> Stainless Steel Water Bottle, What are the differences?

TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 12:39 PM, updated 8y ago

980 posts

I am currently using BPA free plastic water bottles. My job requires me to drive around a lot therefore the water bottle is in the car most of the time. It really annoys me that the water gets warm after a while.

I am on the look out for a stainless steel bottle. The price varies massively.
Are there really huge differences in quality to justify the price differences or is it really just the "branding"?
There are others that are even more expensive than Thermos such as Tiger and Zojirushi.

Thermos with 5 years warranty RM205
http://thermosmalaysia.com/product/hydrati...uch-ffz-series/

ThermoCafe RM100 with 5 years warranty
http://www.lazada.com.my/genuine-thermos-1...a-12787958.html

Relax (China) RM61
https://potskitchenware.com/drinkware/relax...with-free-pouch

Relax (China) RM83
http://aino.com.my/products/eating-enterta...ask-1000ml.html

Zebra (Thailand) RM93
http://www.lazada.com.my/zebra-vacuum-flas...91.html?rb=1574

No name from Lazada RM63
http://www.lazada.com.my/1000ml-stainless-...ck-4227142.html

TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 01:27 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 6 2017, 01:15 PM)
Put a ice box in the boot , fill with ice , stuff as many drinks  you want , can easily last few days , ice ice cold water or drinks
Thanks for the suggestion but I am not looking for that option.
And what if it spills? bangwall.gif biggrin.gif
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 01:28 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(audi90 @ Mar 6 2017, 01:12 PM)
Zojirushi brand also ok
Even more expensive than Thermos bangwall.gif
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 01:29 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(ken_hidaibuki @ Mar 6 2017, 01:02 PM)
My suggestion if u r in a tight budget, zebra flask shud be the best choice. Even tho its made in thailand.. Zebra is a renound thailand brand..
Thanks for your input. Yup I understand that Zebra has been around for a long time. It's an ISO company.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 01:30 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(pagi makan roti @ Mar 6 2017, 12:50 PM)
Bpa ones only good for one year. Less than that.

Since my units always broken i opt for only stainless steel botol.

U guys need drillz?
I heard that too that it lasts just a year. But is it due to the plastic or wear and tear?
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 01:32 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Mar 6 2017, 12:43 PM)
the difference in price is the difference of the duration of the temperature it can keep.

i however would get a standard brand rather than no brand or some china unknown brand.

some can keep the temperature for long hours, up to 24 hours. some only 12 hours. and lousy shit can last maybe 3 or 4 hours
Thanks for your input. Really appreciate it.

Regarding the temperature, it doesn't really matter to me. I am not going camping or like that. Just need to last me at least 6 hours.
And I am not going to put cold drink. Just room temperature. That is why I never looked into stainless steel before plus it's so expensive.
But it's really annoying now that within an hour my water is warm.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 01:33 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(TenSou @ Mar 6 2017, 12:45 PM)
Contigo has good reviews for keeping things hot or cold for a very long time. I'm not sure if the capacity is enough for you.

Price is way too high for the size. Thanks for your suggestion though. I'll stick to Thermos if I want to spend that kind of money.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 01:34 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(Kam Tze @ Mar 6 2017, 12:42 PM)
purity of the stainless steel used perhaps?
Yes there are some codes like 18/8 that's used by Thermos. I guess that's the standard.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 01:35 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Mar 6 2017, 12:41 PM)
if you can afford it go for the established brand like thermos
Thanks for your input. Thermos is definitely a brand that I would prefer if I decide to spend RM200. Not gonna go over and buy Tiger or the other Japanese brand. It's just too much.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:02 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Mar 6 2017, 01:39 PM)
then a normal one would do. those at RM50 price range i think.
Thanks for your input.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:03 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(cicak.fakir @ Mar 6 2017, 02:00 PM)
He's always on the road, and want his drink chilled under the sun, not boiling hot when he returns to vehicle.

Plus, why risks breaking glass on the road. What if got into an accident and the glass bottle states flying around.
Correct. Glass bottle will get hot. And it's fragile.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:03 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(cicak.fakir @ Mar 6 2017, 01:58 PM)
Where do you think the common household category "thermos" get its name from?

Don't tempt with fake. Get the branded one for safety, reliability, longevity, satisfaction.

Plain water will taste like you've never drank one before.
Thanks for your advice.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:04 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Mar 6 2017, 01:43 PM)
I buy china brand RM75, leaking, lousy design, seals dun last

Go buy establish brands
Thanks for your input.
I've ditched the China branded ones from my list.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:05 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Mar 6 2017, 01:45 PM)
if u r planning to use it everyday..

spend abit more..get a brand with establish reputation and quality la..
Thanks for your advice.
I use it every day. I literally bring it everywhere I go. Malls, futsal, gym etc.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:06 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Mar 6 2017, 01:50 PM)
Different in material and construction. Usually such bottle is used for many many years, so the money is justified to get good one.  Tiger and Thermos are both good brand, Zebra is a cheaper Thailand alternative. Never ever goes cheap, especially on the gasket material.

- Thicker vs thinner steel. Matters in term of heat/cold holding and toughness when dropped.
- Double wall vs single wall.  Double wall will retain heat/cold much longer.
- Double walled bottom (thermos type) or just plain bottom.  Again, got to do with heat/cold retention.
- Cap spout design. Is it pourable, drip proof, etc.
- Cap material. If you are storing hot water, you might want a better thermo plastic material.
- Gasket material. Usually silicon gasket to ensure water tightness. If you store hot water, you want better silicon seal material. Cheap bottle will sees the gasket material degrade fast over time, not to mention leaching dangerous chemical into the water.
- Other function.... useful or not, depends on you.
Thank you very much for your valuable information.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:08 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Mar 6 2017, 01:54 PM)
Looking at the options, I'd pick Zebra.
I bought many Zebra stainless steel products from Thailand.
They are good quality products.

I have no faith in China made stainless steel products.
I have a feeling Thermos' products are China made as well.

Last but not least, please come back throwing some punches at Diablo the Dark Lord.
It is been too long you leave your Nephalem brethren behind.
Thanks for your input.

Yes, after doing research I believe Zebra is the best of the rest with the best being Thermos, Tiger and the other Japanese brand.
I need to search where Thermos is manufactured in.

Hmmm I don't really get your last paragraph.
A bit lost here. Care to explain?
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:09 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(TenSou @ Mar 6 2017, 01:37 PM)
It's $20 on amazon, I remember seeing it for sale for around RM80+ at shopee. Not sure if it's still available.
Thanks for your input. A lot of things are much cheaper in USA. However when we ship it to Msia, it evens out or becomes even more expensive.
Really frustrating when I go on Amazon. They earn so much more and have much more variety of products and their prices are cheaper.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 02:10 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Mar 6 2017, 02:06 PM)
ya.. especially things tht store ur drinking water.. dont skimp on it..
Correct. I guess it's Zebra vs the Japs &Thermos for me now.
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 06:34 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 6 2017, 02:23 PM)
Thermos is Japan brand and made in Malaysia.

The factory is in shah alam.
Thanks for your info.
All their products for the Malaysian market is made in Malaysia?
Or some are imported from China and Japan?
TSbarca96
post Mar 6 2017, 06:51 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(chrono7 @ Mar 6 2017, 03:14 PM)
I have 3 thermos product and they serve me well.

2 made in china while the other one made in malaysia.
So not all of their products are made in Malaysia. Hard to tell which country it's made in as there is no info on their website.
I've sent them an email. But I would say there is not much of a difference between Malaysia and China. If it was Japan it would definitely be on a different level.

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0170sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:31 AM