10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

LYN Toyota Avanza Owners V2, Discussions, Talks, Sharing

iverice
post Sep 7 2018, 11:10 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Jul 31 2018, 12:20 PM)
195 60 on stock rims. Ok, no issue. Only speedometer a bit off...like meter showing 80km/h actual like 75km/h. Cornering improved a lot, as I whack corner hard. J05 is slightly softer compare to those eco tyre, so expect to wear slightly faster. I rather wear slightly faster then to loose grip and accident, cost more then tyre if repair accident.

Will be change out the front soon too, maybe in 2 weeks time.
did u change yr front tyre already?
iverice
post Sep 7 2018, 02:12 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Sep 7 2018, 01:40 PM)
Yup, before SST thankfully....hahahaha

now awesome, also change from brake pads, Bosch, not good got sounds sometimes....suggest use back toyota original better....
u using rs ultra also right?
so now whack corner very gooding?
iverice
post Sep 7 2018, 06:11 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(eniltoh @ Sep 7 2018, 04:08 PM)
Also, has anyone experienced RPM slow to return to idle. My case is if I am on the move, on flat ground, after letting go of the gas pedal, the RPM is very reluctant to go below 1500 RPM. The speed does not increase but neither does it decrease. I have no choice but to bring it down using brake till car stop. I think this cause me to suffer high FC and also quicker wear on brakes and brake pads/shoes.
this rpm thing is definetely not normal, need to check for idle rpm timing, if can set it back to750 rpm try.
iverice
post Nov 15 2018, 01:34 PM

43 posts

i got offer rm300 for apm lowered spring for avanza plus installation, dont know want or not now.
iverice
post Nov 23 2018, 09:31 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Nov 23 2018, 01:49 AM)
Nope, this only happen once. The RPM went up to 2500 - 3000 rpm. After that day, no happen again until now.
But now my engine not so power already, I plan to change 2nd hand engine, anyone have salvage Avanza recommend ? Maybe can swap the engine with lower cost.
change engine??
i think u overhaul then ok ad
iverice
post Nov 23 2018, 08:47 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Nov 23 2018, 08:44 PM)
Changed before because the engine piston HABIS already , but not satisfy with the engine, suspect the engine he give me is more than 10 years jor, my car baru less than 8 years.
piston kong?? how aggressive u drive?
my avanza 2006 1.5 now 12 years ad still no prob on the engine part touchwood though, and i very frequent kick down and accelerate hard too.
iverice
post Nov 23 2018, 08:53 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Harold2009 @ Nov 23 2018, 08:50 PM)
Kedai potong really easy to find K3-VET half cut, nice & huge performance & torque upgrade! can be consider for those wanna to change engine.  icon_idea.gif
but avanza is rwd , power goes through a shaft to big ass rear differential wo, if i rmb correctly k3 vet is only fwd right.
iverice
post Nov 25 2018, 10:15 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Nov 25 2018, 08:33 PM)
Dont know what happen , suddenly one day I wakeup & start the engine, then the engine very loud, send to mechanic check, some say can repair the piston or change 1 pcs piston only, some say better change engine. Then I check few mechanic, change engine + other related stuff around rm10K, check with toyota change a new Avanza engine (mine is around 2009-2010) around rm27k exclude other related stuff. At last change half cut engine and when collect the car, only found out that engine more than 10 years, comes from a indonesia small lorry. WTF mad.gif

Almost one year already, now the engine like no power, dont know is the gear issue or what. Press until end also no power, the rpm goes high but the km/h go up normal. Recently one tank petrol only can go 280-300km(90%Highway). One year ago, one tank petrol can go 330-360km (90%Highway).

I missed my original engine  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif Original engine after 7 years I still can overtake people easily.
your fuel consumption definitely not normal, mine when put full tank then go highway, 50%highway confirm can at least 400km, if full city then cannot 400km though.
i think yr engine kong likr u said sad.gif
iverice
post Nov 26 2018, 10:14 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Harold2009 @ Nov 26 2018, 02:58 AM)
NA engine or course no power la! even you put 2.0L also under powered in an advanza. That's why I change whole engine to turbocharged one! Liqui Moly is a good motor oil, I use for all my gasoline & diesel engines, K3-VET is a turbo engine usually comes from half cut car imported from japan, to install in a avanza is not an issue, just take the engine, wiring and ecu and transplant in advanza, mine advanza is manual version & secondhand 12 years car brought from friend cash RM20K, install front custom intercooler, upgrade the stock turbo to TD05 and set the boost up to 1.4 bar, at dyno reading, 210 Nm torque quite satisfied, I pump shell/ petron Ron95, no power loss or engine knock issue, super easily to overtake any car even in uphill, K3-VET engine give me satisfied performance in my advanza while good fuel economy. The costs for an upgrade around RM10-11K included puspakom and JPJ endorsement.
wow, thats quite a mod on yr avanza bro.
btw did u change to lowered spring ?
if u did, whats your opinion?
iverice
post Nov 26 2018, 01:39 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Harold2009 @ Nov 26 2018, 01:26 PM)
All my vehicles included kancil, avanza and others must have turbo, no turbo =  no drive, underpowered and fuel guzzler because need pedal to max all time to achieve power, especially starting and hill climb. My spring is standard, but change aftermarket shock, here in Sabah lowered vehicle not suit my daily use, BTW, this MPV only can seat up max 4 passengers include driver, the rear end I use to transports goods and documents.  smile.gif
what shock u using?
im using kyb rs ultra silver colour one, feel its stiff when only me driving, if full load then its ok.
iverice
post Nov 29 2018, 10:21 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Nov 29 2018, 08:51 PM)
My front shocks KO, used about 40k km in KL potholes road. Lets see how much price went up. Any other recommendation for shocks?
how do you know yr shock Kong ad?? so fast
iverice
post Nov 30 2018, 09:53 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Nov 30 2018, 12:33 AM)
I change original from Toyota SC and outside workshop so called original also noisy. After that I change to brembo brand. I use for 12 months only (includes up down Genting 3 times & KL - Johor every months). No money buy full brembo kit, only can use brembo brand normal brake pads  brows.gif
brembo brake pad how much u buy oh?
got performance difference with normal brake pad?
iverice
post Dec 8 2018, 01:40 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Dec 8 2018, 10:51 AM)
When u go over speed bump, front flex downwards a lot. Rear I find still ok. KL roads like shit especially construction area.

This was Nov 2017 exclude GST 6%. Kayaba RS Ultra Front each.

1) rm148 shop near me
2) rm130 cathay motor HQ
3) rm165 cathay motor branch jln ipoh
4) rm120 SM mechanical jln ipoh after Nissan HQ

Now Dec 2018
1) Normal OEM shock mount rm55
4) Rm135 SM mechanical jln ipoh after Nissan HQ, Kayaba Top shock mount Rm55

They are agent, so unlikely normal shop can sell me cheaper. Now top shock mount not sure to buy ori or kayaba.
why yr shock mount got crack?
i think if the mount still look ok then no need chg, save some money, chg back rs ultra is good though
iverice
post Dec 17 2018, 12:42 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Dec 15 2018, 06:23 PM)
Now Dec 2018
1) Normal OEM shock mount rm55
2) Rm135 SM mechanical jln ipoh after Nissan HQ, Kayaba Top shock mount Rm55(No stock)
3) STC Auto Shock mount RM185 Original
4) Redzone Rm70 Thailand Toyota
5) A shop in sg buloh Rm68 Thailand Toyota

U should change the shock mount if hit 100k km, is not cracked but the rubber already shifted. After change shock n shock mount n alignment by a good uncle, slow n steady. Now feels like a new car again....hahaha...no more feeling want to sell....hahaha

After fitted the new shock mount, I don't mind changing it in next round only rm68. Better then keep original. Every 40k km I get awesome feeling again.

Total damage
135x2+68x2+120labor+113alignment etc = rm639....aiyo annually....die man.....seems like I should have kept my hilux....hahaha
wow, can explain whats the feel after changing the shock mount?
i need to change eng oil this weekend, thinking to change the shock mount too if like that.
iverice
post Mar 18 2019, 12:39 PM

43 posts

smile.gif+Mar 17 2019, 11:32 PM-->
QUOTE(kyan smile.gif @ Mar 17 2019, 11:32 PM)
Hi guys, seems like there are many Avanza expert here.. I got a big project for my 2006 F602 1.5L Avanza

Engine leak repair: quoted by Vanli
1. Flywheel oil SEAL RM55
2. Oil Pan gasket RM180
3. Timing cover gasket
4. Engine MOUNTING RM520 full set
5. Oil pump seal
6. Oil sump RM500
7. Valve cover gasket RM50
Labour RM700, parts RM1, 200

Auto Transmission
1. Transmission filter RM300
Labour RM150

Leg:
1. Strut Mount Ori RM200/ set or KYB RM130/ set
2. Stabilizer link 555 Japan RM100/ set
3. Lower Arm Ori RM1.2K per set or TRW RM500/ set
4. Absorber bush w. Cover RM100/ set
5. Stabilizer bar bush RM50/ set

RM1K without changing absorber, if absorber damaged extra RM500

TOTAL ENGINE, LEG & TRANSMISSION ABOUT RM3.5K

Planning for a new coat of paint Tri Pearl Black by Lian Hin Auto Body RM3K

3 questions:
1.Any suggestions how to cut back on repair?
2.Do you know of any good mechanic who can do it cheaper with reliable results? PM contact
3.Would you spend RM6K to refresh a 13 years old Avanza?

Thank you!
im not an expert but all the price quoted are very expensive, borderline cutthroat. cant say much about engine leak because u need to do it anyway, but find cheaper parts.
for the suspension, why do u need to change the lower arm, if its in good condition u dont need to change it.
i however recomend u to change the strut mount, Stabilizer link, Stabilizer bush, AND ALL ABSORBER ( for this, dont change to the black colour normal kyb shock, change to kyb RS ULTRA silver colour), KYB Rs Ultra is well worth the money, probabbly can get around 600-700 for all 4 pieces.
iverice
post Mar 20 2019, 08:42 AM

43 posts

smile.gif+Mar 19 2019, 09:27 PM-->
QUOTE(kyan smile.gif @ Mar 19 2019, 09:27 PM)
Today my spare part shop say kyb rs ultra is very hard, but forum all say good. So how ah
yes im using all four rs ultra, its very stiff, but compare to the stock skinny shock, i prefer the rs ultra, the stock shock will non stop bounce like no tomorrow because its too soft to damp the stock spring.

iverice
post Mar 20 2019, 09:42 PM

43 posts

smile.gif+Mar 20 2019, 06:49 PM-->
QUOTE(kyan smile.gif @ Mar 20 2019, 06:49 PM)
Is KYB UR ULTRA BOUNCY?MY spare part uncle say very bouncy compared to KYB Gas.. HELPPP

I use more for neighbourhood drive. Looking for something that lasts 5 years
i think u need to first understand the difference between bouncy and bumpy.

so for avanza, if u use stock shock absorber, after u encounter a bump, yr car will will bounce 3 or 4 times(the ideal rebound is to only rebound 1 time) after the bump especially for the rear, this is the most common problem for all avanza users. This is because the the stock skinny shock absorber is too soft to damp the stock spring, hence it cannot fully catch the motion of the spring, this is call bouncy.

now as for if u use a bigger and stiffer shock absorber for the avanza, the car will no longer bounce 3 or 4 times as to compare to the stock soft shock. the car will feel more planted and stable on the move, But u at the same time, u will feel the car is much more stiffer and harder when going rough road, u will feel more impact when going bump and rough road, this is Bumpy.

for me i dont like the soft shock and bouncy feeling of the stock shock, so i change to rs ultra which i like.
iverice
post Mar 22 2019, 03:31 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 22 2019, 02:34 PM)
Avanza is known to be bouncy at the back because of it's usage of leaf spring. If you want to reduce the stiffness, you need to change to stiff absorber.

As for the repairs, I will not spend 6k to repair such and old car because for second hand, you can get this car at around 15k. 5 years down the road, other parts will start to fail, you will end up spending another sum of money.

Another thing about the oil leaks. You do not need to replace everything. Generally mechanics in Malaysia are not powderful enough. They just lazy or do not know where to find the leak so they just ask you to change everything. Actually if they are able to pinpoint the exact leak, they can probably fix it just by maybe changing the oil seal. Also, by changing all the engine parts, what if the leak is somewhere else? You already changed those parts then the mechanic ask you to change another set of parts, you have to pay more!
uh sorry but please dont mislead other, all generation of toyota avanza are using coil spring in all four corner of the cars
u can just simply google and u can clearly its not leaf spring at the rear.

iverice
post Mar 29 2019, 04:39 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(andx517 @ Mar 29 2019, 03:04 PM)
Hi guys, just bought 4 pieces of APM performax absorber, hopefully its better than regular red absorber .. but the shop says i need to replace the absorber mounting and bush as well.. can i buy the kyb brand mounting and pair with apm absorber?? They are same right?? Thanks

[attachmentid=10215601]
yes, any brand of mount and bush will do, and i also recomand to change it together when u change yr shock. My mount and bush i even dont know the brand lol, but its doing fine.

PLease give a review of these apm shock absorber after u change it rclxms.gif
iverice
post Apr 4 2019, 12:19 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(butthead76 @ Apr 4 2019, 12:13 PM)
How much? Front? Rear?
I also want to know, but i bet apm is cheaper than RS ultra abit.

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0568sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:36 AM