8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSxander83
post Dec 24 2021, 07:30 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Dec 23 2021, 09:04 AM)
Not a guess but a fact why bother multiple tier fees when it’s easier to manage with a single tier fee doh.gif

So common sense prevail when FSM is too predictable as they are conservative which is why their shareholders are happy
SUSxander83
post Dec 25 2021, 04:31 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 24 2021, 09:12 PM)
8.80 vs 25+ which we used to pay to Spore brokerage is half price and more cheaper. But transact via FSM shares are under FSM custodian acct not in CDP acct. But I guess for Msian CDP acct means nothing.

Ramjade mention SGX good for REIT stocks and not much else so he go for US stocks and ETF via IBKR paying even lesser fees. Guess diff investors diff strategies.
Malaysians usually direct ownership and kiasu against custodian/trustee ownership doh.gif

Custodian in everyone’s minds means more cost

SGX not much attractive due to less choices for growth stocks hence which is why a lot prefer US markets especially for Tech counters
SUSxander83
post Dec 26 2021, 06:32 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 25 2021, 01:51 PM)
But isn't ibkr, moomoo etc all under custodian model? And yet so many investors is ok. I belong to old generation but I need to keep up with the times. Pain is always when you want to transfer holdings out from custodian A to another company custodian B.
It is pseudo custodians but Moomoo if iinm fully custoded

Transferrring these days all depends on original broker holding whether they are flexible or not
SUSxander83
post Dec 27 2021, 05:12 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 26 2021, 11:16 PM)
Sorry can you give an example what is pseudo custodians and full custodian? Pseudo custodian is not custodian?
Ibkr some of the holdings are not custodies and are held by IBKR itself while some of the are being held by tri custody

The Custody Account constitutes a tri-party agreement between IB, the custodial bank holding the customer's assets, and the IB customer. Assets (long stock, retail and government money-market funds, and Treasuries only) that are held at a pledged account at the Custodial bank are reflected in the customers IB trading account and used to margin trades

This post has been edited by xander83: Dec 27 2021, 05:15 PM
SUSxander83
post Dec 27 2021, 11:43 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 27 2021, 07:36 PM)
Ooh I think I misunderstood the meaning of custodian. Back in Spore when we bought SGX stocks there is a company called CDP that will hold all our shares. When we transact with brokerage it will deposit the shares in this CDP not the brokerage. So broker 1,2,3 different broker you use to buy sell all will go into this same CDP account.

So when the stock are held by the broker in your case IBKR I thot this is called custodian acct.
In your case CDP is custodian who will trade your shares with the broker

IBKR is the broker while custodian which are listed banks chosen by IBKR itself

QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 27 2021, 11:35 PM)
i started off in 2014 when i think ppl are into global titan funds and also greater china fund... i invest in neither because i think it was too volatile for my taste. i have made mistakes here and there. my UT portfolio gives about 5 to 6% IRR on average but recently dropped to 4%. i believe, if i reduce my malaysia exposure, overall return should be better.

i think for me now is, the focus should be around 5 to 6 funds max. di-worse-sification is a thing. i actually stop buying into local funds. my plan is to not increase my malaysian equity... increase my exposure with some bond funds also. continue to increase put money into asia pacific regularly.

and i'm slowly increasing my stake into china heavy fund given recent drop in hk/china but doing via ETF instead.

what i'm lacking is exposure to the USA in my opinion.

I dont have a strategy. i just trial and error, see what i can do.
I wouldn’t buy into bonds but more cyclical dividends like banks cause no one want bonds due rate hike as shown last tapering back a few years ago

Your exposure is also lacking in Euro and Japan as well otherwise it will considered balance with buying into REITs, commodities rather than putting into HK/China because next year it is policy changes with new politburo in place doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Dec 28 2021, 10:43 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(kzy @ Dec 28 2021, 06:23 PM)
Hi everyone, I am not sure if my understanding is correct or not, mind to share your opinion?
The unit trust funds that we buy from fundsupermart are direct investment with fundsupermart not with the investment bank, right? Since fundsupermart malaysia is under ifast Capital Sdn Bhd which is incorporated in Malaysia, so if we sell the fund and get the capital gain, this  gain is not foreign source income, right?
Not exactly because it depends on the fund itself as some are with investment bank who is the unit trust manager

FSM are only distributor or reseller of the funds which you buying into

I can answer you on that the part where is in UT is in RM will not be taxed while any UT hedged with FX denominated currencies like USD, AUD, JPY and RMB will be taxed at the source which will reflected in their annual reports

So anything distribution or capital gain will be taxed already at the source by the fund manager unless govt decide to change again because it will cause a lot confusion to the fund managers doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Dec 31 2021, 01:21 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Dec 30 2021, 06:39 PM)
So, we dont actually need to declare to our local taxing agency? Is that what you meant?
No need because if the fund pays the tax you will received a tax voucher for your records which if IRB audits your account then you have the records to prove

Btw, exemption is granted now for the next 5 years until next GE if BN or PN wins they will implement full force once they have majority in Parliament whereby the can amend the relevant easily then doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 5 2022, 11:16 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(DawnOnYou @ Jan 5 2022, 03:47 PM)
Hi, may i know what is your view on 2022 prospect?
US is expected to stop the QE starting this month and slowly increase the interest rate.
Should i reduce the equity holdings?
QE is still on going but on reducing bond buying total monthly doh.gif

Equity’s will still goes up but on still on slower growth don’t expect blockbuster double digit gains anymore

If your equities are making take profit and keep your base while using the profit to generate dividends on those value/cyclical funds

If your are not worried at all of risk just keep those performing funds
SUSxander83
post Jan 7 2022, 03:59 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jan 6 2022, 10:33 AM)
+1

i had the same though as you too.  sad.gif

but where to move the extra funds to ?
So many dividends funds around you just need to do your due diligence doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 10 2022, 03:57 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(yycclin @ Jan 10 2022, 11:09 AM)
Hopefully Ang Pow with CASH  rclxm9.gif
Before reaches you it wil be stolen for sure doh.gif

Better off getting extra dividends, 0% sales charges or extra units in account instead rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 11 2022, 06:29 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jan 11 2022, 04:26 PM)
Thanks that makes sense, I'll wait for Rakuten trade's offering before making a decision! Will watch this space: https://www.rakutentrade.my/fees thumbup.gif
Just wait for these few days as news about fees will be about then

Be prepared to pay extra for stamp duty as compared to buying through IBKR doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 12 2022, 06:02 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Jan 12 2022, 01:54 PM)
Hi guys,

Under the Domestic Ringgit Borrowing declaration, should I choose YES or NO?

If you have any loans being serviced then it yes

QUOTE(Andrew2021 @ Jan 12 2022, 03:37 PM)
for FSM One US stock trading, can we do it by using app?
Yes you can but need to make sure deposit and convert your cash account to USD 1st
SUSxander83
post Jan 13 2022, 06:50 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 13 2022, 12:08 PM)
Not sure abt inverse etf of s&p500 in fsm, but I read fsm mention abt inverse etf (for klci) just few weeks ago in an article titled,
"Want to hedge your portfolio amid market volatility? Consider this inverse ETF"
https://www.fsmone.com.my/etfs/research/art...s-inve?src=etfs
Bursa only has inverse ETF for FANG by Tradeplus AHAM but you need to get the certificate from SC before trading leverage or inversely ETF doh.gif

Btw not worth time and money because low liquidity and mostly market maker will artificially control the pricing doh.gif

QUOTE(frankzane @ Jan 13 2022, 02:00 PM)
Ok thanks. May I know what is the consequences of ticking "YES" (tick YES to be safe, even though might not have)?

I only have ONE housing and car loan. Supposedly not qualified for "YES"? tongue.gif
Be careful as IRB will have those documents on hand when audit season comes doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 22 2022, 04:21 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Jan 21 2022, 03:40 PM)
US Nasdaq into correction now (the news I read told me). So all US exchange counters mostly red color. UT that has heavy US exposure will be affected. We experience that from China related last year now this year is US turn. ETF that is US-centric sure also kena red color. Investors who use IBKR for mainly US ETF hit hard I guess.

How long have you got those funds? If not long it is time you fully feel what is correction. I kena a few times in my 20+ years in UT investment. But most of the times over a long period your UT should be in green color unless that fund is really lousy. If you really cannot take it then UT investment is not really your cup of tea. Once it recovers (maybe 6 months to 1 year?) you can sell all off. If sell now sure lose monies.
By the time read the news it already happening since after Xmas which started the correction only everyone being delusional about it doh.gif

It is only affecting Tech and small caps the most because lending rate gonna rise soon which is buying opportunity as always to add some rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 22 2022, 11:58 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jan 22 2022, 09:04 AM)
If want add some, at least wait until they wipe 2021 gain first. If keep DCA for every dip, sooner or later no money buy in already.

Wiping 2021 gain, meaning wipe all the gain since March 2020.
We all waiting next week what in store in March before taking next step buy8ng lump sum rclxms.gif

QUOTE(sgh @ Jan 22 2022, 01:06 PM)
I think the definition of a correction I read is about 10% so Xmas may not be defined as such so everyone thought it is just your typical blip on radar.

I don't think it is only affecting tech and small cap basically any stock that is US or even Europe is hit. I got both US and Europe and non-tech in funds all kena. Only diff is how red is the colour.

Not ending at 10% I read may go down further to 20% so wait to decide at the 20% mark.
Usually correction is defined 20% is a technical correction while 10% was the speed of the correction was within the entire based on broader index

If you take a look at ARKK iinm it was barely 100 Xmas and now hovering at 70+ range which correction earlier in fact

All are getting hit red because broad macro news but the most affected is Tech and small caps this round

Go take a look at Invesco 2022 outlook and you can see which rotational base and alternative to give you some 8nsight on it based on s3ctors

QUOTE(ganesh1696 @ Jan 22 2022, 01:29 PM)
I'm a failed investor
All my hard earned money.
Even bank fd could get at least 2% or crypto fd at 12 %.
My decisions are worst when it comes to investments.
Any opinion on my worthless decisions?
Opinions welcome.
And those with profit will turn red on Monday as I already the prices.

The problem is you are buying chasing growth while not patiently waiting

UT is a long term and only after 3 years you can see whether it is performing or not doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 24 2022, 02:02 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(daidragon12 @ Jan 23 2022, 09:33 PM)
FSM seems pretty bullish on China this year. What other forumers think? My Dinasti is down quite bad this year 😬
On valuation because it is cheap and already beaten down

China is so cheap while DM is very expensive hence it is cheaper to buy into China coupled aggressive monetary policy and strong yuan at the moment for PBOC to be more aggressive to not let inflation like in US and other parts of the world doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 24 2022, 09:07 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 24 2022, 10:45 AM)
me long term also feel bodoh... huge gain no take profit now become small gain and some turn red..

so timing to dispose is still important.
Not stupid but complacency and overconfident but you need to learn how to trim, rebalance and reopt

For me after certain % vs time any gains it will be trimmed off in order to keep the cash lump sum in order for me to buy back in the future soon rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 26 2022, 06:49 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Jan 26 2022, 01:44 PM)

Assuming everything is the same, can I safely say that revenue (capital growth, dividend) generated from ETF (example KLSE FTE) would be lower than if I were to buy all individual stocks listed in that ETF? Since an ETF is supposed to just track an index and not outperformed it?
You need to check the actual weightage of the underlying stock

In terms of dividend I can tell you for sure lower because it is up etf manager to decide on the payout

ETF is not necessary to track an index but it depends on the underlying stocks in order for them to benchmark against and it can outperform any index like arkk etc

If you look at those like SPY, VOO, IVV, HLAL and the likes some can under or outperform SnP500 because of the tracking differences
SUSxander83
post Jan 28 2022, 02:45 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Jan 27 2022, 01:53 PM)
You mean the etf manager could pay a lower dividend comparing to what has been declared by a certain company in that year?
Yes subject ETF manager as it is basket of companies to decide based on the current NAV in order to give lower or higher dividends especially those on yearly payout

If you’re looking for dividends don’t bother buying ETFs you will be better off buying bonds or stocks which has better and consistent payout doh.gif

Look into more REITs and stay away from ETF REITs doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Jan 29 2022, 03:13 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Jan 28 2022, 02:01 PM)
Thanks for the advice.

Could you further explain on:
1. Dont bother buying ETFs. Bonds as in 'real' bond or unit trust bond?
2. Stay away from ETF REITs
Never ever buy bond UT as it the worst with the fees which gives you only around 3% return and look for High Yield but beware of the risks so lots of homework to do underlying assets

If you ever wanna buy REITs just buy pure REITs rather than ETFs as it will drag down your returns as too diversified and every year after dividends payout it will readjust to a loss value and then it will start chasing to gain back the loss of value

REITs as in stocks will give you high % as it mandated for them to payout to shareholders otherwise the REITs will get tax highly

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0639sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:28 AM