AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

greyshadow
post Sep 12 2019, 03:12 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Sep 12 2019, 11:31 AM)
I'm on 2700X, 16GB 3200MHz RAM. I'm thinking of getting 2 sticks of 16GB 3600MHz but worried if they can reach 3600MHz or not.
IMO, no point going for 2x16gb 3600 ram for your 2700X

whether can hit 3600 also depends on your mobo as well

in fact, 32Gb of RAM is a bit of overkill, your current 16Gb + 2700X should be sufficient for 90% of the apps usage out there

not only it's expensive, but the price performance ratio imo it's not worth it
greyshadow
post Sep 20 2019, 03:37 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Sep 20 2019, 02:20 PM)
If Intel's i5 wasn't already an R.I.P. case, this one is the nail in the coffin. Would make i3 not worth considering at all as well.
Intel's i5 & i3 will always outsell AMD's CPU no matter how good is the price/performance ratio of AMD's CPU

just look at the major prebuilt PC/laptop brands like Dell, HP and the rest, 90% of their products are still based on Intel CPUs

The Blues already heavily dyed in general public's brain, Red still has a lot of catching up to do

General users will still prefer the blues, whereas only PC enthusiasts like us will look into the price/performance ratio, which is a shrinking population in this age of mobile devices.

greyshadow
post Sep 24 2019, 09:10 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(lavenzo @ Sep 24 2019, 08:54 AM)
Hi I have a x570 aorus pro mobo and sx 8200pro ssd.

I would like to ask should I install the heatsink from the ssd then only install the mobo nvme heatsink? or just the mobo nvme heatsink? or just the ssd heatsink?

i've tried just the mobo nvme heatsink but it seems like it still have gap in between, feel like not contacting the ssd.
just one of the heatsink will do, the heatsink should come with thermalpads to fill the gap

anyway, some claim nvme ssd doesn't need additional cooling at all, as it will kill off the ssd faster, and that's a bit of OT already, you can read more of it in google or ssd thread
greyshadow
post Sep 27 2019, 08:26 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(MrRaiden @ Sep 26 2019, 07:25 PM)
If I upgrade to aftermarket cooler it is worth it? any recommendation good stock cooler? budget around RM300.
noise is very subjective, my stock cooler on 3700x is pretty quiet for my case.

anyhow... since you got a budget around RM300, why not consider AIO?
greyshadow
post Oct 1 2019, 03:49 PM

1,844 posts

us early adopters habuk pun takda sad.gif
greyshadow
post Oct 20 2019, 01:18 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Oct 20 2019, 01:05 PM)
I having issue with my ryzen 5 3600 and msi b450 tomahawk max.
Keep on restart on window and game.
Check my hardware and everything tightened and perform clean window installation & dl latest bios also same..

I do notice my cpu speed permenant at 4.2 ghz and never goes below than that  console.gif

Anyone facing this issue before? Please help. cry.gif
use the HWinfo tool to monitor the stats over a period, you'll get better idea on what's causing it
greyshadow
post Oct 20 2019, 01:18 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Oct 20 2019, 01:05 PM)
I having issue with my ryzen 5 3600 and msi b450 tomahawk max.
Keep on restart on window and game.
Check my hardware and everything tightened and perform clean window installation & dl latest bios also same..

I do notice my cpu speed permenant at 4.2 ghz and never goes below than that  console.gif

Anyone facing this issue before? Please help. cry.gif
use the HWinfo tool to monitor the stats over a period, you'll get better idea on what's causing it
greyshadow
post Nov 15 2021, 12:07 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 12 2021, 10:15 AM)
Here we go again

AMD Ryzen CPUs Could Be in Threat From Raptoreum Crypto Miners
https://techdator.net/amd-ryzen-cpus-could-...-crypto-miners/
just tried mining with my old AMD Ryzen 3700X vs new Intel i9-11900KF

my old 3700X stock mining performance on stock fan is on par with the i9 with AIO Cooler laugh.gif
it's even slightly faster laugh.gif

and damn me! the result aren't bad after 1 day of mining with both, waaay better return than what you can get from the nicehash or XMR mining

if this catches on, expect more miner grabbing up the Ryzen 9 sweat.gif

greyshadow
post Nov 26 2021, 03:20 PM

1,844 posts

year end hand itchy planning for upgrade the B450 mobo and maybe the 3700X CPU as well

checked online local price
CPU price still reasonable, still on the high side, but not much scalping there compared to last year
but celaka X570 mobo price is still ridiculous shakehead.gif

buying from Amazon + shipping + tax also still cheaper than buying local doh.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Nov 26 2021, 03:33 PM
greyshadow
post Nov 26 2021, 04:29 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Nov 26 2021, 03:56 PM)
If u re hunting 5950x, there's combo offer with Ebucket. Offer only paired with 5950x. Nothing else.
I m sure it will be irresistible if u see it.

Disclaimer : NOT liable if you got a lousy chip that bsod/whea. I m just pointing to where the offers are.
yeah saw that, it is a pretty attractive combo, 3999 for 5950x + X570s Aorus Elite AX mobo

but... pulled the trigger on Amazon liao, as today's black friday offer + I have a few cash vouchers on hand
it's still waaay cheaper than buying locally tongue.gif

greyshadow
post Dec 1 2021, 11:52 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ Nov 30 2021, 10:36 PM)
yea saw the price are way cheaper than in malaysia even add in tax and shipping...but i scared only the condition when it reach here....so much horror stories on packaging mishandled ....please let us know hows condition when u receive it ...thnks
so far so good on my PC parts purchased from Amazon, just make sure you're buying items that are Sold by Amazon and Shipped from Amazon
avoid any 3rd party sellers there

for packing I think depending on luck on the warehouse staffs you encountered, sometimes I have a lot of padding, and sometimes not sufficient sweat.gif

All my shipments are handled by UPS, you just need to worry about the last mile delivery as my area doesn't have UPS and they outsourced to 3rd parties

bought CPU, GPU, RAM, storage and VR from them before, all arrived in perfect condition

even got a free refurbished Arctis wireless pro headset from them before due to their own mistake tongue.gif
(I bought new, arrived refurbished, complained, they refunded without asking me to return it) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Dec 1 2021, 11:53 AM
greyshadow
post Feb 21 2022, 10:23 PM

1,844 posts

gotten an Ryzen 9 5900X "free"
so building my 2nd rig with leftover parts from previous upgrade

Mobo: ASRock Steel Legend B450
Case: NZXT 510
Cooler: AMD Stock Wraith Prism

The case and mobo was from my old 3700X rig, it run fine without any excessive heat issue, but with this 5900X combo, even I didn't get thermal throttle, but seeing the temp constantly at 90C ++ at full load at making me uneasy

so I gotten a Scythe Fuma 2 and replace the stock cooler, and temp only dropped to 83C range, still kinda high for me, was hoping to get around 75C range

my other rig running 5950x with Cooler master ML280 AIO, max temp is at 62C at full load

wonder what's wrong here? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Feb 21 2022, 10:24 PM
greyshadow
post Feb 22 2022, 09:43 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 22 2022, 09:29 AM)
Should be the Bios of that b450 making the cpu boosting too sensitively. AMD and shitty inconsistent bios berpisah tiada.
so mobo could be the culprit then? hmm.gif
but I was farming Raptoreum with CPUminer, hence it's always at 100% tongue.gif

I'll try reapply the TIM tonight, I also suspect could be too little TIM as I was applying just bare minimum, left only a bit of Kyronaut from previous rig tongue.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Feb 22 2022, 09:44 AM
greyshadow
post Feb 22 2022, 04:59 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 22 2022, 04:23 PM)
CPUMiner is trash. Use XMRig instead.

My 5900x and 3900x only hitting 75c max mining RTM, both only equipped with a NH-D15s. Don't even need 360mm AIO.
didn't know XMRig added ghostrider already, seems better than cpuminer, thanks for the headsup! thumbup.gif

if your D15 hitting only 75c, meaning something is wrong with mine already, gotta reseat the cooler and reapply the TIM tonight while changing to XMRig

0.2263sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:54 AM