I will just choose either hankook v12 or GY F1
Tyre Reviews, What brand of tyres have you used?
Dec 2 2010, 09:35 PM
2 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: inside your RAM... |
I will just choose either hankook v12 or GY F1 |
Dec 2 2010, 09:48 PM
40 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Old Klang Road~ |
QUOTE(satanas @ Dec 2 2010, 02:14 PM) Thank you for the reply and suggestions there's is 205/45-17 in ard 450~For Michelin tyres, any recommendation for 205/40 in a 17"RIM? max budget is 400RM/tyre or am i just dreaming for a good tyre in a 400 budget? hehehhe Thanks... |
Dec 2 2010, 10:56 PM
60 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Where got sell Hankook V12 Evo K110 at good price?
Also, have anyone here used Continental ContiPremiumContact 2 before? Seems to have good review at a tyre review site. But I guess they're not performance tyres but rather touring/comfort tyres. Added on December 2, 2010, 10:57 pm QUOTE(michael9413 @ Nov 21 2010, 03:35 AM) bro woody is correct... but i recommend you to skip others try Hankook V12 it is the most safe bet... grip is way better than A Drive and C Drive, 912 is not that great but still it is performing better than A Drive and C Drive... Continental CSC3 and CSC5P got superb reviews everywhere!!!BTW the performance ranking on those tires is Hankook V12 on UHP range while Falken 912 is in Comfort Performance, then come the C Drive in Premium Comfort then only A Drive in Entree Level... haha sure la... Conti tires i banned already, 1 set of CC1 is enough... CC1 has a lot og problem that you known off, so better stay away from it... This post has been edited by GEFORCEXTREME: Dec 2 2010, 10:57 PM |
Dec 3 2010, 09:52 AM
6,986 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E-Poh.../Pen-Nang.../Pee-Jay/S.Jaye |
really... some ppl complaint it is noisy woh... hehe...
Dec 5 2010, 01:36 AM
1,254 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kuantan |
using falken 912 @ 14 185 60 .....so far compared to my old toyo t1r 17 205 40.......
the 912s water performance much better....but road grip on dry lose to t1r by big margin la... |
Dec 6 2010, 12:55 AM
118 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(H.O.P.E @ Nov 16 2010, 09:30 AM) ya hor...never though of that, but why need 3 different color? Those colors are markers. Some Tire factories use this style of marking to make sure they use which rubber compound for which model of tires. Some factories will just use a alphabet sticker which will be on the inside of the tire instead or color marking the outside tire thread.Added on November 16, 2010, 9:33 am mm...maybe maybe......but my new tyre got no color lines, does it mean that my "new" tyre is actually "old" one?? |
Dec 6 2010, 10:19 AM
947 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
dear all sifu, last sat i went to a tyre shop and do some balancing, after doing that i realized there is more vibration when i hit 110-140!
go back to that shop he add ring cone for me (foc,dont know why), then the vibrate still there. due to urgent i got appointment so i leave shop at 5pm and no time to go back to fix again. whats wrong with that? i heard my friend said i need to "on wheel" balancing. any idea? |
Dec 8 2010, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(bodybuilder @ Dec 5 2010, 01:36 AM) using falken 912 @ 14 185 60 .....so far compared to my old toyo t1r 17 205 40....... well the tires width will affect the aquaplaning performance of the car also... the 912s water performance much better....but road grip on dry lose to t1r by big margin la... QUOTE(weileongz @ Dec 6 2010, 10:19 AM) dear all sifu, last sat i went to a tyre shop and do some balancing, after doing that i realized there is more vibration when i hit 110-140! yes you might need on the wheel balancing... it might be ur tires or ur rims... whether u have any hard bumps on ur wheels b4??? is ur rims still nice or it is a lil crooked...go back to that shop he add ring cone for me (foc,dont know why), then the vibrate still there. due to urgent i got appointment so i leave shop at 5pm and no time to go back to fix again. whats wrong with that? i heard my friend said i need to "on wheel" balancing. any idea? |
Dec 8 2010, 09:07 PM
40 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Old Klang Road~ |
QUOTE(michael9413 @ Dec 3 2010, 10:52 AM) not only tat,in merc sc sum of them got complaint side walls got a long crack~QUOTE(weileongz @ Dec 6 2010, 11:19 AM) dear all sifu, last sat i went to a tyre shop and do some balancing, after doing that i realized there is more vibration when i hit 110-140! tat means da shop's machine time to service/tune up~ go back to that shop he add ring cone for me (foc,dont know why), then the vibrate still there. due to urgent i got appointment so i leave shop at 5pm and no time to go back to fix again. whats wrong with that? i heard my friend said i need to "on wheel" balancing. any idea? |
Dec 9 2010, 10:22 AM
7 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Hi guys, i am planning to get a set of 15" 2nd hand taiwan rims (rm500) and a set of 195/50 r15 michelin ps3 tyres (rm880) for my saga blm auto. My ride is currently using the stock 13" rim with goodyear ducaro 175/70 r13. Is the price ok? And is it advisable to make the upgrade?
Dec 9 2010, 01:13 PM
hmm... depends on the condition of the rims also...
tires price seems ok... but if you are not using a lightweight rims u might felt under power... |
Dec 9 2010, 02:57 PM
5,568 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: the lack of sleep |
QUOTE(Rascal Stitch @ Dec 8 2010, 09:07 PM) not only tat,in merc sc sum of them got complaint side walls got a long crack~ Not neccessary. Wheel balancing machine is only to balance the rim and the tyre at low speeds. It does a good job balancing the rim but your tyres changes shape at high speed as the centrifugal forces stretches it outwards. If the tyre is not properly balanced during the manufacturing process, then you will see this issue affecting most people once they hit over 100km/h. Typical symptom is that the vibration starts a a certain range and disappears as the car goes faster or slower than the range, hence the need for an on wheel balancing to spin the wheel to higher speeds.tat means da shop's machine time to service/tune up~ |
Dec 11 2010, 02:51 AM
965 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
i just change my tyres a week ago... from Silverstone M5 to Yokohama c.drive... c.drive suppose to have better handling right?
but yesterday at the same stretch of road back from work i use, after some downpour, i take corner at below 60km/h i skidded... not much but still skidded... at least when i use silverstone m5 didnt skid at the same corner , same speed and same condition before... how come? manufacturing defects? |
Dec 11 2010, 04:31 AM
10,975 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: disini disana |
QUOTE(mango27 @ Dec 11 2010, 02:51 AM) i just change my tyres a week ago... from Silverstone M5 to Yokohama c.drive... c.drive suppose to have better handling right? a week is not enough for u to run in ur tyres if u drive slowly... try drive around more and wear in ur tyres a little more... grip should improve....but yesterday at the same stretch of road back from work i use, after some downpour, i take corner at below 60km/h i skidded... not much but still skidded... at least when i use silverstone m5 didnt skid at the same corner , same speed and same condition before... how come? manufacturing defects? what u experienced is road handling in wet... in wet condition, tyre thread design plays a major role in dissipating the water... furthermore, yokohama tyres are known to shine in dry conditions but dont do really well in wet... |
Dec 11 2010, 04:58 AM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 11 2010, 04:31 AM) a week is not enough for u to run in ur tyres if u drive slowly... try drive around more and wear in ur tyres a little more... grip should improve.... ok then... when u wanna bring me go Pek San??! what u experienced is road handling in wet... in wet condition, tyre thread design plays a major role in dissipating the water... furthermore, yokohama tyres are known to shine in dry conditions but dont do really well in wet... according to the website, C.DRIVE - ADVANTAGES - Superb cornering capabilities - Exceptional wet handling and braking - Reduces aquaplaning at high speeds - Enhanced dry handling so its BS la then??! no tyre good at wet and dry one right?! but at least i changed to yokohama go over pile of water doesnt float like it used to when using M5... just dunno why it skidded below 60km/h.. takan i need to take corner at 40km/h?! |
Dec 11 2010, 06:56 AM
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Dec 11 2010, 04:31 AM) a week is not enough for u to run in ur tyres if u drive slowly... try drive around more and wear in ur tyres a little more... grip should improve.... yes you are correct the run-in of the tires needs some mileage around 1000km to be save... what u experienced is road handling in wet... in wet condition, tyre thread design plays a major role in dissipating the water... furthermore, yokohama tyres are known to shine in dry conditions but dont do really well in wet... and yokies tires does not really shine in wet that is another point also QUOTE(mango27 @ Dec 11 2010, 04:58 AM) ok then... when u wanna bring me go Pek San??! well bro... you don buy a premium comfort tires and expect it to work as a Performance tires... the traction of the C drive is rate A only don not expect it works like a AA.. according to the website, C.DRIVE - ADVANTAGES - Superb cornering capabilities - Exceptional wet handling and braking - Reduces aquaplaning at high speeds - Enhanced dry handling so its BS la then??! no tyre good at wet and dry one right?! but at least i changed to yokohama go over pile of water doesnt float like it used to when using M5... just dunno why it skidded below 60km/h.. takan i need to take corner at 40km/h?! you are wrong at your statement... a new tire does not have the grip of the tires which after 1000km of use... give it some time... and furthermore u cannot expect it to works like M5 cos it believe C Drive side wall is softer than M5 which makes the it is more comfort... so it will loose in handling... I can tell you a lot ppl also like that, says the tire grip is lousy where as they only just gotten the tires brake pad also need break-in or run-in... so as tires give it some time... well there is some examples of tires where u think it is good but in reality it is not as good as in testing done by reliable source... do you expect Bridgestone MY-01 is real performer as it is a sports touring tires... but if you give to me also i won't use cos it is a SHIT!!! more example is GY NCT5, BS ER series and RE001... all those u expect it works like a charm cos it is in performance series and lower profiles range but in real like it sucks... all only have same rating as ur C Drive traction is only A, where as there is tires which priced lower than those but have a better wet traction... what is traction rating... u go google and see, it is a international standards on wet roads braking the short the braking distance in wet means the tires is gripping better on the wet... This post has been edited by michael9413: Dec 11 2010, 06:59 AM |
Dec 11 2010, 07:28 AM
i get your point... good to know tyres need time to wear-in... i did not expect c.drive to work like a performance tyres... thus the cornering at below 60km/h...
i wasn't testing the limit of the tyres but merely as my experience of a trip home from work after a heavy downpour... im glad that i did not skidded more as beside the corner is a huge natural drain... |
Dec 11 2010, 07:56 AM
well bro... after the wear-in also, it depends on the tire's cornering grip in wet, how many G's they can stand b4 it breaks the traction... so each and every tires got it's own pros and cons... M5 might be good in handling but noisy like hell after sometime... but C Drive will give you the comfort and quiet drive opposite of M5...
what is ur size, next time do survey more in forum b4 u buy any tires... for me i'll stick to my Hankook and Michelin for now... hankook tires is good value (using V12 Evo on older ride) and Michelin gives you the quality and confidence on it's product... do remember you have a few rank in tires... from Entree, Premium Comfort, High Performance, Ultra High Performance, Max Performance and Extreme Performance... basically entree and premium comfort is more towards 60 series and above or lower profile tires with comfort... but all performance categories mostly starts at 55 series and below... then you have Symmetric, Asymmetric and also Directional tires... Asymmetric and Symmetric is quiet and grippy during dry, but Wet condition is Directional type which gives advantage on aquaplaning/water dispersion but it is noisy on dry... so depends what size you are using, and what you needs... This post has been edited by michael9413: Dec 11 2010, 07:58 AM |
Dec 11 2010, 07:57 AM
16 posts Joined: May 2008 |
im using yokohama s drive 215/45/r17.. really cool duh!
Dec 11 2010, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(sken @ Dec 11 2010, 07:57 AM) s drive is nothing to shout about... poor wet grip and braking compare to others in the Category... u can try GY F1 Asy, Michelin PS3, Hankook V12 or older Michelin PP2, Conti CSC3 these tires is mostly recommended cos they are giving you good grips and of course Hankook V12 is not as good as the others but it cost you about RM300 for that size while others is around RM400 and above...yes i might be straight forward on your face but that is the facts and test out by reliable source... even cheaper Hankook V12 beats S drive in overal ratings especially in wet... another point is S Drive roars loudly after sometimes where V12 is not that noisy... but handling is dry wise S Drive will tops a lil cos of it's harder side wall but V12 sidewall is a lil soft but it give you some comfort you need... This post has been edited by michael9413: Dec 11 2010, 08:06 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0315sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:14 PM |