6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Hansel
post Oct 16 2019, 11:37 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 16 2019, 11:25 AM)
Singapore central bank may know something we don’t

The Monetary Authority of Singapore yesterday “slightly” reduced the rate of desired appreciation by the local dollar - which could be interpreted as minor easing.

As a small, trade-dependent state, Singapore stimulates or slows growth mainly by adjusting the preferred path of its currency.
While the move was forecast by most economists surveyed by Bloomberg, a significant minority expected the central bank to be more aggressive, particularly against the global backdrop of the US-China trade conflict, a separate spat between Japan and South Korea, Brexit travails and the prospect of recession in Germany.

So monetary authorities could have come out guns blazing. That they chose not to suggests maybe, just conceivably, the world economy could scrape through this rough patch.

Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...o4HR9THSoBfp.99
Yeah, I saw this thie morning,... biggrin.gif

I am one of that significant minority mentioned above,.. as a matter of fact, I don't see any other party commenting against the MAS move on Monday morning except myself,.. biggrin.gif

It's okay - I'm doing this with a good intention, I want my nearby international financial hub to be the best in the world... thumbup.gif
Hansel
post Oct 19 2019, 08:38 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 18 2019, 05:17 PM)
so far mid cap small cap shines over big cap.

my ES small cap and KGF all earning since Feb this year.

only ES income which hold big cap having diarrhoea.

Currently full force into bond. Awaiting coming correction.
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Oct 18 2019, 10:45 PM)
Should sell now and park into bond? I am thinking about doing this as well.
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 19 2019, 08:22 AM)
Not sell and not buying eq.

Just stockpile 1st.
Bros,... is past deep corrections, bonds were affected too - missing coupon payments and some defaulted. But I guessed this depended on the type of bonds and the issuers and, of course,... the type of bonds and the issuer together, among other factors, determine the credit ratings. Credit ratings can chg,...

What type of bonds do you hold ?
Hansel
post Oct 19 2019, 02:38 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 19 2019, 09:18 AM)
Hold bond fund. Not into particular bond....

Most bond in it 3 to 5 years...

So far most bond fund stagnant. Sigh
Bond funds should be safer, 'cos of diversification (many different bonds under that fund). Couldn't be that all bonds mati-lar, eight ? But bond funds will have fees, which will, in turn, lower your returns.
Hansel
post Nov 6 2019, 12:08 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Nov 6 2019, 09:28 AM)
Doing fine, can SWAN - sleep well at night since I dont worry about that shares any more. Market now is too nervous, very sensitive knee jerk reactions with good and bad news. Not the sea I want to sail in now. But preparing for calmer sea or ocean after this storm.

By the way, what is ATH?

Any feedback on the 10% dividend tax I asked earlier?

Cheerio.

P/S  Why uncle, and not bro or sis? Ha.
Bro,... no tax on dividends from SG REITs for individual single or joint accounts.
Hansel
post Nov 6 2019, 08:34 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Chounz @ Nov 6 2019, 06:10 PM)
Ya, because of the tax is not on the entity level, so will be taxed unitholder level.
For Msia Reit, the tax rate is 10%, meaning is the REIT declare 40 sen dividend, the unitholder only receive 36sen.
Bro,... I'll try to convince you again,... no need to think too much, if you buy a REIT in Singapore, you don't get taxed at all on your dividend or capital gain if you buy it as an individual or in a joint name with another individual.

If you buy a US-based REIT in Singapore, make sure you fill-up and submit the W8-BEN Form to the share registrar. But for one recent US-based REIT listed in Singapore, you don't even have to fill the W8-BEN Form, this is for Ara US Hospitality Trust.

Personal experience for many years,... don't worry bro,...
Hansel
post Nov 7 2019, 11:55 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Nov 6 2019, 09:25 PM)

But saw this in The Edge,

"The tax structure for REIT investors is also more favourable in Singapore. In Malaysia, a withholding tax of 10% on distributions from MY REITs is imposed on individual and non-corporate investors (residents and non-residents, including institutional investors) and 24% on non-resident corporate investors. Local corporate investors are subject to the prevailing 24% corporate taxes. 

In Singapore, individual investors of SG REITs, irrespective of their resident status, are not subject to any withholding tax in respect of distributions from REITs. A withholding tax of 10% on REIT distributions is imposed on non-resident, non-individual investors, including institutional funds.[COLOR=red]"

Thus why I asked whether a Msian buying and later selling it via FSM got taxed or not.
Tq bro for the excerpt above. thumbsup.gif

So, no issue for REIT investments in SG. The only challenge is : CAN A MALAYSIAN OPEN AN 'ECONOMICAL' ACCOUNT THERE ?

I mix a lot with Aussies, they can't open bank and brokerage accounts easily today in SG. Many Aussies want to invest in SG too due to the strong currency returns.
Hansel
post Nov 8 2019, 05:57 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Chounz @ Nov 8 2019, 03:19 PM)
hahaha, currently plan to invest in SG REIT, since SG is small. SG REIT sure got market.
Ok bro,.... thumbsup.gif biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Nov 11 2019, 01:39 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(genesic @ Nov 11 2019, 10:55 AM)
you may try for Maybank iSAVvy saving account. google it, its for opening a saving account in Maybank Singapore but not sure if it economical.
...tq for offering this info, bro,... thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Nov 12 2019, 05:10 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Nov 11 2019, 02:07 PM)
I opened a CIMB fastsaver. Hassle free and can do everything online , longest part of the process was waiting for the security token, this was year + ago,

I just bought my first SREIT today as well
biggrin.gif Welcome to the club, bro,... thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Nov 21 2019, 11:18 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 21 2019, 07:32 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif now seems like those indexes producing players had been joining in the market "manipulation" business too.
onced reputable and reliable indexes are now  bangwall.gif

"Index decisions by MSCI and its peers have grown increasingly important for stock markets in recent years, thanks to the growing popularity of passive investment strategies. Multibillion-dollar funds run by BlackRock Inc., Vanguard Group Inc. and Northern Trust Corp. were all buyers of DYF’s stock after it won entry into MSCI’s indexes.
Read more at https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...xLoWAj2dKw6K.99

At the time, MSCI said it used quantitative criteria such as market value, free float, and liquidity when choosing companies for its indexes and didn’t make judgments about profitability, growth prospects or "any other subjective” metrics.

Good excuses.....  thumbup.gif
devil.gif  brows.gif
Hmm,... yeah bro,... now that you mentioned it, I noticed my SG REITs are also 'racing to be included into the indices'. Seems that when included, there will be more liquidity for the ctrs,...

Unit prices will rise though after inclusion, but have not really paid attention if they fell back again,....
Hansel
post Nov 22 2019, 01:06 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(yeowhock @ Nov 22 2019, 11:51 AM)
Tq bro,... the fighting and the breaking has stopped ! This is important.

Local 'majlis' elections this weekend, I think,... after this, more peace when their chosen leaders go up,....
Hansel
post Nov 22 2019, 11:44 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 22 2019, 11:23 PM)
Whomever elected as chief will always has to be pro Beijing. CCP vetted only candidates can be in contention. If this trend continues, u will see in the future, a mockery of an election where there is only 1 candidate like what happening in China now.

Anyway I think like the trade war news, the market is getting immune to protest news. The only thing that will truly effect HK now is the economic numbers continues to go kaput. For me is still buy buy buy. Haha.
QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 22 2019, 11:26 PM)
oops.gif  sign0006.gif

hopefully can STOP commenting/posting on not directly related to UT investing in FSM

else, later kena kicked to KOPITAIM forum
Good opinions, bro Lighter,.. yeah,.. perhaps so,... world getting immune already, but I believed when the Human Rights and Democracy Act is passed by Trump, many funds will start to pullout from HK. Just my opinion,...it will be in the SOP of funds to be able to invest in regions which are politically stable. Public-listed companies may still stay, like Alimama,... but funds ???

Fund Managers will be shivering already,...

Bro T,... this is related,..
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 12:31 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 22 2019, 11:53 PM)
FM of UT has to follow certain allocation % in HK/china....at all times as per mandated......unless those unconstrainted UTs.
thus good or bad in HK, they have to stay invested.
Ok,.. well,.. I read their mandate and the fact sheets... I interpreted differently when I read under the section Risk Factors : Political Risks.

Good or bad,.. still have to stay invested ? For funds which fall under Active Mgmt, is this right ?

Somehow, I opined that if HK is considered to have lost its autonomy when evaluated by the Secretary of State of The USA, Fund Mgrs will regard this as highly negative. First step that will take place will be to reduce holdings so as to reduce the funds exposure to that region.
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 12:17 PM

9,353 posts

Hmmm,.... bros Lighter and T231H disagreed on all fronts and gave strong rebuttal points. Bro YK Looi was mentioned too,....

Must be open to these points too,...

Tks bros,... on that bill, your theories could be possible also,....
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 01:37 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 23 2019, 12:38 PM)
Anyway all this is merely fundamental understanding of the issues affecting the market. In the end we still need to also focus on the specific fund performance to gauge it's true ability to perform. Some fund don't perform well due to weakness in it's mandate and/or the fund manager.
I can only quote from my experiences with the funds that I owned,... the Allianz and Fidelity HY Bond Funds.

Their mandates are more flexible. No doubt these funds payout monthly dividends, my nav values (not inclusive of dividends reinvested) are still at breakeven or slightly above breakeven levels.

Hansel
post Nov 24 2019, 02:22 PM

9,353 posts

Yes, bro YH, you are right abt over-doversification - main thing that kena us will be adding to the cost... unless, of course,...

..the investor gets to enjoy something like,.. eg, no minimum charges, then he can diversify as much as he wants. He can buy as small a lot as he wants to and sell as small a lot as he wants to.

NO issue at all !!!!
Hansel
post Nov 25 2019, 12:27 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 24 2019, 05:49 PM)
Naturally the next question is when to know if we are over diversification?
Hard to answer this, bro,.... biggrin.gif

Maybe someone can answer with some opinions first and we improve from there,...
Hansel
post Nov 25 2019, 11:10 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 25 2019, 09:22 AM)
I guess each of us need to have a plan of investment. Especially important since we DIY here.
This is best answer, I guessed,... thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Nov 26 2019, 01:19 PM

9,353 posts

Been looking at the above inputs with enthusiasm,... good inputs,.. I'll give some opinions here to bro pcf,...

For myself, I came to this cross-road many years ago,... ie which place to invest into, a place with MYR- or a place with SGD- denomination. I studied historical movements of currencies and some other fundamentals.

Back then, the doors were NOT closed yet, it was very easy to open SG bank accts.

Then I realized I will need RM to convert out to the SGD to invest in the SGD-denomination. This was expensive back then, my rate was,... emm,...I think 2.30,.. or something like that,... and when I had to use more and more SGD, it was more painful as I had to convert out more and more of my RM at higher and higher exchange rates.

But, after that I saw returns coming back, and when I 'calculated backwards', I found that after accounting for the spread charged, I am able to get back more RM.

Secondly,... when I invested into one instrument there, somwhow, other interests in other instruments over there will come along.

Such was my experience back then.

Susah dahulu, senang kemudian.
Hansel
post Nov 26 2019, 05:40 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(pigscanfly @ Nov 26 2019, 04:32 PM)
Thanks for sharing your opinion Hansel. Opening a SG bank account today is not impossible, but definitely difficult for Malaysians not working in SG.

The exchange rate for SGD to MYR has been steadily increasing, with SGD increasing in value and MYR depreciating. With regards to the current political scenario in Malaysia, I have little faith that MYR can catch up to SGD. People are looking to park their assets out of the country with the gloomy economic outlook in Malaysia.

With fintech services offering lower and lower conversion fees, I guess the cost of overseas investment has gone down.

I agree that the Singapore investment market offers plenty of alternatives, compared to the Malaysia market.
Sure bro,... thumbsup.gif

By the way,... the door is not closed yet for opening an SG bank acct... you can still do it via help from Maybank Msia,... and opening an iSavvy Acct in Maybank Sgp.

There's one bro here, Ramjade,... search his postings,... he gave quite some details,..he knows it in and out. I think there is a thread too abt opening SG bank accts.

Well,... in short, let me give you some details,... you need to look fro a Maybank branch that provides this service. Depending on where you are located, go to the nearest branch, fill-in some forms and then need to wait already.

Err,... pls see the thread for more. Sorry, bro, I did not open my iSavvy acct with this route.

Added : Bro,.. I just noticed this input by bro krv : It was really easy to open a CIMB fast saver account though, did it within days via their website. Using it to fund my FSM SG account.

Why don't you try this out ?

I'll give you a Real Life eg : I opened a CIMB fast saver account for the purpose of sending back SGD to MYR, and the process was quite fast.

I used the process from the CIMB SG website, filled in the forms, received the call and asked me to transfer 1k from an SG acct under MY NAME to my incumbent fast saver acct.. I have a few banks accts in SG, hence, this could be done easily. After i transferred the funds, my fast saver became active within two hrs.

I learnt from postings here that applicants with no SG bank acct can also use their CIMB MY acct to 'certify-fund' their incumbent fast saver acct... so you may need a CIMB MY acct too before you apply in the CIMB SG website.

This post has been edited by Hansel: Nov 26 2019, 06:13 PM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0479sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:33 PM