if want to buy a internal hdd to expand the storage of the PC that the main storage is using ssd... any recommendation?
[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!
May 23 2024, 10:54 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
14,286 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
if want to buy a internal hdd to expand the storage of the PC that the main storage is using ssd... any recommendation?
May 24 2024, 09:26 PM
May 25 2024, 01:48 PM
is INTEL CORE I5 12400F without IGPU (6 CORE/ 12 THREADS/4.4GHZ) still worthy in 2024?
May 25 2024, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ May 25 2024, 03:57 PM) ic. thanks bro for the confirmation. so to pair this with 4060 graphic card it is perfectly ok rite? the 12400f is at really low price of rm599 now which it is really worth it to get. so if compare to 14th gen processor that has extra 4 ecores or more, for gaming, it will not make a difference rite actually? so for what kind of purpose, will the extra e cores be worthy? |
May 25 2024, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ May 25 2024, 04:52 PM) I said yes earlier right? If u insist on 4060, you have yourself to blame for buying 8GB VRAM. Ok thanks. Main use for e-core is dumping background tasks into it. P-cores is less busy and performs better. Ya I am aware of the limitation for 4060. This post has been edited by westlife: May 25 2024, 05:21 PM |
May 26 2024, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ May 26 2024, 12:28 AM) ok. thanks for the confirmation again. decided to go with 12400f which is sufficient for my need. QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ May 26 2024, 12:33 AM) 4060? Not worth it over the 3060 due to nerfed VRAM and memory bus (it's basically a RTX4050 disguised as a 4060), which can pose a problem on memory sensitive games (see Doom Eternal for an example) 4060 is having similar/better performance than 3060 than i can see from most youtuber reviews. especially with DLSS3.0. I know that DLSS3.5 will be applicable to old NVdia cards. but i will still go for the 40 series for more future proof.No, E cores aren't really worth it and you might just well spend that RM400 for something much more tangible like more RAM or SSD storage, heck even going DDR5 is a better bet if you want more gaming performance: i am buying a brand new PC so i think 4060 is still a 'ok' purchase for budget consious like me. i really just need 1080p gaming for now... i will just save the money for future upgrade to 50 series lowest end card next time maybe... ok. thanks. i also think that i will not be really utilising e cores as I dun do video editing etc... 12400f is still a good budget CPU to buy in terms of CP value. ![]() This post has been edited by westlife: May 26 2024, 02:47 AM |
May 28 2024, 12:22 PM
Jun 3 2024, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jun 3 2024, 12:09 AM) Yes, but keep in mind that VRAM usage is going up in the future, so that 8GB memory can become a problem in the future unless you want lower quality textures (which is a big no-no for me) yes, i am aware of the limitation as i mentioned... when my 4060 is not even sufficient to play the current AAA titles, i can just upgrade to the cheapest newer series that time again. howard legacy i can play smoothly with no issue now on 1080p (mine is 1080p 160hz monitor with freesync) with ultra settings on for everything. i do not believe that 50, 60, 70 series the cheapest nvidia card they will have in future, cannot even play the current games in lower resolution like 1080p/2k... This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 3 2024, 12:43 AM |
Jun 3 2024, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jun 3 2024, 03:54 PM) Yup as I shown above post to another forumer, it depends on the type of games and settings you play at. 8GB still playable at 1080P High for most games and Mid for AAA games if just want max FPS. yes, i am totally happy with the 4060 for my current needs, i am upgrading from 1050 (becos it can no longer play AAA titles nowadays such as howard legacy, it was also cheapest card i got it previously). so instead of going for the mid or best graphic card i can get at the current time, i am getting the cheapest one currently to meet the current needs, when 4060 no longer usable, i will upgrade again to the cheapest card next time.At 1080P is always on budget level so most will compromise on less image quality for better FPS. Doesnt mean its bad if you cannot really tell the difference, and you can continue tune down settings as game demands gets heavier. FWIW if can get a 12-16GB card at similar pricing & GPU perf (6700XT type of value) of course go for it but for brand new modern series, aint got a lot of options. That AMD GPU no longer sold, its 7700XT replacement still expensive, 4060 TI 16GB overpriced for its perf, 4070Super is the best starter but at RM 3000 is not really affordable either. As long as you dont expect super high FPS & best image, and know how to tune down settings as game becomes demanding, I think you will have a good experience with your 8GB GPU until time to replace. msi 4060 black - around rm1499, 4070 super cheapest about rm3199... it is more than double the price... so instead of paying rm3199 now, one can choose to pay rm1499 now and save the rest of money to buy the cheapest card next time again. no matter how stingy nvidia can give the improvement to the cheapest card next time. it will still be better than the current 4060 next time. |
Sep 21 2024, 10:59 AM
in terms of motherboard brand? which one is better in terms of overall quality and built that is likely to last longer with less problems?
Asus Gigabyte MSI |
Sep 22 2024, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Sep 22 2024, 12:28 PM) All of those brands have good quality and shit quality mobos. Really depends how much you pay. ic... thanks a lot for the sharing... Giga has potential remain unknown backdoor bios. So nope. MSI has mid level unspectacular but quite solid build. Problem is their mobo when detect Ksku will auto set to 4096W TDP boosting until CPU degrade. Asus has purported RMA warranty issue but build quality is better than most due to it will also boost kaw max with Ksku or X CPU, this year have killed both AMD & Intel CPUs. For budget I pick MSI. For mid to higher segment I pick Asus since if mobo is solid then should no need deal with their crap RMA policy. Otherwise can consider Asrock too. besides, what is meant by backdoor bios? so far, from what i saw, gigabytes seems to be the only manufacturer that produces pure white motherboard while the price remains affordable... that's why wonder if gigabytes one is worthwhile buying... https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/Z790-A...ELITE-AX-ICE#kf ![]() This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 22 2024, 01:22 PM |
Sep 22 2024, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 3 2024, 12:04 PM) No gonna buying, just randomly check the price, does real deal? 2×16GB less that RM200, not yet include any other voucher is it genuine, i came across kingston ram sold on shopee previously, after verified with kingston, they told me that the ram i got was fake.... ![]() ![]() so i am very hesitate to buy ram online... |
Sep 22 2024, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 22 2024, 03:06 PM) I actually buy it, after voucher only RM166, look the sticker very clean, but no idea how to check is fake or ori one I am not sure how to verify that’s why I am concern if it is buying online.Running windows memory check no error found, and serial number is show, not same serial number Customer service from Kingston had advised as per below. The Shopee store I bought the fake kingston ram from claimed it is OEM? I dun know what he meant but I can be sure that it is counterfeit. It seems like it works in windows 10. Can detect and show in system. But not sure if it will really lasts. For memory, ssd, hardisk, thumb drive etc. I will be hesitate to buy from online shop unless they are reputable one. ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by westlife: Sep 22 2024, 04:39 PM |
Sep 22 2024, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(isr25 @ Sep 22 2024, 03:25 PM) Guys, I bought a new rig (not yet arrived) for gaming Gaming hardly can utilise more than 16gb not to mention that u have 32gb..which is more than enough. If u are doing video editing more ram only will help.CPU: Ryzen 7 7800X3D GPU: MSI RTX 4080 Super Cooler: ID-Cooling Space SL360 Mobo: MSI B650M Gaming Plus WiFi RAM: G.Skill Trident RGB 2x16GB 6,000Mhz CL30 SSD: Samsung 990 Pro 2TB PSU: Corsair RM850E Case: Antec C5 I'm now wondering if I should increase the RAM to 64GB since MSFS has the "ideal" spec is 64GB RAM and maybe future games would ideally have more than 32GB. isr25 liked this post
Sep 22 2024, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 22 2024, 04:46 PM) This is 3rd time i buy online, the first time able to RMA from Amble action I see. I came across this ram selling at lion city it show early this month.And second now third time also got same sticker Amble action So now i did not plan email asking for verify And SSD i buy 2 years ago, able detect by the brand software, so is not fake one 8gb costs sgd23. Normal price sgd24? Crucial ddr4. 3200MT/s. Is it really that cheap even during normal day? I have this old pc that has the following spec which could not play any games anymore but I only use it for web browsing and productivity works such as MS word and excel sometimes. I wonder if I should add 8GB ram to improve its performance (if it would in the first place)? ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Oct 11 2024, 09:46 PM
Oct 12 2024, 03:16 AM
wow... so new gen processor is out, then must use new mobo and only cooler can be reused... ram wise DDR-5 ram still can be reused rite?
Oct 12 2024, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(TristanX @ Oct 12 2024, 08:04 AM) All can be used again. Unless you buy a board with CAMM slots for the RAM. Just be careful with this part. ic. ok. QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 12 2024, 02:19 PM) At that low speed and you even run it at CR 2T so u are suggesting that if i upgrade to 16gb, unlikely i can experience any improvement in performance?https://www.lazada.com.my/products/kingston...2127271481.html i am using this kingston ram currently with i5-7500 processor + 1050 graphic card.. QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Oct 12 2024, 02:28 PM) Technically can be reused but you wouldnt want to go that cheap. 15Gen is totally new and will leverage on CUDIMM tech to push RAM speeds past 10,000MHZ so a baseline 5200-6400 DDR5 would hold back the CPU performance. ic. luckily i opted for minimum processor that meets my needs now which is 12gen 12400f + ATX mobo for my May 2024 PC built which i believe it can last for 5 to 10 years no issue i guess. so if next PC need to buy new mobo + processor plus dumping this current one is also not so heart pain.. |
Oct 13 2024, 12:02 AM
is it safe to buy from this shop in shopee? is it genuine? which it should a reputable computer store in bolehland rite?
https://shopee.com.my/KINGSTON-FURY-BEAST-B...462.13674789448 This post has been edited by westlife: Oct 13 2024, 12:11 AM |
Oct 13 2024, 12:13 AM
i ever bought a counterfeit ram from one of the shopee seller. so now i am very cautious in choosing a RAM to buy from shopee...
i verified this with kingston customer service to confirm. and the seller claimed that it is OEM. luckily i managed to get a refund that time by returning it. it was not cheap that time too at about rm65.90 comparing to the price now. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by westlife: Oct 13 2024, 12:15 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0548sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:04 PM |