Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?

Malvo
post Jul 28 2009, 11:08 AM

2,871 posts

QUOTE(Aack2001 @ Jul 23 2009, 06:16 PM)
Just Wondering, I have also gotten the same Email from petronas since i attended the UKEC interview this year, March 2009,
I have called them numerous times, and until now it seems my application is
"on the way" or  "in progress" or i guess not really successful.
Anyone here in the same dilema?
I have been back since April, and I have been waiting for almost 2 months now.
Anyone working in petronas can tell me what are the chances that I will secure the job there? what are the requirements that a department looks into when hiring>?
BTW-I am not a petronas scholar, but I had some good working experience in good MNC's in UK. 2.1 mech eng degree.

I find it a bit hard to understand, why would they send such a letter if no post is available? I think that they should be hiring base on need (where there is a request, etc kanban) and not just simply interviewing a huge group ,telling them that they are "potentialy" going to be hired, if successful. Does other OnG companies do the same or is it just Petronas?
any luck for u yet?

I also got same email from petronas just now. i guess i'll be in your shoe. dunno how long have to wait.

i agreed with you that their email is a bit vague. furthermore with the same template everyone is getting, one would doubt how sincere is the email. Probably dun wan to be so obvious in rejecting ppl. psychology perhaps? hmm.gif
Malvo
post Jul 29 2009, 03:17 AM

2,871 posts

QUOTE(Aurora @ Jul 28 2009, 04:36 PM)
Try follow up with HR more often. But bear in mind, it is getting tougher to join petronas now than ever. For all you know, you probably is on the list, but with thousand of applicants, you name may be put between the list. Just remember to be nice and friendly, people tend to remember friendly people.

The structure interview consist of questionaire, personality test (questionaire), interview, and depends on the position you applied, there maybe other test.

The questionaire and other test are hosts by third party company. Interview is conducted by managers level and above. HR has no way of manipulating the result or making preference over certain people. Haven't heard of "cable" hiring for long time already. But then, there are cases where managers handpick a person, where he previously had engage with (i.e. in interview, interns). But the selection is done purely because the person is good.

Nowadays, people don't just simply recommend others (incompetent person) into the organisation anymore. First, if they can't perform, the boss need to answer. If recommend under another department, then that department boss will come make noise with the person who recommend him. This happen in any other corporate company.

The rumours which petronas cannot marry among colleague is true, applied for new hire. Nobody know the reason behind it, but some speculation said that this is to eliminate the incorrect mindset of general public on the so-called "cable-entry" or "cable-hiring".
thanks for the insight. BTW, are you working with petronas?

i guess i give them a call to find out. hopefully they don't give answers to what i have known from the email.
Malvo
post Jul 29 2009, 03:27 PM

2,871 posts

QUOTE(Aurora @ Jul 29 2009, 12:50 PM)
Malvo, try get more information from them, like normally what position is usually offered with that qualification of yours. This will make them look up their system, if not start thinking. Who knows suddenly they see a vacant and might just put you through. In return, they may ask you what is your preference. Try relate with your current experience and oil and gas, it helps to get you somewhere. The longer you talk on the phone, the more HR gets to know you. Among all the stranger on the paper which they deal everyday, eventually people tend to help someone which they know about, or they think they know about. This is basic phychology trick. wink.gif
called them and as expected, they gave an textbook answer, wait for 6 months unless there is an opening. Guess i have to wait it out...

Actually i'm not a UTP scholar and had applied for a specific position with 3 years working experience, which is non-O&G field. Therefore, i'm not sure how far i can go from here.

anyway, thanks for the tips. notworthy.gif

0.0485sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:57 PM