bought extra one.
more like they buy one get one almost free (if it sells).

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 24 2007, 12:37 PM
soulfly
post Mar 24 2007, 12:54 PM

15,903 posts

is this dude legit?

hmmm.....

compare the pic in the JAMTANK link: http://forum.jamtank.com/viewtopic.php?t=1...cd194e64c2f56b4

with another one from this Lelong link: http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-03D...NGE_OF_THEM.htm

check out the label.... kinda different

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 24 2007, 05:02 PM
sean392
post Mar 24 2007, 01:00 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 24 2007, 12:36 PM)
go buy la.
can get about same price in bentley if they have stock.

he probably brings in himself from SG or something, where the SD costs SGD99 there.
like those ppl who sell SD for RM350, and claim they accidentally bought extra one.
more like they buy one get one almost free (if it sells).
its sg99 ?
harhar
can ask my cousin to get it for me then tongue.gif
^Hobbes^
post Mar 24 2007, 01:15 PM

777 posts

Sean going for PU upgrade ? rclxms.gif
SGD99 ? Sounds cheaper than getting from the US. How much would the alnico 2 pro cost in Singapore ?
sean392
post Mar 24 2007, 01:43 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

haha
yeah
but not following slash's set up
cuz i find his setup sounding abit thin for my liking, i like em really classic fat paf sounds, just that not really sure which pickup, cuz i can get big fat mids from my amp. o well deciding can come later
but well
haha thats wat everdying said
but nah, i wont trouble my cousin just for that
i'll prolly get it here, its just a matter of making decisions.
and the upgrade aint cheap since i took so long to save till the amount i have now
and the upgrades will take up prolly 70% of it
so gotta think hard =/
soulfly
post Mar 24 2007, 05:03 PM

15,903 posts

the most important thing is whether it's authentic or not.

i'm thinking of getting the JB as well
gapnap
post Mar 24 2007, 05:19 PM

1,782 posts

is this dude legit?

wow dude..

PM me with your hp number and your location

i get for you a new Seymour Duncan JB for RM300
Everdying
post Mar 24 2007, 08:49 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 24 2007, 12:54 PM)
hmmm.....

compare the pic in the JAMTANK link: http://forum.jamtank.com/viewtopic.php?t=1...cd194e64c2f56b4

with another one from this Lelong link: http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-03D...NGE_OF_THEM.htm

check out the label.... kinda different
i dont see any difference?

anyway, yea SD all $99 down there.
the most expensive also $125, some F-spaced models and the livewires.

wanna compare here? dream on.
bentley i know sold the livewire for RM450, some fish bought it.
SweetTooth
post Mar 24 2007, 10:52 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 24 2007, 12:27 AM)

XDXDXD

satin biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Mar 24 2007, 11:00 PM
echobrainproject
post Mar 24 2007, 11:02 PM

4,765 posts

sweetTooth, u're the one who passed me the jim dunlop picks right? its still with me. after trying it out i was looking for u to pass them bck to u but i have no idea where u went
SweetTooth
post Mar 24 2007, 11:05 PM

2,650 posts

^
oh, that one give you la. nice anot? those picks are quite hard to find from what i've heard. but harmony got a lot. and those picks last pretty long too don't have to change often

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Mar 24 2007, 11:06 PM
echobrainproject
post Mar 24 2007, 11:38 PM

4,765 posts

give ah? thanks man. i'll belanja u minum or smth the next gathering. well, the picks need some getting used to.
sean392
post Mar 25 2007, 01:31 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

jazz III reds i assume?
Pix
post Mar 25 2007, 02:46 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

i evenually find them too "soft", lack of precision in alternate picking... but they give a very warm sound though.
valkyrie1232
post Mar 25 2007, 04:18 AM

721 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Mar 24 2007, 12:27 AM)

XDXDXD

Black is......Perillys
White is........Class wink.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 25 2007, 07:30 AM

13,063 posts

I would love to get the Acrylic guitar that Mike Riggs (Rob Zombie's former guitarist) used......
The one filled with blood.....

Freakin' sweet.
soulfly
post Mar 25 2007, 12:29 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 24 2007, 08:49 PM)
i dont see any difference?
blame my eyes if I see them wrongly tongue.gif

but from many SD pictures all over the net I can say the one in JAMTANK is kinda slightly different....

jamtank
- pink label instead of red
- SD logo is grey instead of black
- the "r" (circled) has a little 'tail' on the base while other pictures I found does not have it.

compare with this....

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 25 2007, 12:59 PM
sean392
post Mar 25 2007, 01:05 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

iirc the jb's sold in bents also have pink labels
SweetTooth
post Mar 25 2007, 02:26 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 25 2007, 01:31 AM)
jazz III reds i assume?
both red and black

QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 25 2007, 02:46 AM)
i evenually find them too "soft", lack of precision in alternate picking... but they give a very warm sound though.
i find the red ones soft too thats why i use black ones

i found out why i couldnt pull off pinch harmonics last time, it was because of the dead strings vmad.gif

now that i changed to these fresh strings i can hit a pinch harmonic almost everytime consistently icon_rolleyes.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 25 2007, 03:16 PM

13,063 posts

Sorry man, I just don't get the Jazz picks.
It's not fat enough for me to pull off my (or should I say Zakk's) signature P-O-Ds.......
and as everyone who comes to a jam knows..... I'm NOTHING without the P-O-Ds.......
sean392
post Mar 25 2007, 04:29 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

come to think of it i think i used a jazz II b4

didnt really like it

tortex jazz ftw!!! XD
Everdying
post Mar 25 2007, 04:36 PM

30,735 posts

dont mess with humbucker freaks tongue.gif

this is what someone on another forum did to his brand new US strat, looks better.

sean392
post Mar 25 2007, 04:41 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

pretty cool i'd say

was it a stock double fat strat
or a normal strat modded ?
Everdying
post Mar 25 2007, 04:47 PM

30,735 posts

was a pretty expensive strat.
if not mistaken its an american deluxe.
he bought it just for the body / neck.

antonio
post Mar 25 2007, 04:54 PM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 25 2007, 04:36 PM)
dont mess with humbucker freaks tongue.gif

this is what someone on another forum did to his brand new US strat, looks better.
abit of indisicive don't you think??? laugh.gif
Everdying
post Mar 25 2007, 04:58 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Mar 25 2007, 04:54 PM)
abit of indisicive don't you think??? laugh.gif
ah hantu ni sudah muncul sekali lagi.
ppl call you how many times about the EMG85, duwan to pick up phone.
you hiding from ppl or what?

btw, for those interested.
i think im gonna be selling off my fender highway 1 strat.
all stock, cept of cos for the pickguard which is an allparts, the original is still around.
transition period model Jan 2006, so has the smaller headstock but with greasebucket circuit.
i'll decide when to make it an official sale.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 25 2007, 05:01 PM

the_registered
post Mar 25 2007, 05:18 PM

844 posts

Strat with humbuckers.... That's kinda odd don't you think? How's the sound like? Anyway, the strats neck to thin for me. Having really a hard time in the lower frets as the frets get closer
antonio
post Mar 25 2007, 05:23 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 25 2007, 04:58 PM)
ah hantu ni sudah muncul sekali lagi.
ppl call you how many times about the EMG85, duwan to pick up phone.
you hiding from ppl or what?
btw, for those interested.

Wah tailouu....you make me sound like i'm Casper aledi now...
Like i've mentioned in all the threads regarding the sale, sms me or call me direct to make quick deal...but then again i don't know who's calling and i'm sick of unwanted calls directly to me without knowing who the hell is calling <---forgive my lingue...

I'm not hiding and if you think i didnt pickup your calls just sms and notify me who's calling then maybe i'll pickup your call...Easy... laugh.gif
SweetTooth
post Mar 25 2007, 05:49 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 25 2007, 03:16 PM)
Sorry man, I just don't get the Jazz picks.
It's not fat enough for me to pull off my (or should I say Zakk's) signature P-O-Ds.......
and as everyone who comes to a jam knows..... I'm NOTHING without the P-O-Ds.......
POD? pinch harmonic...of doom! ?
Everdying
post Mar 25 2007, 06:11 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ Mar 25 2007, 05:23 PM)
Wah tailouu....you make me sound like i'm Casper aledi now...
Like i've mentioned in all the threads regarding the sale, sms me or call me direct to make quick deal...but then again i don't know who's calling and i'm sick of unwanted calls directly to me without knowing who the hell is calling <---forgive my lingue...

I'm not hiding and if you think i didnt pickup your calls just sms and notify me who's calling then maybe i'll pickup your call...Easy... laugh.gif
ok la, next time i sms.
btw, is that simon still getting the 81 or not?
antonio
post Mar 25 2007, 06:55 PM

4,032 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 25 2007, 06:11 PM)
ok la, next time i sms.
btw, is that simon still getting the 81 or not?
Simon didn't follow up..... flex.gif

blackangel
post Mar 25 2007, 07:19 PM

556 posts

jz watched P-O-D though..haha pick of the destiny..by tenacious d!
TSblacktrix
post Mar 25 2007, 07:46 PM

13,063 posts

Ping's Of Doom......
Coined by the now missing Led_zep.....

Sigh...... I guess I'm now the resident spa...... I mean contributor to the thread.
Everdying
post Mar 25 2007, 08:03 PM

30,735 posts

pings of doom.
prince of darkness.

need to spam more tongue.gif
echobrainproject
post Mar 25 2007, 08:11 PM

4,765 posts

have u guys heard the OST for 300? bloody awesome. there are some electric guitar parts too that somehow all fits in nicely.
Silver Isle
post Mar 25 2007, 08:26 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 25 2007, 04:29 PM)
come to think of it i think i used a jazz II b4

didnt really like it

tortex jazz ftw!!! XD
Jazz II and Jazz III has big difference man. Hehe. rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 25 2007, 07:19 PM)
jz watched P-O-D though..haha pick of the destiny..by tenacious d!
Expected something better from that show. But turned out not really interesting. How you guys think about it? hmm.gif

I'm trying to search for the very old movie That Thing You Do now. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 25 2007, 08:11 PM)
have u guys heard the OST for 300? bloody awesome. there are some electric guitar parts too that somehow all fits in nicely.
Haven't ler. What is it called? But the movie is bloody hell awesome. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Silver Isle: Mar 25 2007, 08:34 PM
asura_86
post Mar 25 2007, 08:34 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

yup, just got it...very cool stuff...
SweetTooth
post Mar 25 2007, 08:35 PM

2,650 posts

yeah i watched pick of destiny too. there was a part that sounded very much like a song i know but i just cant remember it.
if there was really a pick like that then nobody needs skill anymore. but their songs were pretty catchy
Equilibrium777
post Mar 25 2007, 08:41 PM

1,228 posts

where you guys watch the show? i can't seem to find pick of destiny anywhere at all. . . is it nice? i mean i hope it's not as stupid as nacho libre lolz. . .
echobrainproject
post Mar 25 2007, 08:42 PM

4,765 posts

hey, nacho libre was cool! it was funny in a corny way, but still cool! haha.
Pix
post Mar 25 2007, 09:03 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Mar 25 2007, 02:26 PM)
i find the red ones soft too thats why i use black ones
i found out why i couldnt pull off pinch harmonics last time, it was because of the dead strings  vmad.gif
now that i changed to these fresh strings i can hit a pinch harmonic almost everytime consistently  icon_rolleyes.gif
the strings on my strat are so old that all notes above the 12th fret are "off" ! so rusty indeed, i'm actually afraid of getting tetanos when doing some slides... sweat.gif

yeah, i just found an old black Jazz III, it's much harder. I'm actually getting used to the purple transluscid extra-hard plastic picks now.. forgot the brand, but they're very "straight" : what you play is what you get. They tend to slide from my greasy fingers though, sometimes.
blackangel
post Mar 25 2007, 09:28 PM

556 posts

well i was wondering what song was it when i watched it on the 1st day of showing..hmm sounds like one of the dream theater's songs...actually by who?the heavy thick distortion!
supercolossal
post Mar 25 2007, 09:34 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 25 2007, 09:03 PM)
the strings on my strat are so old that all notes above the 12th fret are "off" ! so rusty indeed, i'm actually afraid of getting tetanos when doing some slides...  sweat.gif

yeah, i just found an old black Jazz III, it's much harder. I'm actually getting used to the purple transluscid extra-hard plastic picks now.. forgot the brand, but they're very "straight" : what you play is what you get. They tend to slide from my greasy fingers though, sometimes.
I love to use JazzIII's for lead playing, thick enough but yet warm because they are made of nylon instead of plastic or tortex, but they could be a little too thick for strumming.
blackangel
post Mar 25 2007, 09:38 PM

556 posts

anyway pix! how much did u pay for ur js1000? uhh must be nice to own that?
SweetTooth
post Mar 25 2007, 10:02 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Mar 25 2007, 09:34 PM)
I love to use JazzIII's for lead playing, thick enough but yet warm because they are made of nylon instead of plastic or tortex, but they could be a little too thick for strumming.
i use it for strumming too but its a little short cuz when i strum i tend to stick it out more
asura_86
post Mar 25 2007, 11:38 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Mar 25 2007, 10:02 PM)
i use it for strumming too but its a little short cuz when i strum i tend to stick it out more
sweetooth, is that you who came in in the middle of the jam holding a little plastic bag containing pink colored picks and passing it to echo?
TSblacktrix
post Mar 25 2007, 11:44 PM

13,063 posts

For a Jack Black movie.....
You either love him, or hate him.

..... but I did hate King Kong.....
But I hate Peter Jackson so.........
soulfly
post Mar 25 2007, 11:52 PM

15,903 posts

Any opinion on Samick guitar quality? On par with SX... or what?
sean392
post Mar 26 2007, 12:01 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

i think samick > sx
Pix
post Mar 26 2007, 12:39 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 25 2007, 09:38 PM)
anyway pix! how much did u pay for ur js1000? uhh must be nice to own that?
i bought it new, standard price was about 2500 euros, maybe a bit less, with hard case. That was a long time ago smile.gif

and yes, it is nice to own a guitar that plays so well. Makes me face my own crappy playing in all its glory, can't complain about the stuff..

yeah, no problem strumming with this pick. and in a way, it forces you to hit the strings harder... which gives a better sound.

Hit hard, Sound good.

For a Jack Black movie.....
You either love him, or hate him.

..... but I did hate King Kong.....
But I hate Peter Jackson so.........

"I love that, I hate that..."
Normally, someone goes over this "black/white" phase at around the age of 5 years old... maybe the beer got in the way too early ?? laugh.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 08:26 AM

13,063 posts

Oh, the beer definitely helps.
But isn't Metal all about hating stuff?
tongue.gif

Equilibrium777
post Mar 26 2007, 11:32 AM

1,228 posts

i tot school of rock was cool but nacho was just plain stupid xD

it's so hard to find DVDs nowadays. . . =.= nothing new. . .

btw has anyone tried painting their guitar?
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 11:50 AM

13,063 posts

Ruben has..... but if anyone who has been to the free guitar clinic, would know how BAD it was......
hahahhahahaha.......

soulfly
post Mar 26 2007, 12:06 PM

15,903 posts

automotive paint + airbrush = killer
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 26 2007, 12:21 PM

1,100 posts

automotive paint + airbrush - skill = die mou! tongue.gif

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Mar 26 2007, 11:32 AM)
eh, you're not gonna paint your RG1527 are you?! ohmy.gif

QUOTE(Blacktrix @ Mar 26 2007, 08:26 AM)
But isn't Metal all about hating stuff?
No! It's about crushing soft furry things with STEEL! vmad.gif
whistling.gif

Everdying
post Mar 26 2007, 01:06 PM

30,735 posts

no, metal is all about loving soft furry things.
dead ones preferable.

but then when they're dead, they become stiff and hard and you can throw them like a frisbee.

Equilibrium777
post Mar 26 2007, 01:31 PM

1,228 posts

nah. . . ive been trying painting on a guitar i got. . . it was given to me. . i dismantled the whole guitar took the body and sprayed it. . . doesnt look good =.= i need the sanding machine to make the finish much better. . . it's fun tho =D you all should try it xD

Metal = happy tree friends!

xD
Everdying
post Mar 26 2007, 02:34 PM

30,735 posts

you need to level the body before spraying.
then after it dries, you have to sand it level again.
then buff it to shine.
Silver Isle
post Mar 26 2007, 06:05 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Mar 26 2007, 11:32 AM)
Look at what my friend did to his guitar. shocking.gif

Don't try this at home. biggrin.gif
echobrainproject
post Mar 26 2007, 06:06 PM

4,765 posts

blacktrix, u should post pics of rubens white guitar. hehehe
Everdying
post Mar 26 2007, 06:09 PM

30,735 posts

what a ugly POS tongue.gif
now if it had liverpool graphics on it, the guitar would look 10 times better.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 06:11 PM

13,063 posts

I know alot of guys were going to kill me....... But I just don't "get" football.
Sorry.
I'm more of a Pro Wrestling kinda guy. tongue.gif
Everdying
post Mar 26 2007, 06:12 PM

30,735 posts

the only pro wrestling worth watching involves girls and mud.
blackangel
post Mar 26 2007, 06:13 PM

556 posts

haha how about arsenal? tongue.gif

by the way...all the experiene guitarists...i would wanna ask..if i hold a pick with 3 fingers..would that be ok?well...im not acoustic player...nor zakk wylde style...but i like jimmy page so much...when i do hybrid picking..there will be no middle finger..i have been using 3 fingers to hold a pick since i started playing guitar..
Everdying
post Mar 26 2007, 06:15 PM

30,735 posts

EVH also holds it with 3 fingers.
he uses his thumb and middle finger to grip it more.
guess so his 1st finger can be used for tapping.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 26 2007, 06:16 PM
blackangel
post Mar 26 2007, 06:22 PM

556 posts

well from what i know..james hetfield also uses 3 fingers...if im not mistaken..well..as long as i dun hold it like marty friedman its gonna be looking fine..i use 3 fingers cuz i can get more strength in order to strum or hit the note with the amount of str i want...
sean392
post Mar 26 2007, 06:25 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

football ? wrestling??
dam
no one into nba ???
lol
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 06:26 PM

13,063 posts

I guess, what ever works for you..... should be fine.

But I need to play with 2 fingers because of the pinch harmonics.
sean392
post Mar 26 2007, 06:28 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 26 2007, 06:26 PM)
I guess, what ever works for you..... should be fine.

But I need to play with 2 fingers because of the pinch harmonics.
i tihnk u can still pod with 3 fingers =p
asura_86
post Mar 26 2007, 06:29 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 26 2007, 06:25 PM)
football ? wrestling??
dam
no one into nba ???
lol
used to be crazy over nba, but ever since jordan's era ended...basically stopped watching already laugh.gif
blackangel
post Mar 26 2007, 06:31 PM

556 posts

well...3 also can do pinch right?ahh...nvm ill go keep it on...im more to a clasic rock guy n metallica-only-metal ! thats why i think that hybrid picking is kinda important for me..
SweetTooth
post Mar 26 2007, 07:22 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(asura_86 @ Mar 25 2007, 11:38 PM)
sweetooth, is that you who came in in the middle of the jam holding a little plastic bag containing pink colored picks and passing it to echo?
yup that was me. not pink, red and black ones ;D

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 26 2007, 06:11 PM)
I know alot of guys were going to kill me....... But I just don't "get" football.
Sorry.
I'm more of a Pro Wrestling kinda guy. tongue.gif
yeah i still watch wrestling. i love guessing what happens next and i'm always right yawn.gif Entertainment after all

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 26 2007, 06:13 PM)
haha how about arsenal? tongue.gif

by the way...all the experiene guitarists...i would wanna ask..if i hold a pick with 3 fingers..would that be ok?well...im not acoustic player...nor zakk wylde style...but i like jimmy page so much...when i do hybrid picking..there will be no middle finger..i have been using 3 fingers to hold a pick since i started playing guitar..
i used to like holding with 3 fingers till my teacher told me not to(gotta hybrid pick)
so now i'm using 2 fingers, easier to pinch too. i realize i can pinch without having to hold my thumb really close to the pick, just "dig in" to the strings(i usually use this to make just slight PH's)
the_registered
post Mar 26 2007, 07:24 PM

844 posts

Hey, I'm Jack White wannabe. Where can I get the slide guitar thingy, that metal rod you put on your 3rd or 4th finger. How much it is?
led_zep_freak
post Mar 26 2007, 07:36 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 26 2007, 06:09 PM)
what a ugly POS tongue.gif
Couldn't agree more. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
AlienProbe
post Mar 26 2007, 07:37 PM

209 posts

basically any music shop right?
z3r0l33t
post Mar 26 2007, 08:01 PM

300 posts

hey man, nothings wrong with your style. Look at steve morse! he uses a 3 finger picking style and yet hes stil shredding happily! its whether your comfortable with it. I for one too used to have a 3 finger picking style.
sean392
post Mar 26 2007, 08:03 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Mar 26 2007, 07:36 PM)
Couldn't agree more.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
HAY!!!! I DEMAND PICTARS OF YOUR NEW FENDER biggrin.gif
Silver Isle
post Mar 26 2007, 08:32 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 26 2007, 08:03 PM)
HAY!!!! I DEMAND PICTARS OF YOUR NEW FENDER biggrin.gif
Here here here... icon_idea.gif

http://eongxien.blogspot.com/2007/03/gig-update.html
echobrainproject
post Mar 26 2007, 08:53 PM

4,765 posts

haha. i didnt dare post links to his blog without permission.
sean392
post Mar 26 2007, 09:36 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

to be honest
i forgot his blog url alr blush.gif

hahahaha
led_zep_freak
post Mar 26 2007, 09:39 PM

5,231 posts

Haha I don't think I've ever posted a link to my blog in the musician's forum?? Ah well, not that I have anything to hide. biggrin.gif

Anyway, I thought of not posting the pics first until I use my dad's digicam.
SweetTooth
post Mar 26 2007, 10:28 PM

2,650 posts

nice strat. one day i'll own a strat(even tho if its a copy rolleyes.gif)
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 10:33 PM

13,063 posts

Oh man............. SUPER F'ing SWEET!!!!!!

Now I WANT Texas Special Pickups for my crap strat!
echobrainproject
post Mar 26 2007, 10:42 PM

4,765 posts

with ur cash, why not just order a MIJ fender in?
sean392
post Mar 26 2007, 10:43 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 26 2007, 10:33 PM)

how bout
"Now I WANT Texas Special Pickups in a FENDER STRAT"

tongue.gif
led_zep_freak
post Mar 26 2007, 10:45 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 26 2007, 10:33 PM)

Next gathering you should try out the strat. biggrin.gif
I once tried my friend's CIJ & there was no turning back. I lasted for one ever since. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Mar 26 2007, 10:46 PM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 10:48 PM

13,063 posts

I'm waiting for my next allowance.... then buying a new........
hahahahhaa...... Surprise. Surprise. Surprise.

Yes. Within the next month, I'm GETTING A NEW GUITAR!
sean392
post Mar 26 2007, 10:49 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

pffft
gimme one of your crapstrats then whistling.gif
Pix
post Mar 26 2007, 10:49 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

hey hey, looks like my strat tongue.gif

pix wannabe !!!!

no, just kidding, your strat looks obviously good (maybe not so unique though tongue.gif ). i didn't follow the history : it is a MIJ strat ? where did you buy it ?
joeboto
post Mar 26 2007, 10:56 PM

insert title
913 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 26 2007, 10:48 PM)

o.O
how many guitars would make u satisfied?
let me hav one! brows.gif tongue.gif
SweetTooth
post Mar 26 2007, 10:59 PM

2,650 posts

if i had that many guitars i woudln't be able to decide which one to play every time rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Mar 26 2007, 10:59 PM
led_zep_freak
post Mar 26 2007, 10:59 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 26 2007, 10:48 PM)

Don't neglect your other guitars, gimme your old Sunburst Les Paul before it's too late!!! biggrin.gif

If I have to guess, you're getting a new acoustic, eh? A Taylor? Martin? Maton?

QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 26 2007, 10:49 PM)
hey hey, looks like my strat tongue.gif

pix wannabe !!!!

no, just kidding, your strat looks obviously good (maybe not so unique though tongue.gif ). i didn't follow the history : it is a MIJ strat ? where did you buy it ?
I made a special request that my strat should have a little Pix feel to it. It's something the folks at Fender Japan does in order to satisfy their customer. You could say I'm 100% satisfied with the Pix feel. tongue.gif

There's no history but anyway, it's a MIJ strat. biggrin.gif Got it from Ishibashi for a tad less than RM3k, which is inclusive of a Gator Hard Case, Dunlop Strap Lock, Shipping & 10% Sales Tax. smile.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Mar 26 2007, 11:00 PM
Everdying
post Mar 26 2007, 11:01 PM

30,735 posts

THE MARSHALL JVM HAS ARRIVED IN SINGAPORE.
listing at SGD1900.

the marshall vintage modern lists at SGD1600.

market price sure cheaper abit.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 11:02 PM

13,063 posts

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
Why must they release it when I want to get a new Guitar!!!!!!??????!!!!!
sean392
post Mar 26 2007, 11:14 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 26 2007, 11:02 PM)
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
Why must they release it when I want to get a new Guitar!!!!!!??????!!!!!
this is a no brainer
get guitar + amp whistling.gif
soulfly
post Mar 26 2007, 11:23 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 26 2007, 06:22 PM)
well from what i know..james hetfield also uses 3 fingers...if im not mistaken..well..as long as i dun hold it like marty friedman its gonna be looking fine..i use 3 fingers cuz i can get more strength in order to strum or hit the note with the amount of str i want...
don't say like that... marty is cool biggrin.gif

blackangel
post Mar 26 2007, 11:25 PM

556 posts

QUOTE(z3r0l33t @ Mar 26 2007, 08:01 PM)
hey man, nothings wrong with your style. Look at steve morse! he uses a 3 finger picking style and yet hes stil shredding happily! its whether your comfortable with it. I for one too used to have a 3 finger picking style.
couldnt be happier cuz im not a weirdy!haha..

blacktrix..what guitar are u spending on again?dont u get enuf now?omg u gonna make another hole on ur wall to hang another expensive guitar..and blacktrix..what do u mean by allowance?ur guitar spending allowance?or ur monthly allowance?razorback?!?!?u are the coolest guitar owner in this thread..modern guitar owner!!

he is cool...hes got nothing special but his asian taste of melody...

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 26 2007, 11:30 PM
Everdying
post Mar 26 2007, 11:25 PM

30,735 posts

bet i know what hes planning on getting.
the epi ZW CAMO tongue.gif

Silver Isle
post Mar 26 2007, 11:30 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Mar 26 2007, 09:39 PM)
Haha I don't think I've ever posted a link to my blog in the musician's forum?? Ah well, not that I have anything to hide. biggrin.gif

Anyway, I thought of not posting the pics first until I use my dad's digicam.
*points at your profile details*

So, I guess, you don't mind me posting gua? unsure.gif

If yes, then next time Asia Cafe supper, my treat! tongue.gif Gosh, someone is surely gonna say yes now. shakehead.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 11:33 PM

13,063 posts

Oooooooooooh.
This is fun. Everyone guessing what I'm buying tongue.gif

blackangel
post Mar 26 2007, 11:35 PM

556 posts

well..u know why...cuz ur budget is not really tight..so its like we know some1 is getting some good stuffs so we are curious to know what does he own!hmm lets tell everyone..u gonna tell it anyway sooner or later..jz a matter of time..
sean392
post Mar 26 2007, 11:42 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 26 2007, 11:33 PM)
Oooooooooooh.
This is fun. Everyone guessing what I'm buying tongue.gif
another no brainer
http://www.bananas.com/productdetail.asp/PID_9171

biggrin.gif tongue.gif
blackangel
post Mar 26 2007, 11:43 PM

556 posts

i think he would rather poke himself wiht his rr3...tongue.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 11:45 PM

13,063 posts

OH. MY. GOD!

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Cla...ack-?sku=110007

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Cla...ace-?sku=110009

We need to start a bulk on this!!!!!!!!!!!!

And this is just BRUTAL!

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Hot...der-?sku=110013

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 26 2007, 11:47 PM
blackangel
post Mar 26 2007, 11:49 PM

556 posts

yes! the POD!! n im angus young or van halen!!woohoo crap....
Everdying
post Mar 26 2007, 11:50 PM

30,735 posts

i thought the pick in the movie wasnt flat.
guess thats why that replica says its functional tongue.gif

and that devil head, its on the BFG headstock tongue.gif
they shouldve put 6 heads on there.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 26 2007, 11:51 PM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 11:52 PM

13,063 posts

Anyone wants to start a bulk on this?
I would LOVE to get in on this.
Unfortunately, I have NO IDEA about how to order bulk.........
Everdying
post Mar 26 2007, 11:55 PM

30,735 posts

actually, what i prefer are these.

http://cgi.ebay.com/SKULL-TRUSS-ROD-COVER-...1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com/CUSTOM-SHOP-PARTS-Gun-...1QQcmdZViewItem

TSblacktrix
post Mar 26 2007, 11:56 PM

13,063 posts

Talking about the POD wei.
blackangel
post Mar 26 2007, 11:57 PM

556 posts

im afraid that it will end up into the bong of destiny!!!
some1 shld make a bulk on all these weird cool nice cheap accesorries..
TSblacktrix
post Mar 27 2007, 12:04 AM

13,063 posts

Hey. Everdying. You might be interested.
Someone selling off his Gibson 1975 Les Paul.
Details HERE
blackangel
post Mar 27 2007, 12:07 AM

556 posts

we all know the price......do u guys know whats the price of clapton's real orignal blackie? not the one fender imitated
Everdying
post Mar 27 2007, 12:19 AM

30,735 posts

talkin about blackie's replica.

remember how clapton said he retired blackie cos it was unplayable?

so does that mean the replica is also unplayable? tongue.gif
and if the replica is playable, does this mean fender are ripping off a couple hundred ppl of alot of money?

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 27 2007, 12:20 AM
blackangel
post Mar 27 2007, 12:21 AM

556 posts

well i dun think so..perhaps clapton was saying that his blackie needed a rest ..after all those glorious years with him. and i dun think fender will make unplayable guitar for sale!haha..its the same on outside..but i think wires n stuffs...are new?lol..
Pix
post Mar 27 2007, 12:54 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Mar 26 2007, 10:59 PM)
I made a special request that my strat should have a little Pix feel to it. It's something the folks at Fender Japan does in order to satisfy their customer. You could say I'm 100% satisfied with the Pix feel.  tongue.gif
my wife's saying the same thing.

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Mar 26 2007, 10:59 PM)
There's no history but anyway, it's a MIJ strat. biggrin.gif Got it from Ishibashi for a tad less than RM3k, which is inclusive of a Gator Hard Case, Dunlop Strap Lock, Shipping & 10% Sales Tax. smile.gif
alright man, that's great biggrin.gif it's a lovely guitar, and you must appreciate it so much after having played so much (and learnt so much) on your "little" pacifica.
AlienProbe
post Mar 27 2007, 02:13 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 26 2007, 11:25 PM)

he is cool...hes got nothing special but his asian taste of melody...
Try Listen to Cacophony's album Speed Metal Symphony cool2.gif

And that Jason Becker was just F'KING 16 when he join the band!
soulfly
post Mar 27 2007, 10:22 AM

15,903 posts

check out this dude playing megadeth's yet to release "Sleepwalker"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gT7kMMqg0H4

bad ass
SweetTooth
post Mar 27 2007, 02:20 PM

2,650 posts

anyone recommend some nice neo-classical songs? not too difficult ones tongue.gif

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: Mar 27 2007, 02:23 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 27 2007, 02:28 PM

1,100 posts

Nice neo-classical songs that are not too difficult?

Gee, isn't that a contradiction in terms? wink.gif
led_zep_freak
post Mar 27 2007, 03:27 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Silver Isle @ Mar 26 2007, 11:30 PM)
*points at your profile details*

So, I guess, you don't mind me posting gua? unsure.gif

If yes, then next time Asia Cafe supper, my treat! tongue.gif Gosh, someone is surely gonna say yes now. shakehead.gif
Oh... my profile... I've forgotten about it. tongue.gif

Yeah... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 27 2007, 12:54 AM)
alright man, that's great biggrin.gif it's a lovely guitar, and you must appreciate it so much after having played so much (and learnt so much) on your "little" pacifica.
I still love that 'little' guitar. biggrin.gif Gonna convert it into my slide guitar. biggrin.gif
guitarnoobster2
post Mar 27 2007, 03:29 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Mar 27 2007, 02:20 PM)
anyone recommend some nice neo-classical songs? not too difficult ones tongue.gif
Toccate and Fugue
echobrainproject
post Mar 27 2007, 04:54 PM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Mar 27 2007, 03:27 PM)
I still love that 'little' guitar. biggrin.gif Gonna convert it into my slide guitar. biggrin.gif
convert? u mean u have to set it up all over again just for slide? i thought can just buy a ring and play.
AlienProbe
post Mar 27 2007, 05:03 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Mar 27 2007, 02:20 PM)
Try listen to some Ritchie Blackmore's stuff cool2.gif

and if you looking for extreme's one...try Cacophony vmad.gif

Everdying
post Mar 27 2007, 07:13 PM

30,735 posts

the chinese have done it again.
transferring their target to SGs now, and even couple of Vs.
the SG standards look like crap tho, but not this one.
the new jimmy page MIC signature special tongue.gif

just that the neck (22 frets and not original 20 frets) and truss rod cover are messed up.

USD500 tongue.gif

more chinese eye candy, all mostly USD349.

another fav.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 27 2007, 07:15 PM
sean392
post Mar 27 2007, 07:28 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

omg
usd 349 = 1.2k
still not worth it
unless the woods are correct whistling.gif

if it is tell me where to get it tongue.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 27 2007, 07:28 PM

13,063 posts

I was just in Bentleys..... and guess what.......

THE ELECTRO-HARMONIX PEDALS ARE IN!!!!!!!

They JUST got them when I was there and they were testing them all like MAD!
Metal Muff, Big Muff, BassBalls, Chorus, Nano Muff, Nano Metal Muff....
The whole She-bang!

Was testing out the Muffs as well........ DAMN it sounded sweet!
It's so new, they didn't even have the prices out yet! Go check 'em out.

And will be posting pictures of my purchase a little later too!
tongue.gif
sean392
post Mar 27 2007, 07:30 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

dam
sounds cool

omg
dun tell me u REALLY got the hello kitty strat
or maybe a taylor? fender? ZOMG IBANEZ?!?!?!?!
lol

TSblacktrix
post Mar 27 2007, 08:16 PM

13,063 posts

Check out my new purchase!

Or perhaps with the Les Paul??

Mwahahahaahhaha!!!!!

Now that's just BEYOND Gay!

And yes. I did put the down payment for my new Axe.
And it is a Fender Strat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
*GLEE!!!!!!!!!!!!*

Silver Isle
post Mar 27 2007, 08:21 PM

743 posts

Gosh. How much is this Hello Kitty strap?
sean392
post Mar 27 2007, 08:21 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 27 2007, 08:16 PM)
Check out my new purchase!
Mwahahahaahhaha!!!!!

Now that's just BEYOND Gay!

*GLEE!!!!!!!!!!!!*
Thats not beyond gay.
Thats JUST gay.

tongue.gif
awww fender strat
congrats anyway T_T
im soooo jealous now
lol

i wonder wat zakk would do to you if he saw that whistling.gif

This post has been edited by sean392: Mar 27 2007, 08:22 PM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 27 2007, 08:23 PM

13,063 posts

It's ok..... because BLS is beyond gay anyway!
Zakk himself admits it!

Bought the Strap for RM45

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 27 2007, 08:37 PM
asura_86
post Mar 27 2007, 08:30 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

*GLEE!!!!!!!!!!!!*
my guess is the hello kitty strat...guess you're buying a matching strap for that guitar... laugh.gif
Silver Isle
post Mar 27 2007, 08:31 PM

743 posts

But only Squier has Hello Kitty right? He said Fender wor. biggrin.gif
valkyrie1232
post Mar 27 2007, 08:50 PM

721 posts

Bartz Maru (however you spell it's name) cuter!

TSblacktrix
post Mar 27 2007, 08:50 PM

13,063 posts

Sigh...... which I had the strap during the Jam!

Everdying
post Mar 27 2007, 09:03 PM

30,735 posts

what fender strat you getting?
not the hello kitty one? tongue.gif
led_zep_freak
post Mar 27 2007, 09:07 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 27 2007, 04:54 PM)
convert? u mean u have to set it up all over again just for slide? i thought can just buy a ring and play.
You don't really have to but to get a good slide sound, it's better to use thicker strings with a high action. Gonna tune it to an open tuning (Either G or E) & probably use .12 strings. smile.gif

*GLEE!!!!!!!!!!!!*
W00t?! MIA? drool.gif
blackangel
post Mar 27 2007, 09:08 PM

556 posts

are u getting a mia or mim ? i think ur strats must be equipped with texas pickups.....am i correct?
Everdying
post Mar 27 2007, 09:10 PM

30,735 posts

im gonna sell off my strat.
sick of the string spacing on it tongue.gif
blackangel
post Mar 27 2007, 09:12 PM

556 posts

why?too tight?well...same also...its jz dun get right when i play my classical guitar...i guess im gonna save hard for a new axe soon....

megadeth has made something nice but still...the style never changed. but not really a fan of them..not my choice cuz...i feel the distortion they have like..a bit light weight..personally feel that they are more to a shredder band like mr big...

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 27 2007, 09:20 PM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 27 2007, 09:20 PM

13,063 posts

Woooooo. i love keeping people in suspense!
Like my last iPod, Bullseye LA trip!
Hahahahahahah!
blackangel
post Mar 27 2007, 09:22 PM

556 posts

now thats not really cool...imagine ur dad bought u a gibson lp custom...then he made it mysterious for like a month..wont u be so pff..yet happy...anyway how much did u pay for it?
Everdying
post Mar 27 2007, 09:34 PM

30,735 posts

not too tight.
string spacing is wider.

on gibson is 52mm, the epiphone is 51mm, so not too bad.
but fender is 56mm.

not to say cannot play on it, but after so used to gibson string spacing have to readjust which im not bothered to anymore tongue.gif
blackangel
post Mar 27 2007, 09:42 PM

556 posts

means that u are a die-hard gibson fan. im gonna save hard..n going for a gibson sg standard 2nd hand. hope u will recommend me some soon. gibson lp is..exp even its 2nd hand..T.T

my guitar is officially put into the bag n gonna rot at the little corner for 3 weeks. finals are here!dun say plan good time or what so i can still play my guitar while having finals.i jz cudnt stop playing once i have started! uhh~~hibernating baby..

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 27 2007, 09:44 PM
Everdying
post Mar 27 2007, 09:46 PM

30,735 posts

not really.
SG standard 2nd hand here about RM3800-4000.

right now khairold selling a LP standard 2nd hand RM4500.
in SG also 2nd hand LP standard SGD2250 / RM5175.

anyway, i dont really like SG standard with big pickguards, else i would have one already tongue.gif

blackangel
post Mar 27 2007, 09:51 PM

556 posts

i checked his webpage. hes got only 1 left n i said im gonna SAVE HARD..so now its still not the time...soon by this year..!depends on the succesive level of cash saving..if alot then might change target to lp!haha

anyway are u a fan of angus young?seeing that u own a few sg's..did u get the gibson 61 reissue?better watch out..hehe i think its gonna be a great collection soon
Everdying
post Mar 27 2007, 09:55 PM

30,735 posts

angus, iommi, page...yea.
clapton...NO.

tongue.gif

i got the orville by gibson '61 RI.
one day i will get the actual gibson one, damn RM7k++ brand new.
2nd hand also around RM5k++.
blackangel
post Mar 27 2007, 10:00 PM

556 posts

clapton also used SG b4 what..damn i like him so much.all the classic rockers..

gosh man thats 7k though its cheap relatively compared to les paul..but its still a huge amount!but its worth it! i think those with YEAR put in its name will soon be a custom made guitar...best for collection!

and for me..if i got an SG the pickups must be 57 classic!i jz like the distortion..

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 27 2007, 10:03 PM
Everdying
post Mar 27 2007, 10:06 PM

30,735 posts

i dont really like clapton's stuff outside of cream / the yardbirds.

btw, the gibson '61 RI has '57 classics as standard.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 27 2007, 10:06 PM
blackangel
post Mar 27 2007, 10:12 PM

556 posts

jz sell off ur mia strat n the for-playing-around lp to get the 61 reissue.

i know.but for budget ppl like me..ill jz get a standard n sell away the 490 pickups n swap in the 57.
Everdying
post Mar 27 2007, 10:46 PM

30,735 posts

nah, my epi LP is gonna be here for quite awhile.
the strat definitely has to go someday.
^Hobbes^
post Mar 28 2007, 01:02 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 27 2007, 10:46 PM)
nah, my epi LP is gonna be here for quite awhile.
the strat definitely has to go someday.
TBH, once i got used to the lp frets, i cant play any other frets, they are just too uncomfortable for me. Also some people were complaining about lp's weight, to me they are quite comfy and gives me a sense of security.
panty69
post Mar 28 2007, 01:26 AM

22 posts

OMG that is so cute!!!!! drool.gif
echobrainproject
post Mar 28 2007, 01:37 AM

4,765 posts

i admit i like the pink hello kitty guitar strap and now feel like buying it! however dont think i will as i just spent a whole sum of savings on F1 tickets. *sakit hati*.

everdying, ive been eyeing khairolds sale on gibsons. kinda interested but then apart from finance, im quite worried about 2nd hand guitars:the conditions, the frets, etc.

edit:how much u letting ur sexy strat go for?
(im asking for GAS trouble as im saving hard for a LP or amp)

This post has been edited by echobrainproject: Mar 28 2007, 01:44 AM
Roland San
post Mar 28 2007, 01:37 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 27 2007, 12:19 AM)
talkin about blackie's replica.

remember how clapton said he retired blackie cos it was unplayable?

so does that mean the replica is also unplayable? tongue.gif
and if the replica is playable, does this mean fender are ripping off a couple hundred ppl of alot of money?
I think it's the fretwear. Over the years he's worn the metal down a few times, and a neck will only take so many refrets before its structurally integrity goes. Not only that, there was this thing about Fender's sideways fretting method back in the day...

The new Blackies, well, are new necks, so I guess they don't suffer from the same problem.

Blacktrix, your HKitty strap is truly gay. Strangely, it goes well with sharp pointy guitars. Even more strangely, it goes with the Zakk Wylde tongue.gif . Most strangely, I suddenly want a HKitty Strat. And a Daisy Rock guitar too. Pink. With glitter. And a feather boa.

khairold has some good stuff. Best to get a couple of Gibson know-a-lots, lure them with the promise of beer and good old rock n roll, and have them inspect it. You should be looking at '80s Jacksons and Kramers, cos luring their know-it-alls simply requires waving a can of hairspray around.

Added on March 28, 2007, 1:51 am

And what is with these fakey Cina Gibsons? Damn, intellectual property means absolutely nothing to them. Like human rights. But anyways, while they look good and all on the outside, it's probably like how foreigner see China: they see the glitzy Shanghai, but rarely get to see the thousands of bare, tired villages around. China has a long way to go. As long as their focus is on making money at the expense of quality, their industry will remain a counterfeiting cottage industry, save for the big companies that plonk one or two factories down to churn out MIC American brands. They should think about looking at the Japanese model, and how their quality transcended the fact that the guitars were copies, and turned all these lawsuit models into desirable alternatives.

Whatever the case, better be more careful when second-hand shopping. With all this Cina copies coming in, and fakey decals sold on the tank, I suspect that the less informed Malaysian buyer might fall into a pretty big pithole, considering the guitars we're looking at.

This post has been edited by Roland San: Mar 28 2007, 01:51 AM
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 02:01 AM

30,735 posts

echo, thats why you can always go look and play khairold's guitars.
and usually gibson frets will last a long time if its played normally.

and my strat? most probably RM2.5k with a semi hard case.
all stock cept for the black pickguard from AllParts.
the original white one still intact.
Pix
post Mar 28 2007, 04:44 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

roland san,

china is manufacturing good products too, not only copies. For guitars, ok, you have a point, but for many many many other things, they can do acceptable qualiy stuff at very low prices... that's where they're having an edge.
most consumers care more about the money they'll spend on something, rather than seeking for the highest-quality device...
echobrainproject
post Mar 28 2007, 07:22 AM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 28 2007, 02:01 AM)
echo, thats why you can always go look and play khairold's guitars.
and usually gibson frets will last a long time if its played normally.
dont worry. once ive managed to save enough...i'm really really gona make sure i get the best guitar i could ever get by testing like mad. hehe.
sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 09:00 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

lol
everyone sounds interested in khairolds lp std now

blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 12:22 PM

556 posts

maybe.but he is almost finished selling.....only left 1.anyway from the picture, u can already trust him 30 %. by the time u test them if u are satisfied u can buy them.but some of them are 'stripped' to avoid further exterior defection..

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 28 2007, 12:22 PM
Roland San
post Mar 28 2007, 01:01 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Mar 28 2007, 04:44 AM)
roland san,

china is manufacturing good products too, not only copies. For guitars, ok, you have a point, but for many many many other things, they can do acceptable qualiy stuff at very low prices... that's where they're having an edge.
most consumers care more about the money they'll spend on something, rather than seeking for the highest-quality device...
No doubt there are good products coming out of China.
No doubt they have the low-cost edge.
That's their strength right now. We're all watching the formation of a superpower, if not THE superpower.

Now, most consumers do care what they spend their money on, that's true. The problem arises when some spend it on a fakey Gibson, thinking it's a real one. You may think, serves them right for falling being duped, but the Chinese will get better. Fakes will get harder to detect. I can't imagine what'll happen to the market when that happens.

It's just sad to see beautiful guitars copied like this, and passed off as real ones.
sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 01:26 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Roland San @ Mar 28 2007, 01:01 PM)
No doubt there are good products coming out of China.
No doubt they have the low-cost edge.
That's their strength right now. We're all watching the formation of a superpower, if not THE superpower.

Now, most consumers do care what they spend their money on, that's true. The problem arises when some spend it on a fakey Gibson, thinking it's a real one. You may think, serves them right for falling being duped, but the Chinese will get better. Fakes will get harder to detect. I can't imagine what'll happen to the market when that happens.

It's just sad to see beautiful guitars copied like this, and passed off as real ones.
You have a point there. Its will be very risky for buyers to spring out their hard earned cash for a fake.

blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 04:25 PM

556 posts

lets clap for the chinese haha...hmm dun worrry by that time gibson sure will do something...like wat microsoft did..or maybe everyone will love fakeys...its either way its gonna happen.no way u can stop chinese fakey production as if y ou u wanna stop their population being grown too fast.

and most probably fakeys will be cheap to fight the market with real gibbys..maybe shops will sell them with the price tag for a real one...pray for us

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 28 2007, 04:27 PM
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 04:59 PM

30,735 posts

no matter how good the fakes get, once you play it you will know its one.
and for guitars like gibsons, its just not feasible for them to do a fake with the correct woods.
its much easier to fake a brand like ibanez, as you can use generic woods and they can pretty much pass off as real.

anyway, i just got back from yamaha at the curve.
i tried all 5 set neck MIC LPs, 4 standards and 1 studio, they had there.
goddamn all of them were so light, 1 of them even had a chip at back of neck showing bare wood.
maybe whoever wants can go get a nice discount on that.
and i got them to check the price of the epi tony iommi SG if they do bring it in.
sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 07:18 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 28 2007, 04:59 PM)
no matter how good the fakes get, once you play it you will know its one.
and for guitars like gibsons, its just not feasible for them to do a fake with the correct woods.
its much easier to fake a brand like ibanez, as you can use generic woods and they can pretty much pass off as real.

anyway, i just got back from yamaha at the curve.
i tried all 5 set neck MIC LPs, 4 standards and 1 studio, they had there.
goddamn all of them were so light, 1 of them even had a chip at back of neck showing bare wood.
maybe whoever wants can go get a nice discount on that.
and i got them to check the price of the epi tony iommi SG if they do bring it in.
mmmm
i gotta to yamaha n try it for myself
lol
SweetTooth
post Mar 28 2007, 08:12 PM

2,650 posts

how do i improve my improvisation? any tips ?
Equilibrium777
post Mar 28 2007, 08:16 PM

1,228 posts

listen to alot of music. . . play alot of songs. . . play different genres. . . never restrict yourself to one genre as your playing will sound very much that genre if you wanna be unique. . . and work on proper techniques. . . theory knowledge is also important. . .
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 08:23 PM

30,735 posts

be a singer tongue.gif
Equilibrium777
post Mar 28 2007, 08:29 PM

1,228 posts

btw everdying why selling your highway 1?

and yea humming out your solos really work, try humming and playing what you hum. . cause your voice never lies =D lots of jazz guys do that. . . instead of letting what your fingers want to play you hum out what you want and play what you hum. . . but it's no easy feat. . .
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 08:35 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Mar 28 2007, 08:29 PM)
btw everdying why selling your highway 1?

and yea humming out your solos really work, try humming and playing what you hum. . cause your voice never lies =D lots of jazz guys do that. . . instead of letting what your fingers want to play you hum out what you want and play what you hum. . . but it's no easy feat. . .
i posted awhile back la.
gibson style necks are more comfortable for me, so going to fender necks must readjust since im not so used to it.
also fender string spacing is about 5mm wider from low to high E.
but then when playing the fender for awhile, playing the gibson is so much easier tongue.gif

and my fender i hardly play it.
echobrainproject
post Mar 28 2007, 08:38 PM

4,765 posts

fakes u dont even need to play one to know its a fake. the one at the curve, another guy was testing, i went in and the moment i heard it i felt something was wrong. i went out and straight away told blacktrix.
blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 08:39 PM

556 posts

fender is really making his guitars all to a very commercialize state...look at the website..win a mustang?is that one?

hmm...looks like the curve really has some bad reputation..alright...banlisted haha

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 28 2007, 08:42 PM
led_zep_freak
post Mar 28 2007, 09:53 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 28 2007, 08:39 PM)
fender is really making his guitars all to a very commercialize state...look at the website..win a mustang?is that one?

hmm...looks like the curve really has some bad reputation..alright...banlisted haha
Don't make Leo Fender turn over his grave, man. laugh.gif
blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 10:16 PM

556 posts

he sold it anyway..he wouldnt bother to...guess thats why dave sold all his jacksons collections....
sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 10:43 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

dam really gotta go curve and try out the guitars man

so i can really confirm those epiphones i tried are fake or not
if they play the same
GOD THERES LOTS OF FAKES AROUND

there one MIK epi lp which was light and the qc was so bad that the tone knobs were scratching the guitar when it was turned -.-
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 10:46 PM

30,735 posts

when mustaine first tried selling his jacksons...
it was cos he had a injury to his hand and he thought that he may never play again, at least that was what he said.
i remember back then one of his jacksons was going for USD10k.

blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 10:55 PM

556 posts

hmm yea yea. i know he got some injuries on his left hand..which is still carrying an effect now.he cant lift his palm 180 degree or 45 degree..in other words anti clockwise. he can do it clockwise.damn i hate his hate style though! haha...like working in some saloon..

sean392...dun even bother to try fake guitars if u know they are.furthermore if they are just fake epiphones..not gibsons or fender or prs. n did anyone see fake prs lying around?im pssss with these replicas...nvm if its a copy.

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 28 2007, 11:16 PM
sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 10:58 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

nah i dont think im good enough to identify it on the spot
so since everdying alr gave confirmation i wanna go n see whether my judgement is right or wrong
so yeah =p
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 11:00 PM

30,735 posts

gave confirmation of what?
sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 11:04 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

well
epi guitars on curve are as fake as it can get?
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 11:10 PM

30,735 posts

read my post carefully.
where did i mention that they were fake?
all i said was they were very light.

sean392
post Mar 28 2007, 11:16 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 28 2007, 11:10 PM)
read my post carefully.
where did i mention that they were fake?
all i said was they were very light.
mehhhh

fine then =/

blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 11:21 PM

556 posts

see..told u dun even bother to think of it..if they are.
Everdying
post Mar 28 2007, 11:30 PM

30,735 posts

first, my definition of light.
if i can hold the neck where it meets the body, and can easily twist the guitar til the body end is higher with just my wrist, it is light.

so, my epi lp custom is heavy, my '74 sg standard is heavy, a gibson lp is heavy.
a new sg standard is light, and so are every other guitar i've owned.

those epis are all MIC, as in china.
you know, as in a different country than korea since you failed geography.
so, it would be pretty obvious the woods used tho similar in name, are different in terms of density etc.
which should explain the weight difference.
blackangel
post Mar 28 2007, 11:38 PM

556 posts

maybe because of the weather also that causes something different to the wood XD. however..it doesnt bother me.
Everdying
post Mar 29 2007, 01:12 AM

30,735 posts

yea, i wouldnt say the MIC epi's played badly.
but being so light, the sound may not be what you expect from a LP.

Equilibrium777
post Mar 29 2007, 02:24 AM

1,228 posts

well i guess it can't be helped right? i mean they have to keep cost low to be able to churn out affordable guitars for us. . . not everyone can afford a Gibson costing 7k plus. . . on top of that i say give them a few more years and maybe they'll pickup. . . Japan used to be like the "china" last time. . . all the big names are going east lolz. . . even the Ibanez S series are all made in Korea now, including the prestige models. . .
TSblacktrix
post Mar 29 2007, 09:18 AM

13,063 posts

True, but if you're expecting to pay RM1800, even for an Epi, you expect it to play ALMOST like a Gibson Les Paul..... At least 60% like the Gibson counterparts.

I dunno. Will have to really sit down with a few of the MIC Les Pauls and do a thoural LowYat Torture test on them..........
BeatSpot at the Curve anybody? tongue.gif
gapnap
post Mar 29 2007, 10:03 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Equilibrium777 @ Mar 29 2007, 02:24 AM)
well i guess it can't be helped right? i mean they have to keep cost low to be able to churn out affordable guitars for us. . . not everyone can afford a Gibson costing 7k plus. . . on top of that i say give them a few more years and maybe they'll pickup. . . Japan used to be like the "china" last time. . . all the big names are going east lolz. . . even the Ibanez S series are all made in Korea now, including the prestige models. . .
i asked the dude about it..

the LP supreme was sold for 17k to a orang putih
TSblacktrix
post Mar 29 2007, 10:20 AM

13,063 posts

HA! Sucker!
A Gibson LP Custom (costing about RM12k) sounds better IMHO....
Well, not THAT humble anyway.....
But again..... that's just me
gapnap
post Mar 29 2007, 11:28 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 29 2007, 10:20 AM)
HA! Sucker!
A Gibson LP Custom (costing about RM12k) sounds better IMHO....
Well, not THAT humble anyway.....
But again..... that's just me
where did you try the LP custom ? blink.gif
havent really seen one in a music shop around

i disagree you should expect an Epiphone to play/sounds almost like a Gibson..

If you actually own a Gibson / Tried a Gibson..
Epiphones are like TOYS to you..

same for Fender , don't need MIA lar..if you own a MIM/MIJ/MIK ..
the squire feels like a guitar you want to slam on the stage already..

i have a Musicman Axis ..when i tried the OLP copies , i nearly puke ..

and the best part of it is people seem to give good reviews about OLP

This post has been edited by gapnap: Mar 29 2007, 11:32 AM
TSblacktrix
post Mar 29 2007, 11:31 AM

13,063 posts

I meant the one in Guitar Center...
...... in Las Vegas

tongue.gif
gapnap
post Mar 29 2007, 11:34 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 29 2007, 11:31 AM)
...... in Las Vegas

tongue.gif
cool..

did you visit Ed roman's store ?

Guitar Center , very little rare stuffs lar ..imo
accept for the PRS ..
TSblacktrix
post Mar 29 2007, 11:39 AM

13,063 posts

Nah. Didn't get a chance to see Ed's place. Just not enough f'ing time..... had to look for Led_Zep's Pedals tongue.gif

anyway..... this 2 pictures are just too cool for words:

And Everdying.....
Gibson's Guitar O' The Week....

http://www.gibson.com/Products/GibsonElect...f%20the%20Week/

SG Standard with 3 Single Coil Pickups.....
BRUTAL........

ALSO:

Good news for those who wanted the tone of Zakk's strings, but couldn't take the VERY high gauge.... His NEW Signature Dunlop strings are available in 10-46 AND 10-60 also. I guess he added in the 46s for his Floyd Rose guitars..... which is what I'll probably be using too tongue.gif

I think they didn't want the 10-70 because no one in their right mind (except Zakk) would play 70s.

If anybody has any idea how to bulk the strings, let me know. Interested in buying probably 5-10 sets.

Details here: http://www.jimdunlop.com/index.php?page=pr...s_detail&cat=22

This post has been edited by blacktrix: Mar 29 2007, 01:20 PM
blackangel
post Mar 29 2007, 02:59 PM

556 posts

wow the most techincal guy ever...reminds me of stoned jimmy page playing the dbl neck.

heck..17k for a lp supreme ? i tot some1 said going for 8k cuz its mic? hmm...

anyway they put the bridge pickup parellel to the bridge.does that sound different?

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 29 2007, 03:00 PM
supercolossal
post Mar 29 2007, 05:33 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 29 2007, 11:39 AM)
Nah. Didn't get a chance to see Ed's place. Just not enough f'ing time..... had to look for Led_Zep's Pedals tongue.gif

anyway..... this 2 pictures are just too cool for words:

And Everdying.....
Gibson's Guitar O' The Week....

http://www.gibson.com/Products/GibsonElect...f%20the%20Week/

SG Standard with 3 Single Coil Pickups.....
BRUTAL........

ALSO:

Good news for those who wanted the tone of Zakk's strings, but couldn't take the VERY high gauge.... His NEW Signature Dunlop strings are available in 10-46 AND 10-60 also. I guess he added in the 46s for his Floyd Rose guitars..... which is what I'll probably be using too tongue.gif

I think they didn't want the 10-70 because no one in their right mind (except Zakk) would play 70s.

If anybody has any idea how to bulk the strings, let me know. Interested in buying probably 5-10 sets.

Details here: http://www.jimdunlop.com/index.php?page=pr...s_detail&cat=22
You're right, just too cool, I've always hoped that he would pay Malaysia a visit.
blackangel
post Mar 29 2007, 05:57 PM

556 posts

i was hoping there will be a G3 in malaysia aha..with paul gilbert!!

trying both jimmy's sig guitar?...bet he is a fan of him

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 29 2007, 06:01 PM
AlienProbe
post Mar 29 2007, 06:08 PM

209 posts

The next G3 will be Joe, John and Gilbert...Should exchange someone else with John as he had played so many times in G3 already (excluding Vai and Joe) blink.gif ...

Anyway all of them are the best~
z3r0l33t
post Mar 29 2007, 07:05 PM

300 posts

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...08906&rd=1&rd=1

GAS! i wonder if getting it would be wise..can scare ppl at customs!
TSblacktrix
post Mar 29 2007, 07:35 PM

13,063 posts

I saw the ESP (I think) One in Singapore at Peninsular Plaza.
Looks semi-convincing.

SweetTooth
post Mar 29 2007, 09:59 PM

2,650 posts

wonder how i'm gonna play that sitting down ?
Everdying
post Mar 29 2007, 09:59 PM

30,735 posts

yea, i know the guitar of the weeks.
for the 1st 12 weeks, there are 4 SGs, now all listed.
that triple single coil SG is week 10.
week 11 is a nice looking thunderbird bass, and week 12 a nice looking firebird tongue.gif
out of all the 10 so far, the SG silverburst is the only one thats SOLD OUT. !@!@#!@%!^@#$!@#.
the ebony SG '61 RI will be next.
and im wondering whos gonna buy that fugly week 5 LP classic.

now waiting for them to announce the next 12 weeks and see if anything interesting, at least i hope there will be more.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Mar 29 2007, 10:00 PM
sean392
post Mar 29 2007, 10:17 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

the silverburst sg has a big pickguard wo
u still want ke?
Everdying
post Mar 29 2007, 10:23 PM

30,735 posts

silverburst and ebony fretboard overrides the big pickguard.

led_zep_freak
post Mar 29 2007, 10:33 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 29 2007, 05:57 PM)
trying both jimmy's sig guitar?...bet he is a fan of him
Actually secretly he has Jimmy's Dragon Pants in his closet & a wig whenever he feels like being part of Led Zeppelin in front of his mirror. biggrin.gif

Cools pics though!!! Now if Pagey would play an Ibanez JS. biggrin.gif
blackangel
post Mar 29 2007, 10:42 PM

556 posts

im not sure about that..page has attitude problem...i dunno whether is he still having it now.

JS series are cool n nice...if u have a chance go to bentley n try tongue.gif
led_zep_freak
post Mar 29 2007, 10:46 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 29 2007, 10:42 PM)
im not sure about that..page has attitude problem...i dunno whether is he still having it now.

JS series are cool n nice...if u have a chance go to bentley n try tongue.gif
laugh.gif Actually he gave the pants to some charity. Then again it could be the rock 'n' roll hall of fame.

Yeah, they look great. biggrin.gif Maybe I'ill fly to France and play Pix's. biggrin.gif After all, a guitar without the Pix feel is not a guitar. biggrin.gif
Roland San
post Mar 29 2007, 10:52 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 29 2007, 11:31 AM)
...... in Las Vegas

tongue.gif
That one far out there that takes a $25 cab ride out and another $25 in back to the Strip? They didn't have what I wanted there, but the GCs in LA and SF were more comprehensive.

Ed Roman's was closed on the day I was free sad.gif
It looks like some crummy warehouse just off the strip. Had trouble finding it cos they renamed the road. It would've been funny to see if he really is as much of a twat in real life than he is on his site.
sean392
post Mar 29 2007, 11:12 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 29 2007, 10:23 PM)
silverburst and ebony fretboard overrides the big pickguard.
icic
too bad its sold out tho

blackangel
post Mar 29 2007, 11:38 PM

556 posts

Pix is at france???
sean392
post Mar 29 2007, 11:56 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 29 2007, 11:38 PM)
Pix is at france???
lol
im not sure where he is now
probably back in france now

Everdying
post Mar 30 2007, 12:03 AM

30,735 posts

do all french girls have hairy armpits?
^Hobbes^
post Mar 30 2007, 12:13 AM

777 posts

Why that question ? You are interested to let them aged your guitar between their armpit for that extra vintage look issit ?
blackangel
post Mar 30 2007, 12:28 AM

556 posts

that dude is a french or he stays there?
led_zep_freak
post Mar 30 2007, 12:54 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Mar 30 2007, 12:28 AM)
that dude is a french or he stays there?
He is a French and I think he just moved back to France from Tahiti. biggrin.gif
TSblacktrix
post Mar 30 2007, 07:18 AM

13,063 posts

YES! That Guitar Center waaaaaay off the strip!
I went to the one in Hollywood (where I got my ZW Les Paul) and you're right. The one in LA has MUCH better stuff...... tongue.gif

And Pix....... I think we need an update!!!
zeroglyph
post Mar 30 2007, 11:28 AM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

any of you guys have experience with zoom 505 II? how does it fare? i'm thinking of adding it to my chain for versatility, not for main distortion though. just to play around. how does it fare working amongst other compact pedals and wah, being a digital effect processor? particularly interested in:

- how's the tuner? really chromatic?
- how's the bypass mode? will it effect overall sound?
- where should i put it? before or after compact pedal? (of course before the wah, right?)

edit: btw, +ve and -ve reviews are welcomed. i've read most of the available reviews on the net, most a re +ve, but there are some -ve too. just like to know what people here think.

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: Mar 30 2007, 12:00 PM
blackangel
post Mar 30 2007, 11:59 AM

556 posts

all i can say i the wah...SXXX
echobrainproject
post Mar 30 2007, 12:09 PM

4,765 posts

i think most will give u negative comments. however, using the zoom for things like flanger, chorus etc is just decent. not too bad and can get the job done.
TSblacktrix
post Mar 30 2007, 12:15 PM

13,063 posts

To me, Zoom sounds too digital for my liking.
And besides, they discontinued the 505II already..... replaced with the 2.0 and 2.1u.

I would recommend zoom 2.1u as a very first pedal, as has alot of options to play with AND USB recording for a reasonable price.

If USB recording isn't important, go for the Korg Toneworks 1500g...... much better audio quality.
RustReaver4D1
post Mar 30 2007, 12:21 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Mar 30 2007, 12:09 PM)
i think most will give u negative comments. however, using the zoom for things like flanger, chorus etc is just decent. not too bad and can get the job done.
Yeah, and since you'll probably be able to get it at bargain-basement price, there's really no harm in trying it out. tongue.gif

zeroglyph
post Mar 30 2007, 12:24 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

i'm not gonna use it as a main effect, just for fine tuning a bit, mostly for clean. interested in the ZNR. definitely not gonna use the distortion and wah. well, maybe on headphones smile.gif. think of it as extra arsenal, besides i'm getting a used one.
asura_86
post Mar 30 2007, 12:27 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

the thing i like on the zoom 505 II is the noise gate (which rocks), delay and chorus...the rest is on the so-so level...and yes, it's very digital sounding...but if you can live with it, then shouldn't be a problem for you...

something from gustavo...a brazilian guitarist...

http://youtube.com/watch?v=Y-qIqZ9LWsY&mode=related&search=

http://youtube.com/watch?v=nS8GLeXgXUc&mode=related&search=

This post has been edited by asura_86: Mar 30 2007, 01:15 PM
pokgaizai
post Mar 30 2007, 01:51 PM

684 posts

guys, izzit possible to change the edge3 bridge on RG370dx to another bridge?

I've tested S470 and still prefer RG, and can't afford rg1570.
gapnap
post Mar 30 2007, 02:05 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 30 2007, 12:15 PM)
To me, Zoom sounds too digital for my liking.

not all. tried the analogs already ?
sean392
post Mar 30 2007, 03:05 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

wheee
bought 4 jazz III's
not too bad
thick as hell tho
2 reds n 2 blacks
the reds are way hard on their own man
the blacks are firmer than the reds
=p

comparison to tortex jazz
the jazz III is warmer sounding, thicker and slightly smaller
feels like its realllll durable, grip wise is pretty good unexpectedly
=p
blackangel
post Mar 30 2007, 03:39 PM

556 posts

well zoom 505II has decent modulations..and the best thing i like bout it is the ZNR which really helps wit me squier SSS strats.basically...distortion is kinda xxxx...the wah is the worst effect ever built in it.

that brazillian is great..the cream..his style..sounds something like satriani's one.

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 30 2007, 03:55 PM
Equilibrium777
post Mar 30 2007, 04:32 PM

1,228 posts

Gustavo is really good. . . i've seen alot of his videos. . . for one he has every single God Forsaken Guitar on earth. . . JS model, JEM models, PG models, Gibson, Fender, watever. . . lolz. . . must be some multi-millionaire. . . so jealous. . .

when he plays he really plays up to a point where you think it's the real guy playing. . . the nuances, lelgato, phrasing, everything, so real. . . respect him totally. . . Check out his For The Love Of God - Vai. . . good stuff. . .
SweetTooth
post Mar 30 2007, 05:56 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(sean392 @ Mar 30 2007, 03:05 PM)
wheee
bought 4 jazz III's
not too bad
thick as hell tho
2 reds n 2 blacks
the reds are way hard on their own man
the blacks are firmer than the reds
=p

comparison to tortex jazz
the jazz III is warmer sounding, thicker and slightly smaller
feels like its realllll durable, grip wise is pretty good unexpectedly
=p
i find black ones harder than red ones. i tried bending them, the black ones won't budge but the red ones bent. does that count to stiffness too ?

i find black ones have better grip. and yes they are very very durable, still using my first one right now. got 2 more in stock icon_rolleyes.gif
soulfly
post Mar 30 2007, 06:43 PM

15,903 posts

finally able to get hold of my MicroCube! the sound is really satisfying, and it's loud!

for pick, i'm using black tortex 0.88 now
SweetTooth
post Mar 30 2007, 06:57 PM

2,650 posts

^
how much did you pay for it? you got any other amps(sorry i don't know)
blackangel
post Mar 30 2007, 06:58 PM

556 posts

hmm its better than many 10-15 watts amp.i dun wan to say 20 to brag it.but thats why u pay near 400 for a 2 watter and built in effects.u get what u pay.

lol sweetooh u dun need to be sorry for asking him..u dunno him right.haha cheers

This post has been edited by blackangel: Mar 30 2007, 06:59 PM
soulfly
post Mar 30 2007, 07:00 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(pokgaizai @ Mar 30 2007, 01:51 PM)
guys, izzit possible to change the edge3 bridge on RG370dx to another bridge?

I've tested S470 and still prefer RG, and can't afford rg1570.
well... u can change it to edge pro, or original/licensed floyd rose if you want

not sure about kahlers though

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Mar 30 2007, 06:57 PM)
^
how much did you pay for it? you got any other amps(sorry i don't know)
my bro bought it from bentley for RM380. it's a black colour by the way. red and white one should be slightly more expensive because of their 'limited edition-ness' laugh.gif

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 30 2007, 07:03 PM
blackangel
post Mar 30 2007, 07:02 PM

556 posts

issit?can we change the edge III to edge pro?damn..shld have bought a rg370 then...but are u sure?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1215sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:06 PM