Xiaomi Redmi note 4/4x Discussion V2, Helio X20, SD625

jovigrunge
post Jun 27 2017, 11:36 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jun 27 2017, 11:33 PM)
Yes, this is my version.
Very embarrassed to report that the reason it defaulted to batt saving mode is because I did not switch on the GPS before going into Setting. Once I switched on GPS and then entered Setting, it remained at high accuracy. Haha.
Congratz in solving your problem. Mine remained the same. cry.gif
jovigrunge
post Jun 28 2017, 07:54 PM

2,607 posts

GPS WAZE issue for me. Darn, switch on GPS and then download a GPS apps it says no GPS detected! vmad.gif
jovigrunge
post Jun 28 2017, 09:04 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(al_madd @ Jun 28 2017, 08:08 PM)
I think your unit have faulty built.. Better claim for warranty

http://www.mi.com/my/service/repair/
I fear for the worst mate. bye.gif

Two units having the same problem. Is this what we called hittin' the jackpot? shakehead.gif
jovigrunge
post Jun 29 2017, 01:20 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ Jun 28 2017, 09:47 PM)
From the same reseller or ?
Name:Seven7 mobile
jovigrunge
post Jun 29 2017, 01:25 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(jychow @ Jun 28 2017, 10:46 PM)
frankly, i have setup 2 Redmi Note 3, 1 Redmi Note 4(MTK version), 1 Redmi Note 4 (SD version) within the last 3 months.  All were without problem with GPS.  All are working perfectly.

It is better to send it for warranty claim, and share with us your claim experience.
The strange thing is

Google Map works perfectly fine.
WAZE sucks on the other hand.

But if Google Map works fine why GPS Status (an app I downloaded from playstore) keep showing me "looking for GPS location?"

The mystery continues...... hmm.gif

jovigrunge
post Jun 29 2017, 09:31 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(ne0cz @ Jun 29 2017, 01:59 AM)
Google map seems to work better with cellular and wifi location. It can locate you even without GPS signal but when you try to navigate then you can't use it.
Google Map works fine with me including navigation but unfortunately I stop using it when it brought me to a palm oil estate instead of my actual destination. rclxub.gif
jovigrunge
post Jun 29 2017, 09:52 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jun 29 2017, 09:44 AM)
For me the other way round.. waze bring me somewhere else, but maps works fine to destination... Hahah..
Did you follow the purple line.......? brows.gif
jovigrunge
post Jun 29 2017, 10:08 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jun 29 2017, 10:06 AM)
Hah dunno doesn't remember. Long time no use waze already.
Besides Google map and WAZE, any other reliable GPS app? hmm.gif
jovigrunge
post Jun 29 2017, 10:25 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(Silfrijin @ Jun 29 2017, 10:22 AM)
Google Map can use cellular data or wifi to determine your current location but is approx only and may not use GPS.
I'm nowt thinking whether to bring this Redmi Note 4 to claim for warranty or not....... innocent.gif
jovigrunge
post Jul 1 2017, 12:26 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(twosocks @ Jun 30 2017, 10:35 PM)
Managed to get one with voucher

Wah which site you get this huge discount? drool.gif

After the unsolved case of my two redmi note 4 SD MY set 32GB+3Gb due to GPS unable to lock in, I'm now looking at Samsung Galaxy C7 Pro. sad.gif
jovigrunge
post Jul 3 2017, 09:20 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(noodlecore @ Jul 3 2017, 03:29 AM)
bro, i feel pity for u but do not give up yet. hv u tried different versions of waze, probably u may try to install with the older version. do not install the waze thru playstore, just find it on apkmirror n install the apk manually.

or downgrade back the previous miui fw, doesn't matter either dev or stable one.

or u might want to opt for custom rom. there are so many custom roms developed for this phone that u can find it on xda. trust me it's worth to try.

see whether these could solve ur phone's waze gps issue.
Thank you for your kind concern bro. I bought Redmi Note 3 Import set for my dotter. 1 Redmi Note 4 MY variant for my wifey and 1 for my bro in law. I thought of getting the 64GB+4Gb Redmi Note 4 for myself but then both their Redmi Note 4 having unstable GPS lock in issue makes me think twice about my intention to purchase the 64Gb+4GB variant although I've been waiting this variant for quite some time since they release the 32GB+3GB variant.

Well I don't think I should kacau their ROM since it's still under warranty but I can try what you suggest about downgrading their waze version. As for MIUI I'm not sure how to do it.

I will update on this issue once I've tried it. Thanks bro! notworthy.gif
jovigrunge
post Jul 8 2017, 03:11 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(exwan @ Jul 7 2017, 10:55 AM)
bought from lazada? iinm seven mobile = is gadget supply in lazada.
ordered from them but 3 days lazada still remark processing. T_T

hopefully got no problem like yours.

I would like to tell you guys, I don't think seven mobile aka the seller has problem because it's a sealed set. At the same time sending the phone for a repair or check would be my last option. Imagine your phone kena rogol before warranty expired? It's just either the phone or waze having the problem. cry.gif

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jul 8 2017, 12:38 AM)
Just now Seven Mobile having sale at their outlet, bought a unit for RM717 free Mi powerbank, OTG adapter and stylus. Also lucky draw entree. Although can get cheaper from lazada, I prefer the old fashion walk-in purchase for peace of mind. But wow, hopefully won't have the GPS issue that's being mentioned above.
I would say yes. Because....

1) The prices have dropped significantly below the RM799 rrp.
2) Note 5 specs/design isn't that much of an improvement.
3) Note 5 probably gonna be more expensive?
4) Note 4 has been around for some time with so many happy users. (meaning if u buy note 5, u have to be the white mice first)
5) Need to wait at least a month or 2 before Mi Malaysia starts bringing in (judging from previous redmi releases)
Do update with me bro! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(ljf123 @ Jul 8 2017, 01:13 AM)
Used after one month, with alot of waze usage, does not notice any problem on gps, no worries  thumbsup.gif
You are not so lucky than me. At least I striked the jackpot! bangwall.gif

QUOTE(flipmode @ Jul 8 2017, 08:16 AM)
bro, it happen same to me. just received my phone on last Thursday. straight away install apps and update. I've read your post before mentioning that gps issue on waze. when i open waze, it happen to me too.. cry.gif

double check with the google maps, there is no problem at all, gps working perfectly. so i try change the setting. works like a charm  rclxm9.gif 

try this:

setting> installed apps> waze>scroll below u can see apps permission > turn on location

hope it works  icon_rolleyes.gif
I just tried that and even downgraded my WAZE version to 3.9.9.0 (so kolot bangwall.gif ).

No GPS. Showing approximate location....... mad.gif
jovigrunge
post Jul 8 2017, 03:15 PM

2,607 posts

My job requires travelling (not Uber or GrabCar job). It's important to have a good phone with quick lock in and accurate GPS. Imagine if I get the 64GB+4Gb variant and this happens...... vmad.gif
jovigrunge
post Jul 8 2017, 03:15 PM

2,607 posts

My job requires travelling (not Uber or GrabCar job). It's important to have a good phone with quick lock in and accurate GPS. Imagine if I get the 64GB+4Gb variant and this happens...... vmad.gif
jovigrunge
post Jul 11 2017, 10:58 AM

2,607 posts

Guys,

After having problem with WAZE lock in, I downloaded a simple yet useful app called GPS CONNECTED. Surprisingly it did connect to GPS when I'm outside. It's better now although it won't connect as fast as some other owners of the RMN4.

Could be Mi bug..... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by jovigrunge: Jul 11 2017, 11:06 AM
jovigrunge
post Jul 25 2017, 09:27 PM

2,607 posts

In an event that might remind some people of the Samsung Galaxy Note 7, a Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 smartphone was allegedly seen catching fire in a video inside a shop in Bengaluru. While a shopkeeper was seen trying to insert the SIM into a customer's phone, it caught fire after an explosion and burned the handset's entire body substantially.

In a video shared by The Explode, it can be seen that the customer's smartphone - said to be a Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 - was not connected to a charger or any other accessory and simply burst into flames while the retailer was handling the smartphone. As most of such cases are usually associated with overheating of the handset while charging or otherwise, this seems to be a rather rare case.

Gadgets 360 got in touch with Xiaomi India about this incident, the company responded by saying, "At Xiaomi, customer safety is of utmost importance to us. We have reached out to the customer to investigate this matter, and are awaiting further response." As per Tech Case, which initially reported the incident, the customer has since received a replacement for the Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 from the company.

Thankfully nobody got injured in this incident but clearly by very narrow margin. If the phone would have caught fire while someone was over a call, there was every possible chance that it could have caused serious injury. As consumer safety is something that has previously created huge problems even for big players like Samsung, Xiaomi might have to make a strong statement regarding the matter eventually. Having said that, this is currently an isolated incident and doesn't necessarily imply an inherent problem with the handset.

Update: Later on Monday, Xiaomi issued another statement that indicates the company believes the video might be of an unrelated incident. Here's Xiaomi India's statement on the incident in full:

At Xiaomi, customer safety is of utmost importance to us. We investigated the Redmi Note 4 in the images, and concluded that it was a case of damage due to a faulty third-party charger used by the customer. Nonetheless we worked with the Poorvika store where the unit was bought, and replaced the customer's damaged unit with a brand new Redmi Note 4.

However, after a thorough investigation, we cannot validate the source of this video, as it has no relation to this case, and was not from the Poorvika store. In fact, it is unclear if this separate and unrelated incident depicted in the video involved a Xiaomi device.

Potential Redmi Note 4 buyer anyone? sweat.gif

jovigrunge
post Aug 2 2017, 10:30 PM

2,607 posts

Those who bought Redmi Note 4 Malaysia set can update to MIUI 9 from phone? confused.gif
jovigrunge
post Aug 2 2017, 10:44 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(TheMrBinary @ Aug 2 2017, 10:35 PM)
Not yet bro.
11th August schedule for Redmi Note 4 Global.
My dotter imported Redmi Note 3 Global Rom how to update to MIUI 9 ahh? Now click update to MIUI 8 also cannot. Her version only MIUI 7. icon_question.gif

Will MIUI 9 fix GPS problem? hmm.gif
jovigrunge
post Aug 31 2017, 09:09 PM

2,607 posts

Redmi Note 4 - GPS lock in problem/slow. cry.gif

Any phone with fast GPS lock even in the house? icon_question.gif
jovigrunge
post Aug 31 2017, 09:29 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(TheMrBinary @ Aug 31 2017, 09:15 PM)
Mine got that problem yesterday.
The only way to fix it by restart the phone then open this app :
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...rtcross.gpstest

Wait for the gps to lock then open waze/any map apps.
I give up on Xiaomi phones.I tried and installed many GPS FIX apps but still not happening. yawn.gif

Anyone with good phones to recommend with quick GPS lock in even in the house? icon_question.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0654sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:00 PM