5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

> Stainless Steel Water Bottle, What are the differences?

TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:06 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Mar 6 2017, 01:50 PM)
Different in material and construction. Usually such bottle is used for many many years, so the money is justified to get good one.  Tiger and Thermos are both good brand, Zebra is a cheaper Thailand alternative. Never ever goes cheap, especially on the gasket material.

- Thicker vs thinner steel. Matters in term of heat/cold holding and toughness when dropped.
- Double wall vs single wall.  Double wall will retain heat/cold much longer.
- Double walled bottom (thermos type) or just plain bottom.  Again, got to do with heat/cold retention.
- Cap spout design. Is it pourable, drip proof, etc.
- Cap material. If you are storing hot water, you might want a better thermo plastic material.
- Gasket material. Usually silicon gasket to ensure water tightness. If you store hot water, you want better silicon seal material. Cheap bottle will sees the gasket material degrade fast over time, not to mention leaching dangerous chemical into the water.
- Other function.... useful or not, depends on you.
Thank you very much for your valuable information.
Baconateer
post Mar 6 2017, 02:06 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Mar 6 2017, 02:05 PM)
Thanks for your advice.
I use it every day. I literally bring it everywhere I go. Malls, futsal, gym etc.
ya.. especially things tht store ur drinking water.. dont skimp on it..
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:08 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 6 2017, 01:54 PM)
Looking at the options, I'd pick Zebra.
I bought many Zebra stainless steel products from Thailand.
They are good quality products.

I have no faith in China made stainless steel products.
I have a feeling Thermos' products are China made as well.

Last but not least, please come back throwing some punches at Diablo the Dark Lord.
It is been too long you leave your Nephalem brethren behind.
Thanks for your input.

Yes, after doing research I believe Zebra is the best of the rest with the best being Thermos, Tiger and the other Japanese brand.
I need to search where Thermos is manufactured in.

Hmmm I don't really get your last paragraph.
A bit lost here. Care to explain?
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:09 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(TenSou @ Mar 6 2017, 01:37 PM)
It's $20 on amazon, I remember seeing it for sale for around RM80+ at shopee. Not sure if it's still available.
Thanks for your input. A lot of things are much cheaper in USA. However when we ship it to Msia, it evens out or becomes even more expensive.
Really frustrating when I go on Amazon. They earn so much more and have much more variety of products and their prices are cheaper.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:10 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Mar 6 2017, 02:06 PM)
ya.. especially things tht store ur drinking water.. dont skimp on it..
Correct. I guess it's Zebra vs the Japs &Thermos for me now.
azbro
post Mar 6 2017, 02:10 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Mar 6 2017, 02:04 PM)
Thanks for your input.
I've ditched the China branded ones from my list.
After 2 month all of it happened, receipt also I throw away oledi

I had to contact the main distributor here and send pictures to them showing it was not my fault, then went back to the shop I purchased it to get another one...dem hassle.
ozak
post Mar 6 2017, 02:23 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 6 2017, 01:54 PM)
Looking at the options, I'd pick Zebra.
I bought many Zebra stainless steel products from Thailand.
They are good quality products.

I have no faith in China made stainless steel products.
I have a feeling Thermos' products are China made as well.

Last but not least, please come back throwing some punches at Diablo the Dark Lord.
It is been too long you leave your Nephalem brethren behind.
Thermos is Japan brand and made in Malaysia.

The factory is in shah alam.
ScooterBoi
post Mar 6 2017, 03:00 PM

1,372 posts

Invented in 1892 by Sir James Dewar, a scientist at Oxford University, the "vacuum flask" was not manufactured for commercial use until 1904, when two German glass blowers formed Thermos GmbH. They held a contest to name the "vacuum flask" and a resident of Munich submitted "Thermos", which came from the Greek word "Therme" meaning "hot".

History of the Themos Company: http://www.kitchenkapers.com/hisofthercom.html

Set up of ThermosĀ® Malaysia manufacturing plant, Top Thermo Mfg in 1989
http://thermosmalaysia.com/history/

gaman
post Mar 6 2017, 03:06 PM

88 posts

I have a few Thermos products, love them.

If you want to keep your drink cold or hot for very long time, make sure the flask is "vacuum" insulated. Not only double walled. It should be stated on the product. If not, don't buy.

A lot of of cheaper flasks are either using only double walled or foam insulation. Even lower ranges Thermos are foam insulated. So choose carefully.

Now some Thermos products are made in China, as long as it is "vacuum" insulated, it is good.

This post has been edited by gaman: Mar 6 2017, 03:12 PM
chrono7
post Mar 6 2017, 03:14 PM

442 posts

I have 3 thermos product and they serve me well.

2 made in china while the other one made in malaysia.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 06:34 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 6 2017, 02:23 PM)
Thermos is Japan brand and made in Malaysia.

The factory is in shah alam.
Thanks for your info.
All their products for the Malaysian market is made in Malaysia?
Or some are imported from China and Japan?
eaglehelang
post Mar 6 2017, 06:38 PM

1,075 posts

Now some of Thermos model having 20% discount at AEON.
Cheaper one is the usual flask RM45 or RM48 for 0.5 litre. To keep plain hot or cold water is ok.
Coffee or tea need to buy the bigger opening ones, more expensive
SkyCaptain
post Mar 6 2017, 06:41 PM

262 posts

Zojirushi is better than Tiger and Thermos.

idoblu
post Mar 6 2017, 06:44 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Where to find this type of thermo kettle?

SUSSKY233
post Mar 6 2017, 06:47 PM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

that brand name --> Relax laugh.gif
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 06:51 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(chrono7 @ Mar 6 2017, 03:14 PM)
I have 3 thermos product and they serve me well.

2 made in china while the other one made in malaysia.
So not all of their products are made in Malaysia. Hard to tell which country it's made in as there is no info on their website.
I've sent them an email. But I would say there is not much of a difference between Malaysia and China. If it was Japan it would definitely be on a different level.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 06:53 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(gaman @ Mar 6 2017, 03:06 PM)
I have a few Thermos products, love them. 

If you want to keep your drink cold or hot for very long time, make sure the flask is "vacuum" insulated. Not only double walled. It should be stated on the product. If not, don't buy.

A lot of of cheaper flasks are either using only double walled or foam insulation. Even lower ranges Thermos are foam insulated. So choose carefully.

Now some Thermos products are made in China, as long as it is "vacuum" insulated, it is good.
Hi thanks for your input. That is a very valuable advice re:vacuum.
Thankfully the Thermos that I am eying is vacuum insulated.

Yeah, I don't think there would be much of a difference between China and Malaysia unlike Japan or a developed Western country.

TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 06:54 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Mar 6 2017, 03:00 PM)
Invented in 1892 by Sir James Dewar, a scientist at Oxford University, the "vacuum flask" was not manufactured for commercial use until 1904, when two German glass blowers formed Thermos GmbH. They held a contest to name the "vacuum flask" and a resident of Munich submitted "Thermos", which came from the Greek word "Therme" meaning "hot".

History of the Themos Company: http://www.kitchenkapers.com/hisofthercom.html

Set up of ThermosĀ® Malaysia manufacturing plant, Top Thermo Mfg in 1989
http://thermosmalaysia.com/history/
Thanks for the information.
ozak
post Mar 6 2017, 07:04 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Mar 6 2017, 06:34 PM)
Thanks for your info.
All their products for the Malaysian market is made in Malaysia?
Or some are imported from China and Japan?
So far 3 thermos that I buy (2 tumbler and 1 mug) is from Malaysia.

Do not buy from china. Their price are more higher. When I shop in shenzhen.
ozak
post Mar 6 2017, 07:07 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Mar 6 2017, 06:44 PM)
yes starbuck one is good, high quality, better design then others.
Using 1 for coffee everyday. 12oz.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >

0.0191sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:50 PM