41 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xuzen
post May 17 2017, 10:00 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ May 17 2017, 09:20 PM)
hi, would like to ask did anyone receive the statement of dividend reinvest of RHB Asian Income Fund?

Quite some time I didn't logged in to FSM and seen -3.5%. But the dividend date was 25/04.. Even the titan I already receive...

RHB AIF distribution , start to kaw -peh , kaw -bu , end of this month . I am sure by end of this month , the distribution will be in .

Xuzen
xuzen
post May 18 2017, 04:59 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ May 18 2017, 01:28 PM)
I wonder why so many of us here bought/suggested Affin Hwang Select Bond when it is not a recommended fund by FSM?

Sifus perhaps you all can shed some lights?
Many of the favourite unit trust funds that are spoken here are also not part of Fundsupermart's recommended list.

Examples:

I ) Selina Reits

II ) TA GTF

III) Manulife India

IV ) Esther Bond

And yet still make money lar !

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 18 2017, 05:00 PM
xuzen
post May 19 2017, 12:08 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ May 18 2017, 05:38 PM)
Talking about TA GTF, which is mostly US-Based. Whats ur opinion? Alot of forummer here had decided to quit US for the moment.
TA GTF has given close to 35% ROI in one year. Apa lagi lu mau?

I entered this UTF in 2016 early of the third quarter. My gain is around 30% plus minus thereabout.

I made the decision to enter this UTF to ride on the USD / MYR forex play and it was a good bet, not because of US fundamentals.

Now, if I ask myself, has the USD / MYR made a strong reversal yet? I mean sustainable reversal of trend yet? Not likely.

But having said that, I have been actively skimming profit from my US exposure since beginning of the year. Why do I take profit? Simple, the TA GTF has increased so much, it has exceeded my target allocation for it.

Xuzen.

xuzen
post May 19 2017, 02:46 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ May 19 2017, 02:18 PM)
Ok, so now I wanted to invest into my first bond fund.

Which would you suggest?
lu betul betul mau spoon feeding hor?
xuzen
post May 20 2017, 10:58 AM

4,436 posts

Just did a quick review of my port:

Up to mid-month already another small four figure gain. Helped by Esther Bond & TA-GTF.

Xuzen

xuzen
post May 20 2017, 03:55 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ May 20 2017, 11:10 AM)
Was into UT many years but later stayed away from it with a 10 km pole (except my PRS UT). Why? High charges (eg annual management fee even when the UT is loosing money), many UTs are not making money, just draining clients money via the fees here and there (eg EPF reported that most UT purchases via EPF withdrawals were on negative returns), UT managers own inside play, etc.

Seeing some UT with high returns (>10% pa) over the past 5-10 years. So like to study this again and see whether I should try it again.

Saw somewhere that when XYZ buys a UT via FSM,
AA
the UT will be bought under FSM's name
BB
FSM will then state x units in their book belong to XYZ.

Is this true?

Stock - market , property , gold all susah cari makan liao... now try luck with UTF! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

MLM too many people buat , also susah cari makan ... now try luck with UTF ! thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif

Money - game nowadays kena sapu by Polis , hence also susah cari makan also.... now try luck with UTF! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 20 2017, 03:56 PM
xuzen
post May 20 2017, 07:13 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ May 20 2017, 11:19 AM)
Xuzen your comment is needed about about Interpac dana safi and Interpac Dynamic. These two funds are the Malaysian top performing funds, upto 34% YTD.

Are these funds becoming money game and bursting soon ?
Interpac Dana Safi and Interpac Dynamic prior to hiring the new FM, is hardly heard off. It is as though nobody knew it existed. Then suddenly, the RHB FM left , went there and voila! Interpac UTF became super duper hot.

I suggest you take a look at the past performance of RHB Smart Series to get an idea of how Interpac UTF will perform since the FM is formerly from RHB Smart Series. As off now, FSM website is down, so I cannot check the past performance of RHB Smart Series. However, RHB Smart Series is never in Algozen™ radar, hence my guess, it a nothing to shout UTF, if strictly based on past performance.

Xuzen

xuzen
post May 22 2017, 02:21 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(i-m-pinkie @ May 22 2017, 01:57 PM)
Hi Xuzen, can I ask your opinion on Kenanga Malaysia Inc Fund ? How does it performed compare to Kenanga Growth Fund. From the past year performance, looks like both of them are quite consistently growing. Thank you.
Hello friend Pink Spider I-m-pinkie,

If you read their prospectus, KGF has mandate to invest in Malaysia stock market with unconstrained selection. That means they can buy large cap, index linked counter, small cap and mid cap. If they want, they can also go ACE counter. With such versatile mandate and coupled with a good Fund Manager, it is not surprisingly KGF is the darling of the Malaysia focused UTF.

KMI on the other hand states in their prospectus their trust deed is to invest in Malaysian counter with global reach. To my interpretation, it appears to be targeting the large cap or index linked counters. By this virtue, this UTF is already limiting itself to only a segment of the whole KLSE. If large cap is what you think will fit into your portfolio, then one may consider buying directly into ETF Malaysia e.g., FTSE BURSA MALAYSIA KLCI ETF (0820EA).

Now, I will talk about performance. Both KGF and KMI have about the same type of volatility but KGF has better return historically. Hence, given that both offers the same level of risk, then a rationale investor should choose the one which gives a better rate of return. Understand boh?

Xuzen
xuzen
post May 22 2017, 10:04 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ May 22 2017, 06:33 PM)
Noted and thanks for your view.

If only you know what is my annual investment return (not to say the capital), you will be surprised.

Maybe I am too careful.

All the best!
Strange isn't it, there are folks who participate in some unit trust fund managed by a GLC company that do not subscribe to the FRS (Financial Reporting Standard) to the tune of a couple of hundred of thousand ringgit and yet they do not question about their FAQ legality....

These folks should be given an A plus plus for loyalty to king and country ! Fide ut Regina et Patriam !

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 22 2017, 10:12 PM
xuzen
post May 22 2017, 10:10 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(i-m-pinkie @ May 22 2017, 03:19 PM)
Thank you sifu xuzen ! 1 more question to ask, when u always talk about skimming profit, does it means if u invest RM1,000 then now the fund is worth RM1,100, u only sell off the uni equivalent to the RM100 profit and keep the RM1,000 in the fund ?

Btw, where's your crystal ball ? long time no news from the crystal ball =p
Your statement is also true , the style described by Avangelice is also true. Both of you are correct.

Crystal ball is working in the background. She has not been giving advise because the fundamental have not change much. The advise is similar one year ago and now.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 22 2017, 10:11 PM
xuzen
post May 24 2017, 11:44 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 24 2017, 08:49 AM)
well our this batch of investors are actually pretty good in grasping the principles of unit trust investment hence the technicalities rather than the simple where to invest.

this is good. we are getting more aware and knowledgeable.
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif cool2.gif

Can retire liao...

Xuzen
xuzen
post May 26 2017, 11:31 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 26 2017, 10:54 AM)
Actually it's the first 50 instead of lucky draw basis. So if the product was just launched yesterday, if you sign up today there should be a good chance to get it. Not everyone can mobilise RM10k immediately, some ppl would want to wait for FD to mature or earn this month's ASx dividends first

I've also confirmed with live help that the 0% portfolio management fee is for the entire duration you hold the portfolio. So every year you would save RM50, for 20 years if you decide to hold it for so long
If you all go for zero platform fees, then this thread will be very quiet, almost like a ghost town.... liao. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Xuzen
xuzen
post May 26 2017, 11:41 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 26 2017, 11:36 AM)
U ask Philip capital to come up with this la

Anyway, it looks like this MAPS complied to the latest robo advisory guidelines that Securities Commission just announced, they have all the portfolio mandate and custodian information disclosed.

Yes, I completed my subscription  cool2.gif

Based on monte carlo simulation, balanced portfolio will yield the highest average returns in 30 years; so arguably that's the optimum portfolio. Of course the best case scenario for aggressive portfolio is the highest, but the worst case scenario for aggressive portfolio is simulated to be 60% of invested amount after 20 years

Disclaimer: one should have basic understanding of monte carlo simulation in order to decipher what the results mean
Paiseh, paiseh me know not SH1T abt Monte-Carlo simulation, only know Genting stimulation brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

But but but.... sistah! Somehow Algozen™ aka crystal ball also churn out a balanced type port. Recall she always go for mid-risky UTF...

Xuzen

p/s Speaking of Crystal Ball, since got people request, I'll get off my lazy arse and do some stimulation simulation of my own.

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 26 2017, 11:47 AM
xuzen
post May 27 2017, 10:57 AM

4,436 posts

Algozen™ speaketh; listen well...

I tried putting in various UTF(s) into Algozen™ and letting her run the numbers. Maximum per simulation run is ten UTFs. Anything more, is limited by the correlation coefficient parameters.

The criteria for selecting UTFs for simulations are:

1) Good risk to reward ratio among peers
2) They must have poor correlation among each other (meaning must be well diversified)
3) Good rating from FSM or other rating agencies such as morning star, lipper etc.

Some of the UTFs I used to run the simulation are:

KGF representing home ground

TA GTF, Manulife US & CIMB Titan representing US

CIMB Greater China & Eastspring Dinasti representing Greater China

Esther Bond, RHB ATR & RHB EMB representing bonds

Manulife India

TA Europe

If I do not put those into the simulation it means those UTFs do not satisfy the above three criteria.

After running multiple scenarios (I think Dasecret gave it a fanciful name: Monte - Carlo simulation), Algozen™ came out with the best scenario that is:

TA-GTF @ 25%
India @ 10%
AMReits @ 25%
Ester bond @ 40%

This will give a ROI of 12 to 13% with a risk to reward ratio greater than two. This port is moderate with bias towards some aggressiveness. If you want to be more aggressive, reduce Esther Bond by ten percent and increase by proportion into the other. This port is scalable.

Take note that Algozen™ is very focused, she doesn't play Pokémon Go style. The above four are very well diversified and quite optimized in terms of risk to reward.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 27 2017, 10:58 AM
xuzen
post May 27 2017, 04:06 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ May 27 2017, 11:35 AM)
aww no love for local funds? KGF?
Boh Hiew , boh chap local. Going for dan lain - lain.

QUOTE(Nemozai @ May 27 2017, 02:58 PM)
Fantastic post here. I like this  notworthy.gif
I bet I am giving auntie Dasecret a hard - on by talking Monte - Carlo with her .

Xuzen

p / s : I have also perform simulation with Ponzi two and RHB AIF as well. Forget to include in my above write up earlier . Sorry .

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 27 2017, 04:08 PM
xuzen
post May 29 2017, 11:15 AM

4,436 posts

Dasecret,

I was just jesting with you. I am no good with actual Monte - Carlo. However, I did use various UTFs and various Correlation - Coefficient to run multiple scenarios. Thereafter I chose the most optimal risk to reward portfolio. The most tedious part for my Algozen™ is data entry.

RHB AIF and Ponzi 2 both have very high correlation to AMReits and ManuReits, both at above 90% correlated. When two or more UTFs are highly correlated, it would be wise to choose the one which offer the better risk to reward ratio. With regards to ManuReits and AMReits, these two are very similar in terms of risk adjusted performance, that is to say, ManuReits give better return but it comes with greater volatility as compared to AMReits. In the end, I decided to go with AMReits because it has lower volatility (more stable) and let my India and TA-GTF act as the alpha - maker (forward striker in football parlance)

However, if one wishes to substitute ManuReits with AmReits, it is perfectly OK as both Manu and AMReits have around 95% correlation. If one looking at individual UTF, then one will say ManuReits make sense as it return is better. But when one is constructing a portfolio, many other parameters comes into play.

Xuzen.

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 29 2017, 02:48 PM
xuzen
post May 29 2017, 02:44 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ May 29 2017, 12:07 PM)
Hi Mr Xuzen,

Do you find it odd that Manulife India price didnt change from 24th and 25th? Cos the price of the index went up quite a bit on 24th and 25th (the shares in Manulife also went up many around 2-3%).
D1U! This type of question go and ask Jennifer wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif or Hui Ching wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif lar! Why ask me? Give you chance to go ask leng-luis. If not, click on Manulife website and check the price yourself lor... like this also want to ask doh.gif N!4M4H!

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 29 2017, 01:35 PM)
Just find it interesting that ponzi 2 which is a pure EQ fund to be highly correlated to a pure REITs fund. AIF I can understand since it does invest quite a bit into REITs on top of FI and EQ
Now, the prices of the stocks mentioned in Trump's tweet going up and down; isn't that also due to the investors manual speculation? So machines are just doing it faster to gain that competitive edgewhile the investors are still sleeping or haven't read the news

This is the kind of conversation I find interesting  thumbup.gif
Great that you are in the front line of the technological change, I know little of these stuffs other than what my brother feeds me sometimes. Since I'm in the no.1 profession to be made redundant with technological advances, I'm keeping a close eye on the tech developments and hopefully can put myself in a position to still remain relevant for the rest of my working life
That is why hor, if we do not research, our common - sense can be not so common wan....
xuzen
post May 29 2017, 08:04 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(idyllrain @ May 29 2017, 05:00 PM)
You can copy paste the URL in the window of the Morningstar Portfolio X-Ray into a new tab, and change the "USD" at the end of the URL address to "MYR" to make it calculate performance based on Ringgits. Then click on the PDF link to open the PDF report with the correlations and it will be in MYR.
I love you , I love you , I love you wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

Xuzen

P/s Time to go play my toy. I'll be busy for a week or so.... stay tuned.

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 29 2017, 08:12 PM
xuzen
post May 29 2017, 08:30 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 29 2017, 04:25 PM)
This discussion feels like dejavu; ini correlation based on USD returns ke based on MYR returns? Long long time ago we discussed this ma; the high correlation could just be currency correlation instead of underlying asset correlation

I have no access to MYR correlation  cry.gif
Algozen™ version four in the works... stay tuned.

Xuzen
xuzen
post May 29 2017, 09:46 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ May 29 2017, 09:41 PM)
cry.gif  I am too late...
who ask you to think three think four?

Sudah lambat, bas sudah pegi.....

Never mind, there is always Algozen™ soon to be launched version four; free of charge managed account made by amateur for amateur.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: May 29 2017, 09:48 PM

41 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:22 AM