11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

dasecret
post Aug 24 2017, 11:58 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 24 2017, 11:52 AM)
Busy? At this time of the year? I thought C.A. are only busy during the June / July mth when people / company are rushing to submit their tax return and end of the year (Dec) when company need to close their books for the financial year.

I thought during this time of the year C.A. would be in Milan , HK, Beijing shopping for their latest LV or Channels "pau-pau".  rclxs0.gif

Xuzen
My role is a bit different. Anyway cannot say too much, quite easily would give away my identity if ppl bother to look it up

Auditors don't get paid enough to buy anything they fancy yet, especially if haven't make partner
dasecret
post Aug 29 2017, 09:15 AM

1,498 posts

Haven't kacau the FSM ppl for a while

Let's talk about fees and charges

All these while the tiered discount/bonus is focused on the front end charge

But what about the platform fees? Shouldn't the silver, gold and platinum users be "rewarded" for staying loyal? Especially for managed portfolio where the fees is a bit more substantial at 0.5% per annum

FSM SG has the same problem, they do try to address it by having the reward point system where you get tiered bonus of extra 10%, 20% and 30%. But to be honest, it's very little. So far I redeemed <SGD10 worth of cash funds. And their silver status is a whooping SGD100,000 which is not quite achievable for me. The platform fee discount for >SGD200k is like 0.01% per quarter only puke.gif

Anyway, the point is, FSM would earn quite a bit of holding bonus (aka career benefit) from the fund houses through their AUA, why not be a bit more generous to the investors who make you the no.1 online UT platform in Msia? whistling.gif
dasecret
post Aug 29 2017, 09:31 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Aug 29 2017, 09:28 AM)
Think of the big picture....
A little small sum ☺ from the greater population supporting the little group of people there. 👍
Dun spam me....i too at times hear people said at the mkts.....govt hv to "eat"......so they also hv family n shareholers need to ear too....
Anyway i think as tines go by...if there is enough competition or foreseen able competition coming....tjey will change...just like the recent lowering of the sales charges..
I say upfront for them to think about first ma. Until a more viable alternative comes by, I'm still with FSM lor. I'm a big advocate for their managed portfolio, if they tier the pricing, then I got more good things to tell ppl ma
dasecret
post Sep 5 2017, 02:58 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Sep 4 2017, 07:51 PM)
Procedure of Transfer In:
+=======+========

Please be informed that you are not able to transfer your holdings (Cash/EPF) from eunittrust.com.my into Fundsupermart.com as they do not have transfer out facility. Nonetheless, you may consider to redeem the funds in eunittrust.com.my and thereafter purchase other fund in our platform at 0% sales charge up to your redemption amount with the previous distributor.

You may follow the steps below :

1. First, you are required send us the redemption slip as supporting document for record purpose.
2. We will offer you 0% sales charge for the same redemption amount.
3. We will offer you 1 month buffer period (from the redemption date) to move in the funds.
4. This offer is applicable to all funds except for All Affin Hwang Asset Management Berhad wholesales funds.
5. When you want to utilize the offer, kindly send email to notify us to adjust sales charge manually after placing order online before 2:30pm.

Please be reminded that your final units may be different (less or more) depends on your selling price and buying price in different days.

We hope this clarifies.

Please feel free to contact us should you need further assistance.

Best Regards,
Hui Ching
Client Help, Your Friendly Fundsupermart Manager
Hotline:+603 2149 0567 (KL), +604 6401 567 (PG)
Fundsupermart.com - Invest Globally And Profitably
Out of curiosity, why do you want to transfer from philip to FSM? Eunittrust cheap cheap ma

To redeem and re-purchase may result in losses during the "transfer"
dasecret
post Sep 5 2017, 03:46 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Sep 5 2017, 03:04 PM)
To redeem and re-purchase may result in losses, it might also result in earnings.

Buy at eUT with 0% SC, late transfer over to FSM with 0% SC and then pool the investment to hit the tier discount or can sell it off later to earn credit points.
Are you trying to say you do that too? tongue.gif

QUOTE(hua91 @ Sep 5 2017, 03:37 PM)
Are there any chances that we might be able to buy Public Mutual fund in FSM? I'm not a big fan of PM as my fund have been sleeping for years and still suffering losses. I just want a reliable place where I can consolidate all my holding so that I won't have to remember password for different platform. So happen I likes Fundsupermart interface than PM interface, and the articles, forumers here.

Previously I didn't think of moving all my holdings here in one place/platform as I was worried about the stability of Fundsupermart. Although they stated that my money will be registered under iFast nominee, whats I'm my mind was why don't they use nominee other than iFast nominee, let say Rhb nominee, or so on. Isn't there conflict of interest if using  own company's nominee ?

(Please don't flame me if I say something that looks silly, I'm not familiar with how the laws and regulations on nominee and unit trusts industry works, hence I seek advice from the experiences forumers here about this)

Thanks in advance.
Public Mutual does not allow other distributor to distribute their fund, so the answer is no.

Do compare the fund returns between what you have to what you could have (those we talk about a lot here). Is holding on loss making fund a better idea than to cut loss and jump ship to where you have a much better chance to make a profit instead of loss?

Nominee is different from trustee. All the assets in the unit trust funds has to be held by trustee independent of the fund manager. Nominee is more like client's account/ held on behalf. Even stock trading under nominee account is getting popular due to lower cost

If this part is important to you, you may consider managed portfolio instead, SC rules require robo advisers to use an independent trustee. FSM managed portfolio uses Maybank

dasecret
post Sep 5 2017, 03:52 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(csbong87 @ Sep 5 2017, 12:18 PM)
Hi Avangelice, you're right correctively shoud not be conned but not sure which english word to use, here goes, FM is from a bank and we're into UT because it was one of the offering packages called bundles investment (50 UT,50 FD 7.88 T 3 Months onward 4.2) they called. Opon agreeing with the condition. FM has decide to show us these 2 funds which and entered at:

TA GLOBAL TECHNOLOGY FUND - - 29-Jun-17  0.5722
TA ASIAN DIVIDEND INCOME FUND - - 29-Jun-17  0.3579

Should this incident happen, what was your advice for newbie like us ?

Thanks,

CS.
Caveat Emptor - Buyers beware

Question is, why do you feel conned? Did you read all the disclosure documents and FIMM form when the bank ask you to sign?

FM is not from a bank. The person who sell to you is probably registered UTC

Btw, the bundle investment is usually not worth it, the incremental interest you get for FD is very minimal compared to the fees you pay for the UT. It'll still be cheaper to buy from FSM and place promo FD without such bundle
dasecret
post Sep 5 2017, 06:40 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(hua91 @ Sep 5 2017, 04:44 PM)
Thanks a lot for the answer. The money that we have invested will be held by the fund manager trustee, and our holding is recorded by iFast Nominee, am I understanding this correctly?

If one day Fundsupermart is to close down, I assume that iFast nominee will have a backup file on the holding details right? When I say close down, I mean a real close down of everything, including iFast nominee, since it's basically under iFast Capital boss also right ? and there will be no more iFast staffs to refer to, will the fund house recognise our ownership by our FSM statement ?

Sorry to ask this, before putting all my money into one basket I really need to convince myself first by answering to all these questions that popup in my mind..

Thank you again.
Something we discussed before

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...-May-2017--8339

In anycase, you should always keep a copy of your e-statements to back your claims should the unfortunate happens

But to be honest, I'm more worried about Pub Mut losing my money "legally" through investing than losing my money in FSM because they close down. It's a lot more likely based on historical data that the former would happen
dasecret
post Sep 6 2017, 10:32 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Sep 6 2017, 10:17 AM)
you are so dead wrong, that is not the main problem with PM, SC 5% if the funds perform well its still ok. the problem with PM is what dasecret said below:

great post. thumbsup.gif
horrible, typical malaysian mindset misuse abuse everything possible, if everyone does that they will change the system soon.

instead of saving that little money why not find ways to make a few more hundreds k per year? or miilions?
Oh yeah, did you end up buying KGF? If you bought it 1 year ago you would have made 19.09% cool2.gif
dasecret
post Sep 6 2017, 10:45 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xpmm @ Sep 6 2017, 10:40 AM)
oh no you remember  shocking.gif  what a good memory.
no i didnt buy, i too chicken to buy and now regret, wonder its too late to buy now and the vicious cycle continue. laugh.gif
I don't think it's good time to buy KGF. Missed the boat to buy Interpac also

AH select bond la, 1 year 6.09%, beat ASx fixed price funds without the equity exposure

This post has been edited by dasecret: Sep 14 2017, 04:17 PM
dasecret
post Sep 6 2017, 11:47 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 6 2017, 11:17 AM)
found this just now...
Are you still holding Kenanga Growth Fund?
https://wisefocusblog.wordpress.com/2017/09...ga-growth-fund/
QUOTE(puchongite @ Sep 6 2017, 11:26 AM)
Haha people like to believe that KGF is ever green, so the slower it is, the more assuring that it's more lasting.

But whether it final truth will be like that or not, only time can tell.
QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 6 2017, 11:28 AM)
Interesting article. It did brought some valid red flags. From now, I shall be vigilant against KGF.

I think the main contributing factor for the ballooning of KGF is the management decision to attached Kenanga OnePRS growth 100% into its one and only flagship fund. Mother - daughter relationship aka feeder fund structure.

Take the other PRS provider (Affin-Hwang) for comparison. AHAM PRS invest into AHAM's own stable of funds instead of just one. It is a fund-of-fund structure. This way, it is less likely to crowd out the main flag ship fund.

Xuzen
Actually the discussion about KGF being too big started since the AUM was RM600m. But the CIO continues to pleasantly suprise us. I tend to agree that it's an uphill battle to maintain stellar performance with such a big fund size. Many large funds like PM local funds, CIMB Dali funds and even the ASx funds suffer this fate.

Just saying you don't have to sell the fund entirely just yet. Maybe don't sailang on it either

As to PRS being a factor, I seriously doubt it, the PRS growth fund size baru RM40million. I can't begin to express my dissapointment over the whole PRS scheme. Such a opportunity loss on the policy maker side

This post has been edited by dasecret: Sep 14 2017, 04:16 PM
dasecret
post Sep 6 2017, 04:09 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 6 2017, 02:10 PM)

Oh, can you please explain or elaborate further why you felt that the PRS thing is a huge let - down? I am all ears.

Xuzen
Wah boss... no need to break 1 reply into 4 kua...

On PRS, the AUM is so tiny after years they launched it... if that's not an indication of failed initiative, what is?
Basically people just use it for tax reliefs and youth incentives. The intended purpose of this product is to encourage retirement savings to supplement EPF. How is that achieved with RM3k per annum * 10 years? Cukup makan for how long after retirement? And the fund choice is so limited with more than half not doing great at all (like below EPF returns), how to encourage people to put more money ler?

PPA also does not have a function to monitor approved funds' returns like how EPF MIS does it; hence quality of the funds may not be there, which earns the product a bad reputation

TLDR - Too many limitations, too little incentive for ppl to invest

This post has been edited by dasecret: Sep 14 2017, 03:52 PM
dasecret
post Sep 7 2017, 10:56 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 7 2017, 09:51 PM)
just a logic check on "many people" smile.gif

If i've a car loan and/or a home loan
AND i purposely chose to invest $100 or $1K or $10K per month into mutual funds INSTEAD of paying down the debts faster,
am i investing with borrowed $?

just pondering things may be so obvious, it isn't.
no absolute right/wrong ya, just thinking weird stuff.
Good point. A lot of msians like property investment; during 2009-2012 it's quite easy to flip properties and make 100k-200k; with maybe cash investment of 50k or less. Why is property investment so attractive then? It's the cheap and readily available credit. As soon as they stopped DIBS and limit financing to 70% for third property, the ROI immediately fell. So isn't leveraging considered investing on borrowed money too? Then why everyone thinks it's such a great idea?

Back to this scenario, is it really such a bad thing? Leveraging is a way to make more money; of course it comes with risk. Just like any non capital guaranteed investments. The key is not to run away from risk, it's to take risk that you can handle and manage your risk
dasecret
post Sep 12 2017, 12:30 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(tjuin @ Sep 11 2017, 09:38 PM)
it does not...im just asking coz thrs a tab in the file on fund allocation and was wondering why its not specified in the factsheet...
its 20%
I don't have an answer on why they don't specify the country allocation. But if you think about it, bond risk profile mainly lies with credit profile, that's why that's a must in the disclosure, secondarily would be the currency exposure, although country profile does matter a bit as well, as the corp bonds tend to be priced in consideration of the country's gov bond interest rate

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 11 2017, 10:12 PM)
I have just 10%... and are using this ratio and it may not be correct....but at 10% it does not matter much to me...
Personally I'd go for before hedging % as the chance of getting it right is higher than after hedging. But the USD denominated bond doesn't mean it's issued by a US corp la; any corp in any country can issue USD bond, but it's unlikely for a SG company to issue an IDR/MYR denominated bond
dasecret
post Sep 19 2017, 01:43 PM

1,498 posts

Guys, it's ok for FSM to take some heat geh, all in the name of improving customer service. Besides, they need to learn to handle social media bad press also. All part of growing to be a stronger and better retail customer facing company

But it's amazing to see how many die hard fans there's for FSM to jump out straight to defend FSM.

To be fair and honest, they don't have the best customer service. Genuine and try their best for sure, but not necessarily the most competent and can anticipate your every need before you say it. Since the people I deal with are usually quite green, I don't give them a hard time lor. But I want them to do better the next time
dasecret
post Sep 19 2017, 02:22 PM

1,498 posts

There's a reason why I didn't tag any post.

How you act/ react is a reflection of your own behavior and upbringing. I'm just bringing an objective view to the table instead of blindly pro-FSM and anti-Pub Mut and Amanah Saham.

The complaint of being slow in distribution is not the first time on this thread. Maybe it's time for FSM to look into their existing processes to try to improve that.

Dealing with difficult customer is part and parcel of customer service, especially when you have retail customers. I've seen tremendous improvement in customer service for some of the big brands in Msia or even the gov agency. So it can be done, if the management is determined to. So, gotta put some pressure for the management to want to do it la.

p/s: My RHB Asian income and emerging market bond distribution already in for weeks although the little D icons are still there. Did you check your value and transaction history or not? Hopefully the customer service girl is not so blur to kena marah for nothing la
dasecret
post Sep 19 2017, 07:19 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Sep 19 2017, 06:44 PM)
Esther Fund ......

if you dont bounce back soon, i gonna dump you....

its not stated in the Income Distribution Announcement.
probably the fat boy kim shooting missiles.....
If you look at the income distribution history, it's very likely it is the quarterly income distribution that resulted in the reduction in NAV per unit although it's not listed in the announcement. Wait and see la
dasecret
post Sep 20 2017, 01:57 PM

1,498 posts

Thought I'd just do a quick update on FSM MY managed portfolio returns vs FSM SG MAPS returns

They are not apple to apple comparison as the timing I invest was different, and only topped up once for FSM MY while do monthly RSP for FSM SG

As at today, my FSM MY ROI is 1.91% and annualised IRR is 8.01%
FSM SG MAPS ROI is 6.13% and annualised IRR is 12.63%

In this case it's more meaningful to look at annualised IRR as there's multiple investments instead of once off
dasecret
post Sep 25 2017, 04:19 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(funnyface @ Sep 25 2017, 02:49 PM)
It will be tough...  hmm.gif

If you read few pages back, the Managed Portfolio is quite "Active"  sweat.gif , the Managed Portfolio manager did quite frequent switching by small amount across few days... hmm.gif  Do remind you that the manager pay 0% SC when do switching whereas we will be charged 1.75%  innocent.gif
You may not be aware that you are talking to someone who has 6 digits of credit points and the guru of credit ninja trick cool2.gif

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 25 2017, 03:13 PM)
Moderately Aggressive, 70% equity funds and 30% bond, I think.
My purpose is not really to gain fantastic return from the Managed Portfolio.

I am more interested in comparing the performance of the Managed Portfolio against my portfolio and also to know exactly what funds they are buying.
Boss, I think you have most funds that managed portfolio has. Just allocation % different.
I just like the idea of managed portfolio being the benchmark to my own portfolio
dasecret
post Sep 25 2017, 10:57 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 25 2017, 05:14 PM)
Wah, you very kwa cheong, sis.

No boss here sis, kuli only.  biggrin.gif  Yes, I am quite interested to see the asset allocation of the Managed Portfolio. I believe you have a Managed Portfolio as well. If you don't mind me asking, which portfolio did you choose?

The Bond Express, Corporate Bonds, etc in FSM also looks interesting. Alas, I have no time to look into it now.
I also ended up with moderately aggressive portfolio. It seems the choice of funds across the portfolios are the same. Just the allocation % will vary

Actually if you are interested with the other product offerings, FSM SG is a lot more interesting. Jom change some SGD, 3.11 is lowest since nov16

QUOTE(skynode @ Sep 25 2017, 09:58 PM)
KWSP Investment In USA

Such a contrarion.  tongue.gif
Thing is, how many % of that 11.3% return is derived from MYR depreciation against USD?
dasecret
post Sep 26 2017, 08:57 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 25 2017, 11:05 PM)
If want to go into SG, better to take what real white people are doing "robo ETF investing" rather than pseudo ETF robo (FSM MAPS/POEMS SMART)
Correction. The lowest was early this year 3.085.
Oh yeah, last nov16 is sub 3.00

But the crucial question is - did you change any or not? Always talk about how SGD investment is better, but keep targeting a lower rate to change and miss the boat

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0507sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:35 PM