5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

lolzcalvin
post Aug 14 2019, 05:12 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

hmm, it seems like we can buy RAM with high frequency and less latency in newegg malaysia now? i try browsing for g.skill and it comes out with tridentZ royal 3600MHz CL16. https://www.newegg.com/global/my-en/g-skill...2-809-_-Product
lolzcalvin
post Dec 13 2019, 10:32 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(raymondmc @ Dec 13 2019, 06:40 PM)

AFAIK, 5700XT does not support ray tracing which i wish to have when play CoD, guess ill go with 2060S.
top up a bit, go for 2070 super and you'll forget about 5700xt and 2060s.
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/gigabyte...rb0eLZ&search=1
lolzcalvin
post Jan 5 2020, 02:23 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(Noob Boy 1996 @ Jan 5 2020, 11:58 AM)
I saw some desktops from illgear and level 51. Are those OK? they sure come with a lot more options on their rigs but i think is price is quite expensive. Any commend?
yes, illegear and level 51's "custom gaming desktop" are way expensive than you pick the exact same parts and build it on your own.
lolzcalvin
post Jan 15 2020, 10:36 AM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 14 2020, 08:13 PM)
I'm looking at getting a new PSU. Initially I thought of getting the EVGA G+ 750W for around RM4XX but I realised that there is no zero rpm mode.

Currently looking at the Corsair RM750/750x/750i or the HX750w for RM5XX? hmm.gif

Budget is around RM500-600 so might as well get the highest wattage possible even though my system is only consuming less than 500W. Currently with a i5-3450 + GTX1060 3GB and a 500W PSU but will upgrade to probably a Ryzen 4000 series CPU (RM1.3-1.5k ish) and a beefier GPU maybe.
probably get the RM/RMi one, because gold PSUs in reality has only about 1-2% less efficient than platinum PSUs. really makes no difference.
i'd suggest you to get RM850x (2018 ver)/RM850 (2019 ver) though.
lolzcalvin
post Jan 15 2020, 06:19 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 15 2020, 02:27 PM)
Thanks. Just wondering how do u know which is 2018 or 2019 version?

I'm currently looking at one RM750i on lazada which is surprisingly cheaper than the RM750x

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.Zyijn

There was one review on the RM750i from tomshardware which mentioned the PSU only has one EPS connector. Don't understand what this means? Is it referring to a lack of a second cable or there is no second EPS port on the PSU itself?

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/corsai...upply,4223.html
https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/977798...or-old-version/

the review for RM750i is old, isn't it? around 2015.
because for RM750i, it only comes with one CPU connector a.k.a. EPS connector. usually old PSU only come with 1.
some motherboard requires 2 of these connectors so that the CPU is ready for a stable overclock. my motherboard requires 2 EPS connectors.
some PSUs circumvent the problem of redesigning by just adding a some sort of splitter connector for EPS so that the 8-pin CPU socket from the PSU will supply power to 2 8 pin EPS connector and I doubt it's as stable as having dedicated 2 8-pin CPU sockets from the PSU itself.

usually, newer PSUs or high power PSUs will have 2 dedicated sockets for CPU power connection. go and check out RM750x, 2018 version if you insist on needing only 750w, and RM850x 2018 ver if you want to get a 850w one. the dimension should be the same as newer RM850x.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Jan 15 2020, 09:34 PM
lolzcalvin
post Jan 17 2020, 11:00 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(Skynet09 @ Jan 17 2020, 10:42 PM)
Any sifu here can advice me this spec, thanks.

Total = RM 8203

CPU : AMD Ryzen 9 3900X -RM2174
MOBO : GIGABYTE X570 AORUS ELITE WIFI - RM1079
GPU : GALAX GeForce RTX 2070  EX (1-Click OC) - RM1917
RAM : 32GB (2X16GB) 3200MHz DDR4 CL16 HyperX FURY RGB - RM694
SSD : SX8200PRO M.2 2280 512GB - RM349
HDD : Seagate Barracuda 2TB - RM260
PSU : Silver Stone Gold 750W SST-ET750-G - RM339
CASE : MasterBox NR600 Chassis - RM302
MONITOR : (2x) Acer Nitro VG240Y - RM1024
ODD : Asus DRW-24D5MT/BLK/B/AS - RM65
https://shopee.com.my/GIGABYTE-X570-AORUS-E...9831.2609648879
GIGABYTE X570 AORUS ELITE WIFI + AMD Ryzen 9 3900X - RM2,958.00, saves you about RM200+.

https://shopee.com.my/-GALAX-RTX-2070-SUPER...5397.2436344609
GALAX GeForce RTX 2070 Super EX (1-CLICK OC) - RM2,168.00, dump your RM200+ here instead of getting the non-super version.

why need ODD? for me I stopped using it since 2016.
lolzcalvin
post Jan 19 2020, 12:04 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(free2d @ Jan 19 2020, 11:31 AM)
AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Gigabyte B450 I Aorus Pro WIFI
Can above combo use 3600mhz RAM. So worry buy wrong RAM.
I need these 3 components only.
I don't mind going m-atx as i have the case already.
Is all board size same capability, only difference in features?
get MSI B450 Tomahawk Max.
lolzcalvin
post Feb 5 2020, 10:03 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Feb 5 2020, 06:26 PM)
I'm okay with stretching my budget. Can u comment on the 2600 + 5700xt combo? I'm not too worried about storage, can upgrade later if needed but truth is I only will have time to play 1 game on it (1 at a time)
try to avoid 5700XT for now unfortunately. AMD's GPU dept isn't as good as their CPU dept. even in Fallout 4, some mod authors have to put out texture fixes solely for these new AMD cards smh.

most recent complaint about regretting on getting 5700XT.
https://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/comments/eyh5bt/regret/

a Fallout 4 mod needs an extra patch just for AMD cards.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Feb 5 2020, 10:07 PM
lolzcalvin
post Feb 6 2020, 10:14 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Feb 6 2020, 06:06 PM)
Thanks for your reply, I can find Trident Z RAM with 3200mhz and 3600mhz at around the same price:

3600Mhz 18-22-22-42 RM490
3200Mhz 16-18-18-38 RM490

In this case should I go for 3600mhz?
they're at the same price because they perform pretty much the same. first one has higher memory frequency than the second, whilst the second one has better overall latency than the first one. both memory frequency and its latency are a big deal in performance.
lolzcalvin
post Feb 7 2020, 07:42 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Feb 7 2020, 10:25 AM)
Thanks. I understand that both frequency & latency matter, but most RAMs are cheaper for the lower frequency ones while having better latency, so I assume that higher frequency is better than lower latency if given the price is similar? This is the part that I am not sure about.

Will probably also consider the cheaper Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro or Adata XPG Spectrix D60G since these do look good also and I believe have good performance. I am just a regular user, so will not be tinkering with RAM timings and such, so as long as the performance is good for the price paid and looks good, I will be happy.
latency matter a lot, and kinda vary between models, as well as which motherboard you plug your RAM sticks in too.
sometimes, a 3800MHz CL19 can perform worse than 3200MHz CL16.
you can pick either one really, if 3600MHz is widely available then buy it.

i traced back to your initial post, it seems like you're running intel build, then the speed and latency actually matters insignificantly. on ryzen build it matters quite noticeable.
lolzcalvin
post Feb 11 2020, 01:42 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(kaiwong1020 @ Feb 11 2020, 12:54 PM)
XEON not for desktop la....
pakai balik normal desktop cpu lo... haha
who says Xeon not for desktop? many of them are for desktops. that's why they're called workstation processors...

ur budget 10k is for whole rig for only for mobo + CPU?
lolzcalvin
post Mar 10 2020, 10:38 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(catsper @ Mar 10 2020, 10:17 PM)
The 240mm AIO could OC the 2700 to perform like a 2700x. Viable?
Garage sale has new 2700 for RM650.
just get 2700x...plug in the OG cpu fan called wraith prism and u are good to go
lolzcalvin
post Mar 15 2020, 08:44 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(raxan @ Mar 15 2020, 02:07 PM)
Budget: ~5000 max 5500
QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Mar 15 2020, 04:00 PM)
PSU : SF LEADEX II 650W GOLD BLACK
can also opt for Super Flower Leadex III...newer and improved version. only at RM399, seems like a lot ppl forget Super Flower got release a follow up for Leadex II lol
lolzcalvin
post Mar 17 2020, 01:01 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(JunWei-.- @ Mar 11 2020, 09:35 AM)
[Budget] RM10k - RM15k (inclusive of monitor)

[Purpose] esports (mainly Dota and CS: GO), AAA titles in the future, most imporantly I want to future-proof this rig for as long as possible

[Hardwares that will be re-use] keyboard, mouse, etc (basically everything else except the rig and monitor)

[Monitor resolution] preferably 240Hz, unsure about 1080p vs 1440p and 24" vs 27"++

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota and CS: GO, AAA titles in the future

[Personal preferences] none

[Location] KL

thanks all smile.gif
can use my signature as reference for budget 10k...only difference is you don't get RTX2080 as it's discontinued. aim for higher e.g. 2080 super or 2080ti...you budget has a lot of flexibility, basically you can pick up different high end combinations.

difficult to find 240Hz 1440p unless you're talking about TN panels. for TN panels there are good ones like HP Omen X 27, but not available in malaysia unfortunately. if you want IPS panel too bad, no IPS monitors up till now can reach 240Hz yet. unless you can wait till Q4 2020 maybe you can reserve this monitor: Eve Spectrum QHD 240Hz. costing $529 now (they say will increase in price gradually), it comes without stand and the stand costs another $100 so make sure you have VESA mount readily available if you want to avoid the stand. RM condition is so bad now you might want to avoid buying it doh.gif

IF you can ease your preference and able to forgo 240Hz, you can try 165Hz panels. one instance is Gigabyte AORUS FI27Q-P: https://www.lazada.com.my/products/gigabyte...nYqyM2&search=1

once you go beyond 1080p you'll never go back.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Mar 17 2020, 03:31 PM
lolzcalvin
post Mar 17 2020, 03:13 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(dus3 @ Mar 17 2020, 02:10 PM)
hi sifus,

please help me choose which psu is better:
fsp hydro ge 650W 80 Plus Gold or cooler master v650

wanna buy rig but kedai got no many option for psu. gpu will be rtx 2060
got Hydro G bo? Hydro GE is Hydro G but lower in quality...
lolzcalvin
post May 24 2020, 12:17 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ May 24 2020, 10:48 AM)
That's why I just buy cheap 3000/3200 then OC through DRAM calculator tongue.gif

Save lots of money by doing that brows.gif

Too bad there's nothing can be done unless we can remove the distributors out from the equation laugh.gif
did you succeed? i've tried OCing 3600MHz CL18 to tighter timing and failed immediately using DRAM calculator's value. and 3600MHz CL18 is also a samsung b-die. 3800MHz worked but I didn't want to OC my FCLK to 1900MHz for 1:1.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: May 24 2020, 12:18 PM
lolzcalvin
post May 24 2020, 12:47 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(llk @ May 24 2020, 12:33 PM)
Should get 3200C14, no issue OC to 3600mhz C14

that's from a 3600MHz CL18? straight down to CL14? blink.gif
lolzcalvin
post Jun 24 2020, 03:17 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jun 24 2020, 03:07 PM)
Haha then no need. Purely for gaming performance only. So hynix chip ok also ya? Guess i wont be OCing the kits. Only turn on xmp.
you can try 3600MHz 16-16-16-36 biggrin.gif comes with a price to pay (literally). i found 2 sets of 8x2 back in april or so.
performance wise is more or less the same with 3200MHz 14-14-14-34. 3600MHz CL16 can easily tighten to 3200MHz CL14 but with no improvement. easiest route for OC and actual improvement would be 3800MHz CL16.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Jun 24 2020, 03:20 PM
lolzcalvin
post Dec 15 2021, 06:31 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Dec 14 2021, 02:46 PM)
Do u think DDR4 is ok since DDR5 just released.
How much performance gain actually by switching from DDR4 to DDR5?
Is it really worth it, performance wise?
kek ddr5 still infancy ya..they haven't nail down the timings yet
a lot of DDR5s out in the market now rocking super high CAS latency mcm sial, even after compensated with its natural super high clock rate, the overall latency is still higher than high-end DDR4s, simply because DDR4s are already very mature..
give ddr5 a bit more time, maybe a year or two, then only consider buying it
lolzcalvin
post Nov 14 2022, 03:41 PM

shibe in predicament
1,588 posts

QUOTE(Chiggah @ Nov 14 2022, 11:26 AM)
Is now a decent time to upgrade ? Haven’t upgraded for 6 years.

Are the prices OK despite exchange rates ?
price is not OK due to inflation and exchange rates. don't think it'll settle down until end of next year. also depends on your budget....if u have high enough budget anytime is a decent time to upgrade (except maybe during the crypto boom period last year)

unless you're looking to upgrade to previous gen CPUs and GPUs then the price could still be fine. prices are dropping at least for stuffs like AMD Zen 3 CPUs, Nvidia RTX 30 series etc.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Nov 14 2022, 03:44 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0534sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:13 AM