cstkl1
post Jan 25 2021, 09:55 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jan 25 2021, 09:48 PM)
Zen3 is competitive against Rocket Lake but Alder Lake is coming by second half of 2021 with DDR5 and PCIe5 while Zen4 has no news yet... Also, Intel does not have supply issues at TSMC while AMD can't even meet demand. If this continues, Intel will regain market share.
itu .. like asking ppl to be test subject. lol.

cstkl1
post Jan 25 2021, 11:16 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Jan 25 2021, 10:33 PM)
Gaming at 4k TV on DMC 5 cause cpu reach 91C stabilize.
This kind of temp damn long never see. 5900X on 240AIO really kenot  laugh.gif
meanwhile gpu steady at 65-70C.

at least the 750w can handle both on uni heaven and valley + gaming for now.
best upgrade combo ever i had done in a while.
nrw says u can do stock
so try to set power limit etc all to actual stock 105w

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jan 26 2021, 12:01 AM
cstkl1
post Jan 26 2021, 11:27 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 26 2021, 10:00 AM)
some 700-800 z490 had bot bad vrms like the msi z490 a pro, also one model of gigabyte z490 but i forgot which model.

And since it's z490 it's easy to set any power limit that you want anyways.
mobos now both camp just port tech + upgrade from aib

x299 tech ported to x570
x570 tech ported to z490
z490 tech portrd to b550
b550/z490 ported to x570 dark hero
now all ported to z590 with $$$ for thunderbolt 4,wifi 6e

1) because of idiots in youtube/sites kept using vrm phases as "quality" .. marketing has all gone bonkers and now all expensive

2) all the prices we are seeing on on z590.. thats a good indication of zen 4 ... x670 price is gonna be like as well z690 for alderlake

3) always buy based on bios options first and then mobo. you got to see how the implementation of oc is like on stock cpu like architecture. you want EVERY feature of stock cpu while having the ability to oc.
example asus DOS on amd and asus z490 v/f . this is what i see as a leap in bios implementation.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jan 26 2021, 11:35 AM
cstkl1
post Jan 27 2021, 04:24 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(gash728 @ Jan 27 2021, 01:38 AM)
hi i am using ryzen 7 3700x, my game alot instance,open until 10 will start lag d hmm
How dat possible.
cstkl1
post Jan 27 2021, 04:27 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 26 2021, 09:05 PM)
I was playing COD cold war when it happened. There was no sudden drop in framerate nor did the game crash. I just decided to check event viewer now and the error is reported there.
Cod. Warzone is crazy on “stability”
Coldwar because of dlss/rtx reduces this but
Have u noticed how “rt” or “dlss” type games seem to behave like javascript??

cstkl1
post Jan 27 2021, 04:30 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 26 2021, 09:05 PM)
I was playing COD cold war when it happened. There was no sudden drop in framerate nor did the game crash. I just decided to check event viewer now and the error is reported there.
Cod. Warzone is crazy on “stability”
Coldwar because of dlss/rtx reduces this but
Have u noticed how “rt” or “dlss” type games seem to behave like javascript??

Bomchi you da code guy right. Have u noticed this on dlss2.0??

Infact was talking to owikh84 the other day and we both had our rig before rtx 3080.. alot of ram issue etc all happened after we put ampere on the mobo.
Coincidence??

nrw did u notice anything coinciding with ampere on the system ??
cstkl1
post Feb 9 2021, 05:03 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Feb 9 2021, 01:35 PM)
cstkl1 would like to have a word
he has a point

asus unless u pay for maximus/crosshair/rampage.. the rest.. is ???
currently they made strix-e not bad
itx i dare say the b550i strix the only decent non crosshair itx they ever made but not cheap also

they nerf the bios based on tier

msi doesnt..
giga bios on intel is like a archaic piece of rubbish but like z490 ram oc part was actually decent

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Feb 9 2021, 05:05 PM
cstkl1
post Feb 10 2021, 09:31 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Feb 10 2021, 08:09 AM)
Strix-E pricing is kinda ruined in Malaysia though.

Z490-E is priced to go against Aorus Ultra in US, but in Malaysia it's just a bit short of Aorus Master pricing.
B550-E is priced to go against B550 Aorus Master in US, but here's it's price closely matches the X570 Aorus Master instead.

As for B550-I, it doesn't look anything special compared to the X570-I variant - I would have bought it without thinking if it just copied the X570-I's feature set and added a USB-C front port header.
strix b550 itx, da only mobo on asus afaik everybody 3900/3950x boosted as per advertised.
cstkl1
post Feb 10 2021, 09:37 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 9 2021, 06:58 PM)
Asus BIOS ain't that well laid out too anyways, at least as far as their ROG boards are concerned. Sub menus after sub menus.

Things you change in the "Tweaker" menu does not get applied unless you also change them in the AMD PBS menus. Lol.
not sure amd but asus on intel is pretty well laid out

intel has mrc algo for training. asus provides them all.

giga what owikh84 loves is, the counter. it shows the values being applied.. odt etc etc.

i can tell you this giga, msi favours ram high frequency with loss in performance. aslong can train
asus favours PERFORMANCE, instead of booting everything.
till date when you get it right in asus.. all ram bandwidth/latency .. it beats giga/msi.

they fae tunes asus board on performance.

Bonchi
giga master the best oc board in terms of value normally
dual bios , etc etc

now they are trying to compete with APEX with tachyon,
seems like just like that.. they like fark the SOC naming and start some new naming shit. lol

cstkl1
post Feb 13 2021, 03:16 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 13 2021, 03:52 AM)
Found and updated to 20H2 which is on another menu that i had to click to download, not at “check for updates”.

Yep the DAC im using was SMSL M3. No issues running on my macbook on both OSX and Bootcamp. Just this AMD rig that keeps on giving me surprises after every attempt to fix it.
u belum belajar zen

till then more lessons incoming
cstkl1
post Feb 13 2021, 07:23 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 13 2021, 07:11 PM)
Currently trying my luck to get a 3950x........

Any particular issues that I need to know before I get one Zen 2?
if u no zen, u wont like it.
but its made to teach ppl zen

jokes aside.. afaik all b550 works well with 3k series amd cpu
cstkl1
post Feb 21 2021, 10:49 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Feb 21 2021, 10:27 AM)
So now it's not the CPU problem but mobo chipset?
Lucky too also still using X470
personally i think its because of agesa.

just to drop some info based on intel cpu and pre ryzen cpu
electrical spec etc given to aib with final test units
aib design the board. test based on sampling of 1k tray es units.

cpu is stable DAY 1.

what happens after this is memory tuning for various chipset etc etc for sensing. so ppl can oc
and various firmware updates to other parts of the board
cpu might get a mrc code update . might affect tuning
but day 1 cpu is stable with stock ram.

now comes agesa
unknown spec
its a cluster F cause u might see some boards from aib had a tolerance level in the design to accommodate the new agesa changes and some not.

so this shit got to stop. amd has no biz on tuning sensing for fclk 2k etc. that shit wont work with all boards.

Y amd went agesa. its to hide the fact the cpu yield has variation and some of it is unstable.

it wasnt until b550 that ryzen 3 series was boosting to its advertised stock clocks.

keep defending them by fantards sayin my shit works etc.. so dont blame amd..

cstkl1
post Feb 22 2021, 12:14 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Feb 21 2021, 06:01 PM)
If due to Agesa then problem will not be limited to only b550/x570.

Blindly attacking is as bad as blindly defending.
da first line

"If due to Agesa then problem will not be limited to only b550/x570."

lu tak da paham the content but just got triggered with few key words agesa, b550 etc..

its like somebody wrote

obama rode a horse got injured and didnt die from covid

and all you got from it

"obama die from covid"

lol.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Feb 22 2021, 12:19 AM
cstkl1
post Feb 22 2021, 08:26 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Feb 22 2021, 08:05 AM)
Now I tak paham content? Ok
Like I said, anyone can complain.
you dont understand that when agesa changes the electrical tolerance level, sensing etc. board design cannot accommodate this. ram fae has to retune dram sensing.

thats y when b550 was launched, aib could fix new design to accommodate the agesa at that time which is why zen 3000 cpu worked superbly with it.

its also the reason why x570 dark is the best mobo.

anyway like you said anyone can complain
but few understand the issue hence they dont understand the complaint

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Feb 22 2021, 08:27 AM
cstkl1
post Mar 17 2021, 11:04 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 17 2021, 10:50 AM)
Yes ryzen tends to semi idle at much higher voltage than it loads. The argument behind it was to be able to allow it to boost on demand very quickly from a sleep state and not suffer instability or crashing. While at high loads, the cpu can lock into fix frequency so it can drop into a lower voltage and sustain at the voltage efficiency because it is no longer boosting up and down.

In full idle/standby however, it will drop down to 0.9v and enter a sleep state. but a simple interrupt such as a mouse movement will make it spike up to 1.4v in a short burst.

Thanks to that, ryzen have higher idles. And it is by design.. so i guess there will be no such thing as a fix.
omg its not RYZEN idle. its how all cpu are

loadline loadline loadline

high vcore idle > temp is false
its current.

1amp 0.8v vs 1amp 1.4v

not gonna be 29c vs 45c ya.

cstkl1
post Aug 21 2021, 05:56 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(WillSmith @ Aug 21 2021, 09:49 AM)
Hi all AMD sifu here. I been using amd 5 3700x with Asus ROG Strix x570 for almost 2year. For 3700x the most i hate is the temperature but finally i manage to get an AIO last year Corsair H115i capellix which full load doesn't reach above 80c. Since i never use intel before, from AMD K6-2 -> Athlon64 -> Phenom then FX8350 finally jump to the 3700x. 3700x performance is really good for my daily productivity and very light gaming. From last year MCO till today my daily productivity in a day cut short maybe only 20-30%, gaming 10-20% and the rest of time watch drama/movie/surf. Still using my 3years RX570 8GB   nod.gif .
I really want to try out the AMD 5000 series since it will be the last of AM4 before AM5 is coming. 5900 i way out of my budget. So 5600x,5700g and 5800x which 1 should i go?

5900x out of budget
5800x Upgrade but heard this proc is more hotter than 3700x and higher power draw in multi-threaded work loads
5700G  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  maybe in case my RX570 die i still have integrated graphics.  hmm.gif
5600x Downgrade. Compare this with 3700x is 5600x being less 2 core 4 thread is it performance on real application have much impact? Mostly image and video editing like Adobe software, Photopia, PowerDirector 365, Handbrake and few other.

Sifu please help  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
u alredy got the mobo and zen 2
so just go 5k series

based on ure workload though.. u might be asking for trouble if ure cpu bad and performance diff might be negligble

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Aug 21 2021, 06:07 PM
cstkl1
post Oct 14 2021, 05:58 PM

6,799 posts

bye bye zen 5series.
cstkl1
post Oct 24 2021, 07:59 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(AMD64 FX51 @ Oct 24 2021, 05:17 PM)
Lol…AMD fans must support support
better they keep their dough come this nov

MY no fans of camp. only white ppl stupid defending stuff they buy so cheap

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 24 2021, 08:00 PM
cstkl1
post Oct 27 2021, 04:10 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 27 2021, 10:03 AM)
no need. just go adl.
that architecture doomed. expect more problems only.
hai. zen ppl report report.
3d cache just going to make things worse

see intel fiasco from 8700k to 10900k cache upping.
cstkl1
post Oct 28 2021, 10:37 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Oct 28 2021, 02:44 AM)
I have to wait border reopen cuz singkie price is insane markup..... so i may as well skip this gen afterall my 10600K is still blazing fast. I planned to get rocketlake but scrapped the plan because this 10600k is good enough lol.
I'll just wait till 13th gen. By then should have many SS to get things started laugh.gif
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Oct 28 2021, 09:52 AM)
Not me. But I also think it's not good to trash talk competitors product just because you don't like it.
Maybe it to complement their SAM.
The main disadvantage I see with Ryzen compare to ADL is it doesn't have efficiency cores to handle background task when main cores doing intensive work.

Anyway, ADL hype train marketing have started in the media now.
trash talking intel & amd and u see only AMD

talking about flaws. not hiding or being in denial about it dude.

rkl fixed , adl improved. amd shorterm answer seems like a repeat of intel doing 9th and 10th gen which is flawed with paririty issues.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Oct 28 2021, 10:43 AM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.2308sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:19 AM