132 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Tyre Reviews, What brand of tyres have you used?

TSdarahhitam
post Mar 9 2007, 05:57 PM, updated 19y ago

51 posts

Perhaps this could at least shed some light to some of us, based on our own feedback.

On what model of tyres we have used, are they any good, what seem to be the problem, how fast the tear and wear, how silent it is, hydroplanning resistivity, etc.

I'll get the ball rolling. Based on few different rides (and different brand of tyres)I've used.

1. (1.5-litre stock ride)
Brand: Michelin Certis
Size: 175/70/R13
Comment: Was good for the first 10k kms, noisier by day. Easily aquaplans.
Will I ever get one again? : No

2. (1.5-litre modded ride)
Brand: GT Radial Champiro 50
Size: 195/50/R15
Comment: Good, getting noisier by day (ain't that typical?), Good grip in dry and wet. Sticky when warmed up, no kidding. Worth the price. Dirt cheap at RM125 per piece in 2004.
Will I ever get one again? : Yes

3. (2.0-litre stock ride)
Brand: Bridgestone Turanza ER60
Size: 195/60/R15
Comment: Average, Noisy and aquaplans easily too. Fast thread wear.
Will I ever get one again? : No

4. (2.0-litre stock ride)
Brand: Yokohama S-217
Size: 205/65/R15
Comment: Soft, noise level is acceptable, Fast thread wear.
Will I ever get one again? : Yes.

5. (2.0-litre stock ride)
Brand: Michelin MXV8
Size: 205/60/R15
Comment: Still good, even on the verge of ending the thread wear.
Will I ever get one again? : Oh Yes.

6. On my colleague's car (1.6-litre modded ride)
Brand: Michelin XM1
Size: 185/60/R14
Comment: Very good, considering he whacks (read: takes fast corners and drives aggresively) the tyres almost daily. It's been 2 years plus and still going strong. Nothing compared to his previous near-disaster Silverstone FTZ.

7. On my brother's car (1.8-litre modded ride)
Brand: Bridgestone Potenza RE711
Size: 195/50/R15
Comment: Very good, but sadly the model no longer being produced, replaced by the GIII.

What's next on my list? The Advan Neovas or the GIII, if I have cash to spare.

This post has been edited by darahhitam: Mar 13 2007, 05:51 PM
CFS
post Mar 13 2007, 11:52 AM

307 posts

neova's is the best for it price for a advance which is closer to semi slicks tyre (i'm using 1 now & never regret, just abit noisy & during wet abit not so grip compare to Toyo T1R / Goodyear F1 GSD3 but it is still better than alot of tyres adi...during dry it outbeats all those normal tyres)....or if u got the budget go order Bridgestone RE01R / Yokohama A048 / TOYO R888...btw RE01R, A048, R888 classified as semi slick already hehe
TSdarahhitam
post Mar 13 2007, 05:44 PM

51 posts

Are those Bridgestone RE01R / Yokohama A048 / TOYO R888 available off-the-shelf locally?

Btw, anyone has an experience with (local made) Continental CC1? Quite cheap for the size I want, but reviews ain't that great, 50-50.

This post has been edited by darahhitam: Mar 13 2007, 05:45 PM
CFS
post Mar 13 2007, 05:48 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(darahhitam @ Mar 13 2007, 05:44 PM)
Are those Bridgestone RE01R / Yokohama A048 / TOYO R888 available off-the-shelf locally?

Btw, anyone has an experience with (local made) Continental CC1? Quite cheap for the size I want, but reviews ain't that great, 50-50.
RE01R (import urself from japan) same tyre used on tengku djan drift car AE86....
A048 (same i think u have to import from japan as well) used on lotus exige
R888 (can be baught locally...which is quite reasonable price as well...for my car size R15 195/55 cost around rm300)
TSdarahhitam
post Mar 13 2007, 05:52 PM

51 posts

CFS, thanks for the input.

Maybe some other tyres that can be used for daily driving to/from work as well?

CFS
post Mar 14 2007, 04:49 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(darahhitam @ Mar 13 2007, 05:52 PM)
CFS, thanks for the input.

Maybe some other tyres that can be used for daily driving to/from work as well?
A Drive, C Drive, G3, RE050, micheline preceda 2? alot more woh...
pillage2001
post Mar 14 2007, 07:11 PM

1,991 posts

MXV8. Just change 600 km ago and loving it. Not sure what's the tread life on this thing. Maybe someone can shed some light on it.

Good grip. Quiet. Abit expensive but overall good for tyres made in japan. smile.gif
shinjite
post Mar 14 2007, 08:44 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

for my stock 1.6 Wira, been using GoodYear Eagle GA 185/60/R14
Good grip for dry and wet plus its long lasting too
maddriver
post Mar 14 2007, 11:18 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

yokohama prada..........not joking:-P 195/50/15 at rm200 per piece. damm good in the dry, extremly close to semi slick compound, also quite good in the wet.
TSdarahhitam
post Mar 15 2007, 09:35 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Mar 14 2007, 07:11 PM)
MXV8. Just change 600 km ago and loving it. Not sure what's the tread life on this thing. Maybe someone can shed some light on it.

Good grip. Quiet. Abit expensive but overall good for tyres made in japan. smile.gif
The DoM of mine is mid 2004, thread left around 50% but still running good. Although I don't really whack as much I used to.
So expect yours to last a lot longer.

Mine is thai-made btw.

Nobody use CC1 eh?

Wondering how it fares. Mixed reviews in AW.

Thinking of getting it in the next round of change if Neovas or the GIII are still beyond reach. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by darahhitam: Mar 15 2007, 09:36 AM
pillage2001
post Mar 15 2007, 11:34 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(darahhitam @ Mar 15 2007, 09:35 AM)
The DoM of mine is mid 2004, thread left around 50% but still running good. Although I don't really whack as much I used to.
So expect yours to last a lot longer.

Mine is thai-made btw.

Nobody use CC1 eh?

Wondering how it fares. Mixed reviews in AW.

Thinking of getting it in the next round of change if Neovas or the GIII are still beyond reach.  cool2.gif
I cover about 25k km a year. Most of them highway driving and I've cut down on aggressive driving now. No more whacking corners but still do that once in a blue moon. Ahaha.....Good to hear that it lasts so long for you. Hoping to be able to last as long as your's.

CFS
post Mar 16 2007, 11:03 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(maddriver @ Mar 14 2007, 11:18 PM)
yokohama prada..........not joking:-P 195/50/15 at rm200 per piece. damm good in the dry, extremly close to semi slick compound, also quite good in the wet.
wow prada ar? they still got stock meh? it quite similar to neova ler hehe close to semi slick...i saw one of the satria gti track car in sic using prada as well...mayb my next try is prada....hehe
turbo10
post Mar 16 2007, 02:50 PM

237 posts

the best i used was toyo trampio 205/15/50 for my ol scool.bought it for rm250 each..for me it was really satisfying and grippy.didnt last long cos the compound a bit soft. perform really good in the rain also..been using lotsa brand after that, currently using bfgoodrich 205/15/60 for rear and goodyear eagle ventura 195/15/50 for front..both cant perform as good as trampio.when my car ready mebbe wanna try.i also got a pair of semi slick silverstone s575 and use it for some local drag events.now my car resting in the garage it becomes public use for my frens..hehe
maddriver
post Mar 16 2007, 03:30 PM

the madman!
1,160 posts

stock for the parada is not an issue at my supplier
CFS
post Mar 16 2007, 04:14 PM

307 posts

orh icic...hehe i hope bridgestone bring over their RE01R....hope they lower the price when they bring it over...heard from friend it's around rm500 per piece currently sweat.gif....a048 oso quite good hehe just duno where to find stock oni lolz
kev da man
post Mar 16 2007, 04:59 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

TS - you sure XM1s are good ah? had 175/70/R13 before on saga - terrible in the wet, and on greasy roads, the tyres are skittish.
TSdarahhitam
post Mar 16 2007, 05:07 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ Mar 16 2007, 04:59 PM)
TS - you sure XM1s are good ah? had 175/70/R13 before on saga - terrible in the wet, and on greasy roads, the tyres are skittish.
Kev, yup, based on my own and the driver's (my colleague) usage for the past 2 years. He has a really aggresive driving style on a heavily (internally) modded Proton C21. It was 185/60/R14 on rp01, custom adjustable on four corners.
His previous FTZ (195/50/R15) nearly led him to a head-on during wet.

But with the XM1, not anymore. No complain whatsoever from him. Or maybe he hasn't tasted the "higher spec-ed" tyres?

What's the DoM for the XM1 you used earlier? He got it just a couple of weeks old XM1s back then.

mattchin
post Mar 16 2007, 06:27 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

hi bros..

i'm planning to get goodyear eagle f1.. any comment?

my ride is myvi.. looking forward for town use n practical actually..

is it a good 1? o there r better out there.. tQ tQ notworthy.gif
kev da man
post Mar 17 2007, 05:41 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(darahhitam @ Mar 16 2007, 05:07 PM)
Kev, yup, based on my own and the driver's (my colleague) usage for the past 2 years. He has a really aggresive driving style on a heavily (internally) modded Proton C21. It was 185/60/R14 on rp01, custom adjustable on four corners.
His previous FTZ (195/50/R15) nearly led him to a head-on during wet.

But with the XM1, not anymore. No complain whatsoever from him. Or maybe he hasn't tasted the "higher spec-ed" tyres?

What's the DoM for the XM1 you used earlier? He got it just a couple of weeks old XM1s back then.
can't remember, but they were less than 3 months old for sure - i got them when they were first launched. i agree that FTZ sucks, but then again, the XM1 is supposedly a 'budget' tyre got them for 120 bucks a piece, though.
TSdarahhitam
post Mar 19 2007, 10:23 AM

51 posts

Yup, 135 a piece when he got it (185/60/R14).

I'm contemplated in getting one last time, but ended up with an MXV8 instead.

132 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:23 AM