5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Insurance Talk V4!, Anything and everything about Insurance

TSroystevenung
post Dec 20 2017, 10:25 AM

2,173 posts

Seriously, please stop comparing products in this forum as it only leads to useless debates.

As I had mentioned before, if you do not represent that company, you do not know how the company operates, the latest offering, the detail of the product, how the payout is going to be, what benefits it offers and much more.

Therefore, you are not in the position to comment on the product and even worse, comparing an apple to orange and say apple is better...

As a professional agent, is it your job to bash other company product or is it your job to help your prospect get the proper insurance to help him/family in time of needs?

People buy insurance from you because of your professionalism, period.

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Dec 20 2017, 06:31 AM)
Does more riders = more commission to the agent?
Yes of course as the rider may be needed to cover other risk/perils.

For example, the recent flood that occur, many houses does not have flood perils extension and therefore unable to claim under the contents insurance.

Case in point is not having a medical rider or accidental reimbursement rider and when accident occurs, nothing is paid to the assured.

Yes it is an added commission to the agents, but insurance is more about need based selling to cover certain risk.
TSroystevenung
post Dec 29 2017, 01:21 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Dec 29 2017, 11:39 AM)
For PrudentialBSN ILP policies, what funds are available, and what are the management fees like?
PruBSN Takaful Funds
TSroystevenung
post Jan 1 2018, 10:08 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(wykoh2 @ Jan 1 2018, 08:46 PM)
Hi Sifus here,

Can I know any different if I pay my Investment-Link Insurance's premium anually or monthly? My agent told me that pay anually can have more cash value?

Thanks in advance
What nonsense is this, pay annually can have more cash value? Seriously that agent needs to back up his claims with facts.

No, there is no such guarantee that paying yearly can have more cash value in ILP as it depends on the underlying fund prices and the number of units bought at the time the premium is paid.

For the ILP the agent who ask you to pay annually because it secures his commission for the year and very rarely have to worry about you not paying the premium promptly, that is all.
TSroystevenung
post Jan 3 2018, 12:38 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(willwen @ Jan 1 2018, 06:00 PM)
I already have medical ILP with annual limit $X.

Is it a good idea to top up with a standalone medical card from another company with deductible $X but with much higher limits? What are the cons to this?
For convenience sake, it is advisable to restrict the claims to one insurer and best option is to UPGRADE the existing medical card and not maintain 2 medical cards.

Unless during the application for upgrade, the client has other health issues which may impose Exclusion. Then it is recommended to have 2 cards. If not, best to stick to one card.

Handling of the claims with second insurer can at times be mind boggling as the second insurer will require the exact medical reports which were submitted directly to the first insurer. Ding dong here, ding dong there, which causes delay in paying the claims.

--
Here is a claims scenario that you may want to consider as well...

Assuming that the first card comes with an annual limit of RM50K, while the second with RM50K deductible and RM1M limit and the surgery costs RM80K.

Since the first card is only able to provide Guarantee Letter up to RM50K, upon discharge, the client is required to pay in cash RM30K and using the original receipt, Letter of Settlement (from 1st insurer) & hospital medical reports, file a claim from the second insurer.

If both cards were from the same insurer, then it is possible to seamlessly have the second medical card to cover the hospital charges variances without having the client to fork out his own money.

--

Another point to consider when getting the second medical card with high deductible is some coverage clauses. For example, older medical cards after 2003 for Cancer Treatment & Kidney Dialysis are known to Exclude Take Home Drugs, Long Term Medication and Consultation Charges (THD, LTM & CC).

If it is married together with a second medical card with say RM50K deductible, even though the second medical card do cover the THD, LTM & CC, the total Cancer claim will have to Exceed the RM50K deductible before the above can be claimed.

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Jan 3 2018, 02:05 AM
TSroystevenung
post Jan 3 2018, 08:37 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jan 3 2018, 08:01 PM)
When submitting claims, the insurance companies would require original copies. How then does one submit the remainder for the claim to another insurance company?
Only the receipt submitted for claims required to be original. The rest can be photocopy or certified true copy, depending on the insurer SOP.
TSroystevenung
post Jan 31 2018, 04:25 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(I_am_Mushi_90 @ Jan 31 2018, 04:17 PM)
If i have 2 medical insurance from Prudential and AIA, let say i admitted to hospital and use prudential medical card to cover all my medical expenses. After 1 year, i admitted to hospital again for the same disease, can i use AIA to pay the medical expenses? I read regarding pre existing illness from somewhere, is this considered as pre-existing illness if i claim the medical expenses before but with another company? I am new and keen to buy a insurance now, spending days to read through this thread, so far only read 40 pages., hopefully can gain something new knowledge here for my 1st policy. smile.gif
A "pre-existing illness" is defined as an illness or medical condition that has existed before you take up the insurance.

In the above example, since you already have the insurance then it is not considered as a pre-existing illness.

Example of Pre-Existing Illness

Mr. A had a medical insurance (A) since 2007 and had an accident in 2008. A metal implant was inserted for broken leg.

In 2009 he took up a another personal medical insurance (B) and wanted to be admitted to remove the metal implant using medical insurance (B). Claims using medical insurance (B) is declined citing pre-existing illness.

He may however claim using his medical insurance (A).

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Jan 31 2018, 04:30 PM
TSroystevenung
post Jan 31 2018, 09:36 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(initialdota @ Jan 31 2018, 05:40 PM)
i have an brain operation last 2 years ago (tumor).recently i heard from friend said that i should claim from 36 critical illness.i checked back my insurance,i bought 6 years ago......Do i eligible to claim?mine is prudential
Refer to the policy book on brain surgery. If it fits the description in the 36 CI then you should try to file a claim.

If it is a benign tumor and bur hole surgery is performed, then it may not fit the 36 CI description.

Since it has been two years, its hard to say whether it is claimable. The doctor that performed the surgery may need to fill up the CI claim form.
TSroystevenung
post Feb 13 2018, 03:36 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(publicENEMY @ Feb 13 2018, 02:01 PM)
I went to a hospital to be warded as i was sick. During registration, the nurse told me that once my insurance is clear/approved i will be warded. After waiting for few hours, i was taken to ward. No one mentioned that my insurance is declined. Since I was taken to ward, without deposit n stuff, i presumed that my insurance was clear. This morning i was told that my insurance is declined. I felt cheated. What can i do and what is my rights?
Why was it being rejected? The insurer will not just decline the case without any justification.
TSroystevenung
post Mar 8 2018, 02:33 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ Mar 8 2018, 01:01 PM)
Hi all, my mum (Age 61) got an Medical Insurance cover by AIA until 70 years old which bought by my father 15 years back. Annual limit Rm70k.

As i search back the statement record,

This year 2018, yet to pay annual premium is around Rm2900.

2017, annually is Rm2600,

2016, Annually is Rm1800.

I wondering why the price hike so steep on 2016 to 2017? And is it medical insurance will increased the payment every year? Mean in 2019, i might need to pay around RM3100 ?

Is there any alternative way to maintain this Medical Insurance cover by AIA with cheaper price? around year Rm2400?
The real question is do you plan to cover the medical for your mum beyond the age of 70?

Most insurer in Malaysia is unable to accept application when a person reaches the age of 70.

TSroystevenung
post Mar 25 2018, 06:34 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 25 2018, 04:41 PM)
Are u covered for critical illness? The term life does not provide cash to your beneficiaries when u r under treatment.
CI pays to you, not your beneficiaries
TSroystevenung
post Apr 2 2018, 11:09 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Apr 2 2018, 10:19 AM)
For Prudential, is it possible to charge the premium to spouse's Credit Card? If yes, what form is required?
Yes, credit card form. Details of the credit card holder as your spouse, while the policy details is yours.

The form can be downloaded from << HERE >>

You can then scan and email the form to Prudential Customer Service Email together with a copy of IC of Credit Card Holder (Both sides)
TSroystevenung
post May 2 2018, 01:26 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(nicklim17 @ May 1 2018, 01:18 PM)
Should we worry about the premium at age around 70 which is 7k. With current ilp at 250 per month with so many rider. The cash value or roi able to cover the premium? Or by that time can't afford the premium and the policy lapse?

Of course everyone is supposed to worry about future insurance charges as it will affect the policy sustainability and longevity.

Whether the cash value is able to cover future insurance charges, i personally say no if the policy is loaded with many riders.

When one buys insurance based on "needs" one can see more clearly on the areas that needs insurance risk management.

For example death/disability sum to cover for child support, expenses, loans and when we no longer need the coverage, it can be reduced or even cancelled when we are retired or is free from these commitments/ responsibilities.

It would also help if you as an "investor" monitors the cash values of the policy and take necessary steps (switching/redirect/top up) to at least ensure that the cash values is on par with the projected cash values.

Let us not forget that most medical plans nowadays covers till age 100 (not 70) so long the insurance charges is able to be paid.

It is to be planned upfront and definitely NOT when we are retired.

Having said that, it doesn't mean that you need to "invest" in insurance but rather you can diversify your investment portfolio (stocks, properties, reits etc) so that it can cope with the future cost of insurance.

Most insurer provides a brochure with future insurance charges (not guaranteed) which can act as a guide.

Hope this helps

This post has been edited by roystevenung: May 3 2018, 02:59 AM
TSroystevenung
post May 23 2018, 10:52 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(lowyat2011 @ May 22 2018, 10:09 PM)
I always heard people says investment link with medical card  plan is better than standalone medical card plan. Both plans' medical charges will be increased over time, premium will also increase accordingly.

If i only need a medical card plan to suppliment the existing insurance plans, shall i get a standalone medical card plan?

@ckdenion

Thanks for your advise in advance.
Both are equally the same if you only want it to serve one purpose, medical insurance.

However, do note that most insurer nowadays give more attention (add on/upgrade/revision) to medical rider that is attached to the ILP. The standalone medical plans seems stagnant and not much revision (except for the insurance charges of course).

You may want to consider to have a medical card with a high deductible to supplement to your existing card (to save cost).

That being said, it is better to have an agent to go through your existing medical card and advice the pros and cons on having a high deductible as a supplementary card. A RM20K or RM50K deductible on the second card may see a savings of up to 50% of the premium.
TSroystevenung
post Jun 17 2018, 09:26 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(flintbatu @ Jun 17 2018, 04:46 PM)
Dear all,

I am facing a serious problem with my medical insurance policy and hope someone can give me advice on this matter. My insurance agent didn’t disclose I had an operation about 8 years ago. Last 2 weeks, I was hospitalized for two days and the insurer refuse to issue a GL since the doctor mentioned that it had something to do with my previous hospitalization (I went to the same hospital and there had all my record). My agent is going to submit a claim and if the insurance company still reject based on non disclosure, he will submit an appeal. I have doubt that my claim would be entertained by the Insurance company. I have being paying for 8 years for this policy and I have bought also a policy for my kid where I am the payor. Currently, I am paying RM450 for my insurance and another RM190 for my kid Insurance. Can anyone provide me with suggestions of what to do now. I am already 49 years old and is very worry now. Thank you in advance.
If you don't mind my asking, what was the hospitalization all about 8 years ago? Please state the actual diagnosis if known.
TSroystevenung
post Jun 17 2018, 10:50 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(flintbatu @ Jun 17 2018, 10:08 PM)
Hi Roy,

If my memory didn’t fail me, if was for an intestine blockage. During the recent hospitalization, the doctor diagnose as it might happened again as the post operation spot it prone to the same injury. However, I was discharged after two days of observation when the doctor did a time lapse x ray and liquid flow through small/big instestine without any problem , just a bit slow.

Thank you
I see. As the Doctor had mentioned, it may occur again. Even if it had been declared 8 years ago, there will be an Exclusion added to the policy, which means it is not claimable.

Of course if it is declared (resulting in an Exclusion), and the problem was resolved say after 2 years (or more, depending on the severity of the problem), one may apply to remove the Exclusion (subject to approval based on the evidence at hand).

If the removal of the Exclusion is done, then the insurer should respond to the claim.

Anyway, back to your case, the Deferred GL does not mean that the claim is rejected. It only means that further investigation may be required. Just wait for the result of the investigation before deciding what to do next.
TSroystevenung
post Jul 2 2018, 10:57 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jul 1 2018, 08:56 AM)
I wonder if we could do this in Malaysia.

https://youtu.be/9lAT3y1X7Cg
It is kind of misleading as even in whole life insurance plan, the interest/dividend/cash values is not guaranteed as it is subject to the insurer company performance. It is more of an idea for sales people to sell life insurance.
TSroystevenung
post Jul 12 2018, 08:54 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(wcpon @ Jul 11 2018, 10:54 PM)
Hi Guys, I got a questions here about medical card,

In GE,
There is annual limit and no lifetime limit
What does no lifetime limit means? Is it refresh annual limit every yrs?

In Pru,
There is card limit and after card limit will become unlimited.
The unlimited will be 80/20, 20% patient need to pay, 80% Pru will pay for patient.

How do we compare this two company Medical card benefit?
Actually, I got my Pru medical card, but now I have seen GE is giving a better coverage compare to Pru, want to know you guys opinion, should I move forward to GE?
New medical card (PruMillion Med, PMM) from Pru has RM1.38m annual limit with no lifetime limit. You may contact your servicing agent on this.

One of the advantage of upgrading from your old medical card is that it does not have any waiting period. However since the PMM has just been launched last week, the upgrading will need some time for existing customers.
TSroystevenung
post Jul 12 2018, 11:13 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(wcpon @ Jul 12 2018, 10:46 AM)
PMM is a new rider just launched last week?
is it same as GE, AIA & Allianz medical card?

Because, I asked my agent last few weeks, he told me Pru do not have this offer.
That's why i only consider to look for GE or maybe AIA.
Yes, just launched last week.
TSroystevenung
post Aug 14 2018, 07:06 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Aug 9 2018, 03:36 PM)
Prudential agent, for baby insurance in pregnant, from how many week to how many week can buy the insurance?
A minimum of 14 weeks to a maximum of 35 weeks into pregnancy
TSroystevenung
post Oct 4 2018, 10:52 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(egapz @ Oct 4 2018, 07:43 AM)
Hi, I think I need LYN members to help me out with this case. 2 days ago, my child was admitted (because of acute bronchitis) to a private hospital, which is one of the many Prudential's panel hospital. I bought this policy end of July 2018.

Before my child was admitted, I contacted my agent to double confirm whether my child was eligible to use the medical card. The agent mentioned many times it has been more than 30 days since the waiting period is over. So without any hesitation, I registered my child at the admission counter.

The medical card was declined. So, I just proceeded with registration anyway because of my child's condition. I told my agent what was going on and she was clueless for a moment. I, of course was not happy with this situation.

Later that day, she called me back and informed that there is this policy of 90 days investigative period (??????). The insurance company needs to see and screen this case before proceeding to claim. (Why was I not informed by the agent before this? is she not a competent agent?)

I called the customer care line, (let's call him Paul), Paul said my child's policy is not under Hospital Alliance whereby the policy needs to be at least 90-day old in order to use the medical card. If it's still under 90 days, and more than 30 days waiting period, I can reimburse the claim.

So, my questions here are:

1) Is my agent competent? It seems that she is clueless what is going on.

2) Maybe Paul is not competent?

Any Prudential insurance agent can give some feedback on this matter? Thank you.
If it is over 30 days and below the 90 days, the admission is based on reimbursement basis, whereby the client need to pay and file claim. After 90 days the admission can be via Guarantee Letter.

So keep all the original receipts, tax invoices, discharge summary & medical reports. Paul is right.

This post has been edited by roystevenung: Oct 4 2018, 10:54 AM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1190sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:12 PM