i grad in diploma production engineering technology...
can i apply for petronas...
is there any position for diploma?
Working with Petronas?, Work environment, benefits and culture?
Jul 15 2009, 01:44 AM
29 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Johor Bahru, Johor |
i grad in diploma production engineering technology...
can i apply for petronas... is there any position for diploma? |
Jul 15 2009, 01:46 AM
1,337 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
u melay no problem one. just apply je.
Jul 15 2009, 01:52 AM
1,723 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
average pay there is rm7k per day..
gratz bro |
Jul 23 2009, 06:16 PM
96 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Just Wondering, I have also gotten the same Email from petronas since i attended the UKEC interview this year, March 2009,
I have called them numerous times, and until now it seems my application is "on the way" or "in progress" or i guess not really successful. Anyone here in the same dilema? I have been back since April, and I have been waiting for almost 2 months now. Anyone working in petronas can tell me what are the chances that I will secure the job there? what are the requirements that a department looks into when hiring>? BTW-I am not a petronas scholar, but I had some good working experience in good MNC's in UK. 2.1 mech eng degree. I find it a bit hard to understand, why would they send such a letter if no post is available? I think that they should be hiring base on need (where there is a request, etc kanban) and not just simply interviewing a huge group ,telling them that they are "potentialy" going to be hired, if successful. Does other OnG companies do the same or is it just Petronas? This post has been edited by Aack2001: Jul 23 2009, 08:33 PM |
Jul 23 2009, 06:27 PM
9 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(Aack2001 @ Jul 23 2009, 06:16 PM) Just Wondering, I have also gotten the same Email from petronas since i attended the UKEC interview this year, March 2009, you should try to search for other jobs when u was waiting after one week I have called them numerous times, and until now it seems my application is "on the way" or "in progress" or i guess not really successful. Anyone here in the same dilema? I have been back since April, and I have been waiting for almost 2 months now. Anyone working in petronas can tell me what are the chances that I will secure the job there? what are the requirements that a department looks into when hiring>? BTW-I am not a petronas scholar, but I had some good working experience in good MNC's in UK. 2.1 mech eng degree. I find it a bit hard to understand, why would they send such a letter if no post is available? I think they should hire base on need (where there is a request, etc kanban) and not simply interview a mass group ,tell them that they are "potentialy" going to be hired? |
Jul 25 2009, 12:43 AM
192 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(bojan @ Feb 12 2009, 12:04 AM) To those who wants to work for Petronas, just keep trying. Its a good company. Especially if you have the passion to contribute to the nation. Petronas pays relatively low compared to industty average (other O&G companies) but in relation to other industries, they are still one of the best. Hi,For those doubting working culture in Petronas, don't take hearsay (from friends etc) on face value. Those who said their friends say working culture is not good, i will ask them they have compared with who? have they experienced working in other companies? Its down to our mentality. If we don't have the drive and motivation, working in other major oil companies wont change who we are. In the end we might quit or not get contracts renewed. Focus on our attitude only and no matter where we will work, we will succeed is my motto. Petronas suffers in terms of people leaving the company due to relatively low pay but the fact is Petronas is up there fighting with the group outside the Big 4 (Shell, Exxon etc). Staff are mostly young but if you enjoy a challenge, you'll find it satisfying. I am a junior engineer but have been given the trust and freedom to shoulder responsibilities of senior positions. I enjoy it but it ain't easy you know. And the rumours about promotion and future if you are non bumi are not true. I have a lot of bosses who are non bumi and you will know a good person when you see one. Being bumi doesn't guarantee anything in terms of promotion. Petronas has strict standards for promotion and as many non bumi friends you believe has not progressed because you think they are non bumi, believe me there are as many bumi as well who has not progressed because there are others who performed better and progressed. I have a lot of non bumi bosses who has nothing but positive things to say about Petronas. in a nutshell, i could categorically state that this rumour is not true. OPI is a good department and plays a major role. They analyse problem and propose tweaks and improvement to increase performance/efficiency. A lot of thinking and brainstorming. If you love problem solving then OPI wont be short of any. I just read that one of the first thing Barrack Obama did was to setup some kind of OPI department in the US for performance improvement. http://leaninsider.productivitypress.com/2...ce-officer.html All in all, i would have to say that its down to us and i dont know much about other companies but i can assure the challenge is there when working in Petronas. Can you please share what is the structured interview about? Best Regards. |
Jul 25 2009, 03:11 AM
5,464 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
hate to break your heart, but if you decide to work for petronas and wish to marry your colleague, It would not be possible to keep the job. New policy imposed. Heard it applies to subsidiaries too. Which means even if your fiance's company is subsidiary of petronas, either one of you have to quit. Not sure on the authenticity of the news, any petronas employee care to comment?
Jul 25 2009, 08:10 AM
359 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
I heard that petronas methanol working environment not that good...people are lazy and lanci...true?
Jul 25 2009, 12:49 PM
1,357 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: somewhere in Perak... |
i want to work with Petronas under mechanical maintenance field...can anyone recommend me? hahaha
(^____^) |
Jul 25 2009, 01:08 PM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
last year July i got interview with Petronas @ Career fair...
but until to-date no news... going to try it again for this coming career fair! |
Jul 26 2009, 12:49 AM
1,971 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
have u guys heard of someone (degree holder in engineering) with average CGPA and not so good SPM got a job in Petronas without any cable ?
Jul 26 2009, 09:55 AM
2,736 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Jul 26 2009, 11:00 AM
359 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
rare...one of my fren working in petronas...result soso only but got cable lar...
Jul 26 2009, 01:36 PM
1,123 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: KL |
Got IT job in Petronas especially software development kind of jobscope?
Or all has been outsource to iPerintis related to IT? |
Jul 26 2009, 10:23 PM
547 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Bumi Bertuah |
QUOTE(ron4 @ Jul 26 2009, 01:36 PM) Got IT job in Petronas especially software development kind of jobscope? regards to IT and software development, i dont think petronas has the position for that since all ITs are outsourced to iPerintis. most probably if you have background in IT, you will be posted doing something not related to IT such as HR, MANAGEMENT, or etc Or all has been outsource to iPerintis related to IT? p/s : now iPerintis moving to menara perak and not anymore reside in twin tower..wonder why too?? Added on July 26, 2009, 10:25 pmowh ya, forgot to mention, even in our Skill Group Development, there's no more Skill Group in IT related since all are outsource to iPerintis. you may check at www.discoverpetronas.com . and go to SKILL GROUP Button. This post has been edited by bravobronzo: Jul 26 2009, 10:25 PM |
Jul 28 2009, 11:08 AM
2,871 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Aack2001 @ Jul 23 2009, 06:16 PM) Just Wondering, I have also gotten the same Email from petronas since i attended the UKEC interview this year, March 2009, any luck for u yet?I have called them numerous times, and until now it seems my application is "on the way" or "in progress" or i guess not really successful. Anyone here in the same dilema? I have been back since April, and I have been waiting for almost 2 months now. Anyone working in petronas can tell me what are the chances that I will secure the job there? what are the requirements that a department looks into when hiring>? BTW-I am not a petronas scholar, but I had some good working experience in good MNC's in UK. 2.1 mech eng degree. I find it a bit hard to understand, why would they send such a letter if no post is available? I think that they should be hiring base on need (where there is a request, etc kanban) and not just simply interviewing a huge group ,telling them that they are "potentialy" going to be hired, if successful. Does other OnG companies do the same or is it just Petronas? I also got same email from petronas just now. i guess i'll be in your shoe. dunno how long have to wait. i agreed with you that their email is a bit vague. furthermore with the same template everyone is getting, one would doubt how sincere is the email. Probably dun wan to be so obvious in rejecting ppl. psychology perhaps? |
Jul 28 2009, 04:36 PM
630 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Try follow up with HR more often. But bear in mind, it is getting tougher to join petronas now than ever. For all you know, you probably is on the list, but with thousand of applicants, you name may be put between the list. Just remember to be nice and friendly, people tend to remember friendly people.
The structure interview consist of questionaire, personality test (questionaire), interview, and depends on the position you applied, there maybe other test. The questionaire and other test are hosts by third party company. Interview is conducted by managers level and above. HR has no way of manipulating the result or making preference over certain people. Haven't heard of "cable" hiring for long time already. But then, there are cases where managers handpick a person, where he previously had engage with (i.e. in interview, interns). But the selection is done purely because the person is good. Nowadays, people don't just simply recommend others (incompetent person) into the organisation anymore. First, if they can't perform, the boss need to answer. If recommend under another department, then that department boss will come make noise with the person who recommend him. This happen in any other corporate company. The rumours which petronas cannot marry among colleague is true, applied for new hire. Nobody know the reason behind it, but some speculation said that this is to eliminate the incorrect mindset of general public on the so-called "cable-entry" or "cable-hiring". |
Jul 29 2009, 03:17 AM
2,871 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Aurora @ Jul 28 2009, 04:36 PM) Try follow up with HR more often. But bear in mind, it is getting tougher to join petronas now than ever. For all you know, you probably is on the list, but with thousand of applicants, you name may be put between the list. Just remember to be nice and friendly, people tend to remember friendly people. thanks for the insight. BTW, are you working with petronas?The structure interview consist of questionaire, personality test (questionaire), interview, and depends on the position you applied, there maybe other test. The questionaire and other test are hosts by third party company. Interview is conducted by managers level and above. HR has no way of manipulating the result or making preference over certain people. Haven't heard of "cable" hiring for long time already. But then, there are cases where managers handpick a person, where he previously had engage with (i.e. in interview, interns). But the selection is done purely because the person is good. Nowadays, people don't just simply recommend others (incompetent person) into the organisation anymore. First, if they can't perform, the boss need to answer. If recommend under another department, then that department boss will come make noise with the person who recommend him. This happen in any other corporate company. The rumours which petronas cannot marry among colleague is true, applied for new hire. Nobody know the reason behind it, but some speculation said that this is to eliminate the incorrect mindset of general public on the so-called "cable-entry" or "cable-hiring". i guess i give them a call to find out. hopefully they don't give answers to what i have known from the email. |
Jul 29 2009, 08:59 AM
1,337 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Jul 29 2009, 12:50 PM
630 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Malvo, try get more information from them, like normally what position is usually offered with that qualification of yours. This will make them look up their system, if not start thinking. Who knows suddenly they see a vacant and might just put you through. In return, they may ask you what is your preference. Try relate with your current experience and oil and gas, it helps to get you somewhere. The longer you talk on the phone, the more HR gets to know you. Among all the stranger on the paper which they deal everyday, eventually people tend to help someone which they know about, or they think they know about. This is basic phychology trick.
vin_ann, all the best in your second attempt! For those who still don't quite understand petronas due to lack of information, here's some I wish to say. (Hopefully you are willing to listen These days, the competition is just too tough. While UTP has strengthen their undergrad programme, review and revise every several years. Their graduates are just too good. In the next 5 years, once the first batch of petroleum students graduate from UTP, it would be even tougher for other universities to compete in this industry. |
| Change to: | 0.0269sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:51 AM |