27 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xcxa23
post Mar 3 2020, 09:59 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 3 2020, 09:52 AM)
yup, that's not DCA.
i've not been doing DCA since i've hit my asset allocation (+/- 20% from planned) - i've been value-fishing heheh

just sharing coz IMHO it's best to be clear to oneself what one is planning Vs doing
Let's say you are still DCA
And sales come
10%, 20%, 30%

What will you do?
DCA only? Ignoring the sales?
Value investing only? Then continue DCA as per usual?
DCA + value investing?

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Mar 3 2020, 10:00 AM
xcxa23
post Mar 3 2020, 10:49 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 3 2020, 10:02 AM)
depends - which VCA method U using smile.gif

there's a VCA which is similar to DCA in the sense of die die - every 3, 4, 6, x months - U will execute, no matter what (https://www.amazon.com/Value-Averaging-Strategy-Investment-Returns/dp/0470049774)
only the amount depends on the held value VS expected value (with returns and new investments as per last invested)
thus, this is executed non-optional like DCA AND the value is also non-optional - ie. program-based, on expected amount (committed+expected growth) VS value held.

i started with DCA, then migrated to VCA and now pure value hunting OR (if nothing of value for long time) rebalancing based on Asset Allocation.
i'd just DCA only
unless
i'm already in the Asset Allocation mindset.
If so, i'll ADD value purchases - ie. DCA jalan automatically and on/off i'd just buy extra with cash or EPF (sai lang / all in!! joking! heheh)
this extra is because i'd see:
a. There's worthwhile lelong
OR
b. my savings / FI held is waaaaaay too high a % vs other asset categories, thus forced rebalance triggered
i see.
for me DCA continue as usual but will fork out extra money, cut of entertainment, snack, starbuck or whatever non essential budget to buy during opportunity and cash out profit from stock, usually profit from stock is either keep on buying stock or keep in high yield saving acc. but i wont touch epf tho.. tongue.gif unless its for housing purchase.

thanks for the clarification.
xcxa23
post Mar 3 2020, 11:14 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 3 2020, 10:57 AM)
isn't it when opportunity comes, your asset in your stocks also plummeted?
if you cash out your stocks, would it be losses during that opportunity time?
what stocks do you buy and hold that are not related to the mkt opportunity that you would like to dump more?
i do trading and dividend/reits investing in stock
trading stock, econ, solarv, powerwell
dividend stock/reit, ytl,axreit,maybank,cimb,btech

profit as in locked in profit from the trading stock
since money in the acc yield pretty high interest as compare to normal saving acc

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Mar 3 2020, 11:15 AM
xcxa23
post Mar 3 2020, 11:47 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 3 2020, 11:24 AM)
oh, you lock in the profits from stock trading during the good days
and these profits will then be transferred to high yield FD a/c....
then the money from this high yield a/c would be used to buy investment during opportunity time...
hope I am right about your move.

can share what is the Ratio of investment money Vs the money now inside the high yield a/c?

Including the normal DCA routine that you do.....
what is the growth rate of new money added into the investment VERSUS the growth rate of money (from locking profits) in the High Yield a/c?
(ex: DCA RM1k PM x 12 mths) into investment versus RM1200 pa of locked profit into high yield a/c.....that would be 10:1)
high yield FD
not FD tho, just saving acc, 2.65%

buy investment during opportunity time..
i am not a pro trader, its not every day or week manage to get profit. most of the trading need to wait weeks or months to profit, if lucky really just within 5 days.

what is the growth rate of new money added into the investment VERSUS the growth rate of money (from locking profits) in the High Yield a/c?
to be honest, i dont quite understand how to calculate per mentioned.
2020 my DCA is 2k PM in FSM and from jan to feb 2020, extra 5k ( lucky) from stock profit, still got 2k buffer in the stock acc to cover future potential losses.
but last year 1.5k DCA PM and jan to dec 2019 only 13k
xcxa23
post Mar 3 2020, 12:22 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 3 2020, 11:56 AM)
so end up...the amount you put into investment is much more than the amount you lock in profit from stock trading that you put into high yield a/c.

so will it end up...if the opportunity come, the amount you take out form the high yield a/c to buy at the opportunity time will be a lot less than the amount you lost during that time.
hmm.gif
there's year where manage to profit 28k while there's year where profit are just lol 3k. i guess its better than loss.
so its hard to say for sure it is more than my DCA, some years its more, some year its less.

but

its better than nothing and UT give me more peace of mind and ''stability'' compare to trading stock.
still will trading tho, since almost half of the capital is 4D winning money

xcxa23
post Mar 3 2020, 12:41 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 3 2020, 12:24 PM)
Do you have FI UT funds in your portfolio?
how many % of it?
Nope. Why?

xcxa23
post Mar 3 2020, 12:54 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 3 2020, 12:44 PM)
bcos, there are previously mentioned by forummers that they will use the their FI UT as a war chest, moving to EQ when the opportunity come.
move back to FI when it is over
Ah.. I remember about that
But I'm not familiar with the tactics/details/procedure

Say I have United global quality MYR hedged
What step should I do?
Switch to which FI?
Any charges? Fees?
xcxa23
post Mar 9 2020, 11:30 AM

2,649 posts

looks like this week my non necessities budget going in war chest as well

xcxa23
post Mar 9 2020, 09:45 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Feb 28 2020, 06:56 AM)
probably continue dropping until next week

even after trump address the public and ''reassuring'' that nothing to be fear but the selloff continues. i did watch abit of the live conference, trump did not seems like taking the threat/crisis seriously and still able to take a jab on their opposition. imo, what they are doing to contain and preventing is just not enough.

as for now, my game is just continue collecting more bullet and keep an eye on us news.
my prediction the dow jones will touch 24k point if serious measure/action/plan not executed by US
looks like the dow just below 24k point

xcxa23
post Mar 11 2020, 09:12 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Mar 11 2020, 07:52 AM)
I bought moderately aggressive
I bought aggressive
Since late 2017 without any DCA
Now -ve 4%
xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 07:22 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(jonoave @ Mar 11 2020, 03:59 PM)
I also bought aggressive, end 2018. Occasional top-up.
Early this year decided to sell off some of them, lucky i guess.

Been dropping these past days, right now around -6%.
too late for me.. should have sell it off and wait for DCA

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 11 2020, 08:08 PM)
since now have promo.
did u sell and rebuy so can get 0% subscripetion fee?
nope. selling means lock in losses.
xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 07:33 AM

2,649 posts

well, looks like im am right for stopping DCA and building war chest

if dow ever touch 22k, high chances reaching 18k especially if the covid19 does not slow down
xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 10:06 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 12 2020, 09:55 AM)
YES, Sell off ALL before the fall, then wait for DCA is definitely much
having a BIG war chest and prevented to lost of money before the fall.
better then the below one....
as mentioned before, stopping DCA does not help much if a BIG portion of the money are invested and had been subjected to the fall
do you have other better alternative for your portfolio?
How big is big?
Currently my war chest is 25% of total invested
(Money from selling off UT b4 covid drop and cutting down/off unnecessary budget like entertainments/leisure/luxury)

And the fund I have been wanting to DCA have been falling, now roi -12%
Was tempted to go all in when it reach -5% tho but hold off and able to buff up war chest to 25%
By next week, should be able to pump to 30%
xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 10:41 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 12 2020, 10:15 AM)
that means 1:4 ratio between war chest and invested?
that means this 1 (25% war chest) will be used to buy in again when and if the fund dropped to -20% from the high?
There's two fund I'm planning to lump-sum all in probably next week, depending on the situation tho.

Say the total invested for the two fund, 40k
And my war chest as of ytd approximately 10.2k
Two more week I probably able to bump it up 13k at least.

I am not sure how BIG is big enough for you but for me, 25% quite significant.

xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 10:56 AM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 12 2020, 10:50 AM)
as per this earlier post....
then that means your invested money of 4 (100% invested) will most probably have its valued dropped too?
if the 25% is used to buy in at -20% drop, and if the markets rises 20%, will your portfolio is still be REDhmm.gif
hmm.gif
The 25% top up if buy in at -20%+ will average down my average nav of the fund

Lol.. i will let you know when the market up 20% but based on previous experience during trade wars, it definitely will be in the green and wont ROI at 20%

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Mar 12 2020, 11:22 AM
xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 12:07 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 12 2020, 11:21 AM)
1:4 ratio between war chest and invested amount

deploy bullet after drops of 20% and profit/loss after 20% rise
10 000 - 1.5%SC = 9850 + 20% rises = 11 820 , profit 11 820-10 000 = 1820

Invested amount before 20% drops and profit/loss after 20% rise from low
40 000 - 20% drops = 32 000 + 20% rise = 38 400 , lost 1600 (40 000 - 38 400)

thus profits of RM 220 for the whole adventure ??
hmm.gif why not

its not like im getting any lesser sleep or stress about it/whole adventure biggrin.gif

and of course, i dont think that the market will just up 20% especially during bull run.
so for the long run, it will not be just profit rm220

but for those who are getting nervous,breakdown,worry,unable to sleep,stress
better just DCA as per other members recommendation

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Mar 12 2020, 12:14 PM
xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 01:27 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 12 2020, 12:22 PM)
thumbup.gif YES, why NOT,
up to you to decide,....
you are to only one that can decide if putting down extra 10 000 to TRY to make 220.....is worth it or not
for it could be a long WAIT, it could also be a further drops, but who knows how it goes...
thus you are justify to say why NOT.

your money and your call....

for some others, to try to make RM220, they may just think it is better to put in this 10 000 in a 7.5 months FD without all the risk and have to wait until don't know when can go up to +20%
(10000 x 3.5% pa = RM 350/12 = 29.20 x 7.5 mths = 218)
Exactly!
Who knows if market rebound 40%,60%,80% and that won't be rm220 anymore.. haha
Well, UT imo is for the long run so why not.

The swing to the upside and downside are highly parallel (tho imo, downside will always swing more than upside)

Higher return will always associated with higher risk
if cannot stand seeing red,
FD all the way

Afaik, or at least during my search, highest FD 3.45% affin bank, max 100k
xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 01:35 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 12 2020, 01:30 PM)
"Well, UT imo is for the long run so why not.
The swing to the upside and downside are highly parallel (tho imo, downside will always swing more than upside)"

hmm.gif with that, why have to time the markets by have to wait -20%?
if can wait -20, why not wait -30% or 40% etc etc.?
That's why previous reply with MuM

"That's why I still have not lump-sum yet
Probably next week, depending on situation"

xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 01:46 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 12 2020, 01:39 PM)
hmm.gif why must depends on the situation when ""Well, UT imo is for the long run so why not."?

doh.gif my BAD, it is your money and your call.....  notworthy.gif
Actually, if you do not agree with my view or feeling annoyed by it, you are welcome to ignore or put me in blacklisted.
Seriously, no hard feelings

Depends on situation because the market tend react to current situation sentiments
So whatever human do, it will have impact on the market trend especially during negative/bad sentiments/situation

And as of today, afaik, although USA already announced stimulation package/budget but trump administration decided to censor/withheld any information regarding covid19.
And imo, such action will make the market swing downwards more.
Anyhow, let's see tonight the dow Jones will down or up.

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Mar 12 2020, 02:32 PM
xcxa23
post Mar 12 2020, 02:28 PM

2,649 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 12 2020, 01:53 PM)
no, I would not do that,
this forum is where we share out views, some agrees at times, some agrees all the times, some don't agrees at times, some agrees all the times, some don't give a shits, etc etc.
mine is just on mathematically is to show the gain value while to wait for drops, buy a small portion and hope for the rise while a big chuck of our investment are being catch in the drops.....
there is no mentions of you are wrong as the final decision is still yours, for it is your money and your call....for in EQ investment, one does not know how it goes tomorrow.

btw, thanks for telling the latest FD rate..."Afaik, or at least during my search, highest FD 3.45% affin bank, max 100k"
made a calculation again....0.1% variance of 10 000 is RM 10 pa....

hmm.gif seriously, would you do that on me?
"if you do not agree with my view or feeling annoyed by it, you are welcome to ignore or put me in blacklisted."
Seriously, no hard feelings if YES too.
Well my take is worth it.
So why just see/assume only the 20% rise ie extra rm220. I don't think anyone here buy in fund believe it will up only 20% for long term holding.
It is possible to grow more than 110%, personally saw it, my dad's fund ROI after 10years but he did not DCA even during 2008. Lucky he did not panic lock in losses. But too bad he is the type
Buy UT for long term, buy liao no need monitor it. Ripe it after XX years and not even DCA.

With data and information, we can at least predict the direction of the market. Sure it's not 100% but it's helps increasing the accuracy.
And I did mentioned previously, based on the information I know as of now, the Dow Jones will bleed again tonight

Let's see if I'm correct or not.

I don't blacklist ppl as well but I sometimes do forgotten to reply. Since as you know, I'm mostly reply on mobile hence the lack of emoticons lol, I tend to read and plan to reply later especially during busy day.

This post has been edited by xcxa23: Mar 12 2020, 02:30 PM

27 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0607sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:26 AM