25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

My Car PC, You can post your's here too

noobiedonkey
post Mar 8 2007, 12:11 PM

810 posts

wow, seriously nice job.. i wonder whether i can fit it into my kancil. u did the wiring urself?
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:12 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 12:11 PM)
wow, seriously nice job.. i wonder whether i can fit it into my kancil. u did the wiring urself?
Yeah...did it my self.... can why not.doesn't take much space oso..
noobiedonkey
post Mar 8 2007, 12:13 PM

810 posts

just like allngap said.. since they have tools to know whether u hav a lappy in to boot, wouldn't urs b at risk too?

edit: spelling

This post has been edited by noobiedonkey: Mar 8 2007, 12:14 PM
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:18 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 12:13 PM)
just like allngap said.. since they have tools to know whether u hav a lappy in to boot, wouldn't  urs b at risk too?

edit: spelling
That's the risk we have to take...but so far nothing hope luck doesn't change.... but you can always mount it firmly...give them thiefs the idea that it is bolted on ..they won't waste time on it..
z3r0717
post Mar 8 2007, 12:24 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

wow.. i'm totally impressed by your work. This is really Pc modding + pimp your car. you got all my respect dude. Wonderful work. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Wanna ask, how much it cost u to do everything like tat?
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:26 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Mar 8 2007, 12:24 PM)
wow.. i'm totally impressed by your work. This is really Pc modding + pimp your car. you got all my respect dude. Wonderful work.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Wanna ask, how much it cost u to do everything like tat?
Thanks dude... biggrin.gif, Less than 1 k I think..... some parts i have it laying around in my room... as for the acrylic i got it from a sign board that was thorn down nearby my office..ehehhe

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 8 2007, 12:27 PM
yuka
post Mar 8 2007, 12:28 PM

ヾ(\ ̄ー ̄)
2,265 posts

damn nice dude thumbup.gif .. what speaker did u connect to ur pc?
hypermax
post Mar 8 2007, 12:29 PM

2,524 posts

wow, seriously damn cool. If you can pls put up a guide. I am sure many here are interested to do the same thing.

Bravo thumbup.gif
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:29 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Mar 8 2007, 12:28 PM)
damn nice dude  thumbup.gif .. what speaker did u connect to ur pc?
The onboard soundcard is connected to my pre amp....i use Sony speakers.. which i can't remember the model.... some unknown brand of amplifier to power my Front and Rear Sony speakers
seveneleven
post Mar 8 2007, 12:31 PM

359 posts

Hey dude, nice setup. Fun for long drives. A suggestion though, you might want to suspend the hard drives as heavy vibration kills the HD.

This post has been edited by seveneleven: Mar 8 2007, 12:32 PM
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:31 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 8 2007, 12:29 PM)
wow, seriously damn cool. If you can pls put up a guide. I am sure many here are interested to do the same thing.

Bravo thumbup.gif
I will dismantle everything when i have the time..and i will start from the beginning of my D.I.Y including the wiring to the car ..when i have the time...

Added on March 8, 2007, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(seveneleven @ Mar 8 2007, 12:31 PM)
Hey dude, nice setup. Fun for long drives. A suggestion though, you might want to suspend the hard drives as heavy vibration kills the HD.
The HDD is mounted on a bracket which i have out silicon dampeners... and i choose laptop hdd.. coz it is more durable compared to desktop hdd

Added on March 8, 2007, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 8 2007, 12:10 PM)
very very nice setup there.....looks like those old skool PC does come in handy after all....

did you wire the sound output to your car audio system also ??? it must be really cool coz can play songs directly from the PC and have a VU effect on the screen......

the part which i worry is the inverter part coz not sure whether its the real quality ones coz inverters can go kaboom and if not wired properly, it might fry other things together  also.....
btw, dont make it so obvious........nowadays a lot of car thief around....
Yeah i kena one time..coz the watt rating on the invertor was low.... bought a 500 watts one recently... yeah it is connected to my car sound system...

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 8 2007, 12:35 PM
jimmy.soo
post Mar 8 2007, 12:49 PM

Happy Go Lucky
1,050 posts

dude, thats awesome =)
but hor, isnt it the same if u can put a notebook in ur car =)
somemore its a fully complete set, keyboard included... wifi included
somemore its portable, u dont have to leave it in ur car to prevent from losing.
didnt mean to say urs is bad..... im truly impressed with ur work bro smile.gif
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:54 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Mar 8 2007, 12:49 PM)
dude, thats awesome =)
but hor, isnt it the same if u can put a notebook in ur car =)
somemore its a fully complete set, keyboard included... wifi included
somemore its portable, u dont have to leave it in ur car to prevent from losing.
didnt mean to say urs is bad..... im truly impressed with ur work bro smile.gif
Well that's why it is called Car PC...ehehhehe.. thanks.... but if a notebook used in the car...meaning less accessibility and if emergency brake sure fall one....i won't sacrifice my notebook to that extend..... yeah thats a risk we have to take.... but usually thiefs won't have the idea that we have a pc in our car unless if they monitor us from the beginning....
noobiedonkey
post Mar 8 2007, 01:01 PM

810 posts

no le, i heard they got tools to know whether u have anythin electronic or so in the trunk but i must say that this for Enthusiast ppl and not what's better. it's the satisfaction of achieving it. once again, tumbs on this project.

i'm just wondering where to fit the lcd and how bout wifi? got antenna?
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 01:05 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 01:01 PM)
no le, i heard they got tools to know whether u have anythin electronic or so in the trunk but i must say that this for Enthusiast ppl and not what's better. it's the satisfaction of achieving it. once again, tumbs on this project.

i'm just wondering where to fit the lcd and how bout wifi? got antenna?
ohh i get what you mean... depends on the car oso if you wan to mount the lcd....mine is indash.... currently using USB wireless card ...but all component u saw in the pix...gonna be upgraded soon....thinking of scrapping the onboard soundcard and buy creative audigy ... sound quality better...
lohwenli
post Mar 8 2007, 01:07 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Cool, thought of it myself but never got around to even putting it on paper. Gotta try it when I've got free time (which I don't know when that will be). Thinking perhaps can hack a PSU to directly regulate power from the car's 12v supply? Can then get rid of the inverter for better power efficiency. A single core A64 or sempron would be great for this setup, very low power consumption, possibly 50-70W for the whole system with the PSU efficiency factored in.

QUOTE(seveneleven @ Mar 8 2007, 12:31 PM)
Alternatively can get a IDE card reader and pop in some flash memory. Completely vibration/shock proof bruce.gif
gengstapo
post Mar 8 2007, 01:12 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

wala0 wehhh, never tot got ppl mod pc to fit into car lehh
nice effort there

ps: izzit wira? tot it was GTi
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 01:14 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Mar 8 2007, 01:12 PM)
wala0 wehhh, never tot got ppl mod pc to fit into car lehh
nice effort there

ps: izzit wira? tot it was GTi
Yes dude its a Wira Sedan...

Added on March 8, 2007, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 8 2007, 01:07 PM)
Cool, thought of it myself but never got around to even putting it on paper. Gotta try it when I've got free time (which I don't know when that will be). Thinking perhaps can hack a PSU to directly regulate power from the car's 12v supply? Can then get rid of the inverter for better power efficiency. A single core A64 or sempron would be great for this setup, very low power consumption, possibly 50-70W for the whole system with the PSU efficiency factored in.
Alternatively can get a IDE card reader and pop in some flash memory. Completely vibration/shock proof bruce.gif
yeah i was told by Sniper On The Roof that AMD less power consumtion... i dun think you can wire your PSU directly to your batt..if you manage to do it..mind sharing with me... Once you built a car pc for your self..you can post it here also...this thread welcomes all car pc owners too

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 8 2007, 01:16 PM
sniper on the roof
post Mar 8 2007, 01:20 PM

23,414 posts

Finally post... really dig the central console usb.

Hey..use remote control lar... mouse bahaya sial
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 01:22 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 8 2007, 01:20 PM)
Finally post... really dig the central console usb.

Hey..use remote control lar... mouse bahaya sial
ehehhehe..dude...yeah thinking of it..any suggestion?

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0144sec    0.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:15 AM