126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Travel Taiwan, Refer pg 1 for compiled attractions

LanEvo7
post Oct 14 2007, 07:56 PM

Hmmm... what to put for title?
1,838 posts

I heard Room 18 was closed down co's the owner is accused of taking drugs or something

and oh, there's also Luxy that is worth trying..

yup, clubbing in Taiwan is highly recommended.
scorgio
post Oct 15 2007, 07:40 PM

4,694 posts

The most famous disco in Taiwan.

Plush, Mint, Luxy & Room 18.

Cover charge NT600.

And they have a rather strict dresscode.
Chocoholic
post Nov 20 2007, 09:16 AM

33 posts

i goin to taipei next week for 6 days. besides places to visit , i wonder what can i buy from there that's more cheaper, latest or nice special ? i heard that's we can try snacks & instant noodles over there, and for us girls , how the price for shoes & handbag & other accesorries? recommended places to get ? oh ya what bout souvenir ? most important how the prices there. had a limited budget. appreciate if u can reply and share with me. thanks a millions
wctan83
post Nov 20 2007, 09:11 PM

92 posts

I dont think it is fun in a trip where you go there to shoppings buy this and that ( correct me if i am wrong )
For me, if i wanted to go for anyway to holidays, my main focus is to enjoy myself, understand their culture, understand the way they live, and all this stuff like buying souvenir, no way.
Chocoholic
post Nov 21 2007, 09:54 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(wctan83 @ Nov 20 2007, 09:11 PM)
I dont think it is fun in a trip where you go there to shoppings buy this and that ( correct me if i am wrong )
For me, if i wanted to go for anyway to holidays, my main focus is to enjoy myself, understand their culture, understand the way they live, and all this stuff like buying souvenir, no way.
ohh... anyway i always thought good things in life are to share... that's why while i travelling i still thinking of buying souvenir for people beside me...
by the way , i thought i can get some helping hands over here like its used to be , not those people trying to teach u do & don't on travel... (yes ! correct me too if i wrong)
purple_shadow
post Nov 21 2007, 02:15 PM

Chocoholic, you are right ! I agree to you, we will buy sth to our family and friends whenever we go for travel... Maybe for girls, the perception of traveling is different from other. They won't _stand the enjoyment of shopping, even window shopping. icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on November 21, 2007, 2:21 pmI'm planning to go Taiwan too on next year, read some post in previous slide, found some useful infor. Chocoholic, you may try to look for the previous pages for reference. It is kinda interesting and excited when they recommend those nice places... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by purple_shadow: Nov 21 2007, 02:21 PM
Chocoholic
post Nov 22 2007, 05:22 PM

33 posts

agreed ! as i kinda last mins this time... not much time for me to get more info too... thx lots purple_shadow... i will tell u more on my trip when i back... cheers ~~~
Volfeed
post Nov 26 2007, 12:42 AM

396 posts

My one day in Taipei

I am currently in Taiwan for a business trip. Due to inavailability of the flight today, I came here yesterday and had a whole day free time today. So I called an old friend (my ex-superior actually) and he delightfully wanted to show me aroud Taipei. That is a good news to me cause I didn't know jack of Mandarin, Hokkien etc. He said, one day would not be enough though... sweat.gif

So in the morning, he picked me up at Hsinchu (85 km from Taipei), and we went by car through the #3 highway. On the highway we could see sexy gals with see through clothes drool.gif selling betel leaves + areca nut - sirih + pinang tu laa.. My friend said that the Taiwanese loves to chew these thing. (I tried this when I was a small kid because of my curiosity when watching my nenek chewing them. Not a pleasant taste then..)

On the way we stopped at the R & R - Don't know what was it called, but it had a beautiful scenery. Today was quite windy it was not hot at all. I was not able to snap more pictures cause we were in a hurry then.. duhh blush.gif

We stopped at his place to park the car and took the MRT Metro train to Chiang Kai-Shek Memorial Hall. A ride will cost from NT20 (abt RM2) to NT60 something in the MRT.

Unfortunately it is currently under renovation. There are promotional booths for goods from Pengu island set up in front of the memorial hall - some kinda fest. There was also a mini concert with a sucky vocalist throwing out some rock tracks.

Then we went for lunch - a mixed Japanese - Chinese buffet at Splendour Restaurant. Took the MRT and stopped at Dapingling. The building was just outside the station. The lunch costed NT680 (abt RM70), Hi-Tea would have set us to NT580. I think it is worthwile since we can also get unlimited Haagen Daaz, and fee flow wine, beer for the alcohol drinkers, apart from the usual foods. To avoid the babi element I opted mostly for the Japanese cuisine (sushi, sashimi tenpura whatever..). So sad cause I would love to try Taiwanese food. My friend said taht they are famous for their beef noodles.

Then we moved to Zhong Hwa, a paradise for electrical / electronical products. The place reminds me of Akihabara and of course LYP tongue.gif . Generally the price was lower but I did not buy any because of warranty problems should any problem arises.

After that, we went to 101 tower, or was it IOI mall? Took the MRT to Taipei Municipal Hall and used the free shuttle bus. It was raining and the tower was shrouded with clouds so we scrapped our plan to go up. Inside it was just like KLCC, with many branded products outlet.

This post has been edited by Volfeed: Nov 26 2007, 12:59 AM
Volfeed
post Nov 26 2007, 12:50 AM

396 posts

We then moved to Shilin Night Market. Just stop at the Jian Tan station there, one station before Shilin station. The Shilin market was full with people - lining up for the famous fried chicken there. Foods sold there costs from NT40 to NT90. Didn't take any of them though. Then my friend bought a pack of stinky tofu.. Dang it really stank! But the taste was OK and acceptable to me. There are also other exotic foods such as duck hear, tongue, feet - fried.. etc being sold. For other things, it was not much different from our own Petaling Street, except there was no forcing of buying things hmm.gif . Shoes was generally cheaper that Malaysia didn't bought any. Bought some souvenirs for the peeps home though sweat.gif

Finally went back to Hsinchu by the TRA train. Took me about 1 and 1/4 hours and the worst part is that there was no seat available and I had to stand all the way to Hsinchu.. My leg still hurts now. rclxub.gif

So well, that is one day in Taipei. I did not have the chance to go sightseeing at the parks, mountains etc which I would really wants to. One day is definitely not enough. One thing still boggles my mind though, with high fuel price and rentals, how come them Taiwanese can still sell things with the almost the same price as us in Malaysia... hmm.gif

p/s I think I need to learn to speak Chinese hahaha... wo pu min pai whistling.gif

lisa21
post Dec 14 2007, 02:55 PM

hi ,
i will be going to taipei Jan 08....
on my own...

im into Shopping-fashion only.....

anyone kind enough to tell me where i can get cheap (but trendy & young) clothings?...carrying their local brands/ no brands...

any famous / large shopping street in taipei?

what about Outlet Mall that sells off season branded stuffs at the discounted price....is there a one in Taipei?

Please help. Thanks!

Regards,
Lisa21
divine061
post Dec 14 2007, 03:31 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(lisa21 @ Dec 14 2007, 02:55 PM)
hi ,
on my own...

anyone kind enough to tell me where i can get cheap (but trendy & young) clothings?...carrying their local brands/ no brands...
wu fen pu, most night market including shilin night market

what about Outlet Mall that sells off season branded stuffs at the discounted price....is there a one in Taipei?
Please help. Thanks!

Regards,
Lisa21
taipei 101 (lots of other shopping complex nearby), mei li hua, xi men ding
Chocoholic
post Dec 15 2007, 12:46 PM

33 posts

hi ,
on my own...

Please help. Thanks!

Regards,
Lisa21
i just back from taiwan 2 weeks ago... suggestion places to shop were wu fen pu (wholesale place , cheap but not trendy but still ok for classic wearing, cannot try on the clothes), shilin nite market (cheap too, but not many choices, can get a bag from TWD 200 onward, accesorries ) lastly xi men ding (wat to say, trendy with all the latest !... can get everything from tips to toes... i managed to get a handbag over here, unique! around TWD2000) just this few places enough already .... one more thing is now is winter over there, so bit difficult to get suitable clothes to wear for malaysia weather. accesorries, handbag and shoes will be best , other than that depand on your preference....

purple_shadow
post Dec 17 2007, 12:39 PM

Chocoholic, welcome back to M'sia. It sound interesting to travel to Taiwan. I'm planning to go on April next year with a couple of friends.

Just want to know, which airport you departed from? I heard my friends say we can take flight in Singapore and from there fly to Taiwan (due to it cost less).

So, how about your? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by purple_shadow: Dec 17 2007, 12:40 PM
Chocoholic
post Dec 18 2007, 10:23 AM

33 posts

Hi purple_shadow, nice to c u here again .
i joined a trip in taiwan & with china airline.
i been to taipei , taichung , yi liu, tan sui & etc...the view nice and unique worth although long hours travel on the bus. the most interesting parts of coz shopping & stall 2 stall makan @ nite market ...
but make sure a group of your friends like to eat too as need to share between for variety of choices.
for shopping , the places i been enough to shop till we drop. haha
i trying to collect all pixz from friends' cameras & will create an album online sooner. i let u know by then... as u know a pix said it all....
have a nice christmas....
ed0gawa
post Dec 18 2007, 10:45 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Oct 15 2007, 07:40 PM)
The most famous disco in Taiwan.

Plush, Mint, Luxy & Room 18.

Cover charge NT600.

And they have a rather strict dresscode.
lai lai .. let's go together.. sniper ... mali mali .. let's go see taiwan meimei together...

How strict is the dresscode? I see bikinis only in those promo videos on youtube.. lol
aries85
post Dec 18 2007, 05:54 PM

20 posts

hi ,
on my own...

Please help. Thanks!

Regards,
Lisa21
if you want it cheap... try it at wu fen pu night market
purple_shadow
post Dec 21 2007, 10:36 AM

QUOTE(Chocoholic @ Dec 18 2007, 10:23 AM)
Hi purple_shadow, nice to c u here again .
i joined a trip in taiwan & with china airline.
i been to taipei , taichung , yi liu, tan sui & etc...the view nice and unique worth although long hours travel on the bus.  the most interesting parts of coz shopping &  stall 2 stall makan @ nite market ...
but make sure a group of your friends like to eat too as need to share between for variety of choices.
for shopping , the places i been enough to shop till we drop. haha
i trying to collect all pixz from friends' cameras & will create an album online sooner. i let u know by then... as u know a pix  said it all....
have a nice christmas....
Thanks alot. smile.gif If you don't mind, can tell me what agent/trip you was joining too?
lpp
post Dec 22 2007, 11:17 PM

83 posts

I stayed at Taipei Hostel last time. It's near to Shandao Temple MRT station which is one station away from Taipei Main station.
http://www.taipeihostel.com/

If you just want to tour around Taipei city, I believe this MRT map with places near to each station is very helpful. Many places can be easily reached by taking MRT. Check this map out.

I manage to write a few entries of my Taiwan trip on my blog, feel free to browse.
Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall
Shilin Night Market
Taipei 101
National Museum of History
Botanical Garden
Ximending

HongZai
post Jan 6 2008, 01:14 AM

what is the cheapest airline to taipei ? or any travel agency will have a better rates for it ?
JenniJane
post Jan 6 2008, 11:54 PM

34 posts

china airlines?

ah just go to asiatravelmart.com

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:19 AM