Added on March 6, 2007, 8:45 pmi think should be the job looks for you

or the jobs look for you

This post has been edited by Drifter: Mar 6 2007, 08:45 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 6 2007, 08:46 PM

52,874 posts

You meant on the "Let The Job Look For You"?

I think there's a missing "s" on Look if it's a singular noun.

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 6 2007, 08:46 PM
ballistix89
post Mar 6 2007, 08:47 PM

lurker
353 posts

you sure you post this at the right place? sweat.gif
let THE job LOOK for you

that's correct
azarimy
post Mar 6 2007, 08:50 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

i dont see anything wrong...

it's the same as "let ali look for you". no extra 's' there...
SUSDrifter
post Mar 6 2007, 09:01 PM

1,349 posts

aint that singular?
ballistix89
post Mar 6 2007, 09:12 PM

lurker
353 posts

because there is the word THE

then there should be no 's'

same like if there's the word I
Cheesenium
post Mar 6 2007, 10:23 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Sounds ok to me.
the_registered
post Mar 6 2007, 10:26 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

yup, no problem. Let the job look for you. Don't let the job looks for you hehe
azarimy
post Mar 6 2007, 10:46 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(the_registered @ Mar 6 2007, 10:26 PM)
yup, no problem. Let the job look for you. Don't let the job looks for you hehe
nope. no S there... "Don't let the job look for you". same usage. rclxm9.gif
greyPJ
post Mar 6 2007, 10:52 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

where got ok? thats wrong already, should be:

let the job looks for you

with s.

Added on March 6, 2007, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(ballistix89 @ Mar 6 2007, 09:12 PM)
because there is the word THE

then there should be no 's'

same like if there's the word I
wah lau eh, you talk what? you invent those rules yourself?

This post has been edited by greyPJ: Mar 6 2007, 10:54 PM
azarimy
post Mar 6 2007, 11:04 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Mar 6 2007, 10:52 PM)
where got ok? thats wrong already, should be:

let the job looks for you

with s.

Added on March 6, 2007, 10:54 pm
wah lau eh, you talk what? you invent those rules yourself?
**Grammar Police mode ON**

You are wrong. The original sentence is correct. The instance of having an 's' as a result of something being singular does not apply here.

"Let the job look for you" is correct, and not "Let the job looks for you".

"She won't look for you" is correct, and not "She won't looks for you".

SuN_RaE198
post Mar 6 2007, 11:06 PM

395 posts

sweat.gif the banner looks alright to me.

if really wana add an "s", it can be let the jobs look for you. biggrin.gif
tinkerbel
post Mar 6 2007, 11:23 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Let The JobS Look For You isn't right because you only need 1 job, not 2!
azarimy
post Mar 6 2007, 11:27 PM

10,672 posts

it's either:

"Let jobs look for you"

or

"Let the job look for you"

both are essentially and grammatically correct. but the bottom one hits u directly (which is good as an advertisement that targets u directly).
marxmannn
post Mar 6 2007, 11:34 PM

138 posts

people... the key here is the word "let"... after the word "let" always use the "root" form of verb.

one common example: Let her go. (versus let her goes)
kwh1989
post Mar 6 2007, 11:44 PM

412 posts

ya, it's correct, Let the job look for u. double verbs together. it is the same as Make him cry

This post has been edited by kwh1989: Mar 6 2007, 11:45 PM
myc04
post Mar 7 2007, 01:19 AM

240 posts

"Let the job looks for you" doesn't even sound right.
And we all know that when English sounds weird/wrong, it's usually incorrect. ^^.
exec
post Mar 7 2007, 01:30 AM

304 posts

It's like...

Let him go! or Let him goes?

No 'S' of course
kerrk
post Mar 7 2007, 01:51 AM

464 posts

let the job look for u. what's wrong?

let the jobS look for you is not wrong either.
Crazychaos
post Mar 7 2007, 02:08 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(myc04 @ Mar 7 2007, 01:19 AM)
"Let the job looks for you" doesn't even sound right.
And we all know that when English sounds weird/wrong, it's usually incorrect. ^^.
nod.gif Agree!

When people ask me to explain why a certain phrase is grammatically wrong, I'll just say, "Because it sounds wrong!"

And they'll just stare at me.

Anyway, "let the job look for you" and "let the jobs look for you" are both correct. But I'm not sure which phrase is the popularised one.

0.0215sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:48 PM