128 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

Malvo
post Jul 29 2009, 03:27 PM

2,871 posts

QUOTE(Aurora @ Jul 29 2009, 12:50 PM)
Malvo, try get more information from them, like normally what position is usually offered with that qualification of yours. This will make them look up their system, if not start thinking. Who knows suddenly they see a vacant and might just put you through. In return, they may ask you what is your preference. Try relate with your current experience and oil and gas, it helps to get you somewhere. The longer you talk on the phone, the more HR gets to know you. Among all the stranger on the paper which they deal everyday, eventually people tend to help someone which they know about, or they think they know about. This is basic phychology trick. wink.gif
called them and as expected, they gave an textbook answer, wait for 6 months unless there is an opening. Guess i have to wait it out...

Actually i'm not a UTP scholar and had applied for a specific position with 3 years working experience, which is non-O&G field. Therefore, i'm not sure how far i can go from here.

anyway, thanks for the tips. notworthy.gif
Salience
post Aug 20 2009, 04:05 PM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

i've just been called for a CHIT CHAT session at petronas.

i asked whether it's official or not and apparently i was replied, " just wanna talk to you to see whether there's anything suitable ".

so i can assume it's unofficial coz HR termed it "chit chat session"

anyone to share insights on this?

btw, i've completed the IQ test and the presentation role play all those stuff already tongue.gif

from application till this stage... oct 2008 - aug 2009

This post has been edited by Salience: Aug 20 2009, 04:06 PM
crapp0
post Aug 20 2009, 04:24 PM

4,414 posts

I laugh when i hear petronas. But theres nothing to laugh about if you get contracts from them since its good money. But the work culture, from majority of petronas staff in the field. Well, one word sums them up "Ali Baba".

This post has been edited by crapp0: Aug 20 2009, 04:40 PM
Salience
post Aug 20 2009, 04:33 PM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

ali baba?
crapp0
post Aug 20 2009, 04:44 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Salience @ Aug 20 2009, 04:33 PM)
ali baba?
If you worked in the oil and marine industry in singapore or malaysia, you sure will have heard of this term.

Even some of the "ang moh" contractors and ship owners also know this term.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Aug 20 2009, 04:45 PM
Salience
post Aug 20 2009, 04:48 PM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

1. Ali Baba 40 up, 29 down love it hate it

Generic slang term used in the Mid-East region for "bad guy". Comes from the fable 'Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves'.
When non-English speaking middle-easterners want to point out terrorists, criminals, and assorted scum to US troops they point and yell, "Ali Baba! Ali Baba!"
get this def on a mug Mug
by KlubMarcus Aug 4, 2005 share this
2. Ali Baba 28 up, 23 down love it hate it

Unfortunate term among Iraq War GIs to describe any Iraqi bad guy: looter, thief, insurgent, terrorist, or suspect.
The use of "Ali Baba" is probably not helping us win the war for Hearts and Minds in Iraq.
pejorative iraq iraq war terrorism rhetoric hearts and minds gis iraqis
by Bill Peters Oct 8, 2006 share this
3. Ali Baba 13 up, 13 down love it hate it

Ali Baba is used generally in the middle East meaning to steal, this pre-dates the Iraq war. The term relates mainly to petty theft.
Someone will ali baba that if you leave it there
steal nick pinch have away purloin
by Mark Baker Jan 19, 2007 share this

sauce: urban dictionary

anyway,

anyone to provide insight on this CHIT CHAT SESSION??

This post has been edited by Salience: Aug 20 2009, 04:49 PM
crapp0
post Aug 20 2009, 04:54 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Salience @ Aug 20 2009, 04:48 PM)
1.  Ali Baba  40 up, 29 down love it hate it

Generic slang term used in the Mid-East region for "bad guy". Comes from the fable 'Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves'.
When non-English speaking middle-easterners want to point out terrorists, criminals, and assorted scum to US troops they point and yell, "Ali Baba! Ali Baba!"
by KlubMarcus Aug 4, 2005 share this
2.  Ali Baba  28 up, 23 down love it hate it

Unfortunate term among Iraq War GIs to describe any Iraqi bad guy: looter, thief, insurgent, terrorist, or suspect.
The use of "Ali Baba" is probably not helping us win the war for Hearts and Minds in Iraq.
pejorative iraq iraq war terrorism rhetoric hearts and minds gis iraqis
by Bill Peters Oct 8, 2006 share this
3.  Ali Baba  13 up, 13 down love it hate it

Ali Baba is used generally in the middle East meaning to steal, this pre-dates the Iraq war. The term relates mainly to petty theft.
Someone will ali baba that if you leave it there
steal nick pinch have away purloin
by Mark Baker Jan 19, 2007 share this
sauce: urban dictionary
anyway,

anyone to provide insight on this CHIT CHAT SESSION??
chit chat session more like TCSS (Talk cock sing song) if you know what i mean.
Salience
post Aug 20 2009, 04:55 PM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

have u been to one?
crapp0
post Aug 20 2009, 04:59 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Salience @ Aug 20 2009, 04:55 PM)
have u been to one?
No, but what MNC would ask you for a "chit chat" session?

Usually they would call it a "meeting".

I have been to several debriefing with petronas staff b4. And for the most part, they schedule the meeting but they themselves come late. But what can do, not like contractor can tell them off and bite the hand who feeds. So i just put up with it.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Aug 20 2009, 04:59 PM
Salience
post Aug 20 2009, 05:04 PM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

is there even such a step in their recruitment process? as i'm already working so unless there's a prospect there to take a look into, i'll go

else, if they are just trying to kill time with taxpayer's money, i won't bother showing up.
Aurora
post Aug 20 2009, 08:57 PM

630 posts

Salience: I have never heard of chit chat appointment by HR. Where is your appointment? Could be called by managers or senior managers, that may happen if you are experience and they happen to look for specific skills. No harm trying biggrin.gif

First time I heard about Alibaba... laugh.gif Wah, didn't know petronas was known as alibaba by contractors. What can I say, maybe you happen to deal with the nastiest staff, not that I have never encounter one myself sweat.gif
Salience
post Aug 23 2009, 04:33 PM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

my appointment is in KLCC tower 1.

don't know whether they are beating aruodn the bush because as far as i've heard, companies that have too much money and nothing better to do will do these kinda stuff.

like just call ppl up to come and etc.

after all, it is "good practice" for a company to always keep out a look on its talents
skiddtrader
post Aug 24 2009, 06:00 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Anyone working in a Petronas refinery can comment on the shift schedule and pay is like?
jaws_bodo
post Aug 24 2009, 06:10 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Aurora @ Jul 29 2009, 12:50 PM)
Malvo, try get more information from them, like normally what position is usually offered with that qualification of yours. This will make them look up their system, if not start thinking. Who knows suddenly they see a vacant and might just put you through. In return, they may ask you what is your preference. Try relate with your current experience and oil and gas, it helps to get you somewhere. The longer you talk on the phone, the more HR gets to know you. Among all the stranger on the paper which they deal everyday, eventually people tend to help someone which they know about, or they think they know about. This is basic phychology trick. wink.gif

vin_ann, all the best in your second attempt!

For those who still don't quite understand petronas due to lack of information, here's some I wish to say. (Hopefully you are willing to listen laugh.gif ). Yup, I'm a satisfy employee working in petronas. I'm a non-Bumi working under a Bumi boss, don't have much non-Bumi colleague, but nevertheless there wasn't any issue of racist in my office. There isn't any relative (close and far) or friends that work in petronas, except for myself. Over the years working here, I meet a few friends who has the same background as me.

These days, the competition is just too tough. While UTP has strengthen their undergrad programme, review and revise every several years. Their graduates are just too good. In the next 5 years, once the first batch of petroleum students graduate from UTP, it would be even tougher for other universities to compete in this industry.
can u explain the ppa system that they implemented nowdays....seen like they running into havoc now...it is the system fair?...let said that i'm now working under petchem plan....such as...atheline.....they have 500 worker down there...and 50 of them is for sure gonna get M3 or 4 for the worse case.....now we compare it with CDPP....all of the worker there are top fyler...but still 10% of them get M3 and 4....
if you take this 10% of CDPP people and put at atheline plan...for sure all of them gonna get 2 and above......is it fair???....kene 2 time in the row...terminate....come on...petronas are letting go high class talent man(CDPP people)
vin_ann
post Aug 24 2009, 10:30 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ Jul 29 2009, 08:59 AM)
try for wat? very free issit?
aiks... kena curse... im busy running until forget!
skyhigh73
post Sep 30 2009, 08:23 PM

18 posts

Hi, I was told by the HR that there is a position for me and that they are preparing now my offer letter? Any idea how long does it take?
I have been waiting for 2 months :S
anson lee
post Oct 3 2009, 03:02 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(mi_kit49 @ Mar 14 2007, 03:11 PM)
i heard rumour said non-bumi hardly can get promotion.
is that true?
YUP...i GUESS SO... nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif
rage_against
post Oct 3 2009, 07:08 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(cCyyCc @ Sep 18 2008, 08:05 PM)
Heard that 3.5k for fresh grad is not come just like that.. Those fresh grad won't have the retirement benefit or less retirement benefit as compared to previous batch employee..  blink.gif

Fresh grad student I think is harder to get into Petronas since mostly they take from their own sponsored student at Universiti Teknologi Petronas.. Every 6months more than 150++ Petronas sponsored graduated from UTP.. Heard from friends who intern at Petronas, the culture there is not good but think the culture may vary from dept and dept.. While UTP sponsored malays students tried to absorb into Petronas, most UTP sponsored chinese student tried to escape from being absorb by Petronas coz they aim for other oil n gas company or simply because does not like be in the Petronas culture..  icon_question.gif 

For the interview structure, it's the same for recruiting fresh grad and experienced candidate where need to undergo:-
1. Writing Test (More to ethical questions)
2. Numerial Test
3. Verbal Test (sort of english comprehension test)
4. Occupational Personality Questionaire (Personality test for them to know in detail about your personality)
5. Interview (Have 4 stages)
    5.1.  Background Check
    5.2  Case Study
    5.3  Competency based Interview
    5.4  Role Play

I agree on a thing.. The HR is slow..  sweat.gif
I graduated from UTP, but only given a chance to take the writing test, because I was not Petronas-sponsored (I'm MARA-sponsored BTW). I was disappointed but I kinda understood why they did that.
icetman
post Oct 3 2009, 07:55 PM

91 posts

Petronas is a GLC - if you want meritocracy - go work for a NON GLC company- instead of complaining about getting "Equal Opportunity". wake up/ some people are just dead-beats
Mackiddo
post Oct 3 2009, 09:58 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

forget about Petronas, if you are talented and wants 'Equal Opportunity', Singapore is the place. A lot ppl flocked to Sg.

128 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0277sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:13 PM