1384 Pages « < 237 238 239 240 241 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

donavan1986
post Aug 24 2018, 08:12 AM

894 posts

Hi Sifus,

I am currently considering to upgrade my PC again. Main component to change is the CPU, Motherboard, RAM & casing. Component to reuse is the PSU, GPU, CPU Cooler, HD & SSD. I have think of a few option

Reuse part
GPU - ASUS GTX 1060 6gb
PSU - Corsair CX750M
CPU Cooler - Cooler Master Hyper 212 (Fan need to be change)
SSD - Samsung 850 evo (250gb)
HD - 3 x 3.5" HDD.

CPU - Intel I5-8600 879
Motherboard - ASUS TUF H370 PRO GAMING (575) / ASUS PRIME Z370-P (599) / ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-H GAMING (789) / GIGABYTE H370 AORUS GAMING 3 (559) / GIGABYTE Z370-HD3 (639) / GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS ULTRA GAMING (749).
RAM - Corsair 2666 VENGEANCE CMR RGB (805) / Corsair 3200 VENGEANCE CMR RGB (859)
Casing - Phanteks Eclipse P400s (379) / NZXT H440 (499) / NZXT H500I (479) / Fractal Design Define R5 (462)

I will also need some extra fans depending on the type of casing I finally decide.

My budget i hope that it can be control at 2500 to 3000.

The Casing i am looking for case that can put in more at least 3 3.5" HDD and must be with smooth and low profile design. Don't want too bombastic design.

Hope to have good comment here.

TristanX
post Aug 24 2018, 09:35 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Aug 24 2018, 08:12 AM)
Hi Sifus,

I am currently considering to upgrade my PC again. Main component to change is the CPU, Motherboard, RAM & casing. Component to reuse is the PSU, GPU, CPU Cooler, HD & SSD. I have think of a few option

Reuse part
GPU - ASUS GTX 1060 6gb
PSU - Corsair CX750M
CPU Cooler - Cooler Master Hyper 212 (Fan need to be change)
SSD - Samsung 850 evo (250gb)
HD - 3 x 3.5" HDD.

CPU - Intel I5-8600  879
Motherboard - ASUS TUF H370 PRO GAMING (575) / ASUS PRIME Z370-P (599) / ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-H GAMING (789) / GIGABYTE H370 AORUS GAMING 3 (559) / GIGABYTE Z370-HD3 (639) / GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS ULTRA GAMING (749).
RAM - Corsair 2666 VENGEANCE CMR RGB (805) / Corsair 3200 VENGEANCE CMR RGB (859)
Casing - Phanteks Eclipse P400s (379) / NZXT H440 (499) / NZXT H500I (479) / Fractal Design  Define R5 (462)

I will also need some extra fans depending on the type of casing I finally decide.

My budget i hope that it can be control at 2500 to 3000.

The Casing i am looking for case that can put in more at least 3 3.5" HDD and must be with smooth and low profile design. Don't want too bombastic design.

Hope to have good comment here.
All the casings these days are good. Aesthetics are entirely you. If you want smaller, ITX is the way to go.

Fractal Design Core 500:
http://www.fractal-design.com/home/product...series/core-500
miss comet
post Aug 24 2018, 11:56 AM

222 posts

I want to buy PSU that can support games like CSGO. current psu is going to kaput soon cause pc will shut down without warning when gaming

my rig (at kampung)
CPU: AMD A8-5600K
Mobo: Gigabyte FM2 socket (forget what model)
Ram: 2x 8gb DDR3 1600
GPU: powercolor R7 360

current psu (500W 80+ forget what brand) is around 9 years old (bought second hand, so more than 9 years old)

adamtayy
post Aug 24 2018, 12:00 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(miss comet @ Aug 24 2018, 11:56 AM)
I want to buy PSU that can support games like CSGO. current psu is going to kaput soon cause pc will shut down without warning when gaming

my rig (at kampung)

current psu (500W 80+ forget what brand) is around 9 years old (bought second hand, so more than 9 years old)

coolermaster mwe 500w, will suit you..

TristanX
post Aug 24 2018, 12:48 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(miss comet @ Aug 24 2018, 11:56 AM)

my rig (at kampung)

If you want something that last longer, Corsair TX 650M at RM379. Or Super Flower Leadex II Gold 550W at around RM400.
donavan1986
post Aug 24 2018, 01:22 PM

894 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 24 2018, 09:35 AM)
All the casings these days are good. Aesthetics are entirely you. If you want smaller, ITX is the way to go.

Fractal Design Core 500:
http://www.fractal-design.com/home/product...series/core-500
Not going for iTX. i want a mid tower. Any suggestion from you?

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 24 2018, 09:36 AM)
I'd go with the followings:

CPU: Intel I5-8600 879
MOBO: ASUS TUF H370 PRO GAMING 575
RAM: Corsair 2666 VENGEANCE CMR RGB 805
CASE: NZXT H500I 479

Since you're getting a i5 8600, H370 will be good enough. I personally like NZXT casing for their sleek and elegant design but that's just how I feel. Though Phanteks P400s is a very popular choice as well.
Sorry but why is it H370 is already enough for I5-8600? I5-8600 cannot support higher clockspeed RAM? Should i choose ROG Strix or just TUF enough? I worried whether the H500i clearance is enough for CM Hyper 212. Sorry not so knowing about all this.

Forgot to mention, what kind of fan should i choose. there are so many option in the market with a very wide price range.

This post has been edited by donavan1986: Aug 24 2018, 01:26 PM
TristanX
post Aug 24 2018, 02:00 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(donavan1986 @ Aug 24 2018, 01:22 PM)
Not going for iTX. i want a mid tower. Any suggestion from you?

Try looking for Coolermaster HAF XB.
miss comet
post Aug 24 2018, 02:14 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Aug 24 2018, 12:00 PM)
coolermaster mwe 500w, will suit you..
Thanks. Will look into it

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 24 2018, 12:48 PM)
If you want something that last longer, Corsair TX 650M at RM379. Or Super Flower Leadex II Gold 550W at around RM400.
Yes, I want it to last as long as possible but my pocket won't permit it, unfortunately☹️

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 24 2018, 12:54 PM)
Any budget for it?

Can consider this at around RM250: https://shopee.com.my/-SUPER-FLOWER-Silver-...7182.1378294592
Wish can get decent psu at RM200-250
TristanX
post Aug 24 2018, 02:20 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(miss comet @ Aug 24 2018, 02:14 PM)
Wish can get decent psu at RM200-250
The parts and build quality inside the PSU comes at a price. Japanese capacitors isnt cheap.
donavan1986
post Aug 24 2018, 03:08 PM

894 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 24 2018, 02:06 PM)
i5 8600 can support higher ram speed but for Intel platform the difference between ram speeds is not that noticeable as compared to Ryzen. Thus people usually pair locked processors with B/H mobos with 2,400/2,666mhz rams. However if you still prefer higher ram speed then yes you can go for Z series mobo to pair it with 3,200mhz rams and in the future there's room to upgrade to i5 8600k or even a i7 8700k.

Check the models individually online and see which one provides the features that you need (e.g no. of usb ports, ram slots, pcie slots). If both have all the features that you need, then choose either one which is aesthetically appealing to you. Based on specs, the CM Hyper 212 should fit just fine.

Any case fans will do honestly. Those expensive like RM100+ isn't necessary.
Hi Kristal, thanks for the advices. It helps me to make my decision very well.
miss comet
post Aug 24 2018, 09:25 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 24 2018, 02:20 PM)
The parts and build quality inside the PSU comes at a price. Japanese capacitors isnt cheap.
Yeah, I know cry.gif
nwolve
post Aug 25 2018, 01:29 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 20 2018, 04:11 PM)
How about these?

AMD Ryzen 5 2600X - 999
Asus Prime B450M-K - 429
Crucial or Kingston 8GB DDR4-2400 X1 - 310
Galax GTX 1060 6GB DDR5 EXOC - 1199
WD Blue or Seagate 1TB HDD - 160
Corsair TX 650M - 379
Corsair Spec case - 279
LG 24MP59G  - 535
Edifier M3200 speakers - 225

RM4515 total (C-Zone prices)

Add another 8GB and SSD later

For Intel, switch to these

Core i5-8500 - 795
Gigabyte B360-D3H - 369
QUOTE(TristanX @ Aug 21 2018, 12:24 AM)
Yes, it will work for PS2. Cant promise for PS3. PS3 has 8 core. You have to talk to emulator people.

You can also find Crucial MX500 at super cheap prices on Lelong. I dont recommend DRAMless cache like shitty Sandisk SSD Plus.
Thanks for the info on the SSD, Lelong indeed has cheaper pc parts, even after include shipping fee for some.

I have some questions in my mind, is the above suggested spec enough for "future proofing" ?

If not , do you think GTX 1070 enough for "future proofing" and worth top up ?

What are the parts needed to pair with GTX 1070, will there be big difference from above spec ? and how much top up needed ?

Sorry for asking so much, just want to get more info and opinion before make decision. thanks again. hmm.gif notworthy.gif
Par@dox
post Aug 25 2018, 01:31 PM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

Hi, much appreciate a hardware recommendation for the following :-

[Budget] RM3000 - 3500

[Purpose] General gaming / surfing

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor, PC Casing (Full sized), Keyboard and Mouse

[Monitor resolution] 1920 x 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Various games, including 3D games

[Personal preferences] Will be running the PC at stock. Uncle already, no time to tinker with settings and overclock. Area where the PC is placed is not air-conditioned, thus, preferably not a PC that runs too hot.

Thanks!

Am curious.. I see recommendations for both Intel and AMD CPU. In what scenario, one would be more suitable than the other?

Cheers
dlwk1988
post Aug 25 2018, 02:08 PM

126 posts

hi sifus,

not sure current rig can tahan how long. soplanning to do some upgrade before sst hits.
current setup as below

i5-3470
Gigabyte b75m-D3V
radeon rx560
DDR 3 8G
seagate 1 TB

from that id be guessing instead of upgrade it will be better to get a new rig right? the only thing i will be reusing is the GPU as i just bought it few months ago ( good enough?)
budget RM 2k not including GPU (if GPU needs to be upgrade i can top up)

This post has been edited by dlwk1988: Aug 25 2018, 02:13 PM
Par@dox
post Aug 25 2018, 05:32 PM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

Kristal.. thanks for the recommendation
ace2445
post Aug 25 2018, 10:03 PM

Hi sifus,

I wanted to build a PC for gaming & video editing. Got some idea of some components that I want from watching Youtube but have no idea how much this thing will cost. Appreciate your suggestion ya.

CPU: i7-8700K
MOBO: Need suggestion
RAM: Must be 16GB
GPU: GTX 1080Ti
SSD: Any 240GB SSD
HDD: No need
PSU: Decent PSU
CASE: Cheapo case will do
MONITOR: Already have
TOTAL = ??

This post has been edited by ace2445: Aug 25 2018, 10:06 PM
ace2445
post Aug 25 2018, 10:20 PM

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 25 2018, 10:14 PM)
CPU: INTEL CORE I7 8700K RM 1,499.00
COOLER: CORSAIR HYDRO SERIES H100I PRO RGB RM 439.00
MOBO: ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F GAMING RM 867.00
RAM: G.SKILL TRIDENT Z RGB 16GB (2X8GB) DDR4 3200MHZ RM 859.00
GPU: ZOTAC GTX 1080 Ti AMP! EXTREME 11GB GDDR5X RM 3,349.00
SSD: SAMSUNG 250GB 860 EVO 2.5' RM 349.00
PSU: SUPER FLOWER 650W LEADEX II 80+ GOLD RM 415.00
CASE: TECWARE NEO DUAL TG RM 199.00

TOTAL: RM 7,976 (E Tech PC prices)

You need a cooler for K series processors as they don't come with a stock cooler.
Thank you sifu Kristal. You are the best rclxm9.gif
zhengyang89
post Aug 25 2018, 11:53 PM

521 posts

Hi All, need some suggestion from you all.

[B][Budget] 2k to 2.5k

[Purpose] Office Usage (Non Gaming or Video Editing)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] N/A

[Monitor resolution] 1920 × 1200

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Window

[Personal preferences] Intel

[Location] Klang Valley

PortgasDerekAce
post Aug 26 2018, 02:22 AM

206 posts

need pro sifu advise pls:

[B][Budget] 4k ish, 5k if really needed

[Purpose]gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use]basically everything except the tower and everything inside. also need wifi card/USB

[Monitor resolution]1920*1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently]black desert online, will look into warframe after getting the rig

[Personal preferences]my aim is to have high fps, medium to high graphic, 16gb ram, but i dont mind low graphic/optimization mode. hope it can get futureproof aspect as well. also think that asus motherboard is cool.

[Location]penang
zhengyang89
post Aug 26 2018, 10:55 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Aug 26 2018, 10:04 AM)
What about these:

CPU: INTEL CORE I5-8400 RM 735.00
MOBO: ASUS PRIME B360M-K RM 313.00
RAM: G.SKILL AEGIS SERIES 8GB DDR4 2666MHZ RM 349.00
SSD: SAMSUNG 250GB 860 EVO 2.5' RM 349.00
HDD: WESTERN DIGITAL 3.5' 1TB RM 169.00
PSU: CORSAIR 450W VS SERIES VS450 RM 159.00
CASE: TECWARE NEXUS M TG RM 139.00

TOTAL: RM2,213 (E Tech PC prices)
Thank You verry much for your help Kristal

1384 Pages « < 237 238 239 240 241 > » Top