73 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

T231H
post Apr 3 2017, 09:46 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Apr 3 2017, 08:34 AM)
CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund
2 : 5; For every 5 units of the fund held, 2 additional units will be issued to unit holder

Should I enter this fund now? biggrin.gif
see the below thumbup.gif

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 3 2017, 09:07 AM)
enter now if you wanted the "extra units"
enter after the EX DATE if you wanted the much lower NAV.
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 3 2017, 09:21 AM)
Valuation before and after split no difference.
thumbsup.gif
T231H
post Apr 3 2017, 08:51 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ruler @ Apr 3 2017, 08:32 PM)
hi guys, newbie here, just want to ask, is it advisable to do just use the recommended portfolio and call it a day.  sweat.gif

many too choose, pening already.
Given the huge array of funds on our platform, it might be daunting for investors, who wish to kick start their investment journeys, to cherry pick the funds that suit them.
More like the recommended dishes in the restaurant menu, the Recommended Unit Trusts list serves as a starting point for investors.
Investors should note that every fund has its unique features and investment approach which may appeal to them.
As such, they should select a fund that best suits their investment objectives.
The careful study of fund factsheets, prospectus and semi-annual/annual reports are essential reading for investors who are determined to take a more active role in selecting funds for their portfolio.
Likewise, having a suitable asset allocation and the exposure to regional markets across the globe for the purpose of diversification are critical considerations for a successful investment.

3 Misconceptions Of Our Recommended Funds List
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ober-2013--3983

btw,....cannot just buy it and then call it a day.....for it is your money,..you are advised to reviewr it at least once a year to determine if that fund are still performing on par with its peers.....decide if you need to top up, reduce, change, sell it off or continue for another year during that review period..

Disclaimer:
This post does not constitute an investment recommendation. No person should rely on the content and/or act on the basis of any matter contained in this post without obtaining specific professional advice.
Investment involves risk. The NAV price of a fund may go down as well as up, and under certain circumstances an investor may sustain a total or substantial loss of investment. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of the future or likely performance of the fund. Investors should read the relevant fund's prospectus for details before making any investment decision. An Investor should make an appraisal of the risks involved in investing in these products and should consult their own independent and professional advisors, to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to their circumstances and financial position.

T231H
post Apr 3 2017, 09:09 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Apr 3 2017, 08:17 PM)
What's up with Libra Asnita recently? Been so flat for theĀ  past 1-2 weeks.
hmm.gif to me...I think it is still much better than some (for the past 1 month), and on par for the last 1 week

This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 3 2017, 09:12 PM

T231H
post Apr 4 2017, 01:34 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Apr 4 2017, 12:53 PM)
invest in one lump sum or split into months is better?
eg: I got rm24k, invest whole 24k into a fund or invest 2k per month for 12 months.
split into months will have lower risk?
Unknown to how the future trend is going to be.....the point if entry in the volatility cycle .....would determine the results.....if not sure...enter bits by bits....on funds that has more star ratings or funds that are needed for the diversified portfolio
T231H
post Apr 4 2017, 08:50 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Apr 4 2017, 08:47 PM)
Got indonesia funds ka?
nod.gif

Attached image(s)
T231H
post Apr 5 2017, 11:40 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ehwee @ Apr 5 2017, 11:19 AM)
if the benefit of buying bond A is just the guarantee of getting back our capital + 4% profit with a risk of the bond defaulted, is it better to just put the same money to premier fix deposit which also can get our capital back with similar 4% profit?

just wonder?
How Do I Make Money In Bonds?
iFAST Research Team

Earn yield
Potential capital appreciation

more detailed info here....
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/articl...-Money-In-Bonds

This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 5 2017, 11:41 AM
T231H
post Apr 5 2017, 06:30 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ganaesan @ Apr 5 2017, 06:27 PM)
Sifus,

Please guide me on this. Which 1 to go for? Cant make up my mind after looking at the values and returns

Affin select opportunity or
Affin select dividend    or
Eastspring My Focus
What is in your portfolio now?
At what % ea?
Tis new fund what % you want to allocate?
T231H
post Apr 5 2017, 07:05 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ganaesan @ Apr 5 2017, 06:27 PM)
Which 1 to go for? Cant make up my mind
Affin select opportunity or
Affin select dividendĀ  Ā   or
Eastspring My Focus
the 3 funds that you wanted to buy are focused in Malaysia EQ, in which your current holding has about 65% in Malaysia EQ thru KGF & EISC
May I humbly suggest that you increase your Asia Pac allocation then buy in a Global funds

QUOTE(ganaesan @ Apr 5 2017, 06:32 PM)
Current holdings

KGF 1k
EISC 1.5k
Affin select bond 1k - just bought on monday
Cimb asia pacific dynamic income 500 - just bought on monday
This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 5 2017, 07:06 PM
T231H
post Apr 5 2017, 07:24 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ganaesan @ Apr 5 2017, 07:19 PM)
Thanks alot T231H.

i will take your advise seriously.

should i apply for regular saving plan for EISC into my portfolio, since the fund gonna close?

i am a beginner in this industry, so trying to learn something through this forum and at the same time trying to share my ideas as well.

Thanks to all sifus here
since currently your EISC is having biggest allocation, try RSP EISC with min $$ allowed by FSM. Then use the spare cash to buy into others....

u want to take my advise seriously?...then I have to say this liao....

Disclaimer:
This post does not constitute an investment recommendation. No person should rely on the content and/or act on the basis of any matter contained in this post without obtaining specific professional advice.
Investment involves risk. The NAV price of a fund may go down as well as up, and under certain circumstances an investor may sustain a total or substantial loss of investment. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of the future or likely performance of the fund. Investors should read the relevant fund's prospectus for details before making any investment decision. An Investor should make an appraisal of the risks involved in investing in these products and should consult their own independent and professional advisors, to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to their circumstances and financial position.

T231H
post Apr 6 2017, 04:11 AM

5,143 posts

While the nature of small capitalisation companies provide higher growth potential, investors should bear in mind that smaller companies can be riskier owing to a number of factors including:
- heightened business risk for new industries and risk of being crowded out by larger competitors;
- access to financing is also generally more difficult for smaller companies, as financiers often prefer business stability over growth prospects;
- stocks of smaller companies can also be more volatile compared to their larger-cap peers, given that small cap stocks are often less liquid

Nevertheless, there are clearly more positives which smaller cap companies can bring to one's portfolio, especially if investments are sized in a prudent manner. While the bulk of a portfolio should still consist of funds invested in larger-cap companies, investors may wish to consider adding some smaller capitalisation exposure in the supplementary/satellite portion of their portfolios, or to carve out a portion from their regional market allocations to include some exposure in smaller companies.

For investors who want to have exposure to the small cap segment, should understand the riskier nature of this segment, can consider include one of these small cap funds into the supplementary part of their portfolio, with not more than 10% allocation of their overall portfolio.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-Small-Cap-7981

Why Invest In Small Caps?
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-May-2013--3454

T231H
post Apr 6 2017, 09:31 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Apr 6 2017, 08:57 AM)
East spring small cap fund close! Need quick invest before it close. Will put all my money there first.

Y so many fund close recently?
QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Apr 6 2017, 09:12 AM)
Don't u agree eastspring small cap is a good fund? If it closing then should take the last chance to invest while hold back on other available funds.

If rhb gold fund close then we don't bOther haha
some people like gold fund...they liked the volatile nature...they wanted and liked it when their method of timing the entry was good.

if you wanted to go in EISC.....you can go in slowly via (min $$ allowed) in RSP....which is still open.....no need to rush buy a lot, which may resulted in over allocation of it in your portfolio....thus may gives you to more sleepless nights.

Y so many funds closed recently?
maybe, maybe they have grown to become BIG and with abundant money...they creates liquidity risk...
maybe, maybe they are reviewing their risks profile and are/or are more stringent in enforcing them now.....
maybe, maybe they are planning to set up an Islamic versions to replace it in anticipation of monies from Syariah KWSP....

liquidity...
To define, liquidity is the ease with which an asset can be bought or sold without moving its price drastically.
it is bad when you have a large position to dispose off, which likely to see the stock price tumbles along.
As a result, they cannot do flexible allocation strategy, which would allows the funds to limit its downside risk, while offering opportunity for the funds to re-enter the market at attractive level, without affecting the prices of the stocks.

10 % of NAV of the fund invested by fund having a fund size of 10 million is not the same as 400 millions

This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 6 2017, 09:43 AM
T231H
post Apr 6 2017, 09:42 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Apr 6 2017, 09:33 AM)
Thanks for the detail explain. I learn Lot from there. So it means close now but have chance to open again on future when they have strategy what to do with more money right?
when they reopen again...by that time you will need to reassess your portfolio needs and your risk profile needs again....
then reevaluate the fund performance against its peers......
maybe by that time, the FM had been changed and its performance had been lacking its peers resulting many big investors/institutional players pulled out of that fund.
T231H
post Apr 6 2017, 10:00 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Yipiyaya @ Apr 6 2017, 09:53 AM)
Ponzi 2 gv distribution today..good time to top up a bit biggrin.gif
thanks for the reminder about the distribution part....else later tomorrow, some forummers would questions why its NAV dropped so much....
T231H
post Apr 6 2017, 11:44 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(yupng @ Apr 6 2017, 11:40 AM)
Hi Sifu,

How to update portfolio summary?
I added new fun on investment tab, but the portfolio graph (By country and By type) not updated.
i think you will need to get the fundfactsheet....get the details about the % of allocation...then manually update these info onto that excel file....
T231H
post Apr 6 2017, 07:53 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(newdnewd @ Apr 6 2017, 03:48 PM)
Hello sifu2,

Just want to get to know a little more on IRR here. What's the general rule of thumb?

Am I suppose to keep the IRR low? If my IRR is 15.98%, what is the implication?
I don't called it rule of thumb...bcos I am not good at this formula...
the general observation is use IRR for investment of more than 12 months, anything less use ROI
also IRR value can be affected by recent large top up and this top up earned big returns / losses during this short period.

The Internal Rate of Return is a good way of judging an investment. The bigger the better!
https://www.mathsisfun.com/money/internal-rate-return.html

there are IRR/ROI/CAGR/TWRoR, etc ...are you using the correct one?

QUOTE(newdnewd @ Apr 6 2017, 04:03 PM)
Great. Here comes the second part of my question, I am also reading that IRR helps calculate profitability.

Does that mean that when as I update my calculations as time goes on, and the IRR drops, it is an indication that I should be moving off the fund to another?
again, just my observation....as time goes by,.....IRR value will need bigger ROI value differential to trigger big effect on IRR value...
so by the time you notice IRR dropped by 2%....it may be too late....
also, the drop may not mean the fund is bad,...just that that segment in which the fund invested is bad...
better to compare the results against its peers....

bad segment usually calls for topping up instead of selling them off.

This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 6 2017, 08:59 PM
T231H
post Apr 7 2017, 12:15 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ganaesan @ Apr 7 2017, 12:00 AM)
Noticed some discrepancy in AFFIN SELECT ASIA PACIFIC (EX JAPAN) REITS AND INFRASTRUCTURE FUND...

FMS website written fund size RM 414.50 million (as at February 28, 2017)

but

fund factsheet claims it is only RM 141.5 million as of same date

pls take note of this guys. always double check when u see too good values.

[attachmentid=8703831]

[attachmentid=8703832]
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 7 2017, 12:05 AM)
I do not have this fund in my portfolio but I think this warrants an email to fsm team. first I come across this issue which is unnerving as transparency is in question here
they are covered!! biggrin.gif

at the end of the page....
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...re-Fund-MYHWGIF

".........Whilst all attempts have been made by fundsupermart.com to present the information accurately and completely, mistakes and omissions do sometimes occur. Readers are advised to read the prospectus and product highlight sheet before making any investment decision. It is important that you read our disclaimers. "

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 7 2017, 12:16 AM
T231H
post Apr 7 2017, 12:35 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 7 2017, 12:24 AM)
....... fookin disclaimers mate. it's like a green card to I fucked up but my disclaimer gives me the right of passage to do whatever I want.
nod.gif
just like buying UTs...they already listed down all the risks involves including the mgmt. risk in the prospectus and have to agree before buying.......thus they are covered.... biggrin.gif

furthermore,..if buy under FSM nominees a/c doh.gif
(you are not recognised by the Mgr if they screwed up too, therefore cannot complain) tongue.gif

(got that from prospectus)....
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...ctusMYHWGIF.pdf

brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 7 2017, 12:44 AM

T231H
post Apr 7 2017, 12:46 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Apr 7 2017, 12:35 AM)
The house always win.
thumbsup.gif biggrin.gif
T231H
post Apr 8 2017, 11:07 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Apr 8 2017, 10:16 AM)
when eastspring small cap will close?
Read few postings back

This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 8 2017, 11:10 AM
T231H
post Apr 8 2017, 07:14 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Apr 8 2017, 06:16 PM)
Ah, I've found where I originally had the information from......it was from FSM website itself.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...PF-Savings-2624

But if you have managed to buy 4 funds from 3 different fund houses using EPF withdrawals, then I suppose this information is old and the rules have changed since.
Good to know, though.
Thanks for that!
Or
He bought then stop that fund.
Then buy again another fund then stop
Then buy another fund again then stop
Tis way can????
..seems like that fsm info did not say clearly

73 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0421sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled