[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

AthrunIJ
post Jan 15 2024, 07:42 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 15 2024, 05:24 PM)
Cannot! This CPU number very suey leh  tongue.gif 

8888X3D

🤤🤤🤤🤤🤤
Nickwayne
post Jan 17 2024, 11:25 AM

47 posts

[Budget] RM4k +/-

[Purpose] Light gaming / Leisure / Light Work

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Graphic card AMD Radeon Pulse RX5700, 2TB HHD (For work and archive game storage), Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse

[Monitor resolution] 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Cyberpunk2077 and future GTA6, AutoCad oscasionally

[Personal preferences] Mid tower if possible. Motherboard need to have good wifi reception.

I guess the graphic card don't need to change if i doesn't crave for high graphics settings?

Thanks all sifu in advance notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Nickwayne: Jan 17 2024, 11:32 AM
myway1985
post Jan 17 2024, 12:58 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(Nickwayne @ Jan 17 2024, 11:25 AM)
[Budget] RM4k +/-

[Hardwares that will be re-use]  Graphic card AMD Radeon Pulse RX5700, 2TB HHD (For work and archive game storage), Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Cyberpunk2077 and future GTA6, AutoCad oscasionally

[Personal preferences] Mid tower if possible. Motherboard need to have good wifi reception.

I guess the graphic card don't need to change if i doesn't crave for high graphics settings?

Thanks all sifu in advance  notworthy.gif
i5-14500 - RM1199
asus prime b760m-A wifi D4 RM799
32GB 3200mhz heatsink ram RM320
1TB kingston KC3000 RM465 or 1TB adata XPG legend 960 max RM420
1st player steampunk 850 gold RM399
thermalright pa120 se Rm145
azza hive 450m RM269
RM3596
babylon52281
post Jan 17 2024, 05:27 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(Nickwayne @ Jan 17 2024, 11:25 AM)
[Budget] RM4k +/-

[Hardwares that will be re-use]  Graphic card AMD Radeon Pulse RX5700, 2TB HHD (For work and archive game storage), Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse

Thanks all sifu in advance  notworthy.gif
If target future AAA games, you might need to consider upgrading the GPU sooner than later. For now its still okaylah.
calvincty
post Jan 20 2024, 06:20 PM

226 posts

Just built a pc with R5 5600, 32gb and 6600xt to replace my Mac mini m2 pro 32G as the new job need a windows and also plan for light gaming

However, I do feel the current pc experience for my daily productivity wasn’t up on par with the Mac experience. Overall feeling sluggish in switching multiple browsers tab and documents/video playing.

Not to say very slow but it just doesn’t feel as smooth as Mac.

Thinking whether it is the hardware or OS issues, if it is the hardware I’m thinking to upgrade the cpu to 5900x for more cores to help. If that’s the case, what’s the recommended cooler for 5900x?

This post has been edited by calvincty: Jan 20 2024, 07:20 PM
TristanX
post Jan 20 2024, 07:37 PM

Where is my stars?
24,335 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Jan 20 2024, 06:20 PM)
Just built a pc with R5 5600, 32gb and 6600xt to replace my Mac mini m2 pro 32G as the new job need a windows and also plan for light gaming

However, I do feel the current pc experience for my daily productivity wasn’t up on par with the Mac experience. Overall feeling sluggish in switching multiple browsers tab and documents/video playing.

Thinking whether it is the hardware or OS issues, if it is the hardware I’m thinking to upgrade the cpu to 5900x for more cores to help. If that’s the case, what’s the recommended cooler for 5900x?
Zen 3 is behind Intel Alder Lake and AMD Ryzen 7000. On top of that, you have only 6 cores to do so many things. M2 got 4 P and 4 E cores.

5900X will need the best cooler you can get. Thermalright Phantom Spirit if you wanna save a bit.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 20 2024, 07:38 PM
calvincty
post Jan 21 2024, 11:11 AM

226 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 20 2024, 07:37 PM)
Zen 3 is behind Intel Alder Lake and AMD Ryzen 7000. On top of that, you have only 6 cores to do so many things. M2 got 4 P and 4 E cores.

5900X will need the best cooler you can get. Thermalright Phantom Spirit if you wanna save a bit.
Thank you! Is this the Termalright cooler you suggested for 5900X? https://shopee.com.my/-THERMALRIGHT-Phantom...182.23243952392
TristanX
post Jan 21 2024, 12:02 PM

Where is my stars?
24,335 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Jan 21 2024, 11:11 AM)
Thank you! Is this the Termalright cooler you suggested for 5900X? https://shopee.com.my/-THERMALRIGHT-Phantom...182.23243952392
Not sure about SE version. Review is great for regular version.
https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/therma...irit-120-review
babylon52281
post Jan 21 2024, 04:05 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(calvincty @ Jan 20 2024, 06:20 PM)

Cant really compare but Apple (Mac & iphone) always had better software-hardware integration and results in overall smoother feeling even with on paper slower & inferior CPU and less RAM (like vs Androids).

That is why productivity works, pros still prefer Macs over Windows PC. I havent heard of their computers becoming sluggish & buggy with each update unlike Windows 10 which is a 'feature' apparently for pushing people to upgrade or buy new system.

Your PC hardware isnt that ancient that I doubt is the cause of your issues (no you dont need a 12core CPU just to run Windows). Why dont you try reinstalling a fresh windows w/o all the bloat and slowly install programs one by one while checking your windows response, maybe can pinpoint which is causing the sluggishness?
tkwmm
post Jan 25 2024, 12:07 PM

65 posts

Hi guys, anyone have any idea can squeeze my budget to around RM3200. I am gaming at 1080P 75Hz. Building a new rig for it as my current gpu couldn't fit some of the modern games.

I have researched a few places for a cheaper build but stable, and come out with this.

GPU: Zotac RTX 4060 (RM1400, waiting Shopee / Lazada big discount)

CPU: I5-12400F (Waiting Shopee / Lazada big discount, that bundle together with Mobo, around RM 616)

Mobo: (not decided), should be going for MSI B660M Bomber DDR4 (RM469)

PSU: Corsair CV Series Power Supply 650W (RM239, C-Zone)

RAM: Kingston HyperX FURY 8GB 3200MHz X2 (RM75 X2, order from Shopee / Lazada)

Storage: PNY SSD Internal SATA CS900 500GB X2 (RM156 X2, order from Shopee / Lazada )

Casing: Budget RM200, get from C-Zone, and I pass all the component to c-zone and let them assembly.
even like this, it still exceed my budget around (RM200+). Any suggestion what can modify.

This post has been edited by tkwmm: Jan 25 2024, 12:09 PM
babylon52281
post Jan 25 2024, 09:56 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(tkwmm @ Jan 25 2024, 12:07 PM)
Hi guys, anyone have any idea can squeeze my budget to around RM3200. I am gaming at 1080P 75Hz. Building a new rig for it as my current gpu couldn't fit some of the modern games.

I have researched a few places for a cheaper build but stable, and come out with this.
even like this, it still exceed my budget around (RM200+). Any suggestion what can modify.
Is your budget really that constraint that you cant save a bit more and spend the extra RM 200? Its already quite the bare minimum for a decent build seeing how little our RM has become. Its basically something built around this current GPU with so many last last gen parts plus DRAMless (and for some reason you went with 2x 500GB, why not just a single 1TB) SSD.

The only way I can see some price reductions are CPU+mobo combo deals with Shopee vouchers+ 3000 coin rebates for each (CPU+Mobo & GPU buys)

Cheap but decently good case can try Nexus Air(ATX), Nexus Air M2(MATX), Montech Air 1000(ATX), Air 100(MATX). These are around or can go under RM 200.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 25 2024, 10:15 PM
chocobo7779
post Jan 25 2024, 11:42 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 14 2024, 09:46 AM)
13400 also stupidly overpriced. Might as well topup RM60 for 13500. Slightly faster CPU and slightly better iGPU.
Yup, the 13500 is actually pretty good for productivity workloads icon_idea.gif
AthrunIJ
post Jan 26 2024, 07:43 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(tkwmm @ Jan 25 2024, 12:07 PM)

Doesn't seem to be able too unless 2nd hand parts.

My suggestion. Save up to RM4k. Then get it with decent parts instead of weird parts.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Jan 26 2024, 03:34 PM
Nickwayne
post Jan 29 2024, 10:52 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jan 17 2024, 12:58 PM)
i5-14500 - RM1199
asus prime b760m-A wifi D4 RM799
32GB 3200mhz heatsink ram RM320
1TB kingston KC3000 RM465 or 1TB adata XPG legend 960 max RM420
1st player steampunk 850 gold RM399
thermalright pa120 se Rm145
azza hive 450m RM269
RM3596
Thanks Sifu. Any idea where to get the i5-14500?
I checked viewnet and c-zone seems like they only have 14400,14600,14700 sweat.gif

Any significant improvement if we fully utilized the RM4k? (eg. opts for DDR5 Ram instead of DDR4 Ram)
Doesn't mind to top up a bit to have better cost-performance ratio and future proof tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Nickwayne: Jan 29 2024, 11:13 AM
Nickwayne
post Jan 29 2024, 10:55 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 17 2024, 05:27 PM)
If target future AAA games, you might need to consider upgrading the GPU sooner than later. For now its still okaylah.
Yeah man, also my other concern is underpowered PSU and insufficient space in my mid tower during future GPU upgrade sweat.gif

myway1985
post Jan 29 2024, 12:18 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(Nickwayne @ Jan 29 2024, 10:52 AM)
I checked viewnet and c-zone seems like they only have 14400,14600,14700  sweat.gif

Any significant improvement if we fully utilized the RM4k? (eg. opts for DDR5 Ram instead of DDR4 Ram)
Doesn't mind to top up a bit to have better cost-performance ratio and future proof  tongue.gif
i got sell la.. but need b2b order.. 2-5 weeks
babylon52281
post Jan 29 2024, 12:26 PM

2,677 posts

I checked viewnet and c-zone seems like they only have 14400,14600,14700  sweat.gif

Doesn't mind to top up a bit to have better cost-performance ratio and future proof  tongue.gif
There isnt a right nor wrong since your budget agak can do either DDR4 or 5, but for your use case (Light gaming / Leisure / Light Work) its kinda wasted since you wont feel a thing difference unless your extreme gamer where 10% FPS more in an 200 FPS game can mean everything. What you do is waste money on something you will most likely cannot feel instead of seeding money for a future GPU upgrade.

Talking about future proof, this LGA1700 platform is ady dead dodo after 14th gen. And 14500 is nonK so its XMP RAM speed is limited, at 6000 to 7000 is most cost effective where thru put start becoming higher than 3200MHZ DDR4 but anything higher is still expensive yet you cannot feel as your not OCing the CPU.

Thats my 2sen but its your money so its your decision.
AthrunIJ
post Jan 29 2024, 02:32 PM

2,992 posts

For you DDR 4 or DDR 5 pretty much nil lol. Future proof also nil, if not mistaken 14th gen eol while 15th gen is new socket.

Nickwayne
post Jan 29 2024, 02:37 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 29 2024, 12:26 PM)
There isnt a right nor wrong since your budget agak can do either DDR4 or 5, but for your use case (Light gaming / Leisure / Light Work) its kinda wasted since you wont feel a thing difference unless your extreme gamer where 10% FPS more in an 200 FPS game can mean everything. What you do is waste money on something you will most likely cannot feel instead of seeding money for a future GPU upgrade.

Talking about future proof, this LGA1700 platform is ady dead dodo after 14th gen. And 14500 is nonK so its XMP RAM speed is limited, at 6000 to 7000 is most cost effective where thru put start becoming higher than 3200MHZ DDR4 but anything higher is still expensive yet you cannot feel as your not OCing the CPU.

Thats my 2sen but its your money so its your decision.
Thank you on your valuable insight, this makes perfect sense. thumbup.gif
On the other hand I guess no point to wait for next gen LGA1851 since GPU and SSD hardly fully utilize the bandwidth gain from new socket?

Plus intel change socket every 3-ish gen and general use case probably gonna skip another gen of socket for the next upgrade (5years +/-)
myway1985
post Jan 29 2024, 02:44 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(Nickwayne @ Jan 29 2024, 02:37 PM)
Thank you on your valuable insight, this makes perfect sense.  thumbup.gif
On the other hand I guess no point to wait for next gen LGA1851 since GPU and SSD hardly fully utilize the bandwidth gain from new socket?

Plus intel change socket every 3-ish gen and general use case probably gonna skip another gen of socket for the next upgrade (5years +/-)
ur question and answer will be same.. UNCERTAIN.. becoz certain technology (PCIE gen5, ddr5 7200mhz ram) will NOT benefit anything below i9.. yes even i7 oso wont hv significant different..

take example. u use i7-14700k with 7200mhz.. bios will show u gear 2.. but once heat up.. u will see the ram drop to gear 3...

even if it is gear 2.. 7200 mhz raw performance slightly above 3600mhz

1384 Pages « < 1198 1199 1200 1201 1202 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:02 PM