Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
tailtwist
Jun 12 2017, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jun 11 2017, 03:48 PM) Not really, I got one friend who failed on his first attempt, he was told to submit in 6 month afterward which stated in the rejection letter. Guess it is depending on case by case basis. Yes..the rejection letter will state the 'cooldown' period
tailtwist
Jul 6 2017, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jul 6 2017, 10:56 AM) i dunno y ppl say sg expenses expensive i assume that fella never work in KL before notice my friends who never work in msia, would not see how good working in sg is... u can save alot of money in SG i save more money here compare than I did working in KL the disposal income here is high welcome to singapore, it is very safe here, u might even extend ur stay here too bcuz of the disposal income plus the quality of life u can get whilst sacrificing bigger housing to hdb which for my case is acceptable Yes agree....you can save alot of money, and the SG dollar spending power is there against other currenceis(USD/NZD/AUD/HKG/NTW/RMB etc etc), every SG$1 saved == MYR3.x +/-
tailtwist
Jul 10 2017, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 10 2017, 08:37 AM) Just gotten my tax bill this year. Pain. Thank you for your contribution to the nation!!
tailtwist
Jul 10 2017, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jul 10 2017, 08:51 AM) How many % is taxes in SG? min to max? https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/Quick-Link...come-Tax-Rates/
tailtwist
Jul 10 2017, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(aLertz @ Jul 10 2017, 10:09 AM) so late 1? i already paid like more than a month ago  Yes...IRAS wont collect/send out 1 shot......i gotten my a week back.......but till now my wife have yet to receive the letter from IRAS too.
tailtwist
Jul 10 2017, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(ITzai @ Jul 10 2017, 10:18 AM) Let's say for year 2016 I no need pay any tax since not over 183 days.. so next year tax the income for 2016 and 2017 will be combine for taxing or it will be separate? https://www.iras.gov.sg/IRASHome/Individual...s--Foreigners-/WRONG Your employment income is taxed at 15% or progressive resident rates, whichever gives rise to a higher tax amount. Director's fees and other income are taxed at the prevailing rate of 20% (22% from the Year of Assessment 2017). You are not entitled to tax reliefs.
tailtwist
Jul 14 2017, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(kykylala @ Jul 14 2017, 12:09 PM) Hi all. I'll be working in SG in few months time. Need some recommendation for place to stay since I'll be working around CBD area. if you can afford...tanjong pagar/redhill/queenstown....bugis....lavender...nearby MRT stations...
tailtwist
Jul 14 2017, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(samtbt38 @ Jul 14 2017, 03:46 PM) well thats good to hear, but if they dont reject why still pending, as long it's still pending there's always a chance to reject. this anxiety is killing me  well the longer its pending more likely the higher chances of approval....my wife waited from ICA her citizenship application...approved...after 1 year long of wait...
tailtwist
Jul 17 2017, 08:09 AM
QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 16 2017, 11:31 PM) 3 adult 1 baby, 4 pet, parents and in laws take turn to stay over to take care the baby, full air con, living room aircon 24/7, electric water gas and telco per month 800 to 1k. Maintenance 4k per month. Those people that say here cheap and affordable compare to Malaysia should be doing very well. that 4k per month would includes "paying" for your parents/parents-in-law "expenses" to a certain extend.....plus i'm pretty sure u dont live in a HDB...more likely a private housing.
tailtwist
Jul 17 2017, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Jul 17 2017, 12:53 PM) my SG PR application status is still pending after i sent my letter of explanation to clarify something on my employer.If i resign now and get a new job, do I need to cancel and resubmit a new PR application? You will most probably need a letter from your new company, stating that you're employed by them...as what position/salary...also ICA may require you to send a new annex form..the company sponsor detail portion.
tailtwist
Jul 17 2017, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(Thunderbolt8 @ Jul 17 2017, 01:33 PM) will the local companies in SG willing to sponsor (as in writing a letter) if the foreign employee for e.g. Malaysian would like to apply for PR? because employer needs to pay CPF for the employee also right if the employee is a PR, whereas if the employee remains in employment pass then the company don't have to pay these. correct me if i am wrong. thanks. That's up the hiring company lor......then again...if you do get converted to PR...they'll can have hire more foreign worker
tailtwist
Jul 17 2017, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 17 2017, 01:40 PM) I am coming singapore for few days in coming weeks. Singapore got budget hotel ma? 5footwayinn this one more like backpacker....search around for backpacker hotel...if you are on a tight budget
tailtwist
Jul 18 2017, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 17 2017, 02:03 PM) no need too tight la... RM150-200 will do per nght.. LOL that rates...SGD50++ backpackers rates liao...unless you really wanna stay at "Hotel 81" or "Fragrance Hotel"
tailtwist
Jul 18 2017, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(evangelinezhang @ Jul 18 2017, 10:18 AM) Today 1st experience taking coach back to Singapore as I normally taking plane for 2 ways. For some reason, I feel wana take night coach so upon arrival to Singapore at about 5am+ there is massive bunch of people entering to Singapore for work and I was sardine as well. The body odour, bad breath and smelly clothes really unbearable when I was being push and sardine. I almost vomited with those disgusting smell and environment. I wondering is it worth for these people travelling in and out on the daily basis? Well....they earn SGD...but spend MYR...thats 3.1x.....those malaysian staying in JB....why not....why do i still wanna rent a room in SG...when i can opt to stay in JB...be it rented or better still with family members....
tailtwist
Jul 25 2017, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(Riolis @ Jul 25 2017, 05:11 PM) Small questions, employer will setup an appointment at MOM for me this Friday. Can I go home after that appointment or I need to wait for the EP pass to be received before I can go home? this appointment at MOM is to submit your EP application correct? If its so...yes...you can head home...
tailtwist
Jul 25 2017, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(Riolis @ Jul 25 2017, 05:42 PM) I think so. I need to bring my original certs and IPA so I think I'm that step. Thank you! Glad I can go home. Cheaper going home then staying at hotel until my rental starts a week after that. you can check with the officer during submission...or the letter u get will tell you roughly when you can collect your EP/S-Pass
tailtwist
Jul 28 2017, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(god2077 @ Jul 27 2017, 04:43 PM) 3.18 liao........
tailtwist
Jul 28 2017, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jul 28 2017, 01:23 PM) PR cant get EC/BTO, correct me if i am wrong. Only resale HDB for PR. Yes...only resale HDB....or else for those high fliers....private condo/apartment
tailtwist
Jul 30 2017, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(lexleeie @ Jul 30 2017, 06:02 PM) hello all, I have a little bit of a question here. I have been in Singapore for about 3 years, and I got my PR one year ago. The thing is, I will be working in another country (not sent by my current company based in Singapore, but a totally different company in another country). I understand that if I do not work in Singapore for the next few years, my PR will have a very slim chance of being renewed. This is ok I guess, BUT If i decide to come back to SG, say after 5 years (when I am no longer a PR), will I still be able to get an EP? I have heard "rumours" of people being rejected even for EPs when their PR renewal was not approved. cause singapore PR is a working PR....u dont work...u dont contribute to the nation..eg Tax/CPF etc etc... That rumor maybe because of many other factors...its not like because their REP has expired and that you no longer work in SG and then when you try to apply for EP..the EP is then rejected This post has been edited by tailtwist: Jul 31 2017, 07:56 AM
tailtwist
Jul 31 2017, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(god2077 @ Jul 31 2017, 10:59 AM) Change job u need to re apply the EP am i right? yes...cause EP is tied to the company...unless your's is a PEP....Personalize Employment Pass