13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

terence_nwb
post May 6 2017, 04:11 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(boon213 @ May 6 2017, 02:05 PM)
what wifi adapter should I get? any recommendations? what does everyone use?
Your WiFi router is capable of 5GHz or not? If yes then getting a 5GHz dual band adapter will greatly improve the connection.
terence_nwb
post May 7 2017, 01:46 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ May 6 2017, 06:46 PM)
guys, wanna ask.. Is Xeon 1231 v3 still good ?

Im using that.. should I try to upgrade?
if I remember properly 980Ti is not bottlenecked by it, right?
Still good, no worries!

QUOTE(boon213 @ May 7 2017, 01:14 AM)
Like D-link dwa582? Is that alright?
Yes that's a dual band adapter, overkill if your router is only single band (2.4GHz).

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 7 2017, 10:54 AM)

Is this Motherboard Asus H110M-K good motherboard ?
What I can say is it is a decent entry level mobo.

QUOTE(boon213 @ May 7 2017, 11:21 AM)
does anyone know if the Cooler Master V550W listed in c-zone's pricelist the semi modular or tier 1 fully modular one?
V550 indicates fully modular unit, VS is the semi modular unit unless they have typo on their price list.
terence_nwb
post May 8 2017, 09:11 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DontYouFakeIt @ May 7 2017, 08:30 PM)
Hi sifus, pls give some advice on my new rig.

[Budget] Rm3000

[Purpose] Office

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor

[Monitor resolution] 1920 x 1080

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Architecture software ie autocad

[Personal preferences] i7 or ryzen 1600. Worth upgrading to i7 from ryzen 1600?

For workstation rig, Ryzen is more preferred thanks to its higher core count.

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - RM 1039
Asus Prime A320M-K - RM 303
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 570
Palit GTX1050 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 565
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 185
Tecware Edge - RM 149

Total: RM 3030 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

Included a discrete GPU so you can enable CUDA in AutoCAD as hardware accelerator.

terence_nwb
post May 8 2017, 02:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(yuka @ May 8 2017, 02:38 PM)
Hello,

I'm looking to upgrade my computer parts. Reason to be able to play latest game with decent frame-rate with max settings.

Here's what I have now and I'm using 1080p resolution monitor:

i5 2400
MSI P67A-C45
8GB RAM
R9 280X

Should I change to latest processor bridge (or AMD), or just change the graphics card? My budget would be around RM1500.

Thanks in advanced.
You might face some CPU bottleneck issues if you pair it with high end GPU in those CPU demanding titles, try to look for used i7 3770 and grab RX580 8GB/GTX1060 6GB, should be able for you to run latest titles at decent FPS with max settings biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post May 9 2017, 02:32 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ May 9 2017, 01:21 PM)
Ryzen 1600 RM1039
MSI B350M Mortar RM480
Kingston Value 16GB DDR4 RAM RM549

Total : RM2068  biggrin.gif
Fixed for you biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post May 10 2017, 08:23 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 10 2017, 05:47 PM)
[B][Budget]3-3.5k

[Purpose]Mostly  for internet/movie/little bit of gaming (dota 2)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] SSD,mouse

[Monitor resolution]22" FHD or higher?

[Games & softwares that use frequently] dota2

[Personal preferences] prefer Intel & Nvidia as i had a bad experience with AMD especially in drivers

[Location]PJ
Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 853
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 - RM 279
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 279
Zotac GTX1050 2GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 579
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 219
Corsair VS450 - RM 190
Tecware F3 - RM 119
Dell S2318H IPS - RM 699

Total: RM 3217 (Techview PJ price inclusive of GST)

terence_nwb
post May 11 2017, 10:06 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 11 2017, 09:38 PM)
Can I go for this

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - RM 1039
Asus Prime A320M-K - RM 303
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 570

Hard disk,PSU I have think just need to add graphic card...
Yep you can nod.gif

Bear in mind that this mobo comes with 2 RAM slots only, if you plan to add more in the future, please get 1 x 16GB now or swap to a 4 slots one.
terence_nwb
post May 11 2017, 10:14 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 11 2017, 10:12 PM)
4 slots motherboard gonna be more expensive right?
Yup, cheapest one is around RM 400.
terence_nwb
post May 12 2017, 09:03 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Egorist @ May 12 2017, 06:49 PM)
CPU : INTEL PENTIUM G4560
MOBO : ASROCK H270M ITX
CASE : cm elite 110 - in transit
RAM : APACER 8GB DDR4 2133 X 2
GPU : ZOTAC GTX 1050ti 4GB DDR5 DUAL FAN
PSU : AEROCOOL KCAS 500w
Ssd: 128 gb m.2 & 480gb 2.5
Hdd: 1 tb 5.4k rpm 2.5
Fan: 120mm(included in case)-in transit
Mind recommending a PSU? Thinking of replacing current psu to @least gold efficiency & semi modular since mini itx is small.
Superflower Leadex Gold/Corsair V series (or VS for semi modular unit) etc, they aren't cheap FYI.

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ May 12 2017, 07:08 PM)
just wanna ask.. is 1080Ti a worth it upgrade for 980Ti? doh.gif
If you aren't satisfied with the performance of your current 980Ti and got plenty of budget then why not laugh.gif

But if I were you, I might just wait for Volta instead, Pascal is 1 year old already this month, successor is coming soon whistling.gif
terence_nwb
post May 12 2017, 10:06 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Egorist @ May 12 2017, 09:52 PM)
sweat.gif yup. Just lazada 'em.
They ain't cheap.
Still, gold/platinum grade psu will reduce electric bill significantly, rite?
Current psu is bronze grade 500w Aerocool Kcas.
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/blog/2012/aug...e-benefit-to-me

Load the link and scroll to the bottom part for the table, the difference isn't too much actually.
terence_nwb
post May 12 2017, 11:00 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ May 12 2017, 10:45 PM)
Any news on Volta? It's more on 1080ti feels tempting
Nvidia just announced Tesla V100 (based on Volta architecture) few days ago at their technology conference, consumer grade (GTX) card should be around the corner, be patient biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post May 15 2017, 04:30 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(RaptoR @ May 15 2017, 02:57 PM)
Hi all sifus!

Planning to upgrade pc, gonna give ryzen a try, and may want to do some mild overclock in the near future.

Ryzen 5 1600
Asus Prime B-350 Plus (Been following another thread, seems like this is the best B350 board)
Corsair Ram CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 Vengeance® LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM
PSU - SUPERFLOWER LEADEX 650W 80 PLUS Silver (is this ok? or have to get the Gold series, RM100 difference)

Planning to get from techview due to location convenience, only thing not sure they have the Asus mobo.

Any advise is much appreciated smile.gif
The RAM model listed by you is supported by Ryzen (certified by Corsair) but some people complained on Reddit that they failed to keep it running on 3000MHz, have to downclock to 2666MHz for total stability.

And about the PSU, Silver unit is under tier 2 while the Gold unit is under tier 1, if you can fork out the extra RM 100 then why not right laugh.gif

If budget is a concern then the Silver unit will work fine too, but due to stock shortage of Superflower PSU, you might be forced to get other brands.
terence_nwb
post May 16 2017, 02:17 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ May 16 2017, 02:01 PM)
guys for Gigabyte Z270 mobo, is it advisable to get the one with wifi adapter built in? or should I just get a wifi adapter instead?
btw, does wifi built in = have bluetooth built in as well?
So far only high end ATX Z270 and mITX Z270 come with WiFi card and yes, they do come with Bluetooth connectivity (mostly 4.2 and above) and dual band WiFi support.

Just get a cheap 2.4GHz TP-LINK WiFi adapter if you are using normal 2.4GHz router and would like to save money.
terence_nwb
post May 16 2017, 02:35 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ May 16 2017, 02:21 PM)
means I would need 1 usb slot for wifi adapter and 1 usb slot for bluetooth adapter...plus 2 usb port for mouse and keyboard respectively ...I see the techware alpha casing only have 4 usb slot  confused.gif 
means I don't have any extra slot d???
That's front panel USB port, don't forget you still have rear USB port from your mobo, if your mobo comes with 4 rear USB ports then you will have 8 USB ports in total.
terence_nwb
post May 17 2017, 08:42 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(aizatbadrul @ May 17 2017, 01:48 AM)
Rate this setup:

G4560
Asus H110M-K
G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4 2400 MHZ 8GB
GIGABYTE RX 570 AORUS 4GB
FSP HYDRO 600W (80+Bronze)
Corsair Carbide 100R
Corsair Force LE 120GB SSD//SAMSUNG EVO 250GB
WD 1TB CARVIAR BLUE

Total rm 3000//rm3200(ssd samsung)

Is it  ok for perfomance per value? Open for any advices on upgrade/downgrade.. Thanks..😀
CPU bottleneck is likely to happen in those CPU demanding titles. I would suggest you to dump the SSD idea and opt for a better CPU initially, only add an SSD when you have more funds later, it is always easier to add new stuff rather than upgrading the whole CPU platform (since you need to find a place to sell your existing CPU when you conduct the upgrade).

QUOTE(iAme @ May 17 2017, 07:29 AM)
Hi guys. I need suggestion. Here's my old setup (2013 i think)

Intel i5-4570
Gigabyte HD87M D3H
G.Skill Ripjaws X 4gbx2 1600mhz
Sapphire HD7790 Dual-X OC 1gb ddr5
WD CBlue 1tb
Coolermaster EX2 725W

Should i sell this, and build a new setup or just upgrade?
My budget is around 1.5k only for upgrade and below 3k for new setup. Yang mana worth?
Is it ok if i beli GTX 1060, add more 8gb ram and ssd?
Just upgrade (to what you stated), no need to build again, not worth the money.
terence_nwb
post May 17 2017, 05:01 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(aizatbadrul @ May 17 2017, 04:51 PM)
Ok nice it seems that g4560 will bottleneck at certain demanding games..  How about this setup? Any comment?

I5 7400
Gigabyte Aorus Xtr RX 580 8GB
Gigabyte GA B250 GAMING G.SKill Aegis Series 8GB DDR4 2400MHZ
FSP HYDRO G 650W (80+GOLD)
CORSAIR CARBIDE 100R WINDOW
SAMSUNG 850 EVO 250GB
WD BLUE 1TB

TOTAL: RM4500
No problem with the new setup (I assume you can top up your budget since the total cost of your initial build is around 3k only).
terence_nwb
post May 17 2017, 06:01 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(aizatbadrul @ May 17 2017, 05:20 PM)
Yeah,just doubting whether to go low-mid rig or all way mid range build? What say you?Should i upgrade slowly or all out spend
Got budget and can spend so much in one time? Go for it laugh.gif

Got budget but don't want to cash out so much? Ask for installment plan, if got then you can consider this step biggrin.gif

No budget? Stick with the initial plan whistling.gif
terence_nwb
post May 17 2017, 08:17 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ May 17 2017, 06:46 PM)
guys, any good replacement for EVGA supernova 550w G2 for my build ? Can't seems to find stock for this PSU.
Recap of my build :
I7-7700k
Z270-HD3
2x 8gb ddr4 2400 ram
GTX 1080
Samsung Evo 850 SSD/EVO 750- 500 GB
WD 1TB HDD
ID Cooling 240
Superflower Leadex Gold (seems to be OOS too for most of the retail shops), CM V series (not VS), Corsair RM series etc.

QUOTE(Ivan Sac @ May 17 2017, 08:04 PM)
[B][Budget] RM2000 for rig, RM600 for Monitor

[Purpose] Normal usage, sometimes will be using it for Photoshop,Lightroom & AI

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Keyboard, Mouse & Speaker

[Monitor resolution] Something suitable for photo editing

[Games & softwares that use frequently] FIFA, AI, Lightroom, Photoshop

[Personal preferences] Need 2 suggestions, Intel & Ryzen. Doesn't need graphic card first, will buy it later.

[Location] KL
If you go for Ryzen path, you will need to get a super low end GPU for display because it doesn't have any integrated GPU, even the basic one, this will increase the total cost and over your budget (cheapest Ryzen 5 1400 + cheapest A320 mobo + cheapest GT710 = RM 100+ more than Intel build).

Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 773
Gigabyte B250M-D3H - RM 419
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 275
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 210
Tecware Edge - RM 149
Dell S2218H IPS - RM 589

Total: RM 2634 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

Included an entry level 550W PSU so you can upgrade your GPU in the future without having to upgrade the PSU as well.

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: May 17 2017, 08:17 PM
terence_nwb
post May 17 2017, 08:57 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Ivan Sac @ May 17 2017, 08:29 PM)
Hi. Thanks for the reply. Didn't know there is no build in graphic for AMD series. If I want to add a graphic card, what would be the full spec list. Maybe I can consider to top up little bit for the Ryzen build. From the review and discussion here, itseems like Ryzen 5 is better compared to i5.
You may go for something like this.

AMD Ryzen 5 1400 - RM 819
ASRock AB350M Pro4 - RM 399
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 275
Palit GT710 1GB DDR3 - RM 150
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 210
Tecware Edge - RM 149
Dell S2218H IPS - RM 589

Total: RM 2810 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post May 18 2017, 10:06 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 18 2017, 09:46 AM)
Hi Sifus,

I have additional desktop pc which is runing on i5 4570 8GB RAM just for surfing,music and downloading stuff etc...

Is it the right time for me to upgrade to Ryzen 1600 or shall I wait for 1 more year...

Please advice...
I don't see any reason to upgrade from i5 with your usage pattern, i5 is more than enough to serve you at the moment, if the pattern doesn't change, it can last you for many years, those are light weight tasks.

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0380sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:06 AM