65 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSyklooi
post Jan 21 2018, 02:05 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 21 2018, 12:09 PM)
2) Underweight or ignore Tradtional Fixed Income

3) Use REITS or Conservative Balance fund [ My personal preference Manureits or RHB AIF ] as an alternative to Fixed Income in your portfolio.
Xuzen.
not directly posting to response to your post, but more of mumbling my thought....which may not be acceptable or correct....

i am super heavy in UT.
for 2018, i allocated
10% in CMF
10% in AHSB
15% in REITs

hopefully, when and if WMK used to say...."when kaka hit the wall"
that 3 assets will tie me over for few years...thus i will not need to touch my Eq funds....or thinking "wow, the NAVs dropped >X%, should i sell this or that?"

hopefully, i can sit tight and enjoy the rides.....(hopefully?...yes, bcos,...if that time comes, my investment emotions may be clouded by my situation that could come out during that time blush.gif )

hmm.gif what if after depleting that 3 asset classes, and there is no end in sights for the returns of glory days of EQ funds?
well, i still have about 80% of the value of my UT port in EPF,....which i can take out any time....

moral of the story....diversify, allocate to one's financial standing, his/her honest risk appetite assessment and his/her outlook of the mkts for the next 12 months......if in doubt, contact FSM CIS or go for managed portfolio service.

interesting read.....
What is momentum investing?
In practice, momentum investing involves the decision of purchasing stocks that have been performing relatively stronger and selling stocks that have been performing relatively weaker. In another word, momentum investing encourages one to buy high and sell higher. In fact, the concept of momentum investing can be explained by the first law of motion discovered by Sir Issac Newton which stated that “an object at rest stay at rest and an object in motion stays in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced form”. Similarly, in the stock market, a rising market tends to attract more buyers whereas a falling market tends to attract sellers, which can be explained by a few behavioral biases such as overconfidence and herding effect.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Investing-9289

SUSyklooi
post Jan 22 2018, 12:46 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(callmeadoctor @ Jan 21 2018, 06:45 PM)
2)Based on the discussion above, I conclude that many sifus are looking positive towards China equities UT, I have actually invested in Affinhwang - china growth fund since last year and made a 18% profit without knowing anything(I consider it as beginer's luck? Lol), so do you guys think i should keep holding this fund or should i switch to another fund (those u guys mentioned earlier) If i wish to make further profit?
WHEN TO TAKE PROFITS?
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...e-Profits--1783

Here’s What You Can Do To Lock In Investment Profits
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...7-?locale=en_us

What To Do If Certain Markets Are Getting Expensive?
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20150402

SUSyklooi
post Jan 24 2018, 08:17 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Jan 24 2018, 07:59 PM)
Yup, they must be covered by some "statements" in the prospectus.
What we can do is, realize it, and decide to accept it or not.
TA investment was started to think the market is adverse since second half of 2016. (In fact, 2016, 2017 was a hooray hooray period for whole world)

Because, beside Ta global tech, they also changed the liquid asset of Ta Euro Fund from 25% on 30/06/16 to 40% on 30/06/17...
Like, u pay higher for prawn ball (Eq fund), but actually u get fish ball (balance fund) only.
with it highly focused sector, lesser correlation and supplementary portion of my port at 5%.....I will still keep it despite it is a fish ball......still a tasty fish ball (performance and 3 yrs volatility%)
I have EIGL at 9% for more diversified coverage

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 24 2018, 08:28 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jan 29 2018, 09:57 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Jan 29 2018, 09:17 PM)
With all other funds at historical high, I think only this fund can consider to top up for now. Hopefully its downtrend will stop soon
I placed abet of 5000 on this on 6 Dec.....just from my observation during this 35 trading days.....
this fund can have a fluctuation of 1.5~2.5% in a single day at great frequencies
after 7 weeks....i am still down 4.22% (Rm 211) as of 26/1/18
looks like i cannot managed to get sponsor for my TV spec upgrade before CNY doh.gif

SUSyklooi
post Jan 31 2018, 02:07 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 31 2018, 01:36 PM)
today laosai again.. lol
luckily KLCI closed....cannot see how my IDS sai biggrin.gif
SUSyklooi
post Feb 1 2018, 11:25 PM

8,188 posts

if switch out from CMF to other fund would be faster....
SUSyklooi
post Feb 2 2018, 11:34 PM

8,188 posts

my DIY port's ROI is +1.37% for Jan
my FSM managed port is +2.28%

new addition to my port 4% in United Japan Discovery on 29/1....
now showing -2.28% RED ranting.gif
SUSyklooi
post Feb 5 2018, 01:53 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Feb 5 2018, 10:10 AM)
Thanks alot for sharing informations. I'm currently holding a few funds that alot of you want to sell off, please advice on how to organize the funds.

My rough fund allocations as below,

Affin Hwang World Series - Japan Growth Fund - 10%
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - 25%
CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund - 7%
CIMB-Principal Greater China Equity Fund - 25%
Kenanga Growth Fund - 15%
Manulife India Equity Fund - 10%
TA Global Technology Fund - 8%
Any advice is appreciated, just to give more ideas. Thanks in advance. smile.gif
hmm.gif your port looks OK to me rclxms.gif thumbup.gif ......
but I am a bit chicken blush.gif sad.gif ...thus I would just prefer to go
Affin Hwang World Series - Japan Growth Fund - 10% 7%
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - 25% + 10%
CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund - 7% + 3%
CIMB-Principal Greater China Equity Fund - 25% 10%
Kenanga Growth Fund - 15% + 5%
Manulife India Equity Fund - 10%
TA Global Technology Fund - 8%

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 5 2018, 02:02 PM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 5 2018, 01:55 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(phoenix24 @ Feb 5 2018, 01:38 PM)
wow manulife india drop almost 4.5%
any takers? brows.gif
just 5% more and I would allocate 5% to it in my port
SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 09:09 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Feb 6 2018, 07:49 AM)
High tide gone....let's see which fund managers are swimming naked  brows.gif
in the mean time, nearer to our hearts, let's see how our port stand up against the tide and how steadfast emotionally are on our current port's compositions selection.
SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 09:10 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 6 2018, 07:27 AM)
May my 20% discount materialise.
this 20% is fund price or index value from 30 Jan?
what fund are you targeting?
I think FSM did has an alarm trigger when the NAV reached that price....

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 6 2018, 09:12 AM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 09:28 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Feb 6 2018, 08:55 AM)
So, when to start buying?
when one realised that there is actually no "real' issues to the current mkts drops....
the possibility of the US FED rates had been made known since MAY 2013 when they announced the stopping of the QE
then in DEC 2015, the 1st since 2006 they raised the rate and already mentioned that the rates will raise when the indicators allows
don't the market sees it coming all these years?
don't they already sees the implications and moved their allocation strategically by now?

with that said......so what is the real issues now?

QUOTE(ehwee @ Feb 6 2018, 09:01 AM)
Get ready our bullets everybody
getting ready is one thing,
knowing when to fire and at the same time have the heart, convictions and emotion to fire it, makes the difference....

SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 09:55 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 6 2018, 09:42 AM)
When to fire is the million dollar question. biggrin.gif Fire too early and you are out of ammo unless you have infinite than...
when one has no conviction, not emotional steadfast enough, no port allocations...it does not matters when.......
for without knowing "when" and are just waiting for that time (near the bottom).....for when the index jumped, one would hope that it will drops again the next day so they will buy
without the conviction of setting a measureable value on a known item(s)........then it does not matters....for it is just the same

just like, XXX gives the opportunities, it is up to us to decides whether to seize it or not and both are right

SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 10:47 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 6 2018, 10:29 AM)
If one fire at every 5%, good luck.
hmm.gif 5%...some may opt for it.....for there are people chasing for SC discount too, so are those actively chasing for 0.X%pa more in another thread.
but for some.....the mathematic of 5% does not make it worthwhile
5% - 1.25%SC = 3.75% real gains

if one were to top up the same amount in the port to bring up the value to reduce the % of losses....
the value is just 1.875% gains/reduction of paper losses

doubling the size of the port at a variance of just 1.875% differnence......does not occur to me a good investment risk mitigation strategy.

SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 10:57 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 6 2018, 10:50 AM)
That's why. 3.75% if it goes back up. Should it turn lower,  one will experience more losses.

For me,  I don't need to chase service charge promo as I can buy everyday for free. So basically I can just seat and wait. The advantage of free service  charge laugh.gif

I don't think I need to wait very long as market is overvalued + increasing US interest is starting to crack the US market biggrin.gif
the US mkts had been over valued since when?
if you referring to the PE valuation.....I think it has been "over the medium" for at least a few years already.....
ever wonder the cost of lost opportunities at these while?

no right or wrong......it is just individual perferences and it is after all his monies.

SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 11:13 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 6 2018, 10:49 AM)
That is only true if you sell and buy CMF or take cash...If you switch to FM bond fund, use credit to switch back when recover, you will have much better return
.....how is that so?
if you are refering to my post "doubling the size of the port at a variance of just 1.875% differnence......does not occur to me a good investment risk mitigation strategy."

SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 11:27 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 6 2018, 11:23 AM)
5% - 1.25%SC = 3.75%

it can be Zero, if you utilizes the credit system.  I usually set a target (ex: 3% above previous high point), then do the switch from EQ to FI (~20% of fund). Switch back in if the delta between my previous switch point and current low point is > 5%. Which this, you get net of >5% (your FI has return too). Of course you might have opportunity cost in case it goes much higher than 3% above previous high point. Based on all the forecast and past history, the index is highly unlikely to go beyond 3% above previous high point for too long.
so....if for one has that amount of credit points that is equivalent to the port value
"doubling the size of the port at a variance of just 1.875% 2.5% differnence......does occur to be a good investment risk mitigation strategy?."

SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 11:36 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 6 2018, 11:33 AM)
You invest into a fund because of its potential and it suits your risk/goal, not because it drops the most...
If you are already planning to buy the fund anyway and now it is on discount, additional 2.5% profit why not?
it would be additional of 5% then
SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 11:46 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 6 2018, 11:40 AM)
Unless you are buying new then yes, 5%. If you have existing holding, then you need to take into account of your current holding lost as well.  tongue.gif
then doubling the size of fund in the port at a variance of just 2.5% difference (like you mentioned profit)......does occur to you be a good investment risk mitigation strategy. rclxms.gif
SUSyklooi
post Feb 6 2018, 11:56 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Feb 6 2018, 11:47 AM)
Yes if i have extra cash and i am already plan to top up as VCA.  biggrin.gif
If only i have so much cash as of double my current holding...  wub.gif
so you does not want to switch current holdings to FM bond fund, use credit to switch back when recover, you may have much better return at the same time continue with your top up plan?

65 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0474sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:29 AM