4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

My Car PC, You can post your's here too

TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 11:38 AM, updated 17y ago

296 posts

Ok... some ppl might buy the ready made car pc like Voom and some other brands in the market that uses Mini ITX mobo.... but no many people can buy those after market car pc with liliput touch screens which is expensive and not available here ... so here i post my D.I.Y car pc which have serve me for 1 year plus already...and have not given any problem so far. here are some pix of my car pc. Might not be much..but it works ..

Here's the CPU unit that i have D.I.Y with acrylic and laminated with checked plate stickers

The internal desktop and laptop part that i have installed... the PSU enclosure have been removed so taht i can fit it in the case...some of the cables have been removed oso... the rig consist of a P4 2.6ghz, 512 mb Apacer DDR ram, 40gb WD Scorpio lap top hdd, Geforce 440mx GC, and a MSI mobo.

I use 12cm and 8cm vizo uv led fan for cooling , 12cm blowing and 8 cm exhausting all the heat from inside of the case

The power switch, reset switch, power LED and HDD LED

My USB ports which i have integrated on my center console.

I use wireless Logitech mouse to navigate.

I bought this LCD TFT indash monitor from Brother, using the svideo output from my GC, running Windows Media Player at that time.

This how the temp like when it is idling, picture was taken around 10am in the morning.

Temp after 45 minutes of drive, I'm running media player in the background at that time.

This the night shot of my TFT screen cool huh?

Some of you might wonder how i power the pc...I use DC to AC (12v-240V) inverters which i wired directly to my battery, i have made some test by not switching of my inverter for 3 day....the inverter that i bought seems to be on standby if the pc is not switched on. After 3 days of not using the car....the battery does not die...which means the inverter doesn't consume power even though it is not switched on... I also made a switch for the inverter which i integrated it on my center console. Well that's all I think.... so far no problem... no bad sectors on my hdd... battery did not die... and NO SHORTCIRCUIT oso, I am happy with it

p/s Sniper dude...as requested by you
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 11:45 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Mar 8 2007, 11:43 AM)
Where you get the DC to AC converter and how much?
You can get it from Brothers and E-Life... my advice to you, get a greater watts Inverter...300watts and above is sufficient..last time i use 150 watts on a 350 watts rated PSU...after a month the inverter overloaded... biggrin.gif
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 11:51 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 11:50 AM)
great diy

*tumbs*
Thanks dude..

TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:03 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 11:54 AM)
just wondering, wat benefits u get by having a com in the car? watch movies? and u use mouse only ar? keyboard?

no offence. i'm seriously turned on by ur DIY and wan to know more
Basicaly...it is tedious having loads of CDs in your car than having a loads off MP3s in your hdd...same goes for movies also... yet you can play games in your car rather then installing a PS in your car oso.... i was advice by Sniper on the roof to use trackball mouse rather then conventional mouse.... basicaly at least my GF can watch movies while in a jam.... less talking to my GF less fights we have...ehehehhe. I'm planning to install a visor LCD screen so that my GF can watch it form her seat rather then watching through the center LCD...she did compalij bout neck pain... as for me having a playlist of my favourite songs in my car is good enough. The best part is surfing the net when i parked the car next to Starbucks SS15 wihtout having to step out of the car..just for a quick surf.
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:04 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 11:58 AM)
judging by the pics, i'll say it's a proton for sure

gen2 is my guess
yes its a Proton wira UK model

Added on March 8, 2007, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(Doom @ Mar 8 2007, 11:55 AM)
OMG this is insanity, i thought most people only mod a hifi system into a car...

never thought of such mod...

brilliant ...
Got influenced by PIMP MY Ride

Added on March 8, 2007, 12:06 pm
QUOTE(bjay1482 @ Mar 8 2007, 11:58 AM)
nicely done.. the usb port at the console looks oem.. *thumbs*
Thanks dude....

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 8 2007, 12:06 PM
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:07 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Mar 8 2007, 12:03 PM)
Wira is my guess... hmm....
btw, Nice mod ...... the usb port is greatly fitted... looks nice...

Mind to share the steps of your D.I.Y ?
I wish i had made a worklog for this... but you can ask me if you need help on how to built one...dun mind sharing at all

Added on March 8, 2007, 12:08 pm
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 8 2007, 12:07 PM)
Its Wira aeroback limited edition.
Its a Sedan... bought in 1999

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 8 2007, 12:08 PM
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:10 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 12:08 PM)
yay, wira it is.. i think if u do a guide for this diy, most ppl would be interested. might be pinned too =))

btw, ur usb slot doen't interfere with ur handbrake?  looks scary from the pic angle. just a thought
nope...does not at all.... can even plug in my removable hdd case there...
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:12 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 12:11 PM)
wow, seriously nice job.. i wonder whether i can fit it into my kancil. u did the wiring urself?
Yeah...did it my self.... can why not.doesn't take much space oso..
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:18 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 12:13 PM)
just like allngap said.. since they have tools to know whether u hav a lappy in to boot, wouldn't  urs b at risk too?

edit: spelling
That's the risk we have to take...but so far nothing hope luck doesn't change.... but you can always mount it firmly...give them thiefs the idea that it is bolted on ..they won't waste time on it..
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:26 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Mar 8 2007, 12:24 PM)
wow.. i'm totally impressed by your work. This is really Pc modding + pimp your car. you got all my respect dude. Wonderful work.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Wanna ask, how much it cost u to do everything like tat?
Thanks dude... biggrin.gif, Less than 1 k I think..... some parts i have it laying around in my room... as for the acrylic i got it from a sign board that was thorn down nearby my office..ehehhe

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 8 2007, 12:27 PM
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:29 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ Mar 8 2007, 12:28 PM)
damn nice dude  thumbup.gif .. what speaker did u connect to ur pc?
The onboard soundcard is connected to my pre amp....i use Sony speakers.. which i can't remember the model.... some unknown brand of amplifier to power my Front and Rear Sony speakers
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:31 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 8 2007, 12:29 PM)
wow, seriously damn cool. If you can pls put up a guide. I am sure many here are interested to do the same thing.

Bravo thumbup.gif
I will dismantle everything when i have the time..and i will start from the beginning of my D.I.Y including the wiring to the car ..when i have the time...

Added on March 8, 2007, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(seveneleven @ Mar 8 2007, 12:31 PM)
Hey dude, nice setup. Fun for long drives. A suggestion though, you might want to suspend the hard drives as heavy vibration kills the HD.
The HDD is mounted on a bracket which i have out silicon dampeners... and i choose laptop hdd.. coz it is more durable compared to desktop hdd

Added on March 8, 2007, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 8 2007, 12:10 PM)
very very nice setup there.....looks like those old skool PC does come in handy after all....

did you wire the sound output to your car audio system also ??? it must be really cool coz can play songs directly from the PC and have a VU effect on the screen......

the part which i worry is the inverter part coz not sure whether its the real quality ones coz inverters can go kaboom and if not wired properly, it might fry other things together  also.....
btw, dont make it so obvious........nowadays a lot of car thief around....
Yeah i kena one time..coz the watt rating on the invertor was low.... bought a 500 watts one recently... yeah it is connected to my car sound system...

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 8 2007, 12:35 PM
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 12:54 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Mar 8 2007, 12:49 PM)
dude, thats awesome =)
but hor, isnt it the same if u can put a notebook in ur car =)
somemore its a fully complete set, keyboard included... wifi included
somemore its portable, u dont have to leave it in ur car to prevent from losing.
didnt mean to say urs is bad..... im truly impressed with ur work bro smile.gif
Well that's why it is called Car PC...ehehhehe.. thanks.... but if a notebook used in the car...meaning less accessibility and if emergency brake sure fall one....i won't sacrifice my notebook to that extend..... yeah thats a risk we have to take.... but usually thiefs won't have the idea that we have a pc in our car unless if they monitor us from the beginning....
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 01:05 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Mar 8 2007, 01:01 PM)
no le, i heard they got tools to know whether u have anythin electronic or so in the trunk but i must say that this for Enthusiast ppl and not what's better. it's the satisfaction of achieving it. once again, tumbs on this project.

i'm just wondering where to fit the lcd and how bout wifi? got antenna?
ohh i get what you mean... depends on the car oso if you wan to mount the lcd....mine is indash.... currently using USB wireless card ...but all component u saw in the pix...gonna be upgraded soon....thinking of scrapping the onboard soundcard and buy creative audigy ... sound quality better...
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 01:14 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Mar 8 2007, 01:12 PM)
wala0 wehhh, never tot got ppl mod pc to fit into car lehh
nice effort there

ps: izzit wira? tot it was GTi
Yes dude its a Wira Sedan...

Added on March 8, 2007, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 8 2007, 01:07 PM)
Cool, thought of it myself but never got around to even putting it on paper. Gotta try it when I've got free time (which I don't know when that will be). Thinking perhaps can hack a PSU to directly regulate power from the car's 12v supply? Can then get rid of the inverter for better power efficiency. A single core A64 or sempron would be great for this setup, very low power consumption, possibly 50-70W for the whole system with the PSU efficiency factored in.
Alternatively can get a IDE card reader and pop in some flash memory. Completely vibration/shock proof bruce.gif
yeah i was told by Sniper On The Roof that AMD less power consumtion... i dun think you can wire your PSU directly to your batt..if you manage to do it..mind sharing with me... Once you built a car pc for your self..you can post it here also...this thread welcomes all car pc owners too

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 8 2007, 01:16 PM
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 01:22 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 8 2007, 01:20 PM)
Finally post... really dig the central console usb.

Hey..use remote control lar... mouse bahaya sial
ehehhehe..dude...yeah thinking of it..any suggestion?

TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 01:29 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 8 2007, 01:26 PM)
seriously, i dont dare to plug them into my PC.....PC devices are really sensitive to fluctuations expecially HDD.......

although you can tap out 12V to form 3.3V , 5V, you still need -5V and alot of features which a normal PSU will have.....might as well get a better inverter and a back-up accumulator
Allngap should know he's an expert in this...
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 01:32 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Mar 8 2007, 01:29 PM)
Of course.... the front end is no biggie but I like the remote... and its RF so you can hide the receiver.

http://www.soundgraph.com/Eng_/Products/im...u=1&leftMenu=12
Cun!.... available here or not? you know how's the pricing?
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 01:53 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 8 2007, 01:45 PM)
err..on the contrary, my knowledge on electronics is actually little.......but basics must be strong in order to understand what is going on.....
first of all, our car battery supply is not always remain on 12V alone...

this depends on how strong is your accumulator(age, type, how many amps, load) and the things which you use, like audio system, aircond, lights, modified spark plugs.....

usually when you rev your engine, voltage will go up a lot and when its idle the voltage will drop below 12V, this also depends on the age of your accumulator as well.....

hence its not really economical to actually tap out from the DC source because there are way too many factors which needs to be overcome in order to gain a stable DC supply......
seems that percentage of fluctuation is high doesn't it?
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 03:39 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Mar 8 2007, 03:38 PM)
sweet.........
the brothers screen actually i also wanted to buy, but nissan sunny have only 1 slot....
impressive work rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
Thanks dude..... you can buy the visor type though cost about RM 199 i think..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:45 AM