13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

terence_nwb
post Mar 10 2017, 11:20 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(suju2403 @ Mar 10 2017, 10:23 AM)
Hi,, i've adjusted again my budget. This time the cash is ready..

I'll try fork out few hundred but for now my max budget rm3k.

Can suggest spec max 3k budget?? Dont need monitor.
My monitor is acer s220hql.

Purpose: game..  All game like dota, cs,.dark sider, watch dogs etc. Only tomb raider title i would like to play in high with nice fps. Other game i can go even medcto low sett.

What i have in my mind is

I3 vs i5
Rx480 vs gtx1060
Fractal design mini C or any casing that easy to carry for a girl

Btw,, im thinking to buy from idealtech for now.

Thanks in advance guys for u suggestion.
Dota 2, CS:GO (and other heavy single core application or single threaded application) runs faster on a CPU with higher core clock speed, i.e. i3 7100's 3.9GHz will beat i5 7400's 3.5GHz in those games, but when it comes with multicore or multithreaded application, i5 7400 will lead once again.

Rise of the Tomb Raider favors Nvidia GPU, even in DX12 mode, with the recent driver update (378.78), performance is boosted even more for this games in DX12 mode (they claim to have 20%+ for 10 series GPU).

Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 835
Asus H110I-PLUS - RM 380
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 289
Gigabyte RX470 4GB GDDR5 G1 Gaming - RM 989 <Cheapest GTX1060 3GB is 1.2k at Idealtech so I will have to use RX470 to replace it> sweat.gif
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 219
Shark Zone C10 - RM 199

Total: RM 3130 (Idealtech price inclusive of GST)

Another build with GTX1060 3GB from ETECH:

Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 854
ASRock H110M-ITX - RM 283
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 255
Zotac GTX1060 3GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 989
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 195
CM Elite 110 - RM 158

Total: RM 2953 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Mar 10 2017, 11:40 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kwackers @ Mar 10 2017, 11:09 AM)
Thanks terence.

Is there any benefit to using the Intel i5 over an AMD CPU?  Just curious, since at the same price point, I can opt for an AMD FX 8350 or an FX 8370.
Intel CPU dominates in terms of single threaded performance and comes with much higher IPC (Instruction per cycle) than AMD FX CPU.

Even an Core i3 is able to perform the same as the highest end FX9590 in Doom 2016, check out the benchmark here.

If you prefer AMD, wait for their upcoming Ryzen 5 or 3, those are worth to wait (and invest if performance is good).

QUOTE(lin@lowyat @ Mar 10 2017, 11:18 AM)
Noted.

my Mobo is GA-H170N-WIFI, it says in the overview:
PCIe Gen3 x4 M.2 Connector with up to 32Gb/s Data Transfer (PCIe NVMe & SATA SSD support)
but in the spec tab:
1 x M.2 Socket 3 connector on the back of the motherboard (Socket 3, M key, type 2260/2280 SATA & PCIe x4/x2/x1 SSD support).

meaning my mobo supports PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD right?
thanks.
Yup nod.gif

For RM 500 budget, the best that you can get is Intel 600P 256GB PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD, not the fastest out there but is one of the best entry level PCIe NVMe SSD's that you can buy now. Samsung 850 EVO is a better choice if read speed isn't too important (especially large chunk of files) to you as it is faster in terms 4kB random read/write (most of the real case scenario).

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Mar 10 2017, 11:30 AM)
I'm actually looking for one that can be put into a normal bag pack
Do you accept this size?

FD Node 202
terence_nwb
post Mar 10 2017, 02:38 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(suju2403 @ Mar 10 2017, 12:37 PM)
So its true that tomb raider favor nvdia.. Hmm..

Need your opinion since u have knowledge.
Which between these two card amd and nvidia last longer in term of performance for more than 5 years. I dont want to get a nice gpu but in the need to upgrade in the next 2,3 years.
I'll tolerate the setting btw since all games upgrade they feature every year.. Haha
It is hard to predict what is going to happen in the PC gaming industry in 5 years time, if DX12 and Vulkan are able to take over DX11/OpenCL as the main graphics API successfully in 5 years time then according to the current card performance, AMD will take the lead again, their Polaris GPUs are showing better performance than Nvidia's similar offering at the moment in few DX12/Vulkan titles.

If you want something more stable (in terms of current games support and frame rates) then Nvidia is more preferred as they are having a very solid DX11 driver support base now.

Both brands are equally good actually tongue.gif
terence_nwb
post Mar 10 2017, 09:03 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Haroolovestar @ Mar 10 2017, 02:29 PM)
Need help urgently

[B][Budget] below 8k including monitor

[Purpose] entertainment mostly gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] peripheral

[Monitor resolution] either dual or curve

[Games & softwares that use frequently] game able to run ultra with high fps in 1440p

[Personal preferences] a must gtx1070, I5 7600k oc

[Location] KL
1440p monitor is not cheap, the cheapest one will cost you 1.2k, ViewSonic VX3209 and that's an entry level IPS monitor, if you are looking for fast response time and high refresh rate monitor, then you gonna pay more for a TN panel like Dell S2417DG GSYNC. Please take note that there is an pixel inversion issue in some early batches of this monitor, check properly before you make the final purchase.

Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1424
ASRock FATAL1TY H270 PERFORMANCE - RM 589
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 550
Gigabyte GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 G1 Gaming - RM 2168
WD Blue 250GB SSD - RM 413
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 429
Tecware Alpha - RM 219
Dell S2417DG GSYNC - RM 2029

Total: RM 8040 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Mar 10 2017, 07:55 PM)
looks like cant fit into a bagpack  sweat.gif
Oh too bad then, it is quite small actually, should be able to put in normal school bag.
terence_nwb
post Mar 11 2017, 08:45 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(smiling_leopard @ Mar 11 2017, 02:24 AM)
Proc - i3-4130
Mobo - Asrock H81M-DGS
GPU - Palit GTX 750 StormX dual
PSU - FSP Hexa 500w
HDD - 500 g WD
RAM - kingston Value RAM 8GB

hello guys, im using this spec around 3 years. the problem now my graphic is not working. I bring my gpu to technician and he said that my card damage due to low voltage. Before this, my pc having trouble such as no display, but after switch on and off and adjusting vga cable, its working again. Can i repair my gpu, or i need to change my psu if i want to buy new gpu? My pc is working fine if i connect my vga cable to mobo.
Depends on which model you are going to get, the PSU itself is fine to support low and mid end card, even Pascal GTX1060 can be powered on with that PSU.
terence_nwb
post Mar 13 2017, 07:40 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ThE-1cY @ Mar 13 2017, 06:21 PM)
Planning to get a similar setup to this. I noticed you are using U2417H monitors. Whats your opinion on U2417H vs 144Hz TN panel?

I have been using IPS monitors my entire life and my use case would be gaming (Battlefield 1, Dota 2), and photo editing (Lightroom).

Is GTX1070 going to be overkill for 1080p 60Hz monitor?
My preference will always be IPS > high refresh rate TN.

I rarely play fast pace games like Overwatch, BF1, CS:GO etc so 144Hz isn't important to me, IPS 144Hz do exist, but they are expensive (3k+). Since you do photo editing, it is better to get a good color gamut IPS monitor (those with 99% sRGB and wide color gamut support), the color of TN panel is not as accurate as IPS and the viewing angle sucks sweat.gif

There is a phrase "once you go for 144Hz, you can never go back", if you haven't tried out 144Hz display yet then you are probably still "safe", but high refresh rate really helps a lot in fast pace games.

I wouldn't say it is overkill to run GTX1070 on a 1080p 60Hz monitor, it depends on how you use it and extract the most out of it, don't forget you can always use DSR to get a sharper graphics output and you are likely to have a more stable frame rate when running the latest titles on the highest settings.

QUOTE(Quan920907 @ Mar 13 2017, 06:37 PM)
hi sifus,im planning to buy a new pc,since my old pc is slow down ( AROUND 10 YEAR doh.gif  )

[Budget] RM 5500

[Purpose] GAMING,MOVIE

[Hardwares that will be re-use] KEYBOARD AND MOUSE ONLY

[Monitor resolution]

[Games & softwares that use frequently] MMORG , DOTA2,(my budget possible run GTA5? )

[Personal preferences]

[Location] KL
=========
Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1424
Gigabyte H270-HD3 - RM 519
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 275
Zotac GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 AMP! SE - RM 1348
WD Blue 250GB SSD - RM 413
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 429
Tecware Alpha - RM 219
Dell S2316H IPS - RM 665

Total: RM 5511 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

There are many possible builds for your budget and yes your budget is more than enough to run GTA V.

Other possible builds:
1. i5 and bump the monitor to 144Hz panel
2. 16GB RAM
3. Other casing model (mobo/SSD/PSU as well)

etc.
terence_nwb
post Mar 14 2017, 08:56 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Quan920907 @ Mar 14 2017, 12:00 AM)
what different between 60hz and 144hz monitor,if i change to i5 can u adjust to me?thanks
It's refresh rate difference, hard to describe with words, you will get the meaning when you try it out yourself on a demo unit. 60Hz means your screen refreshes/changes the image/frame by 60 times per second, 144Hz means 144 times so it is much smoother than 60Hz in general, very useful for fast pace games.

If you only want to switch to i5, you can just change the i7 to i5 directly, other parts can remain, total cost will reduce by around RM 500+/- (if you get i5 7500).

terence_nwb
post Mar 14 2017, 04:19 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Quan920907 @ Mar 14 2017, 03:52 PM)
ALRIGHT,WHAT U WILL RECOMMEND 144HZ MONITOR FOR GAMING?
IF GAMING ONLY,I5 IS OVERKILL THOSE GAME?
Take a chill pill, no need to type in CAPS laugh.gif

The cheapest 1080p 144Hz monitor costs around 1k.

1. Acer KG240A (around 900 - 1k)
2. BenQ Zowie XL2411 (around 1.1k)
3. Acer XB240H (around 1.1k)
4. XF240H FreeSync (around 1.2k)
5. AOC G2460PF FreeSync (around 1.2k)
6. AOC G2460PQU (around 1.1k)

Please take note that all these monitors listed above are using TN panel, the build that I have listed down for you initially comes with an Dell IPS monitor, the differences between them are mostly viewing angle and color reproduction, TN has bad viewing angle and color reproduction but comes with a much higher refresh rate (144 vs 60) and faster response time (1ms vs 6ms), this is the sacrifice that you need to make if you switch from 60Hz to 144Hz, then you might ask why don't go for IPS 144Hz? Yes you can but the cheapest model costs more than 3k, your budget cannot fit it yet.

i5 is not overkill, some MMORPG use a lot of CPU resources and the i5 will help a bit here.
terence_nwb
post Mar 15 2017, 09:08 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(shunkori @ Mar 14 2017, 11:25 PM)
Hi sifuss

I was wondering since amd ryzen launched and intel is gonna cut price according to news. Is it a good time to buy now or wait until the price drop?
No official price drop yet from Intel, at least in Malaysia. Don't get your hope too high here, we might not see any price drop after all biggrin.gif

QUOTE(dudey @ Mar 15 2017, 12:07 AM)
Thanks. I've made some modification to the current build. I need to additional memory for some work. What do you think.

CPU: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard: Asus STRIX Z270-E GAMING ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-2666 Memory
Storage: Crucial M4 256GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
Storage: Western Digital BLACK SERIES 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon R9 290 4GB Tri-X OC Video Card
Power Supply: SeaSonic PRIME 650W 80+ Titanium Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Casing: Any recommendation for a lightweight/small casing?
Erm, lightweight and small casing contradict with ATX mobo sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Mar 15 2017, 11:07 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bamkai @ Mar 15 2017, 10:55 AM)
can recommend cheapest acer IPS monitor? 20-24inch?

Acer 24.0In K242Hl Bd Led Monitor any good? its an IPS right
, any more cheaper than this?
Did a quick online search, K242HL is using TN panel, not IPS.

The cheapest Acer IPS monitor is R221Q, 21.5", around RM 500.
terence_nwb
post Mar 15 2017, 12:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bamkai @ Mar 15 2017, 11:11 AM)
Thanks terence. Any other brand that i can get cheaper than this?
AOC I2280SWD, 21.5" - around RM 400
ViewSonic VA-2259-SH, 21.5", around RM 450
ViewSonic VA2419-SH, 24" - around RM 500
terence_nwb
post Mar 16 2017, 08:55 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Mnsyahir96 @ Mar 16 2017, 02:34 AM)
Can i get a mini itx build rig with gtx 1070 with RM4.5K budget ? @.@
Depends on your other requirements, like casing, storage, brand etc.

Based on my calculation, 4.5k can mostly fit i5 CPU, a non-K i5 is known to create CPU bottleneck when pairing with GTX1070, the GTX1070 won't be able to fully utilize/unleash its full power/potential in CPU demanding titles like Watch Dogs 2, TC: GR Wildlands, Hitman 2016 etc.
terence_nwb
post Mar 16 2017, 09:50 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Mar 16 2017, 09:34 AM)
Hey guys. Sorry for a little off topic question. I was wondering there were no more seasonic PSU recommendations. I have seen many seller dropped their products as well. Is Seasonic out of business?
This is because Edifier MY (distributor) has stopped bringing in Seasonic PSU into Malaysia since Q3 last year.
terence_nwb
post Mar 16 2017, 10:20 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Mar 16 2017, 09:56 AM)
GG. Who's gonna handle the warranty?
AFAIK there is no new distributor for Seasonic in Malaysia yet, Seasonic HQ in Taiwan will be in charge of RMA/warranty and it will take longer time to complete the claim.
terence_nwb
post Mar 16 2017, 11:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(shunkori @ Mar 16 2017, 09:36 PM)
tough luck then sad.gif I have 1 more question.
for gaming in max settings, do i really need a decent GPU? like those gpu that can clock? for example i5 7600 v it 7600k

mind to enlighten me the difference?
Er wait, you are talking about CPU right? If yes then it depends on the games, if it is heavy in CPU then you will benefit from a faster CPU, K or non-K don't matter if you don't overclock it but K series CPU is generally faster than non-K due to higher stock core clock speed.

QUOTE(hoxxaf @ Mar 16 2017, 11:17 PM)
Can I simply swap CM Elite 110 with Shark Zone C10 for this build?
Yes you can, just have to make sure the seller/retailer got carry this specific casing.
terence_nwb
post Mar 17 2017, 10:29 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(shunkori @ Mar 17 2017, 09:28 AM)
i see. thanks for the info! biggrin.gif
yeah, sorry sorry wasn't thinking properly yesterday tongue.gif. that's the thing. I'm not sure will i overclock or not. am new to the overclocking thing and would like to expore more scare if I overclock
In order to go for overclocking path, you need to prepare some "extra" budget for the components, an overclocked mobo (Z270 for latest Intel chipset or X370/X300/B350 for AMD AM4), a decent after market CPU cooler (new K CPU doesn't come with stock cooler anymore, even if it does include a stock cooler, it still couldn't cope with the amount of heat dissipated), a supported PSU (just make sure it is stable when you overclock) and etc.

If you're limited on budget, don't ever think of overclocking, the performance/price ratio is bad generally.
terence_nwb
post Mar 17 2017, 10:44 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(REManiac @ Mar 17 2017, 10:25 AM)
Hi sifus, is there any significant difference when it comes to 3D/game engine rendering on i7 non-K and K processors? (i7-7700 and i7-7700K in this case)

Planning to get the K variant since it offers faster clocking speed than non-K but since my mobo budget is only around RM500, is it totally fine to go for B250/H270 chipset mobo?

P/S: I don't really plan to overclock the processor since i simply want to play safe (heard that overclocking decreases the processor lifespan)
Yes quite significant and worth the extra RM 100+ for 7700K, the stock speed difference is 0.6GHz when turbo boost is off (4.2G vs 3.6G) and the most important thing is quad core turbo boost on 7700K can stay at 4.4G while 7700 can only manage to do 4.0G, but bear in mind you will need to spend extra for an after market CPU cooler too because 7700K doesn't come with stock cooler.

QUOTE(Ultraman123 @ Mar 17 2017, 10:40 AM)
Thanks with the useful link.
Another noob question to ask, is the i7 7700 can support a ddr3 motherboard?
You need to look for previous generation chipset (namely H110/B150/H170/Z170) with DDR3 RAM slot to use DDR3 RAM with i7 7700.
terence_nwb
post Mar 17 2017, 03:38 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(REManiac @ Mar 17 2017, 11:23 AM)
Ah i see, any budget CPU cooler recommended? Do i have to invest on thermal paste as well?
CM 212 series, TX3 EVO etc. Due to different CPU cooler clearance of each casing, you need to choose the one which can fit in your casing.

And answer to your previous question, yes any B250/H270 will do unless you are looking for specific feature like USB-C, 3.1, RAID etc.

QUOTE(shunkori @ Mar 17 2017, 12:13 PM)
Yeah, I am aware of that. This is what I planning for my rig

Intel Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
z170 or z270 mobo.

Not sure if I should push higher for z270 or 170. my budget is around 5k +-
Z170 is slightly cheaper than Z270 here, this is because most of the Z170 in our local market are still based on old price (before our currency become 1 USD to RM 4.5).

If you don't need the new features offered by Z270 then you can just go for Z170.
terence_nwb
post Mar 18 2017, 09:05 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bpc @ Mar 18 2017, 01:17 AM)
where to buy ryzen 1800 series in KL ? should we wait a bit for motherboards to become stable or buy biggrin.gif
Plenty of stores carry it already, if you are not looking for SFF (X300/A300/B300) mobo then you can buy it now as stocks have arrived tentatively since last week.

I have seen Viewnet/DotaTech/ETECH selling the 1800X @ RM 2599.

QUOTE(sany1424 @ Mar 18 2017, 03:14 AM)
hai...im planning to upgrade my existing rig to 1151 platform..

i3 4130
Gigabyte Sniper B5
8GB value ram
Silverstone ST56F
Palit 1060 3GB ------> newly bought

due to tight budget...im eyeing for

G4560
Asus H110M-K
Corsair value ram 8GB

Worth?
Not worth, the performance is almost the same.
terence_nwb
post Mar 18 2017, 01:56 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(bpc @ Mar 18 2017, 11:58 AM)
thx mate
MSI X370 XPOWER GAMING TITANIUM # AMD RYZEN Socket AM4 looks fine actually has ddr4 3200 support price is 1799 at dotatech
and for graphics card i am thinking GIGABYTE GTX1070 WINDFORCE # 8G/D5 / GV-N1070WF2-8GD what do u say? and finally can i fit all those to NZXT MANTA Mini ITX  ? biggrin.gif thx man
As mentioned earlier, SFF AM4 mobo is still not released yet so if you are aiming for mITX build, you will have to postpone your idea now or switch to Intel.

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:02 AM