AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 28 2021, 09:07 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 27 2021, 07:57 PM)
Some folks here had their points on what was wrong with AMD beginning with Zen 2 and now Zen 3. Bonchi and gang is not wrong for what they raised. But you keep harping on it over and over and over again, bitter A F, it gets tiring for the rest of us. You throw shade at the AMD fanboys, defending AMD blindly. But your constant hating has put you on the other extreme end of that spectrum now.
Daily Driver: AMD Ryzen 7 5800x | EK AIO 240 D-RGB + 2 x Noctua NF-P12 Redux 1700 | MSI MAG X570 Tomahawk WiFi | Klevv Cras XR RGB DDR4 4000 32gb (8gb x 4) Hynix DJR | Asus TUF RTX 3090 OC Edition 24gb GDDR6X | Cooler Master V850 850w 80+ Gold | System Drive: Adata XPG SX8200 Pro NVME M.2 512gb SSD | Game Drive 1: Patriot Burst SATA 480gb SSD | Game Drive 2: Crucial BX500 SATA 960gb SSD | Storage Drive: Seagate Barracuda 1tb HDD | Fractal Design Define R6 White TG ATX + 3 x Noctua NF-P14S Redux | LG 27GL850-B UltraGear Nano IPS G-Sync Comp. 144hz | Royal Kludge RK61 Wireless | Corsair Harpoon RGB Wireless | Edifier R1280DB

how much did you sell the 5900X for? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 29 2021, 01:22 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

is it just me or local retaillers are selling motherboards at 30-50USD markup as well?

MSI Tomahawk B550 at RM800, but newegg sell USD150....
if convert, should be 600+ only sweat.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 30 2021, 08:42 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 29 2021, 03:45 PM)
If my memory recall correctly, I did see some sellers listing B550 Tomahawk for about RM 650++ on Shopee.

But checking now, several sellers have it in stock at prices - 739 (pc byte) 720 (etech) 714 (artidea) 720 (sl integrated) 719 (eggcomptech)

Boleh tahan lah, not 800! haha
my only concern from online retailer is i dont have CPU to flash bios for 5000 series sweat.gif sweat.gif
unless can borrow yours? tongue.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 30 2021, 11:20 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 30 2021, 11:00 AM)

Should i get the Tomahawk or gaming plus then? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

I dont wanna OC, just want lots of SATA and PCI-E slots for storage for academic purpose brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by EBBattlefield: Mar 30 2021, 11:20 AM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 30 2021, 03:01 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 30 2021, 12:50 PM)
Both have the same amount of SATA & PCIe slots but Tomahawk has more features:

* 2x LAN 2.5G + 1G
* 2x M.2 heatsinks
* Better audio ALC1200 vs ALC892/ALC897
* Support higher RAM frequency
then might as well get Gaming Plus....
I only want 3200mhz RAM and anything gigabit LAN....
not like I live in Sourth Korea can stream 4k udang on udanghub innocent.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 31 2021, 02:21 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

Corsair CX650M and 5800X.
4 3.5" HDD
1 * PCI-E SSD
1 * R9 290

cukup? hmm.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 31 2021, 04:02 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 31 2021, 02:22 PM)
CX = Crap eXtreme

Get NZXT C650 instead
NZXT OEM is seasonic, but Maressia warranty claim etc ok?
5 years or 3 years warranty?
SUSEBBattlefield
post Apr 26 2021, 08:43 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

I had peak temperature of 90C on my 5800X sweat.gif
set to ECO 95W in MSI bios, got it down to 81C max

reduced max voltage by 25mV with ECO95W, got it down to 66C
removed ECO95W limitation, but kept it to 25mV, got 70C sweat.gif

All these while, could maintain 3.8ghz all cores.....
I havent compared Cinebench scores for all 3 instances, but I have a feeling that AMD could have made the 5800X a 65watt TDP part like the 3700X if they wanted to :seat:

gonna try forcing max voltages even lower when i have more time to tweak around
SUSEBBattlefield
post Apr 26 2021, 01:05 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(life5tyle @ Apr 26 2021, 09:27 AM)
Peak temperature of 90°C while you doing what process?
playing Company of Heroes 2 while watching JAV laugh.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Apr 27 2021, 08:44 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(life5tyle @ Apr 26 2021, 08:39 PM)
LOL! But did you turn on aircon? If no aircon, I believe it is normal. Malaysia weather is hot. Most of the review you saw online was based on their home country temperature. In Euro and US, their room temperature was around 25~28.
no aircon in PC room because living room....
cannot even watch JAV on this PC actually....
i lied about JAV, was actuaLLY hELLO KITTY ADVENTURES cry.gif cry.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post May 18 2021, 04:05 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ May 17 2021, 05:22 PM)
Hi guys, any idea when Ryzen 7 5700G will be available in Malaysia?  smile.gif
If Retail, as soon as everyone else since my 5800X made in Malaysia brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 14 2021, 08:25 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 12 2021, 11:58 PM)
Just received the PC... just curious why GPU is connected with pcie 4.0? I thought 5700G support pcie 3.0 only?

is it because Proc <-- pcie 3.0 --> B550 <-- pcie 4.0 --> GPU?
can do benchmark and share here?
cinebench etc. with temperature.

I have a feeling that the 5800X is the bad bin while the 5700 is the good bin in this case laugh.gif

more or less same clock speed, lower TDP even though it comes with IGP, 100USD cheaper (or rather what the 5800X should have costed bangwall.gif bangwall.gif )

This post has been edited by EBBattlefield: Jun 14 2021, 08:26 AM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 14 2021, 12:25 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jun 14 2021, 09:59 AM)
After countless tries and tests, 5 small dots seems to work best.

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 14 2021, 11:51 AM)
Mine..lol

SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 14 2021, 04:30 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 14 2021, 04:24 PM)

welcome to buy OEM PC due to scalper season crowd laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 14 2021, 04:37 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 14 2021, 04:34 PM)
Yeah, will continue to use for a year at least.... worst case will upgrade/swap out the Proc/GC/PSU(800W Gold) for newer build later on...

Really cannot accept the RAM part... I needed > 16GB for VM purposes...
my 2500K sandy bridge still working.
got 16GB DDR3 brows.gif brows.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 16 2021, 08:46 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(senzr @ Jun 15 2021, 07:36 PM)
When you guys are talking about temps, which monitor are you looking at?
There's a big discrepancy between Ryzen Master and HWinfo, at least 6-7C, and I'm not sure which is more accurate.

Gaming temps at 85C (HWinfo reading) on my 5900X are kinda worrying me, not sure if I need a better cooler.
hwinfo and hwmonitor.
accurate as bios.
gave me temp warning laugh.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 19 2021, 10:58 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 14 2021, 10:55 PM)
EBBattlefield With stock cooler, 5700G hit thermal throttle shortly after the test. Score as attached.... It runs stable at 3.92Ghz thermal @ 85c...

nrw here's the mentioned "1-click memory overclocking" on Omen software. Tried running Ryzen master but unfortunately, 5700G is not supported yet.

"Ryzen Master does not support current processor. Unsupported Processor!"

CPU-Z info on motherboard and RAM shared as well. SDP information is not available... due to HP I guess...

Can't complain much as the PC was delivered within 2 days... Will try to upgrade CPU cooler to NH-U9S for the time being and probably add a couple of fans as well..
10% less performance for 30% lower TDP is not bad.
below is my 5800x with PBO on and temperature capped manually at 85C

SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 30 2021, 09:41 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 30 2021, 09:27 AM)
Nola, haha...Just want something more 'future proof'. Currently i already using 2 nvme drive, means max already and no room to add another new one without ditching one of the old drive.

But yeah this is not my main consideration for chipset selection.
Already made my mind and ordered Asus Rog Strix B550 Gaming-XE + 5900x.
The fan on the 570 chipset just turn me off, i don't want to open up and clean my motherboard fan/heatsink occasionally.
get ATX board.
make use of all PCI-E X 16 and X4 slots to your desire. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jul 16 2021, 11:12 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jul 16 2021, 10:29 AM)
Out of curiosity, do you guys recommend a 5900X on a B550 Mobo? Itching to get one but dont plan to change mobo.
some say, with correct VRM, B550 is better than X570 motherboard
I am running a 5800X on a MSI B550 Gaming Plus

This post has been edited by EBBattlefield: Jul 16 2021, 11:12 AM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Aug 24 2021, 11:23 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 23 2021, 02:59 PM)
Hi all, pretty much a noob here with hardware. Currently, I am using a Ryzen 7 3700X CPU and pairing it with a GALAX 3080 TI SG. Just want to check if this CPU is bottlenecking the performance of the GPU (especially with games like COD Black Ops and Warzone). Am tempted to upgrade the CPU to a Zen 3 architecture CPU but not too sure.
main proof that you are noob is that you keep asking about bottlenecking tongue.gif

with a 3080ti, you are going to hit 60-100fps consistently in all or most games at 1080p and 1440p anyway.
even with just a r9 290, i can hit 50fps in most games i play at 4k.

if you are getting 100fps with a 3700x, while your friend is getting 120fps with a 11900k.
both guys are playing at 1080p, then you are just being pedantic.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.2208sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:18 AM