LYN Toyota Avanza Owners V2, Discussions, Talks, Sharing
eniltoh
Jun 10 2019, 08:40 AM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 9 2019, 08:50 PM) Finally problem settle, it is the noozle problem. Cost me rm120, so totally rm200 for everything.  Glad to hear your problem is solved. May I ask what name is this part and where is this located in the engine bay? Update : I found out this is a avanza idle air control valve or IAC. Thanks ya. This post has been edited by eniltoh: Jun 10 2019, 09:08 AM
eniltoh
Jun 11 2019, 09:01 AM

Thanks for sharing. I think this is for 1.5 if not mistaken. Does anyone here know if 1.3 engine for first gen has this IAC or not?
eniltoh
Jun 20 2019, 05:37 PM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jun 17 2019, 08:58 PM) But I change 2 XM2 tyre last few weeks, the workshop free alignment and balancing for me, but after few days or after 50km, feel like alignment run again, run to the before one My alignment run since many years already, no matter who do alignment also run, so I always no do alignment, no need waste money Is it normal if alignment run ? Run to a specific angle only, no matter re-alignment how many times, after few day will back to the angle 5 years ago, got one workshop tell me chamber BENGKOK already thats why affect alignment but I went to many shop say my chamber good. I have to go under my car many times to get the alignment almost right. Last time everytime have to fight with the steering wheel to keep the car going straight. Now just hold it ok already. Not sure why and whether the camber is correct or not or other things causing it.
eniltoh
Aug 30 2019, 10:17 AM

Changed 1st gen avanza front passenger wheel bearing last Monday. Noisy when cornering at first. Later further wear and tear made even driving in straight line noisy as speeds climb. Total damage RM90 bearing Koyo (purchased from spare part shop), send to workshop, workmanship + pump bearing (they don't have in house pump) RM65. Total damage RM155 and 3 hours time but most important, peace of mind travelling
eniltoh
Aug 31 2019, 01:14 PM

My case was a low rumbling sound as speeds build.
eniltoh
Nov 30 2019, 09:00 PM

Had trouble changing out my brake shoes again as unable to take the retaining clip out to release the arm that connects the handbrake to the shoes. Looking at both the shoes, only the front part of the shoes are worn whereby the rear shoes are still thick. Ended up just changing one part of the shoes. I guess it will take some time to bed them.
eniltoh
Dec 2 2019, 06:37 PM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Oct 29 2019, 09:33 PM) recently change two tyres too, but forgot to replace the spare tyre, omg  the spare tyre wasted already, almost 4 years ++ already, cannot pakai liao My spare tyre even worst. I just saw the date 2004  and spare tyre 14 inch running tyres 15 inch
eniltoh
Dec 9 2019, 10:31 AM

maybe get a mechanic to check it. a serviced car is miles better than kena stranded during travels.
eniltoh
Dec 11 2019, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Dec 9 2019, 08:08 PM) but overall no issue ohh, just the acceleration during 1st gear quite slow/rough. btw, my fuel consumption getting serious recently. last time one tank 35litres for 350kms = 1litre 10km now 35litres for 180km-200km normal drive, not much traffic jam or idle waiting any mechanic recommend ? no idea whether the engine oil dirty already thats why so makan minyak No mentionable mechanic so far. After my last fiasco with avanza aircond until the mechanic has to take to another shop after umpteen times trying to fix my aircond problem, I lost faith  Going there only because it is within walking distance from me
eniltoh
Dec 13 2019, 04:52 PM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Dec 11 2019, 07:58 PM) whats your aircond problem ? but Toyota damn nice haha, compare to other brand, i feel Toyota quality better and can use longer I think initially the mechanic was trying to help me to save money by using recon compressor. However, I guess my Avanza didn't like it so show me face lor. Last last need to change to new one.
eniltoh
Dec 14 2019, 04:52 PM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Dec 13 2019, 06:34 PM) oh i see, after change can use atleast another 8 years  Don't think can wait till 8 years. Now need plan visit to car doc (after 2 years) as aircond not cutting...ie not cold enough
eniltoh
Dec 14 2019, 08:14 PM

QUOTE(iverice @ Dec 14 2019, 08:00 PM) just changed the rear panhard rod bushes. u guys if yr car rear got some ratting sound when go bump or rough road, can consider chg this, the bush is not expensive, rm20 or so. thanks for sharing
eniltoh
Dec 17 2019, 03:52 PM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Dec 16 2019, 03:48 PM) okay bro, update us haha is there any active avanza club or group ? so we can meetup lepak or yumcha Sent car in to workshop near Sunway Pyramid. Mechanic suggested I change the compressor (2nd hand) which is rattling according to him and the the expansion valve (new) and condenser (new) but he said before change the compressor, he will check if there are any sludge coming out after taking it out, if there is, it means the compressor is grinding/worn. Total came up to RM960 with labour . Didn't manage to ask him for the bill for the breakdown but if I got him correctly the 2nd hand compressor was RM280, condenser RM350 and expansion valve RM150 or thereabouts for 2 days work. Hope can last longer this time. Am I asking too much from a 216k km car? Before I forget, he also suggested I service my aircond every year. Now, turn up to 2 o'clock also can cut means cold enough but then again, these few days, the weather has been pleasant. All work done in engine bay. Inside cabin no touch.    
eniltoh
Jan 7 2020, 12:23 PM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jan 6 2020, 08:07 PM) After done this RM8,111, the performance as power as new unit ? different a lot compare to 10 years old engine ? May i know where you did this ? This consider overhaul right ? I done half cut engine + change some parts/hose for 1.5cc around rm9k-10k in 2017. Include brakepad, other fluid as well. No idea what they did, they just write "half cut engine + services". I would think since it is not all new, the power could be somewhat less compared to a run in new engine where everything is working properly. However, if given a choice to overhaul or half cut, I would do overhaul as I know which parts are changed and could last in the longer run. In half cut, we do not know what is the history of the parts in the half cut engine, whether they are on the way out or newly replaced etc etc. Just my 2 sen.
eniltoh
Jan 8 2020, 08:12 PM

QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Jan 8 2020, 07:29 PM) thanks bro for the advice you guys still using avanza as your primary car or weekend car ? Still used as daily driver. Yesterday my alarm and central locking kaput. not sure what happened. Now look like Axia E. (updates 20200109) problem fixed. 15A D/L fuse in driver side kick panel blow already. Replaced and now working fine Recently went on a trip to Penang and came back fully loaded with humans and sea water in 3 x 10 litre plastic bottles, 3 x 5 litre plastic bottles, 3 x 1.25 litre plastic bottles. Really heavy so drive slow. I think I overloaded it so no choice but to drive very slowly. Max was I think 80km/h This post has been edited by eniltoh: Jan 9 2020, 09:29 PM
eniltoh
Jan 18 2020, 01:50 PM

Perhaps you can try to buy the part in spare part shop and goto shop for labour only? Maybe cheaper.
eniltoh
Jan 18 2020, 02:23 PM

I tend to agree with you to use original but if time is on your side, by buying online, you are saving RM50 already for the pump alone. If you trust your mechanic, then you can leave everything to them, else, please standby to watch what goes into your car.
This post has been edited by eniltoh: Jan 18 2020, 02:23 PM
eniltoh
Jan 19 2020, 02:36 PM

under normal operation, no vibrate. Maybe the brake disc is warped due to overheated (sometimes, coming down from the highlands can cause this to happen).
eniltoh
Feb 13 2020, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(eniltoh @ Jan 8 2020, 08:12 PM) Still used as daily driver. Yesterday my alarm and central locking kaput. not sure what happened. Now look like Axia E. (updates 20200109) problem fixed. 15A D/L fuse in driver side kick panel blow already. Replaced and now working fine Recently went on a trip to Penang and came back fully loaded with humans and sea water in 3 x 10 litre plastic bottles, 3 x 5 litre plastic bottles, 3 x 1.25 litre plastic bottles. Really heavy so drive slow. I think I overloaded it so no choice but to drive very slowly. Max was I think 80km/h Burn through 2 more 15A fuses again before upgrading the d/l fuse to 20A. This must have burned through whatever that was failing. Luckily didn't catch fire. After putting in 20A fuse, noticed front passenger side auto lock gun not working (have replaced this part before with a non original but apparently this was the culprit). Relaced auto lock gun before start of CNY till now no problem
eniltoh
Feb 16 2020, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(hjack @ Feb 13 2020, 09:06 PM) Since you have found the cause and rectified, you must use back the original rated fuse. Not negotiable bro. Since burnt through all of them, haven't got time to replenish yet but thanks for reminding. QUOTE(waiwai_wai @ Feb 15 2020, 11:52 PM) Is okay bro, fuse burn normal case, buy some spare unit and keep it. Cheap haha Those new car more easily fuse burned. Few friends kena already. What tyre are you using ? You put all the water at the rear side ? You try to put all in the middle row. You will feel amazing, you can drive faster, not feel heavy.  185/65/R15 and i think riding on bump stop all the way so drove i think 60 or 70 on country roads and 80 on highway. Middle also no space already because ferrying 6 pax + luggage + the water lor. I did a check back, the big bottles max can hold 9.5 litre...not 10 litres