5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

abcn1n
post Feb 20 2020, 03:26 PM

2,379 posts

Just opened a FSM account. Need some help as am confused/can't seem to find the answer in FSM website. Thanks

1) What is the interest rate that FSM will pay for the cash that is in our cash account?

2) FSM says that there is platform fee for bonds. So if I were to buy funds such as Kenanga Growth Fund or Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund, there won't be any platform fees to pay right?

3) There is a sales charge of 1.75% from FSM when buying. When we buy a fund for eg KFG, the price reflected will already include the charges by KGF or will there be additional charges by KFG?

4) Basically total cost for equities fund will be the sales charge of 1.75% + Fund charges (if any) and when we sell, there won't be any additional fees/charge right?
abcn1n
post Feb 20 2020, 03:44 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 20 2020, 03:30 PM)
1) The net interest rate for the Cash Account in MYR is 2.10%. Currently, there is no interest earn for Cash Account in AUD, CNY, EUR, GBP, SGD and USD. The interest will be calculated daily and paid monthly into Cash Account.

2) Kenanga Growth Fund and/or Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund are/is bond fund

3) No additional charge as 1.75% will deduct from your invested money first

4) No fee for repurchase/redemption. Read the respective fund page for details

1) With regards to point 2, when I looked at it, it says its equities (see attached below). Then how do we differentiate whether its bonds or equities then?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/fun...amic-Growth-USD

2) I read here that only selected bonds have platform fees. So how do I know which bonds have platform fees?

3) Platform fees--is it based on the amount of bonds (market value) we hold to calculate the 0.0045%?
So If I don't buy any bonds, I won't be charged this platform fees right?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsm/bonds/faq

4) Basically I was thinking of buying equities fund and not bond fund in FSM to avoid platform fee. Is it possible or are all the funds in FSM categorised as bond funds, so platform fees are required

Thank you
abcn1n
post Feb 20 2020, 03:53 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 20 2020, 03:48 PM)
1) Generally, most of the funds that charge 1.75% are classified under equity fund. 0% is normally for fixed income funds including bond funds. It'll be spelled out under Charges in the fund page

2) You're no wrong at all. Best is to refer to the respective fund page

3) If you hold a bond which attracts platform fee, you'll be billed accordingly.

4) Answer as in (1)
Thanks. Phew, really didn't want to pay platform fees. Sales charge plus annual management fee already high enough. Bad thing is the cash account only 2.1% interest. Really low. At least in Rakuten, I can get 2.5% (but then not sure whether they lowered it due to BNM cutting the OPR recently)
abcn1n
post Feb 20 2020, 05:00 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 20 2020, 03:35 PM)
Just opened a FSM account. Need some help as am confused/can't seem to find the answer in FSM website. Thanks

1) What is the interest rate that FSM will pay for the cash that is in our cash account?
The net interest rate for the Cash Account in MYR is 2.10%. Currently, there is no interest earn for Cash Account in AUD, CNY, EUR, GBP, SGD and USD.
The interest will be calculated daily and paid monthly into Cash Account.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/fun...22-Cash-Account

2) FSM says that there is platform fee for bonds. So if I were to buy funds such as Kenanga Growth Fund or Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund, there won't be any platform fees to pay right?
Platform fees are only applicable for some Fixed income funds.....those you mentioned are equities funds

3) There is a sales charge of 1.75% from FSM when buying. When we buy a fund for eg KFG, the price reflected will already include the charges by KGF or will there be additional charges by KFG?
read this Fund Charges, FAQs...there are explanations and examples...
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/fun...22-Cash-Account

4) Basically total cost for equities fund will be the sales charge of 1.75% + Fund charges (if any) and when we sell, there won't be any additional fees/charge right?
some funds has redemption fees....only some funds has it, thus you will have to read the fund factsheet or fund prospectus of fund info of that fund to find out if your fund has redemption fees or not.

Thank you mum

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Feb 20 2020, 05:05 PM
abcn1n
post Feb 20 2020, 07:58 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(sewjin @ Feb 20 2020, 07:01 PM)
I had this dilemma too then I found out about their RHB Cash Management Fund 2. Its at a decent 2.9% and I essentially treat it like my FD. We can also conviniently have the monthly RSP auto deduct from there.
abcn1n
post Feb 20 2020, 09:30 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Feb 20 2020, 09:26 PM)
ok.
Btw anyone going into REITs? I am eyeing AmAsia Pacific REITs -Class B (MYR) but seems too high now.
I haven't invested in REITs yet. Am not sure what to buy at the moment. Guess will take my time to investigate what is suitable
abcn1n
post Feb 20 2020, 10:25 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Feb 20 2020, 10:21 PM)
should be opposite? in low interest environment usually go to REITs for the return..And Reits benefit because bank interest is low

Quoting the chief investment officer for AmFunds :

REITs tend to outperform when interest rates are low and underperform in a rising rate environment, and this has proved to be largely true for REITs in Asia-Pacific.
The thing now is with covid19, REIT may have a slump. When slump gets worse for China, then maybe look for some reit that has China in it biggrin.gif
Good Malaysia reits are still high and not dropping
abcn1n
post Feb 21 2020, 11:06 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Feb 20 2020, 10:34 PM)
true. Im also concerned on China n HK reits. So I'm ok with Amasia's REITs, 2%+ in china. tongue.gif still ok laa
I think China nk HK economy will go down first before going up. Right now China is really pumping $ into their markets to keep afloat their stock market.

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Feb 20 2020, 10:43 PM)
This Am Asia REITs is heavy on Singapore. Though interest rate lower but the return last year is very good. I just do not see any temporary going down, so guest have to enter little by little, testing water.
Last year, saw a lot of people in Singapore shopping malls.
abcn1n
post Feb 21 2020, 12:14 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 21 2020, 11:17 AM)
Agreed. China has been pumping liquidity n promises into the market and everytime that happens China market goes up. They also seem undecided on the methodology on how to count suspected cases of covid19. They made 6 methodology change so far n give some panic n false hope to the market each time. I wouldn't really trust the number coming out of China. Recently the number of local infection outside of China has slowly coming up too. Another thing to watch for.
Yeah. The latest method has them reducing the cases a lot. I remembered seeing a youtube video between some Chinese medical staff in the early days where they suspected about 100k cases and they were saying that with the method that was currently being used, this excluded people that they were convinced had covid to be counted as only suspected and not actual infected cases. Looked like the latest method goes back to something like this.

From what I've read,even with the 'correct/best/current' method, most countries are not looking at the lungs to diagnose covid and to determine whether a person has fully recovered. When first infected, it seems that its the bottom of the lungs that get affected first (but swaps of mouth/throat etc only will show the results of the upper parts of the lungs)--that's 1 reason why the test is only about 30% accurate and missed out on other cases. I read an article that says that some who are counted as recovered are actually still showing white stuff ie lung infection but was told they can go back and let their immune system fight it off. Wonder if these people can still infect others?

Also experts are saying Singapore is 1 of the best in tracking down the cases (although not perfect) and other countries are only about 1/3 of Singapore's standards.

Because of all these, the market is very uncertain right now. Artificial pumping of $ by countries can keep the market afloat currently but will it be able to do so for a longer period of time?

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 21 2020, 12:06 PM)
COVID-19 is causing gold, USD and safe haven bonds spike!
Yes.

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Feb 21 2020, 12:41 PM
abcn1n
post Feb 21 2020, 10:03 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 21 2020, 09:02 PM)
For what? Down market is the best time to make money. Can't wait to load up. Money is not make chasing high price.
Ramjade, what fund is good now to buy? Any tips?
abcn1n
post Feb 22 2020, 10:05 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 22 2020, 12:05 AM)
I do not buy unit trust anymore from Malaysian market when I can get zero commision and better quality funds every day over in Singapore.

No fund is good to buy now. 1-2% drop does not interest me. Will wait when they drop at least 10%. The more it drop the better.

The only Malaysian unit trust I have is my prs. RM3k for 20202 is ready to be loaded into it when time is right.
Thanks. I just banked in some $ into FSM Malaysia cash account. Maybe I shouldn't have done it so fast as I am awaiting for my FSM Singapore account to be ready
abcn1n
post Feb 22 2020, 01:25 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Feb 22 2020, 10:15 AM)
Ramjade only will go to market will it crashes on more then 15% and above as his precious 2019 thread. You don't need to ask him what fund and what timing lol....
abcn1n
post Feb 22 2020, 09:38 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 22 2020, 04:00 PM)
Do not use FSM SG to buy unit trust. It will cost you more than FSM MY in the long run. Quarterly platform fees.
Use POEMS SG, or Dollardex. POEMS if you are like me. No address in Singapore, not working in sinpgapore.
Dollardex if you are working there with valid local address.
Yup that's right.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
abcn1n
post Mar 8 2020, 01:07 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 7 2020, 04:49 PM)
Saudi-Russian breakup could collapse oil prices
Alliance that has propped up market for three years unravels at worst possible time
published : 7 Mar 2020

An alliance between Saudi Arabia and Russia that has helped to prop up world oil prices for the past three years has collapsed, threatening to send the market into freefall.
The breakup comes at a time when oil demand is already severely weakened by the economic of the coronavirus outbreak. Prices have already declined by more than 25% since the start of the year, with benchmark Brent crude trading around $45 a barrel on Friday.
If the Saudis and Russians start to pump more in an attempt to protect their market share, prices could fall to $30 or below, say energy industry analysts.

https://www.bangkokpost.com/world/1873704/s...apse-oil-prices

hmm.gif what will be the implication to the Eq markets?
if oil prices down....inflation will be lower?,
if inflation lower, interest rate has chance to go lower?

Plus Side to Low Oil Prices
While low oil prices have negatively affected the international economy, many forget that declining prices can lead to great long-term benefits.
In a recent Bloomberg article, BlackRock Inc. Chief Executive Officer Laurence D. Fink noted that low oil and gas prices will help both consumers and the global economy in the long run.
“The reality is 4 billion human beings are going to have cheaper energy, cheaper heating, they’re going to have more disposable income,” he said.
“And ultimately that’s going to re-accelerate the global economy.
It may take six months; it may take a year, but this is all good.”
https://www.cpvmfg.com/news/low-oil-prices-...world-business/
QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 7 2020, 05:11 PM)
Another important link between gold and oil is inflation.
As crude oil prices rise, inflation also rises.
Gold is known to be a good hedge against inflation.
The value of gold only increases when inflation rises.
Over 60% of the time, gold and crude oil have a direct relationship.
The chart shows historical prices for both dollar-denominated assets.

The Correlation between Gold and Oil
https://marketrealist.com/2015/12/correlation-gold-oil/
Its good for everyone and businesses except oil suppliers that oil price may go down especially at this virus scare time. Help to lessen the decline of stock price.
abcn1n
post Mar 10 2020, 12:03 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 9 2020, 10:46 PM)
at this current volatility time, why GOLD did not up much?
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 9 2020, 10:48 PM)
It couldn't even maintain its 1700 level achieved earlier of Asian trading day.
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Mar 9 2020, 11:01 PM)
i think coz most investor dump into T bond instead.
Gold doesn't pay any interest. As long as there are other safe assets that pay interest or other stuff, put it in there instead of all to gold--after all gold has risen a lot recently. Plus, I'm sure Europe, US and China are certainly going to take more action to try to prevent market from crashing.
abcn1n
post Mar 10 2020, 03:36 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 10 2020, 12:56 AM)
What can Europe, US and China do to prevent market from crashing?
flushing the markets with cash like QE 10 yrs ago?
doing QE is building up one own country's debt to try to prevent market crashing in time of Covid19?
as there is no vaccine to be found in the next few months for this Covid19 yet.
the financial impact of this virus are still not yet being openly reported yet.....the financial reporting sessions of businesses for this Jan ~ Mar 2020 period (1st quarter 2020) has yet due for reporting yet.
building up one own country's debt to try to prevent market from crashing now is like pouring putting money in a dark pit of unknown depth & size?
expects more volatility during the 1st quarter financial reporting sessions....

I think, think and think....they can cut of the internet connection of those noise makers......easier to implement  brows.gif  .....if only they can  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Government and people are greedy. Every time keep lowering interest rates which basically benefit the rich the most. Over years and decades, interest rates have been going down, so the arsenal that government and Fed can use keeps reducing. However, interest rates is just one of them. Not too sure what the different countries government plan to do--invest in more insfrastructure, cut tax rates etc. Governments likely to take more debt to prevent market crashing--which actually in long run is not good--but people want to look good while they are in office. Let others clean up the mess later on.

abcn1n
post Mar 23 2020, 07:14 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Mar 21 2020, 03:47 PM)
imo, 16k will be the lowest, based on my calculation logically
potus said no to lockdown and crude oil <20, expecting it to hit <15 if saudi really do ramp up production on april
i remember when it hit 26k point, was at discussion with colleagues and they said its time to buy more its low enough but i said i am not buying now, still collecting bullet, its not low enough, it will drop more especially if the dow breach 24k mark but of cos
all of them said impossible and start laughing at my ''stupidity'' so i tried to explain the reason but they dont believe and some of the older colleagues quite sarcastically said i am young, dont talk so big/loud, this will cause me to loss opportunities.

so i still yet to pump money to the market. while they as of last week, they mentioned they out of bullet
xxca23 Why 16k? Interested to know your reasoning

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 19 2020, 11:47 PM)
For EPF approved funds:

For the full list of funds offered under each appointed FMI, members may refer to the
myEPF website at http://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/investment.

Search under "Where You Can Invest"

Otherwise use Fund Selector in FSMOne page and tick Yes on "EPF Approved":
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/fun...d-selector/////

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Mar 20 2020, 10:12 AM)

QUOTE(extinct_83 @ Mar 20 2020, 11:08 AM)
eunittrust has reduced all sales charge to 0%
Walao, don't have eunittrust. Hoping FSM will also do this

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 23 2020, 11:05 AM)
Movement control order to hit Malaysian REITs

Analyst Reports
Monday, 23 Mar 2020
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-reits#cxrecs_s

just a note: last few weeks there are postings mentioned AmReits has a much heavier allocation than ManuReits in M'sia...
Then expect REITS to go lower

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Mar 23 2020, 07:15 PM
abcn1n
post Mar 23 2020, 09:18 PM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Mar 23 2020, 08:45 PM)
TA with human/investor psychology analysis
side note, US fed kicking off ''unlimited QE" rescue
let's see if this will helps much
probably will help the dow falling below 18k for the short term
xxca23 Thanks. I did suspect some TA was involved when you mentioned 16k. I'm hoping that it will go lower than that as USA market has risen too far for too many years. That QE will ultimately cause market to shoot up higher than it ever will causing equities valuation to be really really expensive.

This post has been edited by abcn1n: Mar 23 2020, 09:48 PM
abcn1n
post Mar 24 2020, 10:55 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Mar 24 2020, 08:42 AM)
imo, the unlimited QE will not push the market to shoot up but rather stabilising it from big fall. personally was hopping it will drop to 12k but as of now, it's not possible.

16k would be more realistic, given current situation with current available info
not really. imo it will helps preventing further fall rather than pushing it up
The lower it drop the better. Yeah, the unlimited QE will certainly cushion it from bigger fall, but I do believe that in the medium/long run, it will still cause the market to shoot up. Thanks for sharing your view. Please continue to do so

abcn1n
post Mar 24 2020, 11:20 AM

2,379 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 24 2020, 11:17 AM)
I think China should have a small amount in your portfolio...
Is there any fund that has good exposure on China?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.8656sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:15 PM