> Military Thread V24, Celebrating 60th Malaysian Merdeka Day

acam2812
post Mar 21 2017, 08:35 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Mar 21 2017, 07:06 AM)
Anak Langkau.... lol
anang mcm mcm wai, nuan ulih nanchang aku, nuan ulih merinsa aku, pia mega nuan ulih ngancurka tubuh aku tang nuan enda ulih mejal runding aku.
mrcg
post Mar 21 2017, 10:17 AM

235 posts

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/fdnews/233974.jsp

malaysia confirms buying 4 lms from china with some tech transfer..my question for expert here: why on earth with so many tt previously we still looking for foreign ships again..use previous tech we gain can we? if so difficult to do then better not do at all from waste the money again and again especially when money is the main problems right now..
pcboss00
post Mar 21 2017, 10:26 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(mrcg @ Mar 21 2017, 10:17 AM)
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/fdnews/233974.jsp

malaysia confirms buying 4 lms from china with some tech transfer..my question for expert here: why on earth with so many tt previously we still looking for foreign ships again..use previous tech we gain can we? if so difficult to do then better not do at all from waste the money again and again especially when money is the main problems right now..
cheap and proven design. i think cost is the main factor and BNS don't have any available yard to construct the ship.
mrcg
post Mar 21 2017, 10:54 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(pcboss00 @ Mar 21 2017, 10:26 AM)
cheap and proven design. i think cost is the main factor and BNS don't have any available yard to construct the ship.
its not just this deal which in my opinion 1.11 b for 4 ships pretty cheap but look at overall picture..everytime want to buy ships need tt then next new batch another tt..what hell those people thinking actually when making the decision..people grow old day after day so the technical people that involve in this tt. the tech they gain if not pass to new gen will waste into thin air. i believe we must use the tech we gain and improve it so the new gen can empower the tech later in future instead tt there tt here like teh tarik session only mamak get rich but we gain fat
pcboss00
post Mar 21 2017, 11:03 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(mrcg @ Mar 21 2017, 10:54 AM)
its not just this deal which in my opinion 1.11 b for 4 ships pretty cheap but look at overall picture..everytime want to buy ships need tt then next new batch another tt..what hell those people thinking actually when making the decision..people grow old day after day so the technical people that involve in this tt. the tech they gain if not pass to new gen will waste into thin air. i believe we must  use the tech we gain and improve it so the new gen can empower the tech later in future instead tt there tt here like teh tarik session only mamak get rich but we gain fat
the only ToT we (already) get right now are from the NGPV project. BNS did compete with others in SGPV, but lost probably due to tech offered. that about ship design. If about configuration and installation, the knowledge we gain from NGPV already applied on Kasturi class SLEP.
waja2000
post Mar 21 2017, 11:26 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Mar 20 2017, 07:55 PM)
Boustead secures RM1.17 billion contract from Ministry of Defence

By Bernama - March 20, 2017 @ 7:36pm
KUALA LUMPUR: Boustead Holdings Bhd's unit, Boustead Naval Shipyard Sdn Bhd (BNS), has bagged a RM1.17 billion contract from Malaysia's Ministry of Defence for the supply of four Littoral Mission Ships.
The contract, a collaboration between the governments of Malaysia and China, was awarded to BNS under direct negotiation, for collaboration with a partner shipyard in China.
It is to be implemented over four years, effective from the date of signing of the Letter of Acceptance by BNS, Boustead in a filing to Bursa Malaysia said today.
It said the Littoral Mission Ships will be designed by the partner shipyard and the first two vessels will be built and delivered in China in 2019 and 2020. The remaining two will be delivered in Malaysia in 2021.
The contract will have a positive effect on the earnings of the group for the financial year ending Dec 31, 2017, and will contribute positively to its future earnings. -- BERNAMA
RM1.17 billion for 4 ship, cost about RM 300 mil each, USD @4.4/1 usd, it cost about USD 68 mill. still acceptable. rolleyes.gif
azriel
post Mar 21 2017, 12:23 PM

Egyptian Navy Gowind 2500 Corvette - ENS Al Fateh F-971. Credit to @EERRTT122272.

https://twitter.com/EERRTT122272/status/836925316119539713
Fat & Fluffy
post Mar 21 2017, 12:42 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(mrcg @ Mar 21 2017, 12:54 PM)
its not just this deal which in my opinion 1.11 b for 4 ships pretty cheap but look at overall picture..everytime want to buy ships need tt then next new batch another tt..what hell those people thinking actually when making the decision..people grow old day after day so the technical people that involve in this tt. the tech they gain if not pass to new gen will waste into thin air. i believe we must  use the tech we gain and improve it so the new gen can empower the tech later in future instead tt there tt here like teh tarik session only mamak get rich but we gain fat
tech transfer is not simple as passing a usb drive with all the blueprints... from a layman observer point of view, msia just dont have the military industrial complex needed to fully appreciate and make full use of such a technology... same can be observed from the aug case... if something as simple as that cant materialize, what more a complex system like a ship?

lets not be like the indians or indons and pay a premium while not making full use of it..
Fat & Fluffy
post Mar 21 2017, 12:51 PM

397 posts

Revisit: Operation Protective Edge 2014

State comptroller’s Operation Protective Edge report states IDF failed to complete its mission

According to the state comptroller report on Operation Protective Edge, major gaps in military intelligence and the failure to relay important information to the Israeli Security Cabinet members who made decisions throughout the operation resulted in the IDF failing to complete its mission in Gaza.

Hamas terror tunnel (archive) Photo Credit: Reuters/Channel 2 News

State Comptroller Joseph Shapira’s report on Operation Protective Edge that was released this afternoon (Tuesday) revealed that the IDF was not appropriately prepared for the Hamas terror tunnel threat. Shapira rejected Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s version of the series of events that led up to the operation and determined that while Netanyahu and then-Israeli Defense Minister Moshe Ya’alon knew about the threat, this information was not relayed to the Israeli Security Cabinet and the threat was not handled properly

The report also revealed that Hamas still possesses active terror tunnels, confirming the statement made by a cabinet member earlier this week. In addition, the report claims that the IDF entered the operation without any clear strategies to eradicate the tunnel threat. Shapira’s report also criticized the cabinet for not functioning properly and its members for debating the goals of the operation while soldiers were fighting in Gaza. Israel’s state comptroller also stated in the report that some of the goals of operation were not achieved due to the major gaps in intelligence, lack of IDF preparations and the cabinet’s decision-making process.

“Out of the offensive tunnels that the IDF marked as a priority, it [the military] destroyed half of them and neutralized a few others,” wrote Shapira in the report. “The rest of the offensive tunnels were either just damaged or left in working condition.” Shapira concluded that because the main purpose of the operation was to destroy or neutralize the Hamas terror tunnels, the IDF did not complete its mission.

The cabinet during the operation Photo Credit: Marc Israel Sellem/Flash90

The report also revealed that the Israeli security establishment was informed that Hamas is planning to kidnap Israelis or soldiers by using a tunnel prior to the operation. However, this intelligence was not clearly relayed to the cabinet members. According to the report, the possibility of a kidnapping was only mentioned during a cabinet discussion.

“Prime Minister Netanyahu was well aware of the tunnel threat, which he called a main and strategic threat, and held many discussions about it outside of the cabinet,” continued Shapira in the report. “He should have presented the cabinet with the tunnel threat in a detailed manner after he understood its seriousness.”

atreyuangel
post Mar 21 2017, 01:46 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(mumbly297 @ Mar 21 2017, 01:49 AM)
Have to watch it in JB. But seem this year a lot of war and police movie
this was suppose to realeased last year
but delay for some reason
azriel
post Mar 21 2017, 01:48 PM

Indonesian PT PAL begins construction of the Indonesian Navy 3rd DSME Type 209 Submarine. Credit to Portal Komando.

nikita zuleica
post Mar 21 2017, 01:49 PM

410 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Mar 21 2017, 12:23 PM)
Egyptian Navy Gowind 2500 Corvette - ENS Al Fateh F-971. Credit to @EERRTT122272.

https://twitter.com/EERRTT122272/status/836925316119539713
So this is how our Gowind class looks like?
miuk
post Mar 21 2017, 02:47 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(acam2812 @ Mar 21 2017, 08:35 AM)
anang mcm mcm wai, nuan ulih nanchang aku, nuan ulih merinsa aku,  pia mega nuan ulih ngancurka tubuh aku tang nuan enda ulih mejal runding aku.
Ok, I give up trying to translate it. If it's was something offensive I said, I apologize.

The langkau I remember when living in Sarawak was the clear liquid stuff usually served in Coke bottles.
waja2000
post Mar 21 2017, 02:49 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(nikita zuleica @ Mar 21 2017, 01:49 PM)
So this is how our Gowind class looks like?
yes, but our Gowind have extra increase 9 meter hull length in middle of ship (between hanger and Engine exhaust)
waja2000
post Mar 21 2017, 02:49 PM

137 posts

Mar 21 2017, 06:35 PM
This post has been deleted by MKLMS because: Double post.

waja2000
post Mar 21 2017, 03:37 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 21 2017, 03:17 PM)
must look at the fine print lo, does the corst cover the ship, powertrain, navigation system, weapons systems and maintenance? or just ship and powertrain only?
should be. our military culture all ways all in. no really heave weapon, just main gun and machine gun, (no missile)
056 only cost about usd 100 with all include.
TechSuper
post Mar 21 2017, 03:58 PM

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 21 2017, 03:17 PM)
must look at the fine print lo, does the corst cover the ship, powertrain, navigation system, weapons systems and maintenance? or just ship and powertrain only?
power train tu kereta bole bang. ships guna propulsion laugh.gif laugh.gif
TechSuper
post Mar 21 2017, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 21 2017, 04:12 PM)
thank you for correction biggrin.gif

make it simple la like that ...warship engine
engines + gearbox + shafting + propellers, if i may add. on merchant vessels, these alone consist about 30% of cost of vessel.
MilitaryMadness
post Mar 21 2017, 04:58 PM

1,302 posts

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 21 2017, 03:19 PM)
looks like Indonesia is ahead of many countries in ASEAN  rclxms.gif
Sorry to burst your bubble, but Indonesia was ahead of entire ASEAN since even the 1950s. Even when Malaysia and Singapore was just a twinkle in the British eye, Indonesian military already have very serious assets.

Indonesian Tu-16 Badger fleet

Indonesian KRI Irian Heavy Cruiser

TechSuper
post Mar 21 2017, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(lordy @ Mar 21 2017, 05:00 PM)
what happened to these asset now?
scrap sudaa

119 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic