QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Aug 12 2018, 10:10 PM)
cheapest was RM399 by the official Asus store on lazadacurrently this is the cheapest:
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/asus-rt-...sf5V2W&search=1
RM456, not inclusive of delivery
UniFi's TP-Link Routers C5, C7 & C1200, Newer is not better.
Aug 12 2018, 10:18 PM
3,008 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: T.T.D.I, Bukit Damansara |
QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Aug 12 2018, 10:10 PM) cheapest was RM399 by the official Asus store on lazadacurrently this is the cheapest: https://www.lazada.com.my/products/asus-rt-...sf5V2W&search=1 RM456, not inclusive of delivery |
Aug 13 2018, 07:54 PM
766 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Subang/PJ |
Is asus rt-ac87u good router. Someone want to sell me at rm280. Worth it?
Aug 13 2018, 09:07 PM
18,503 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: P.Jaya |
Aug 16 2018, 10:26 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
25 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Hi, my router is AC1200 V1 from TM. Can we upgrade the firmware using TP-link malaysia website or DD-WRT/OpenWRT firmware. TQ
Attached image(s) |
Aug 16 2018, 10:46 AM
5,714 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(kidzz @ Aug 16 2018, 10:26 AM) Hi, my router is AC1200 V1 from TM. Can we upgrade the firmware using TP-link malaysia website or DD-WRT/OpenWRT firmware. TQ Yes, use TP-Link Malaysia website. You can use DD-WRT or OpenWRT, but both don't support VLAN, which you need for Unifi, so be aware of that.TP-Link Malaysia website for C1200 v1 firmware: https://www.tp-link.com/my/download/Archer-...1.html#Firmware |
Aug 16 2018, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 16 2018, 10:46 AM) Yes, use TP-Link Malaysia website. You can use DD-WRT or OpenWRT, but both don't support VLAN, which you need for Unifi, so be aware of that. Can we also upgrade from v1 to v2 or v3 from malaysia website.TP-Link Malaysia website for C1200 v1 firmware: https://www.tp-link.com/my/download/Archer-...1.html#Firmware This post has been edited by kidzz: Aug 16 2018, 11:13 AM |
Aug 16 2018, 11:43 AM
Aug 16 2018, 11:59 AM
976 posts Joined: Nov 2014 From: Sandakan, Sabah |
Installing unifi probabbly end of this month. Its new to my area and I'm among the first to install it. Any router from TM to recommend because I might request to change to TM when installing.
1st page saying C1200 hang during torrents so I will avoid that. |
Aug 16 2018, 12:05 PM
TQVM SilentVampire for ur clarifications and recommendation.
Aug 16 2018, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(wailam @ Aug 16 2018, 11:59 AM) Installing unifi probabbly end of this month. Its new to my area and I'm among the first to install it. Any router from TM to recommend because I might request to change to TM when installing. Just avoid the TP-Link C1200. Anything else from them is okay. However, if you want something good and have a bigger house, you have to get your own router.1st page saying C1200 hang during torrents so I will avoid that. QUOTE(kidzz @ Aug 16 2018, 12:05 PM) No worrris, bro. Good luck. |
Aug 16 2018, 02:04 PM
864 posts Joined: May 2005 |
I'm using C1200. Wifi can reach 200mbps, very stable. I don't torrent. Coverage upstairs not so good as most other AC1200 routers, so I have another AP upstairs.
Aug 16 2018, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(taqu @ Aug 16 2018, 02:04 PM) I'm using C1200. Wifi can reach 200mbps, very stable. I don't torrent. Coverage upstairs not so good as most other AC1200 routers, so I have another AP upstairs. V1? Yours should be the exception then. Lots of people having stability issues with C1200. My in laws has that router and I switch their router to C3150 v2.This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Aug 16 2018, 03:18 PM |
Aug 16 2018, 03:13 PM
864 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Aug 16 2018, 08:12 PM
18,503 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: P.Jaya |
Bunch of used v1 is selling now for RM100.
This post has been edited by stasio: Aug 16 2018, 08:13 PM |
Sep 10 2018, 03:10 AM
6,931 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Bolehland for sure ^_^ |
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 16 2018, 10:46 AM) Yes, use TP-Link Malaysia website. You can use DD-WRT or OpenWRT, but both don't support VLAN, which you need for Unifi, so be aware of that. Do u mind to give me the link of ddwrt&openwrt link for tplink c1200? As I don't know what specs c1200. ThxTP-Link Malaysia website for C1200 v1 firmware: https://www.tp-link.com/my/download/Archer-...1.html#Firmware |
Sep 10 2018, 09:28 AM
Sep 10 2018, 02:56 PM
321 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Klang | Shah Alam |
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 10 2018, 09:28 AM) Not too sure about that too, sorry. I don’t use both firmware so wouldn’t know where to look at the first place. Both OpenWRT and DDWRT don't have support for the AC1200, I run LEDE/OpenWRT on my Archer C7 flawlessly and both have VLAN support, that is pretty basic functionality part of any decent firmware, you just need to know how to configure it |
Sep 10 2018, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Sep 10 2018, 02:56 PM) Both OpenWRT and DDWRT don't have support for the AC1200, I run LEDE/OpenWRT on my Archer C7 flawlessly and both have VLAN support, that is pretty basic functionality part of any decent firmware, you just need to know how to configure it Tagging bro chuahcs79 for his info. |
Sep 28 2018, 07:35 PM
81 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(pizzaboyj @ Sep 10 2018, 02:56 PM) Both OpenWRT and DDWRT don't have support for the AC1200, I run LEDE/OpenWRT on my Archer C7 flawlessly and both have VLAN support, that is pretty basic functionality part of any decent firmware, you just need to know how to configure it How does having custom firmware improve the Archer c7? I bought one for my 500mb and quite disappointed with the range. Does custom firmware have any options to boost the signal? I understand 5g is naturally not good in range, but even the 2.4g is worse than my old asus rt-n12. |
Sep 28 2018, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(azcromex @ Sep 28 2018, 07:35 PM) How does having custom firmware improve the Archer c7? I bought one for my 500mb and quite disappointed with the range. Does custom firmware have any options to boost the signal? I understand 5g is naturally not good in range, but even the 2.4g is worse than my old asus rt-n12. It won’t boost the signal if you change the firmware. If you want good signal, you need to buy the C2300 at minimum. 2.4GHz is worse as your old Asus has better antenna and a built in signal amplifier. |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:00 AM |