Insurance Talk V4!, Anything and everything about Insurance

JIUHWEI
post Dec 4 2017, 04:47 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Nov 30 2017, 10:07 PM)
Would terminating my current insurance plan (standalone medical card) makes it harder for me to engage with the same insurance company again in the future?
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Nov 30 2017, 10:18 PM)
Nope, but you will have to go through the waiting period again if you re-apply again and if you do succumb to any critical illness after you have terminated your existing medical card and then wish to apply again for a medical card then you may be rejected depending on whether the insurance company is willing to accept you or not.
QUOTE(rcantona7 @ Dec 1 2017, 01:27 PM)
Before you terminate your medical card you have to take consideration of the below:
1. Have u undergo any major surgeries before? Because when you want to reaply any pre-existing illness will not be covered and will be in the exclusion list.
2. If you surrender now the charges of premium will be higher than before you first purchase it.

IMO you should try to apply for a medical card which gives you cash value in return even if the premium is rm100+ more expensive than your current one. In term of 20 years, you will get nothing back from your standalone medical card and i believe the coverage has annual/lifetime limit. Where else with new ILP medical card you have higher limit with no annual limit and you can get back at least 40% of total premium back you paid after more than 10 years in the cash value.
All the above are very good and very valid concerns not only to 1tanmee, but many of us here as well as our family and friends.

Here's my input just to fill-in wherever that may be left unsaid.

First and foremost, when upgrading your medical insurance from an existing plan to a more current & relevant coverage, here are the questions you want to ask (much like when you first bought your medical insurance):
1. What are the waiting periods, contestable periods? What happens should a claim arise within those periods?
2. What are the potential differences in terms of amount covered?
3. What are the differences in the scope of coverage? (As the industry develops, there may be new clauses, new coverage, as well as new limitations)

Here are some things to keep in mind as well:
Any pre-existing conditions will be excluded. It is expressly disclosed in the product brochure.
However, it does not mean that you should not upgrade your medical coverage if your PEC is excluded, due to the fact that there are many other things that can go wrong with our health!

Work with your agent to go through your existing portfolio as well as the new offerings TOGETHER, so everybody is on the same page and well informed. Please make sure this is done BEFORE you go ahead and TERMINATE any of your existing insurance policies (life, pa, critical illness & hospital).

QUOTE(generate @ Nov 30 2017, 05:25 PM)

I never thought about buying insurance. I don't think insurance is important. But I'm turning 35 next year. I've been thinking about a lot of things lately. Planning to buy insurance for me. I've been reading a lot about insurance for the past few weeks. Haven't decided yet.

So I'm seeking advice and input from agents and sifus here to help and guide me in making my decision.

My background:

34 years old
Male
Non-Smoker and Non-Drinker
IT Professional
Single

I'm not married and have no plans on getting married let alone to have children on my own. I do not provide financial support to my parents or siblings. In short, no one is relying on my income. That is why I think there is no point in me buying the life insurance. Well, I might be wrong here. I stand to be corrected.

I'm looking for medical and health insurance products focusing on protection. TPD + CI + Medical Card to be specific. As for the medical card, I'm leaning towards buying a standalone medical card.

Why not just go ahead and approach an agent? I'm sure you have at least 1 agent within your immediate circles! thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(gbsters @ Nov 30 2017, 09:34 PM)
Hi all,

I'm thinking of changing my insurance plan from conventional to takaful. Currently I'm with Prudential PRU (life, medical and investment) with RM412.75 premium monthly.

Profile as below:
Male
Single
Smoker
Salary: pm me.

Thank you in advance.
Hi gbsters,

Unfortunately there is no way to just change from conventional to Takaful.
The reason is because conventional insurance and Takaful despite providing very similar services, they have very different framework (hence completely different entities to implement and regulate them).

The only way for you to make that "change" is to terminate your conventional coverage, and start a new Takaful plan.
However, before you do that, I encourage you to take a step back and look at your portfolio as a whole first.
You might just want to maintain your current policy with PRU for practical reasons, and make the relevant arrangements with Takaful operators (AIA Public Takaful, PruBSN, etc).

While I understand the sensitivities involved, I urge you to take my advice into consideration and speak to an agent to explore further on more viable options.
There are many ways that we can help you with your current predicament.

QUOTE(mushigen @ Nov 30 2017, 12:02 PM)
Would like to ask about insurance for shop lot (ground floor is rented out to a hp business, owners staying at first floor).
The value is about RM800-900k.

Currently, the insurance coverage is RM250k for the shop lot, with 24 * RM2000 (rental loss) and RM30k furnishing.

Questions:
1. Is there any guideline in increasing the coverage for the shop lot? It sounds too little to me.
However, the servicing agent says RM250k should be enough to rebuild the whole unit from scratch if burned down and insurance company will not pay anything more than the cost of building it, so I will just be wasting money if the coverage is increased even if the shop lot can fetch millions in the open market.

2. Is there any benefit in insuring the furnishing, considering the depreciation? In current coverage of RM30k, will the insurance company compensate me RM30k for the furnishing if the whole shop is burned down?

3. What other advice can you experts give? The renewal is due in Mar next year.
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Nov 30 2017, 03:46 PM)
You can take a rule of thumb of 5% appreciation in Asset. You may also get a valuer to value your property to find out what's the market value and insure 80% of the market value.  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

It's important to make sure your insurance is sufficient otherwise if your insurance is underinsured then the payout amount is prorated.

Which end up you may be getting less from your insurance and not the full amount (250k) in this as you mentioned.
It's important unless you don't mind to buy everything again without the insurance money. 30k maybe a lot of money for just furnishing alone.

QUOTE(mushigen @ Nov 30 2017, 04:13 PM)
Thank you for your clarification. As for market value of the property, can I just use a rough guide, say, how much the neighbour's unit is sold for?

To think that the current agent told us that insurance only covers the cost of rebuilding the property and not the land the building sits on.
Dear mushigen,

Your current agent is correct. Your land doesn't burn down.
Should your property burn to the ground, your losses are still the cost to rebuild it, removal of debris, consequential losses (if any). In short, the physical structure of the building, not the market price of your property including the land.

I deal with residential properties, strata titles, commercial properties as well as factories. All are insured based on the cost to rebuild, not based on speculated market price for those properties.

Perhaps what you want to read this up: https://www.imoney.my/articles/fire-insurance-in-malaysia
mushigen
post Dec 4 2017, 11:45 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Nov 30 2017, 04:26 PM)
You can't really take the neighbor's unit unless it's a same unit as yours such as renovation involved and different size which may differ your property value.

As for cost of rebuilding the building, normally that's the case of Fire Insurance because they insure on the building as even fire burns down your property, your "land" that your property sit on don't get "burned" further.

The price of your property valuation is already included the value of the Land + Building. 20% for land, 80% for building.
QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Dec 4 2017, 04:47 PM)
Dear mushigen,

Your current agent is correct. Your land doesn't burn down.
Should your property burn to the ground, your losses are still the cost to rebuild it, removal of debris, consequential losses (if any). In short, the physical structure of the building, not the market price of your property including the land.

I deal with residential properties, strata titles, commercial properties as well as factories. All are insured based on the cost to rebuild, not based on speculated market price for those properties.

Perhaps what you want to read this up: https://www.imoney.my/articles/fire-insurance-in-malaysia
Dear gents, thank you for your replies.
Assume current property value = RM800k
Rental collected from the ground floor shop = RM2200p/m
Furnishing = RM30k
Cost of rebuilding the shoplot from ground, say, RM300,000.

Hence, in my case what would be the ideal insured value? RM300k for the building, loss of rental for 2 years, and RM30k furnishing? Will there be a case of underinsured where the insurer pays a pro-rated amount, like in the case of under declaring our vehicle's insured value for comprehensive motor vehicle insurance?
lifebalance
post Dec 5 2017, 09:13 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Dec 4 2017, 11:45 PM)
Furnishing = RM30k

Hence, in my case what would be the ideal insured value? RM300k for the building, loss of rental for 2 years, and RM30k furnishing?  Will there be a case of underinsured where the insurer pays a pro-rated amount, like in the case of under declaring our vehicle's insured value for comprehensive motor vehicle insurance?
Property - 640k
Furnishing - 30k content
For loss of rental, normally it's not insurable

Yes, your claim will be pro-rated if it's not insured based on market value
bluebay
post Dec 5 2017, 11:06 AM

240 posts

planning to get medical card & insurance for my 4.5 year old kid, without saving plan. budget premium 100 per month. any advise pls?
aeiou228
post Dec 5 2017, 11:47 AM

5,867 posts

Is there anyway to pay GE life premium ONLINE by CREDIT CARD ?
I've been paying life premium at the GE office all this while and I don't want to sign up auto debit.

JIUHWEI
post Dec 5 2017, 04:54 PM

1,333 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Dec 4 2017, 11:45 PM)
Furnishing = RM30k

Hence, in my case what would be the ideal insured value? RM300k for the building, loss of rental for 2 years, and RM30k furnishing?  Will there be a case of underinsured where the insurer pays a pro-rated amount, like in the case of under declaring our vehicle's insured value for comprehensive motor vehicle insurance?
what would be the ideal insured value? RM300k for the building, loss of rental for 2 years, and RM30k furnishing?
- It is best for you to engage a valuer to identify the cost to rebuild your shoplot. Factors affecting the cost to rebuild includes fluctuations of RM vs USD (on building materials), the grade of materials that you use (high-end materials vs concrete, etc), among other factors.

Will there be a case of underinsured where the insurer pays a pro-rated amount, like in the case of under declaring our vehicle's insured value for comprehensive motor vehicle insurance?
If you under-insure, yes.

How do you avoid underinsuring on your fire insurance?

Insure based on the cost to replace your home instead of on the current market value. For example, if the selling price of your home is lower than it was when you first bought it and you have based your insurance on the current price, you may be underinsured.

Take a periodic inventory of all your possessions. It is advisable to take an inventory of all your possessions to adequately reflect how much coverage is needed to replace all the contents in your home.

Take up additional coverage for valuable items, such as artwork, jewellery, antiques or collectibles. For this instance, an ‘All Risks’ insurance policy can be purchased to cover the valuables on an ‘agreed value’ basis against any loss or damage.

Most insurers will demand a valuation before agreeing to insure any items of high value.
Report to your insurance company any recent improvements to your home, such as an additional room or re-modeled kitchen.
Holocene
post Dec 5 2017, 05:15 PM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(bluebay @ Dec 5 2017, 11:06 AM)
planning to get medical card & insurance for my 4.5 year old kid, without saving plan. budget premium 100 per month. any advise pls?
You're likely looking for a standalone medical card.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 5 2017, 11:47 AM)
I've been paying life premium at the GE office all this while and I don't want to sign up auto debit.
I'm pretty sure you can do an online transfer. Check out their website for JomPay option.

Best,
Jiansheng
ckdenion
post Dec 5 2017, 06:24 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(bluebay @ Dec 5 2017, 11:06 AM)
just get the best standalone medical card coverage with the budget you can afford will do wink.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 5 2017, 11:47 AM)
what bank? im using PBebanking to pay GE premium using PB credit card.
aeiou228
post Dec 6 2017, 05:40 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Dec 5 2017, 05:15 PM)
I'm pretty sure you can do an online transfer. Check out their website for JomPay option.

Best,
Jiansheng
I just checked GE website, no, they don't have a direct payment portal.

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Dec 5 2017, 06:24 PM)
what bank? im using PBebanking to pay GE premium using PB credit card.
Pay via PBeBanking JomPay or pay direct to GE as a payee corporation in PBebanking ??
I have OCBC-Great Eastern Co-branded Master card and I can't even pay GE premium using my GE card via OCBC online banking, only CASA accounts are allow to pay.
Ironically, OCBC and GE are from the same group of companies.
lifebalance
post Dec 6 2017, 05:49 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 6 2017, 05:40 PM)
Pay via PBeBanking JomPay or pay direct to GE as a payee corporation in PBebanking ??
I have OCBC-Great Eastern Co-branded Master card and I can't even pay GE premium using my GE card via OCBC online banking, only CASA accounts are allow to pay.
why not check with ur agent ah?
ckdenion
post Dec 6 2017, 06:38 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 6 2017, 05:40 PM)
Yeap dont have direct payment portal. Can pay via JomPay or direct pay to Ge as corporation too. I have the same question to u too. Y cant pay via OCBC card coz GE is a member of OCBC. I know can do 0% 12 months IPP using the card only
watabakiu
post Dec 6 2017, 07:27 PM

1,573 posts

[Great Eastern Insurance]

Q1
IL Hospitalisation Benefits Rider - Provides daily cash income should you be hospitalised.

^^ Is it only for Govt hospitals?

Q2
Provider Plus Rider - i-Provider Plus Rider is a unit deduction rider in which future contribution will be paid from the Tabarru' Fund in the event of TPD or critical illness on the Person Covered , whichever occurs first.

^^ This rider only makes sense if the Person Covered =/= person paying the premium, correct?
If it is the same person, this rider does not make sense! i mean, what premium is there to be paid if sudah mati?

Q3
IL Great Income Rider - Provides yearly cash income should disability occur to the life assured.

^^ Is this based on the last drawn salary, or not?

icon_question.gif Can any GE agents clarify on this please? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by watabakiu: Dec 6 2017, 07:28 PM
ckdenion
post Dec 6 2017, 07:44 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Dec 6 2017, 07:27 PM)
[Great Eastern Insurance]

Q1
IL Hospitalisation Benefits Rider - Provides daily cash income should you be hospitalised.
^^ Is it only for Govt hospitals?
Govt hospital memang will give rm50 per day allowance. If u add for example RM100 to this rider, staying in private hospital will give u rm100 per day allowance and rm150 for gov hospital.

Q2
Provider Plus Rider - i-Provider Plus Rider is a unit deduction rider in which future contribution will be paid from the Tabarru' Fund in the event of TPD or critical illness on the Person Covered , whichever occurs first.

^^ This rider only makes sense if the Person Covered =/= person paying the premium, correct?
If it is the same person, this rider does not make sense! i mean, what premium is there to be paid if sudah mati?
cant comment as im not takaful agent.

Q3
IL Great Income Rider - Provides yearly cash income should disability occur to the life assured.

^^ Is this based on the last drawn salary, or not?
Based on the sum assured for this rider itself. So u shud tell ur agent how much u actually need and agent will put the amount in based on ur budget.

icon_question.gif  Can any GE agents clarify on this please?  icon_question.gif
Correct me if im wrong. Hope my reply helps. notworthy.gif
aeiou228
post Dec 6 2017, 10:10 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Dec 6 2017, 06:38 PM)
Yeap dont have direct payment portal. Can pay via JomPay or direct pay to Ge as corporation too. I have the same question to u too. Y cant pay via OCBC card coz GE is a member of OCBC.  I know can do 0% 12 months IPP using the card only
Such irony ! Ocbc ebanking only allow payment from savings or current account. mad.gif , more so it's own subsidiary co-branded credit card issued by parent company at the parent company's ebanking portal.

And the worst is GE don't even have it's own online payment portal. doh.gif
ckdenion
post Dec 7 2017, 01:13 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 6 2017, 10:10 PM)
Such irony ! Ocbc ebanking only allow payment from savings or current account. mad.gif , more so it's own subsidiary co-branded credit card issued by parent company at the parent company's ebanking portal.

And the worst is GE don't even have it's own online payment portal.  doh.gif
i know right? weird thing is M2U also can pay through savings/current account only whereas PBebanking can pay through savings/current/credit card. I'm also curious about it. so of course most convenient way is auto debit from debit/credit card. else pay through online banking via savings/current account.
swn525
post Dec 7 2017, 10:28 AM

877 posts

my father age 70, still available to buy medical insurance/card??
lifebalance
post Dec 7 2017, 10:36 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Dec 7 2017, 10:28 AM)
my father age 70, still available to buy medical insurance/card??
Yes, still can, last entry age is 70 yr old. But will subject to medical check up.
swn525
post Dec 7 2017, 10:53 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Dec 7 2017, 10:36 AM)
Yes, still can, last entry age is 70 yr old. But will subject to medical check up.
how complicated for the medical check up?
premium price around??
lifebalance
post Dec 7 2017, 10:55 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(swn525 @ Dec 7 2017, 10:53 AM)
how complicated for the medical check up?
premium price around??
not sure, depends on ur father's health declaration.

Ranging 600 - 1200 monthly
swn525
post Dec 7 2017, 11:19 AM

877 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Dec 7 2017, 10:55 AM)
not sure, depends on ur father's health declaration.

Ranging 600 - 1200 monthly
any plan like prudential senior medical plan, one year only 3~5k

138 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:54 AM