8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSxander83
post Mar 16 2022, 05:12 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(daidragon12 @ Mar 16 2022, 01:59 PM)
Tutup mata lah, want to dca still afraid and better park the money somewhere else

Bit regret listening to fsm in Sept last yr to add more China 🤣
Why listen without ch3cking in the 1st place doh.gif

Valuations wise is a buy but sentiments another story with uncertainty in China will lasts until Oct doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Mar 16 2022, 10:53 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(memorylane @ Mar 16 2022, 07:53 PM)
thanks for FSM article on 12 march. (luckily i didn't cut lost after 3 days of huge dip)

https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...reets?src=funds

i hold my fear and move fund from EPF i-invest (cos no more cash in hand to DCA) via FSM, with 0% charge, topup gao gao to china fund on 14 and 15 march...

today, alibaba, tencent, JD.com... all 25-30% up... of cos there is no magical ball what happen in future, hopefully it is not one day show.

For near/long term wise, i believe US is tighten policy now, and china is doing the opposite, which is easing policy now. I'm betting on China on long term, 投资就是在赌国运...
The easing policy is reassuring but you need to be careful there are unbidden bad disclosure still not out yet doh.gif

It is only relief rally but future eRnings is the key from those companies
SUSxander83
post Mar 17 2022, 08:44 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(memorylane @ Mar 17 2022, 09:23 AM)
this is true. Although they are way below fair value now, Chinese stock have to becareful when invest... cannot all in.
So far now China Tech and staples is ripe to buy

Just stay away from anything related to China property and bonds for the moment
SUSxander83
post Mar 19 2022, 01:47 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(yycclin @ Mar 18 2022, 01:32 PM)
Today results Not bad  thumbup.gif
Seeing light in the tunnel.. laugh.gif
TRy managed portfolio aggressive down 22% last week now recovered to -9% rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Mar 19 2022, 11:41 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Mar 19 2022, 11:31 AM)
Profit / Loss
MYR -8,046.32

Both agreesive n balance portfolio -8.x, -5.x

PRS , -12%

bad hedging against inflation. tongue.gif
Slighty Better than mine rclxms.gif

Wanna hedge inflation buy MyTheo inflation portfolio put small amount as balancing fund rclxms.gif

So far nothing good from FSM 8nflation related f7nds around doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Mar 20 2022, 04:18 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 20 2022, 11:44 AM)
Wanted to see how my China funds deal with the red colour after seeing the kweb ETF saga in the other thread. Behold most of the funds top holdings are no longer the Baba, Tencent etc familiar faces anymore. It seem the fund manager has actioned much earlier to avoid further losses. Mine last year bought China funds around -15 to -20%.

So fund manager got do work after we pay more for expense ratio. However I notice one fund still not much change in their top holdings and that explain its super red colour. Once all my China funds turn green colour that fund will be dropped. Take monies never do work and it is charging 2+% expense ratio!

This market correction period is for us to see fund manager got work for the monies or not. Lucky for fund they are allowed freedom to drop and move around to avoid more losses.

ETF are following index so they have to buy what is in the index unless that stock is dropped from the index. Now ETF supporters see the disadvantage? It's lower expense ratio do come with some flaws.

I am quite happy market correction come just when I started to try ETF. I always want to know besides lower expense ratio what do they bring on the table to compare with mutual fund.
Mutual fund is more discretion of fund manager to be based own their constructed benchmark hence they are more nimble to move the fund itself

ETF it depends on what type as not all are index based as you can see from likes of ARKK which there are no comparable benchmark to it

Sectorial ETF like the X SPDR series are based upon sector index and usually are stable but slow to react because they are benchmark against index and will mimick the index movements

If you buy broad based ETF likes of SPY/IVV/VOO it will react accordingly to index movement albeit seconds slower to SnP500

Most important thing buying mutual fund make sure check manager history before going in rclxms.gif

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 20 2022, 11:54 AM)
I actually have some sympathy for Msian invest with FSM Msia becuz the fund selection really small for you all to choose. If you are daring commodities and maybe global financial funds is worth a look? Go for riskier and sector specific to hunt for higher returns. But if you are safety guy ignore my suggestion.

What I usually do is below say I got X dollars
1. 75% of X dollars into less risky maybe even money market funds
2. 25% of X dollars into super risky to hunt for high returns at most lose all (but in reality hard to lose all)

Think of it like soccer defender,defensive midfielder behind and pure out and out strikers in front.

Btw I am referring to investor buy their own fund to form their own portfolio not those pay one sum monies ask FSM buy and construct for you kind portfolio. Those are called managed portfolio?
Yes Managed Portfolio but unfortunately on based on geographical allocation which are not nimble to move at the current market situations

If compared to Mytheo it purposed based whether it is income, growth or inflation hedge

If you wanna buy sector based the only way now is to buy ETF DIY atm

SUSxander83
post Mar 21 2022, 01:10 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 20 2022, 04:40 PM)
What I am trying to say is the higher expense ratio we pay in mutual fund need to translate into actual work and in market correction it shows which fund managers are working and which of them take monies do nothing.

ETF since is passive and track an index has to buy stocks that is in the index so they cannot run away. This explain their low expense ratio as it is passive.

As for ETF without tracking any index is the same as some mutual fund no longer benchmark against any index category. For such category yes they are nimble and fast to react but this won't be called passive ETF anymore? This also explain why some ETF expense ratio hitting near to 1%?

So if it is active ETF not tracking any index it will then be an open comparison with mutual fund not benchmark against any index. We have to rely on their past history performance as guide.

I am always trying to understand why ETF is better and lower expense ratio is the selling point. But now if it track index it will perform bad if all stocks in that index perform poorly. So low expense ratio passive investing work against it
ETFs no capital gains tax until you sell it off

but it is disadvantage for dividend based ETFs and you must need to hold it for 60 days at least prior to payout date and the dividends will be tax 5 to 15% otherwise it will be full income tax rate at 30%

ETFs doesn’t have redemption fee unlike mutual funds because mutual funds is taxable throughout its lifespan

Mutual fund are closed ended hence the cost is higher due to regulatory reporting compliance with monthly statements, annual tax reports, quarterly reports, and 1099s to units holders which incurred cost and it is bear by unit holders via annual management fee doh.gif

SUSxander83
post Mar 21 2022, 07:24 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 21 2022, 12:41 PM)
I do understand mutual funds has higher expense ratio which is why I am trying to say since my first post I want to see them working for the monies we pay. Market correction is when we evaluate their performance

Can I know you buy mutual fund from FSM Msia or FSM Spore before? Most funds don't have redemption fee. Those are buy from banks, financial institutions which is why FSM was formed to lower that since year 2000. ETF sell need pay broker fees etc too.

Now Endowus another fintech up the game trailer fee that the fund asset companies give to provider who help them to sell are all rebate back to investors

I am not trying to say ETF is bad or good I am just trying to understand but for index tracking ETF it lost its advantages if almost all stocks in index fare poorly
Remember that’s Etf is liquid while mutual you need the managers to sell for you upon your request hence ETF is way way way more liquid

No doubt EtF is more volatile as compared to mutual because of the forward pricing and slow to react to market conditions

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Mar 21 2022, 02:33 PM)
Yes I know, but the question is how? Ever since this new UI I didn't perform topup for MP. Couldn't find where to topup existing MP.
Try go to your existing managed portfolio and top up from there
SUSxander83
post Mar 21 2022, 10:25 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 21 2022, 10:21 PM)
Noted and this is true. ETF is like individual stock trading in exchange realtime so you buy,sell you know the transacted price upfront. That is why during year 2000 some mutual fund investor try to use the same stock playing strategy but fail miserably as mutual fund price is forward pricing it is hard to catch. Therefore mutual fund investors need to know this big difference. I.e the mutual fund NAV price you see today when you execute a sell is not the final executed sell price unlike ETF and individual stock.

I group them this way. Basket of stocks, ETF and mutual fund share same idea. Buy,sell style ETF and individual stock share same.
There’s is a method of madness to forward price timing but it works to certain of mutual funds, underlying funds and funds and funds which are buying ETFs

In US, there a few you can look out for if you interested but the liquidity is 3% of the actual fund so impact is barely
SUSxander83
post Mar 22 2022, 04:13 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Mar 22 2022, 02:13 PM)
Thanks for all the inputs on ETF. But surely ETF beneficial to small investors who could not afford to buy individual stocks?
More beneficial for those who likes thematic or sector ETF

Example big tech lovers can buy into QQQ or XLK instead as they can’t afford MSFT, Google or Amazon per unit size
SUSxander83
post Mar 22 2022, 09:38 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 22 2022, 07:02 PM)
Yes it is like pay $100 buy into many stocks. But index tracking ETF got flaws. If all stocks in the index fare badly, then the ETF share price will drop (KWEB ETF saga in SA thread is classic example). Such passive index tracking ETF die die must buy stocks that is in the index. But mutual funds got fund managers they can siam like buy stocks not in the index etc but they ask for more monies hence expense ratio higher in mutual fund.

Active non-index tracking ETF starting to gain traction but since active expense ratio slowly creeping up. I will not be surprised soon they hit 1%
THEmactic have the same risks as well

Only thing to do is to check the tracking error against the index
SUSxander83
post Mar 23 2022, 03:30 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Mar 23 2022, 01:56 PM)
But investors cant do much isn't it if the index is going down.

Since you are from SG, may I get advice from you if SG-REIT ETF a good buy? I am looking at UOB APAC Green REIT and CSOP iEdge S-REIT Leader Index. hmm.gif
May I know what is check the tracking error and how it could minimize lose?
The difference between the returns of the index fund and its benchmark index is known as a fund's tracking error.

Usually you check the fund Beta easier or R2 number which is more complicated to calculate
SUSxander83
post Mar 27 2022, 10:11 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Mar 27 2022, 09:59 PM)
Anyone having problems logging in today?

"Access Denied
You don't have permission to access "http://www.fsmone.com.my/app/holdings" on this server.
Reference #18.4ce82d17.1648389543.cc23bb0
"
Website or app?

Seems FSM server is down or on maintainance during weekend
SUSxander83
post Mar 29 2022, 03:01 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(RigerZ @ Mar 28 2022, 10:09 PM)
Website. yeah maybe its just maintenance stuff
Now then, I was reviewing my portfolio as everyone is hotly discussing China related funds. I realised I have 3 funds which are China-heavy:

Principal Greater China Equity Fund: -2.76% to date
Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund: +12.47% to date
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund: -4.83% to date

I think it would make sense to drop one or two of these funds right? Maybe not now but later when they recover?
Actually instead of dropping trim the % of it

1 is equity’s another is fixed income while the opportunity is in the middle
SUSxander83
post Mar 29 2022, 07:57 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 29 2022, 05:50 PM)
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...-fed-rate-hikes

FSM Spore article mention below
"
We predict that the Fed would have 12 rate hikes of 0.25% each by 2023, which would bring the federal funds rate to 3.25%

We think that there could be a total of 12 rate hikes of 0.25% each — 7 hikes in 2022 and 5 hikes in 2023, under an aggressive tightening scenario. This would bring the federal fund rate (FFR) to 3.25%.
"

Anyone think they over-react? They are predicting up to 12 rate hikes that is A LOT !
Not over react as a lot in the market consensus have already priced in 6 to 7 hikes this year doh.gif

5 next year is highly possible on the middle ground

The only thing market is worried is 50 or 75 basis point in a single hike this year doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Mar 30 2022, 03:29 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 29 2022, 11:07 PM)
Going by more rate hikes to come think financials theme investment maybe wise e.g banks, financial institutions etc. Financials was mentioned by FSM Spore earlier besides commodities metals resources. Global theme mutual fund that I own latest fund factsheet fund manager asset allocation has move financials,industrials etc to first place and IT is pushed down to third fourth place. It is really sector theme nowadays instead of country and region for e.g
Thematic is the key now as geographical investing is risky due to sanctions from the war doh.gif

By the time you buy financials and commodities now is already at the peak so you are losing money like SA buy high doh.gif

If you started last year Aug buying financials and commodities by now you just wait and for time to profit only doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2022, 02:44 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Mar 31 2022, 06:59 PM)
Rakuten's fee is cheap, however you must remember that they do not provide USD cash account, so anything you sell will converted to MYR. Their mobile app is shit but that's not a big issue. The worse thing about them is probably their customer service...
BUt you will get back the money within 3 days if you withdraw hence which is why they are using RM account instead doh.gif
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2022, 12:49 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Apr 1 2022, 08:16 AM)
Indeed their withdrawal is quite fast, most of the time you get on the same day or next business day
Only Bursa is fast provided morning settlement is completed hence within the same day

Not for US though because of trading time and settlement time are different as not instant but considerable turn around

QUOTE(sgh @ Apr 1 2022, 12:34 PM)
As you read more readers feedback from Msia, Spore forums all platforms come with pro and con. Sometimes some reader like to highlight the pros a lot especially for IBKR investors simply becuz of the low comm fees for US equities/trading etc. Only when press further on some other issues,flows etc some finally reveal the cons. To me we have to be fair in our evaluation of a platform. All pros and cons should be provided so newbie investors can make an informed decision to choose which platform and/or brokers. Once a while you do read a balanced view from some kind readers but they are less to be found.
Remember most are blinded or fan lovers in the 1st place just like SA doh.gif

IBKR is cheap and more market access but troublesome because you need transfer a few times around before you get your money
SUSxander83
post Apr 1 2022, 01:05 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Apr 1 2022, 12:57 PM)
IBKR is not cheap (competitive yes but not cheap) for Asian markets like SGX,Bursa,HKEX and it don't have China A share access afaik. It is good for US related equities/trading and alot of ppl use that especially on US stocks,ETF and US-listed China stocks.
IBKR has China A share access but limited via to
Shanghai - Hong Kong Stock Connect (SEHKNTL)
Shanghai - Hong Kong Stock Connect (SEHKSTAR)

But no access to Shenzhen or upcoming Beijing exchange

This post has been edited by xander83: Apr 1 2022, 01:06 PM
SUSxander83
post Apr 2 2022, 01:57 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Apr 1 2022, 10:56 PM)
Hi all, seek advise.

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/investment (see list of appointed FMI)

My fund (through FSM), Affin Hwang Aiiman Asia (ex Japan) Growth Fund - MYR Class was in suspended status for 2022/2023, other Affin Hwang funds for me is not attractive if switching out.

Should I sell all and buy other AxJ fund?

Just hold and wait the replacement coming soon

Seems like Shariah and China holdings got it suspended doh.gif

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0854sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:27 PM