katsumoto2011
post Apr 17 2017, 11:06 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Apr 17 2017, 11:02 PM)
6month intern? That is long for period for intership
for 6 months he been working

at 5th month , i ask him a simple question
2 of our company product , how you differential it ??

but he cannot answer..........
now you know why 6 months

kopihazelnut
post Apr 17 2017, 11:08 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 17 2017, 10:58 PM)
just ask a intern to resign last saturday

already working for 6 month still dont know a shit what he doing, ask him spend more time on work
to familiarize the job instead of going home on time at 5.30 everyday.

you know what he answer me ???
"saya nak jaga gerai burger kat sebelah malam"

WTF if you think your burger stall is more important then you job , your welcome to leave  vmad.gif
Assuming standard intern salary 500, yeah whats wrong he have other job.. the purpose of internship is to learn.. not doing full time job.. some internship esp at mnc dont learn anything still pass and graduate..
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:10 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Apr 17 2017, 10:35 PM)
This is why we now resort to calling the applicant's university to verify that they were actually enrolled there and successfully graduated. Too many fake degrees etc. these days.
foreign uni u also call?
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:16 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(party @ Apr 17 2017, 10:46 PM)
My company is executing this strategy. Kena scolded by boss coz problems not in procedure. I told her if like dat my procedure will reach 1000pages. She said then let it be if not how new joiners want to work smoothly.
u dum engineer u no need to write out all problems, sure there will be similar cases that you can lump them together and write a general step to trouble shoot such issues without having to write out redundant problems.

ur boss is right, if you don't have a proper guidelines, don't say newbees, even experienced ones will have their own way of doing things because like ur boss said, there's no proper procedure so everything is tru trial & error.

if it's something new, trial & error is normal, but if it's something established, you expect new comers to trial & error & self learn? if problems happened before, write it down, write down how you solved the issue, then when you accumulated sufficient issues, get a junior to compile the writings into categories to reduce the number of pages on your guidelines.

juniors are not freshies, they should already know the job, so they should be the one compiling ur efforts, then u review, and add amendments or if you aren't senior enough write a proposal to your managers so they can incorporate ur proposal and update the guidelines.

if not u will open another thread ranting newbees dunno how to do their job you have to spend this much time to teach them how to troubleshoot.

in the end, u just shooting ur own foot.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:24 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:06 PM)
for 6 months he been working

at 5th month , i ask him a simple question
2 of our company product , how you differential it ??

but he cannot answer..........
now you know why 6 months
hi, i think, even though the intern might not be capable, it's you as the senior/manager that failed.

you should not wait until 5 months baru test him.

i would start testing them after the 1st 20 minutes of briefing on their 1st day, surely you have to give them orientation on their 1st day of work, and it doesn't even need to be too focus on their job scope, you can explain the company's business focus, you can straight away ask some questions to see if they understood anything about the company, this acts as a test gauge to differentiate freshies with potentials & those that you know require tighter monitor & guidance (usually the one that gives you a clueless face). by asking casual question you don't give them pressure to answer but it gives some sort of interaction and they will know what they need to understand in order to know their job.

by 1st week you should be able to tell which intern is good which one aren't.

by 1st month they should already be given tasks to assist the full timers. start with easy task, show them how to do it, then test them on the spot, if they don't get it, teach until they get it.

this is where Malaysia education system fails. everything need spoon feed. that is why, you, as a supervisor only know how to spoon feed the interns instead of being more interactive with them.

i would dare to say you are the one whom failed them. things like this shouldn't be allowed to happen after 5 months. it's like you were sleeping on your task on training the interns.

you should seriously review yourself man, not just for the sake of ur company or the intern, but urself, coz we assume u gonna have a family, have ur own kids, if you teach ur kids like u teach ur interns, they gonna grow up like a rock just like ur inters.

SUSautoman5891
post Apr 17 2017, 11:26 PM

intern used fake resume.

hr dept fail.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:29 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Apr 17 2017, 11:03 PM)
2 interns at IE
Play Starcraft
U r fired
and wot was the reason they ended up playing starcraft?

because they weren't given any specific task right?

they r fired.

and u failed.

u should at least call them into ur office and give them a good scolding and explain to them why they should try to learn on their job instead of playing starcraft, and ask them why they were playing starcraft. if they say nothing to do, make sure they are given tasks to do, if the senior u assigned to handle them ignores them, call the senior in, give him a good scolding.

firing them on the spot is just irresponsible.

i know u probably think they are just interns, not really ur problem, u aren't paid to babysit them. but u never know who they know or what they know. firing someone just because they were playing games, without any warnings, is just as unprofessional as those interns playing games on job.

pipul like u, think too highly of urself.
winter01942
post Apr 17 2017, 11:31 PM

Rating 5/5
857 posts

intern asked shop to fake invoice price and share profit

found out and got fired
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:32 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(party @ Apr 17 2017, 10:51 PM)
My process is loans and each companies loans is different as it tobcaters them. How to write a procedure to suit them??? Even if types of loans are well known but not the conditions...

Which is why the current gen workers being breed are textbook type..unable to think, talk and act. And people wonder why their salary so low...
everyone started as a noob, including you. you just forgotten how noob u were when you started becoz that was long time ago. u probably though u knew everything when you just started and wonder why freshgrads nowadays sucks so bad.

it's the same reason why ur dad think ur soft & incompetent compared to folks back in his days.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:34 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(winter01942 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:31 PM)
intern asked shop to fake invoice price and share profit

found out and got fired
u just missed out a really smart intern.

i would call him in and tell them hey you were smart, but u got caught. but ur good, why not work for us, as long as u don't seek personal benefits out of the company & meet ur targets, why not? since i already know u cheated, i'm watching u. if ur good, we will reward u, if u still continue, ur ending will be very bad.

Zaazuu
post Apr 17 2017, 11:38 PM

50 posts

I once took an intern under me. Took him to classes to assist PnP as well as helped me with some admin jobs, but he went flirt with the female students pulak. Sometimes brought along for fieldwork but really cannot tahan beh and think independently. Few months taught to use PowerPoint and Excel also cannot cope simple functions. Almost had the urge to ask him to resign but I remembered I was like that as well long time ago.
party
post Apr 17 2017, 11:44 PM

816 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:16 PM)
u dum engineer u no need to write out all problems, sure there will be similar cases that you can lump them together and write a general step to trouble shoot such issues without having to write out redundant problems.

ur boss is right, if you don't have a proper guidelines, don't say newbees, even experienced ones will have their own way of doing things because like ur boss said, there's no proper procedure so everything is tru trial & error.

if it's something new, trial & error is normal, but if it's something established, you expect new comers to trial & error & self learn? if problems happened before, write it down, write down how you solved the issue, then when you accumulated sufficient issues, get a junior to compile the writings into categories to reduce the number of pages on your guidelines.

juniors are not freshies, they should already know the job, so they should be the one compiling ur efforts, then u review, and add amendments or if you aren't senior enough write a proposal to your managers so they can incorporate ur proposal and update the guidelines.

if not u will open another thread ranting newbees dunno how to do their job you have to spend this much time to teach them how to troubleshoot.

in the end, u just shooting ur own foot.
kesian - u think all companies are the same? which is a pity no wonder u still earning peanut salary
hcmalaya
post Apr 17 2017, 11:45 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:29 PM)
and wot was the reason they ended up playing starcraft?

because they weren't given any specific task right?

they r fired.

and u failed.

u should at least call them into ur office and give them a good scolding and explain to them why they should try to learn on their job instead of playing starcraft, and ask them why they were playing starcraft. if they say nothing to do, make sure they are given tasks to do, if the senior u assigned to handle them ignores them, call the senior in, give him a good scolding.

firing them on the spot is just irresponsible.

i know u probably think they are just interns, not really ur problem, u aren't paid to babysit them. but u never know who they know or what they know. firing someone just because they were playing games, without any warnings, is just as unprofessional as those interns playing games on job.

pipul like u, think too highly of urself.
There is a fine line between making an honest mistake and making a mistake which they knew upfront of the consequence of breaching a code of conduct
Fire them all
Period

katsumoto2011
post Apr 17 2017, 11:45 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ Apr 17 2017, 11:08 PM)
Assuming standard intern salary 500, yeah whats wrong he have other job.. the purpose of internship is to learn.. not doing full time job.. some internship esp at mnc dont learn anything still pass and graduate..
we playing them full salary rm1800 permonth , so i get to demand and treat them as a probation worker

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:24 PM)
hi, i think, even though the intern might not be capable, it's you as the senior/manager that failed.

you should not wait until 5 months baru test him.

i would start testing them after the 1st 20 minutes of briefing on their 1st day, surely you have to give them orientation on their 1st day of work, and it doesn't even need to be too focus on their job scope, you can explain the company's business focus, you can straight away ask some questions to see if they understood anything about the company, this acts as a test gauge to differentiate freshies with potentials & those that you know require tighter monitor & guidance (usually the one that gives you a clueless face). by asking casual question you don't give them pressure to answer but it gives some sort of interaction and they will know what they need to understand in order to know their job.

by 1st week you should be able to tell which intern is good which one aren't.

by 1st month they should already be given tasks to assist the full timers. start with easy task, show them how to do it, then test them on the spot, if they don't get it, teach until they get it.

this is where Malaysia education system fails. everything need spoon feed. that is why, you, as a supervisor only know how to spoon feed the interns instead of being more interactive with them.

i would dare to say you are the one whom failed them. things like this shouldn't be allowed to happen after 5 months. it's like you were sleeping on your task on training the interns.

you should seriously review yourself man, not just for the sake of ur company or the intern, but urself, coz we assume u gonna have a family, have ur own kids, if you teach ur kids like u teach ur interns, they gonna grow up like a rock just like ur inters.
i dont need you to tell me how to do my work , and who say i only test them after 5 months ????
is all your assumption dude.

fantasy1989
post Apr 17 2017, 11:47 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:10 PM)
foreign uni u also call?
last time my company HR they really called my professor at UK and interview her ..lol
katsumoto2011
post Apr 17 2017, 11:48 PM

219 posts

advocado

dude stop telling other forumer how to do their job, your not their boss for god sake
fantasy1989
post Apr 17 2017, 11:48 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(07XII @ Apr 17 2017, 10:54 PM)
waa very hard ya to become engineer
atleast try to fix lol ..instead of click click few button then straight turn the face to you and "question" you why cannot jalan 1?
SUSLumiaaa
post Apr 17 2017, 11:51 PM

172 posts

I started working a year ago with another freshie, I'm also fresh grad

When I'm not sure i will go ask and discuss but the other guy, when he got nothing to do or don't understand he just go facbook and wait

I go tell him off quietly y u on Facebook then he sohai go say I'm not his boss blah blah

He got sacked after 3 months and i had to pick up his work

For some reason​ he never want to discuss problem encounterd with our supervisor think highly of himself argue all the time

Sometimes ppl with great cert but attitude really shit
mohdyakup
post Apr 17 2017, 11:52 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Apr 17 2017, 11:02 PM)
6month intern? That is long for period for intership
Ayam internship last time eight month.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > »