kmarc
post Jun 9 2017, 12:23 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Jun 9 2017, 11:54 AM)
This is not a silly question at all, and deserves a little bit of understanding.

What you wrote above, "0x......ad......" is the so-called *real* (or raw) ethereum address, which is represented in pure hexadecimal format.
In this format, the addresses with some capital letters are check-summed, while the addresses with all small letters are not check-summed, but otherwise, both addresses are exactly the same address, and both can be used without worry (i.e. technically speaking, NOT case sensitive, as WooTz already mentioned).
The check sum feature is used by some compatible wallet software to check that the address is valid and ensure that the address was not mistyped.

However, in the case of bitcoin, when we send bitcoins to another address, we do not use this address (hexadecimal form), but instead use a Base-58 format (for example 1P2cWsE3GVdB6BLKafkqxHtWAZgFt5Jvm3) which does not contain characters that will confuse users, i.e. 0, O, I and l), and has checksum and version number built-in.
In this instance, the address *is case-sensitive* and must be entered EXACTLY as it is.
Nice info. Should put it in the guide later on.

I just got home. Tired. Going to hit the sack for a while. We can start our project soon. smile.gif
kmarc
post Jun 9 2017, 06:24 PM

14,576 posts

Damn, missed my swing trade on SC. Look at it go. mad.gif

I test transferred some SC from Polo to Bittrex. Looks like lost in space again..... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(wengherng @ Jun 9 2017, 05:19 PM)
Hey everyone,

Just want to give a short announcement here that we will be starting v3 for the cryptocurrency thread.
Kmarc and myself will start it and work on it a bit (we want to start the thread properly with all the proper and useful information in the beginning).

So, please do NOT visit the new thread yet, and do NOT post anything there first, until we get it up and running, OK?
Meanwhile, let's continue to use this current thread still.

Thank you!
Great! Will await the new thread. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 9 2017, 06:25 PM
kmarc
post Jun 9 2017, 11:01 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 9 2017, 10:46 PM)
kmarc

Ethereum

Brief Introduction

How to best participate in ICOs (with parity node)

Download link
https://github.com/paritytech/parity/releases

Here in this video, the example shown is referring to the past Aragon token sale, however the format are all similar for future token sales.

You'll need:

- the contract address from the official ICO site/email, (NEVER trust 3rd party links/addresses)
- the starting block number of the ICO, in our experience with the past BAT ICO, you can and should send it 1-2 blocks earlier to be among the very first to contribute in a frenzy sale.
- sufficient gas limit to participate, not to be confused with gas price. Be sure to confirm this on their slack channel/reddit/twitter if it isn't shown on their site
- if you wish, feel free to tweak the gas price higher depending on how kiasu you want to be in the ICO. higher fees means faster confirmations

For every ETH sent to an ICO contract, you'll receive equivalent amounts of tokens according to their exchange rates, most of the time it's instant, but that depends on how they structure the sale. 

Create an offline PC environment for your Ether paper wallets

Noteworthy links to catch up on Ethereum news

https://www.reddit.com/r/ethereum/
- orange links are official releases from the core devs, also used to highlight important announcements.
- mainly focus on the technology and adoption aspect of Ethereum, price discussions aren't allowed here.
- core dev meetings are regularly held on the first and third Fridays of each month, there'll be livestream links and transcripts are provided a few days afterwards.
- Pay attention to the upvote count for submissions, anything over 200 upvotes deserves a read.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ethtrader/
- Daily discussion threads are highly active and spammy, sort by top comments to filter out the noise and gain some cool and interesting insights from redditors.
- Ignore the memes if you can, it's unavoidable when the price spikes to such level.
- Pay attention to the upvote count for submissions/news links, anything over 200 upvotes deserves a read.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ethtraderpro/
- secondary subreddit by ETH veterans, handy to skip through junk comments as the place will be moderated.
- all thread/comments deserves a read, ignore upvote counts.

http://www.weekinethereum.com/
- If you haven't subscribed to this weekly newsletter, do it now.
- Covers almost everything that's related to Etthereum, and it's all free.
- Spend some time going through all the interviews, they're all fascinating to read/watch.

https://timesofethereum.com/
- Ethereum developments/token sales on a handy calendar

https://www.smithandcrown.com/icos/
- ICO tracker, includes non-Ethereum ones as well
- Please read, listen, and watch as much as you can, do tons of research before putting any money on these ventures, 9/10 of these WILL fail, but 1 of them will make definitely make you rich. Tread carefully

Crypto podcast links
Read the show notes to pick your favorite topics if you find these overwhelming. Perfect to listen during daily commute

http://thebitcoinpodcast.com/
https://epicenter.tv/
https://soundcloud.com/consensys
http://unchained.forbes.libsynpro.com/
http://thecryptoshow.com/soundcloud/
https://letstalkbitcoin.com/blog/category/episodes
https://etherreview.info/tagged/podcast
Damn! Nicely done! thumbup.gif

Remember that you can reserve a few post and put all the info separately once the new thread is up and running. Looking forward to see your final guide on ethereum! thumbup.gif
kmarc
post Jun 9 2017, 11:30 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 9 2017, 11:06 PM)
lol that's it! the buying/trading guides are more than sufficient to cover ETH as well.

if there's anything to add feel free to top up more.
Great! I meant you can later separate them into a few post in the new thread and finalized everything then. smile.gif
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 06:56 AM

14,576 posts

Good morning guys! rclxm9.gif

Looks like cryptos is marching onwards and practically any altcoins you buy will probably go up in value. Of course, some more than others. It feels... surreal. Again, the feeling is like the euphoric 90s when any IPO or stocks that you buy will probably make you lots of money. I was too young (and poor!) to be in stocks at that time though. Instead of stocks and IPO, it is now cryptos and ICO. Whatever it is, again, please be careful. Invest only the amount you can afford to lose. And again, this may be the biggest bullrun in the history of mankind or the biggest bubble of the century.

Do invest in a hardware wallet if your amount is big.

I really miss Poloniex's trollbox as I could previously get updated info on a coin very fast. Now, I have to search for the information which sometimes reveals nothing. So sad......

Anyway, as wengherng has mentioned, we're starting a new thread with a proper guide in front. However, forumers didn't see the "memo" and posted inside there. Let's see whether I can get goldfries to help delete the post so that we can continue with the guide. If not, we will have to start all over again. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 10 2017, 06:57 AM
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 06:59 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 10 2017, 06:04 AM)
It's still depend on you being able to ensure zero malware and keylogger for your PC at all times.

For the tedious method, you can skip buying hardware wallets and dump a million there without much worry.
WooTz, the new thread is up but I'm asking goldfries to delete some of the post. If possible, I will continue the guide and when I have enough post, will get you to reserve yours and post your guides there. wink.gif
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 09:56 AM

14,576 posts

Wow, einsteinium is finally shooting! thumbup.gif
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 09:59 AM

14,576 posts

wengherng - I think you should reserve a post for the "address" issue. You did describe it nicely. smile.gif

WooTz - ok, I have reserved my post. You can start with yours. Besides ETH, hope you are also doing the topic on scams too. wink.gif Do add in others if you think it is important. Once you have finished, we will request goldfries to add in the part on mining.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 10 2017, 09:59 AM
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 11:29 AM

14,576 posts

Some interesting thing to read :

https://techcrunch.com/2017/06/07/what-the-...ncy-valuations/

http://www.coindesk.com/googles-director-e...invest-bitcoin/

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 10 2017, 11:32 AM
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 12:41 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ash1988 @ Jun 10 2017, 11:38 AM)
Lol dgb has been dumped like hell after the citi presentation.
Yeah, it was more or less expected. The usual buy on rumours and sell on news.
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 02:32 PM

14,576 posts

Damn, look at BTS shooting. I really missed trollbox as I can't get updated info anymore.

Here's the only thing I got:

https://themerkle.com/bitshares-bts-value-s...ut-of-the-blue/
https://steemit.com/bitshares/@rok-sivante/...e-crypto-market
https://twitter.com/bitshares?lang=en

Not too sure how high it can go. It had already taken 8th spot with a market cap of 900B! rclxub.gif https://coinmarketcap.com/

I think I will sell of 10% and see how.... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 10 2017, 02:33 PM
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 02:46 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ Jun 10 2017, 02:38 PM)
for those using MEW wallet do you store all ETH in one address or split to different addresses? Which way is better?
I store in different addresses. Don't like to store in only one address.
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 03:17 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(luotang @ Jun 10 2017, 02:50 PM)
because of security?

that means you hold a few addresses and private keys?
QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jun 10 2017, 03:09 PM)
wow u do generate alot of MEW then

good advice. Will adopt this too
I'm using ledger together with MEW. When I start the ledger on MEW, it actually shows 5 different addresses and can generate more if I wanted. I think there's only one private key generating a few addresses.

I guess it is for security. Also to avoid prying eyes. If you want to send me some ETH and I give you my address, you can actually see how much ETH or ERC20 tokens in that ETH address. So imagine if I hold 1,000,000,000 ETH in one address...... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(wengherng @ Jun 10 2017, 03:09 PM)
Time and tide wait for no man.
Fortune favours the brave.
Do your due diligence, arm yourself with knowledge, and then take action with faith.

Also remember, too much analysis leads to paralysis.
Yeah, last time when I was buying ETH, it was so painful. USD 30, ouch. USD 50, butthurt. USD 70, painful. USD 90, DAMN painful until I stopped buying ETH. Looking back, it is actually not painful at all....... biggrin.gif

Yeah, I stopped buying ETH at USD 90 as it was damn painful and I thought I can use the money to buy other altcoins. nod.gif

For bitcoin, I'm not buying anymore. I only buy bitcoins to buy altcoins. I still have 0.5 BTC in my hardware wallet! bruce.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 10 2017, 03:21 PM
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 03:47 PM

14,576 posts

wengherng - we're almost finished with the guide on v3. I have pm goldfries to add in mining info/videos and hopefully to pin it up. Once he has done that, can finalize the table of contents, remove the v3, and put "Guides in front page" in the topic subtitle. smile.gif
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 04:03 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 10 2017, 03:49 PM)
Woah bro I was scrolling through and saw "WHAT? 900B??" tongue.gif

Stratis is crashing. Dipped below 8USD momentarily and I snatched up a couple. Humongous sell wall of 70BTC @0.002916.
Lol. Typo. I was outside when I was 20+% discount but too late when I got home. Oh well.....
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 04:12 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Jun 10 2017, 03:51 PM)
Earlier this morning I was looking at 8k-9k sats, thinking it has already gone up by around 50% in a day so did not enter the market. Now  cool2.gif  CRYPTOLOGIC
Yeah, lending rates for BTS also shot up. Now lending at around 0.73%, earning about 2 - 2.5 BTS every half hour. I'm closely monitoring this as BTS borrowers have a tendency to let the loan go early.
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 04:44 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 10 2017, 04:32 PM)
Remember we can join ICOs with our Nano S through Parity node, need to turn off browser support first for it to appear.

Better not use MEW for everything, let newbies enjoy a lag free experience!
Yeah, I only realized that after reading your guide on parity in V3!

For some reason, I'm not into ICOs at the moment. Will wait and see what happens to my mobilego tokens. Should be listed on exchanges soon. I guess I should go for some good ICOs........ hmm.gif

But... but... you can't avoid MEW as you need to use MEW to store ETH and ERC20 tokens ma?

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 10 2017, 04:45 PM
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 05:01 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 10 2017, 04:53 PM)
Yeah, MEW is excellent for everything else, but during frenzy ICO times it'll fail spectacularly, meaning this month alone you can expect quite a few downtimes. We should educate others not to rely MEW to zerg rush into ICOs.
You must update yourself on ICOs, never take any investment advice, not even from me.

I'm a baby whale, so I can play ICO roulette these days, I just put 1-5 ETH on all ICOs just to flip and to see what happens.

If you set advance sending option on parity, you can pre-sign a transaction and it'll broadcast at your preferred starting block. Can set up and go outside/sleep while ICO occurs.

Btw guys, how can you not be bullish seeing the potential here?

https://blog.tokenbrowser.com/announcing-th...rs-93223a062113

We're creating a totally new kind of economy....
I see. Will have to check out parity node soon.

ETH already USD288, reaching 300 soon. Still baby whale? brows.gif

Can't read the link, it's on medium! mad.gif

On other news, Singapore dollar tokenized, MAS and ethereum : http://www.trustnodes.com/2017/06/07/singa...ority-singapore

The first line is my tagline! "The future is here"! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jun 10 2017, 05:02 PM
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 05:06 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Jun 10 2017, 04:59 PM)
Roger that!
Insane amount of valuable information there, I must say.  biggrin.gif
You should put info on addresses too.

I have a few ideas:
1) Addresses and capital letters - which you described previously
2) Keeping addresses handy so you don't have to connect your hardware wallet everytime you want to send coins to your wallet or you want to enjoy looking at your coins
3) Bookmarking explorer with coin address which makes it easy to check your coins.
4) Double- or triple-checking addresses before sending

etc.......
kmarc
post Jun 10 2017, 06:41 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 10 2017, 05:18 PM)
Winners of the hackthon, seeing this gives me shivers.

Those middlemen are going to be soooo disrupted.

http://imgur.com/a/FyDvk

Announcing the Token Hackathon Winners

TokenJun 10
Thanks to all who participated in the Token Hackathon from June 3–9! We are excited to announce the winners who will receive prizes totalling $25,000 in ETH and a Boost VC partner prize of a $25,000 seed investment (winner to be announced in a further update). More than 50 teams and individuals from around the world have spent the week hacking on what we believe could become some of the most popular apps built on the Ethereum network in the future.

This hackathon is just the start and we look forward to seeing many more applications built for Token in the coming weeks and months. If you missed the hackathon, didn’t have time to realize your full vision, or are passionate about a big new idea — be sure to connect with us on the Token Community Slack and we’ll help you on your way.
Token Prizes

Grand Prize — $10,000 worth of ETH

Winner: Proffer
Token: @profferjobs, @profferedu, @proffersort, @profferpairs, @profferhealth
Description: A protocol for social search and recommendations on the blockchain
2nd Place — $5,000 worth of ETH

Winner: Dharma
Token: @DharmaAssistant
Description: A decentralized protocol for peer-to-peer lending
3rd Place — $3,000 worth of ETH

Winner: Monetize StackExchange
Token: @token_stackexchange
Description: App that provides a way for users to place Ether bounties on their questions.
4th Place — $2,000 worth of ETH

Winner: Eth2cash
Token: @Eth2Cash
Description: Ethereum local trader.
Token — Best of the rest

$1,000 worth of ETH to each category among the runners-up:

Best bot personality

Winner: Pontifex
Token: @Pontifex
Description: App that pays out ether for forecasting outcomes.
Best mobile-friendly dapp UI

Winner: FlightBot
Token: @FlightBot
Description: Chatbot for the Etherisc FlightDelay DApp that allows for payouts on delayed or cancelled flights.
Best pull request to Token repos

Winner: Asketh
Token: @Asketh
Description: A chat-based exchange of questions and answers with economic incentives — contributed a short and sweet refactor to make payment request generation more flexible.
Best of societal value

Winner: EarnChinese
Token: @EarnChinese
Description: A model for incentivised learning. Stake a small amount of money and earn it back by practising Chinese.
Best branding

Winner: TradeBot
Token: @TradeBot
Description: A chat interface coupled with a high frequency trading algorithm
Boost VC Partner Prize

We will announce the winner in a later update for the award of acceptance into Boost VC and a $25,000 seed investment for the biggest vision

Token Prizes Judging Process

The Token team first screened apps for eligibility which were then carefully reviewed by our expert panel of guest judges Joey Krug (co-founder of Augur), Fred Ehrsam (co-founder of Coinbase), Juan Benet (founder of Protocol Labs), and Olaf Carlson-Wee (founder of Polychain Capital).

About Token

Token is an open source browser for the Ethereum network. Our mission is to provide universal access to financial services. Token is built like a web browser (we don’t host any of the apps or have access to customer funds). It is a piece of software that runs on the customer’s computer, and sensitive information (like private keys) never leave that computer.

We have official clients for Android and iOS today.

Token uses a variety of open protocols, including the Signal protocol by Whisper Systems for end-to-end encrypted chat, the Ethereum network to transfer value, the SOFA protocol to enable third party apps, and (coming soon) the uPort identity protocol to store user profiles.
Nice. This is BAT right?

The one that caught my attention is peer-to-peer lending!!! biggrin.gif

41 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 >Top

0.1302sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:39 AM