Working in Singapore V20, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

kevin613
post Mar 22 2017, 01:27 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Mar 21 2017, 04:08 PM)
Anyone tried calling Citibank to waive your card annual fee? tongue.gif

I use the PremierMiles.
i did, and they waived on the spot with no questions asked. using PremierMiles too.
OCBC absolutely wont waive, so i cancelled their card.
UOB waived after 1 week of calling in.
kevin613
post Apr 24 2017, 12:51 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt8 @ Apr 21 2017, 09:11 AM)
hi everyone, wanna ask are we able to receive the banking TAC on our Malaysian sim card (roaming enabled) when we are at Singapore?
yes it works.
just switch on your mobile, SMS will come in just like they normally would.
kevin613
post May 26 2017, 10:36 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ May 26 2017, 09:40 AM)
Why quote me  blink.gif ?

Most answer given at the reply.

The nationality of the child is to follow either one of the parents. Can give birth but will be more expensive than Malaysia, and after that need to find nanny or family members with long term visit pass to come over to take care of your wife and baby. And harder to get those herbal food your wife need to eat. Actually I don't know why I chose to give birth in SG. So expensive  puke.gif .

SG birth cert just to say this baby born here only. Go embassy apply Malaysian birth cert with MY citizenship. Then you either apply PR for the baby, not sure about SG citizenship, or LTVP for the baby to stay if don't want apply PR.
additional note for PR application for baby born in SG, no need e-appointment, just bring all the documentation, and walk in to ICA.
kevin613
post Jun 14 2017, 07:27 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jun 14 2017, 12:27 AM)
you need to do it within a year of coming into Singapore (as employee) else you need to do the full practical. I heard only not sure but that is what everyone is telling me.

i did it dead on one yr anniversary cause my work require me to drive. Leave some buffer because sometimes the center tends to get a little busy and exam slots are fully booked 2-3 weeks out.
i did mine many years after i got my PR, just BTT, nothing else leh...
if you convert yours before your PR, then the license will have expiry date, and needs to be renewed once, after you get your PR.
if you convert yours after your PR, then the license will have no expiry date.

one of my friend who got his license before PR naively thought his license will be automatically extended/converted to become no expiry upon getting PR, and found out waaaaay after the expiry date(3 years after expiry, to be exact). so now he lost both his malaysia license and SG license, need to start all over again.
kevin613
post Jun 30 2017, 01:41 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(bigtree @ Jun 30 2017, 10:26 AM)
sorry if this is answered before, but if we convert while we are on SP/EP (not PR yet), are we required to surrender our Malaysian driving license? I saw some feedback that JPJ will ask us to surrender when we request for the report from them
http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/1745016-if...-msian-licence/
kevin613
post Jun 30 2017, 07:16 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jun 30 2017, 05:42 PM)
Just my guess lah, CPF is 37% total inclusive employer contribution

I check before 1.5k min monthy if u wan a japan car, inclusive of petrol , parking etc
1.5k more like OPC... biggrin.gif
kevin613
post Jul 13 2017, 09:34 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(fatalkeyv @ Jul 12 2017, 10:51 PM)
hey guys, care to share what you're living in and what's your average utility bill's like?

going to Singapore soon, im trying to decide whether to rent with included/excluded utility.
5 room hdb, 4 adult 2 kid, cook daily (2 meals), 4 rooms air-condition every night, utility bills average to about 220 per month.
fibre is on myrepublic 1gbps 49.99, town council is about 75 per month.
kevin613
post Jul 25 2017, 07:00 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jul 25 2017, 06:35 PM)
In Krisflyer miles. Was hoping can redeem hotels or others
use it to shop @ krisshop and pay partial for the product.
i've bought a powerbank with expiring miles before..

just checked, 15k miles is enough for you to redeem something thats worth around 100-110sgd.

This post has been edited by kevin613: Jul 25 2017, 07:07 PM
kevin613
post Aug 7 2017, 11:19 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(god2077 @ Aug 7 2017, 11:16 AM)
Can a person holding Malaysia and SG passport at same time>?
not legally, as both countries dont recognize dual citizenship.
kevin613
post Aug 28 2017, 04:27 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(bevios @ Aug 28 2017, 11:39 AM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif  2k for infant care!! why don just get a maid? thats really alot of money, more than half of my salary
Thats what i did... biggrin.gif
hired a maid to do the chores and take care of kids, wife work from home.
cost me about $800 a month (incl levy), but that was 2 years ago.
kevin613
post Sep 11 2017, 06:18 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 11 2017, 06:04 PM)
no off in lieu. sad la.
no holidayz... move on...

kevin613
post Sep 12 2017, 01:21 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(BigFatUglyGuy @ Sep 12 2017, 12:36 PM)
hi huys, need help. confused sikit. orang lelaki sarawakian boleh tak kerja dekat singapore? dulu pernah dengar ada kes tapi not sure what happen. thanks smile.gif
why not? blink.gif
kevin613
post Sep 15 2017, 12:30 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 14 2017, 11:00 PM)
When I first came to Singapore I was so envy of those people who stay in HDB and Condo. Only the rich stay in high rise back in hometown. Yeap maintenance for a landed housing is expensive. Staying in family house. Looking at the bills and maintenance fee, can't afford it as employee if parents not paying for it. But prefer my kids grow up having a garden to play rather than staying in a confined space.
exactly my thoughts...
guess i've been here long enough liao...
i grew up in a place where i can go "outdoor" without getting outside of house compound..
my kids now cant go outdoor without adult supervision, so weekdays they're confined to the limited space available to them within the house.
cycling, running, jumping, playing with balls, all inside the small living room..

kevin613
post Oct 10 2017, 03:08 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Oct 10 2017, 03:00 PM)
I am sponsoring my son for PR application, submitted documents Oct 2016, now already 1 year, still no news.. sad.gif
born in SG or MY?
both my son and daughter has no issue applying PR, and approval is within weeks.
both born in SG.
kevin613
post Oct 11 2017, 11:12 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 10 2017, 03:14 PM)
how long ago?

2012 and 2013
kevin613
post Oct 11 2017, 03:29 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 11 2017, 11:47 AM)
times have changed
when my first daughter was born in 2013, it took 2 months.
I did not even need to apply for extension as the 90 days white card was sufficient for PR to be approved.

my 2nd daughter's pr took 8 months in 2016!!!!
extended the white card once was not sufficient so end up with LTVP for 1 year.
in fact, ICA even told me to apply for LTVP when they first issued the white card saying it may exceed the 90 days.
wah... didn't know its so difficult now..
anyway, i'm converting to citizen along with my kids, and not looking back liao..
submitted my documents to ICA in feb after CNY, and got my in-principal approval in june..
my 2012 dragon-year daughter entering primary school in 2 years time, and being a PR makes it difficult for her to secure a place in school.

This post has been edited by kevin613: Oct 11 2017, 03:29 PM
kevin613
post Oct 12 2017, 05:51 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(bevios @ Oct 12 2017, 05:10 PM)
whoa, so u got your pink ic approved in 4months time? that was fast.. ur profile must be oustanding thumbsup.gif
maybe because i applied together with my kids?
gave them 2 new blood for "free" leh...

kevin613
post Oct 16 2017, 04:18 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 16 2017, 03:18 PM)
SIC Salary comparison tool. http://www.salary.sg/2017/compare-your-annual-income-2017/

Mine:
Your annual income of $xx,xxx.
is higher than 55.6% of all resident taxpayers*.

Heng I am at least in the upper half.
Another 4 years to 40 years old.
Wonder if I can achieve top 40% by then ...

* "As usual, please note that residents earning $20k and below do not pay tax. Hence they are not included in the above comparison."
why bother to filter out the xx.xxx?
by telling us you are higher than 55.6% means we can reverse the figure and know how much you're earning.. brows.gif
kevin613
post Oct 16 2017, 09:26 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Oct 16 2017, 08:35 PM)
A simple visit to peadetrician if your baby has fever can set u back 300++sgd
Not so ex lah...
KK 24 hour emergency/outpatient charge flat rate of $115, inclusive of diagnosis (blood test and x Ray, if necessary) and medication.
But gotta wait long long lah, average time needed from arrival to completion is 3-4 hours fastest.
kevin613
post Oct 19 2017, 11:38 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Oct 19 2017, 11:33 AM)
Your moh need to be ang first to get "expat" package. Otherwise is just another jiuhu crossing the borders ok.
or foreign thrash, as some like to call it...

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:53 AM