AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

TSterrorist
post Feb 28 2017, 06:29 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

AMD Shows Ryzen Running 3400MHz DDR4 Memory On Asus Crosshair VI Hero Motherboard

AMD used two 8GB 3400MHz G.Skill DDR4 RAM modules with 18-17-17-37-1T timings for this demonstration. What’s perhaps a pleasantly surprising about this is that AMD used its entry level Ryzen 7 processor, the 1700, for the showcase rather than the higher end 1700X or 1800X models. This is AMD’s way of saying that even its slowest chip will have no problem running such high speed memory. An Asus Crosshair VI Hero motherboard was used for this demonstration.

No problem on ASUS mobo, don't worry biggrin.gif

http://wccftech.com/amd-shows-ryzen-runnin...hz-ddr4-memory/
TSterrorist
post Mar 1 2017, 02:41 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

Msi Asrock this week. The rest next week at least..
TSterrorist
post Mar 3 2017, 06:46 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 3 2017, 05:10 PM)
Some people are still not getting the point - I am referring to both AMD and Intel camps.

7700K is an obvious winner for gaming-only cpu. Before down putting Ryzen, Intel camp also need to realize that 7700K also game better than their more expensive 6900K and 6800K. In multi-threaded applications and synthetic benchmarks, R7 matches well with Intel HEDT system, but still loose at gaming. Why? It's all about the clockspeed.

This is the day of GPU being the main performance defacto of your system and gone are the days when MMX and 3D Now were the in-thing. You need a fast enough cpu to feed data to the gpu back and forth.

In gaming, raw clockspeed still has the most advantage in today's games. Ryzen did not lose to Skylake or Kabylake because of IPC, it's because of clockspeed. The gap in clockspeed is significant that extra cores do not give much advantage to overall performance. We can see the 1080p gaming comparison video by Joker Production (Youtube) where the 1700 while utilizing all-cores, the load is very low which means the games are not taking full advantage of the extra cores (a.k.a lazy cores).

What if Ryzen has the exact same clock speed as Skylake/Kabylake? But of course it's not the current situation here because it is hard for an 8-core Ryzen to match the clock of Kaby even with watercooling. But at 3.9GHz overclock, the performance is near to Intel 5ghz. The problem now is that with its base clock, some reviewers are reporting that Ryzen has issues with boost clock. Hardware Unboxed claimed that their 1800X is somewhat stucked at 3.7GHz on his Asrock Taichi board. And I have yet seeing any reviewer that actually analyzes how the boost behavior is on Ryzen. How many active cores are at specific boost clock?

It was different with the old Bulldozer architecture when its high clockspeed was not an advantage due to the FPU resource sharing. In layman's term you can say the performance of clockspeed advantage is cut into half (not literally).

There was another argument regarding gaming resolution. In real world, those with 4K monitors and capable GPU will game at resolutions higher than just 1080p. At 4K the cpu advantage is diminished. 1080p testing is only relevant ONLY IF you want to measure the cpu performance. 7700K wins, hands down, but is it an ideal real world situation? No. If we're being practical... if you have a 4K capable system you will game at 4k, not 1080p. 1080p testing is only if you're stucked with 1080p monitor and it's capable of outputting very high refresh rate. Otherwise, it just serves another bench and bragging right. At 4K gaming and very high end GPU, even the old FX can perform as well as the newer generation CPUs.

This is just some of my thoughts at the moment, will write again later once I have more ideas.
Very good explanation there bro. Great !
TSterrorist
post Mar 6 2017, 11:51 AM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

Some comparison from other country smile.gif

TSterrorist
post Mar 11 2017, 10:12 AM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

ASUS am4 mobo stocks very limited.

Anyone else got a Ryzen rig that can share with us?
TSterrorist
post Mar 18 2017, 12:54 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(cfyong2020 @ Mar 18 2017, 12:30 PM)
dear sifus, i plan upgrade my 9 years old i7 860 to this r5 1400, any budget mobo suggestion for me?
Get those A320 mobo from MSI / ASROCK / ASUS / etc will do. smile.gif
TSterrorist
post Apr 3 2017, 06:03 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

Address : No.33, Jalan PJU 3/48, 47810 Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia.
http://www.ryzen-launch.com/

TSterrorist
post Apr 7 2017, 02:58 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(bpc @ Apr 7 2017, 02:06 PM)
how is that rig ? I read all comments and i think no need to pay extra money to Mobo in that case ? biggrin.gif thx a lot everyone ! (still codulnt find any am4 cooler)

MSI MOTHERBOARD AMD AM4 X370 XPOWER GAMING TITANIUM
  AMD Processor AM4 RYZEN 7 Series 1800X 4.0GHz WITHOUT CPU COOLER
  G.SKILL RAM Desktop DDR4 TRIDENTZ 2X 8GB PC3200 F4-3200C16D-8GTZB  (X2)
  GIGABYTE VGA GF GTX 1070 WF2 OC 8GB DDR5 (GV-N1070WF2OC-8GD)
  CORSAIR Power Supply CX Series CX750M 750W (CP-9020061-UK)
  WESTERN DIGITAL HDD INT Desktop BLACK 3TB SATA3 64MB WD3003FZEX
  WESTERN DIGITAL SSD M.2-2280 SATA3 BLUE 500GB (WDS500G1B0B)
  CM Storm Stryker - White Full Tower Gaming Computer Case
COOLER MASTER / BEQUIET / CORSAIR / THERMALTAKE got the cooler ah..

MSI got their Frozr cooler for AM4 too biggrin.gif
TSterrorist
post Jun 9 2017, 07:47 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(shanetsh @ Jun 9 2017, 12:37 PM)
I met someone at Czone the other day. Can't even get the ram to go above 2400MHz on an Asus MOBO, went back to an MSI Gaming Carbon then gao dim already
ASUS mobo bios issue kot.. rclxub.gif
TSterrorist
post Jun 28 2017, 11:06 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(RM50infrontofme @ Jun 28 2017, 04:23 PM)
Thanks for sharing.... I guess it's better to buy 1x8GB vengeance LPX 2666 then...

Anyways the Ryzens sold in Malaysia is made in Malaysia or China? Kinda ironic if made in Malaysia but not sold in Malaysia.....
some made in Malaysia, some China.. no difference biggrin.gif
TSterrorist
post Jun 30 2017, 05:34 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(cfyong2020 @ Jun 30 2017, 12:03 PM)
guys recently i bought a ryzen 1400, when i play games without air-con turn on...i can hear the processor fan (stock fan) run like super fast and noisy, but when i turn on my air-con the pc will be very silent...i wondering is this normal for ryzen 5 processor?
Download Ryzen Master to monitor the CPU temperature. And it's normal for the fan to spin at high speed when it's working on high load.

And no. I don't think your aircon can make immediate effect to the temperature, unless CPU is directly in front your aircon lol.
TSterrorist
post Jul 2 2017, 10:59 AM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

http://wccftech.com/amd-takes-10-4-cpu-sha...e-gain-history/

AMD has reportedly gained 10.4 percentage points of CPU market share in the second quarter of 2017. This makes it the largest x86 CPU market share gain in the history of the Sunnyvale, California based chip maker against its much larger rival Intel.

The data is courtesy of PassMark’s quarterly market share report, which is based on the thousands of submissions that go through the database in any given quarter. It’s important to note that because PassMark’s market share data is based on benchmark submissions it counts actual systems in use, rather than systems sold. It also does not include consoles or any computer systems running operating systems other than Windows.

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by terrorist: Jul 2 2017, 11:00 AM
TSterrorist
post Jul 2 2017, 12:27 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(sonyfanzz @ Jul 2 2017, 12:17 PM)
Yeah I am going to use it until it die. That is why I plan to do a node202 build so I can bring it with me  tongue.gif
The sexy stock cooler of 1700.. hehehe tongue.gif

TSterrorist
post Jul 4 2017, 11:59 AM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(playstan211 @ Jul 4 2017, 11:41 AM)
I m currently using AMD AB350 gaming 3. Bios is at F6. Is it essential for me to update my Bios to f7? Else if not needed, I would prefer not to touch it.

Another question , how do I check my ram speed ?
Download RYZEN MASTER.
TSterrorist
post Jul 13 2017, 06:07 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(Melvin117 @ Jul 13 2017, 04:53 PM)
Any Ryzen 7 deals in Malaysia?
I've only heard the good deals in US as always
What is considered good deal for you ?
TSterrorist
post Jul 14 2017, 10:57 AM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

Ryzen 3 and TR in coming .. brows.gif

https://community.amd.com/community/amd-cor...product-updates
TSterrorist
post Jul 15 2017, 11:04 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(dryll @ Jul 15 2017, 07:28 PM)
Hi all, I'm planning to get a Ryzen 7 1700 and Gigabyte GA AB350 GAMING 3, but the seller told me that board tends to have a "straight to BIOS" boot issue, is that true? If it is, i cant decide between the ASUS Prime B350 Plus or ASrock Falal1ty AB350 Gaming 4.

Rig will be used for some gaming (with GTX1050) and plenty of multitasking for work.

Thanks!
Don't understand what he mean by " straight to bios " ? which shop told you this lol ?

The ASROCK is pretty good IMO rclxms.gif
TSterrorist
post Jul 21 2017, 12:36 AM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jul 21 2017, 12:21 AM)
TristanX
i am struggling on ax 370 gaming 5 , asrock taichi , ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO and asrock fatal1ty x370 professional gaming.

but i am weird
i check asrock fatal1ty x370 professional gaming they mention support APU
but if not wrong
ryzen processor does not have integrated graphic right?
All the x370 b350 a320 is supporting Bristol Ridge APU as well, meaning to say running on AM4 too.

https://us.hardware.info/reviews/7207/amd-a...cket-am4-review
TSterrorist
post Jul 25 2017, 11:30 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jul 25 2017, 11:29 PM)
manage found 1.3k for ryzen 1700
yesterday say got stock
after i buy mobo
now say all out of stock

wtf !!
any ppl know still got where can get ryzen 1700 for 13xx?
Got so cheap meh ppl sell 1.3k ...

Let me know too if found one .. I wanna buy too hehe
TSterrorist
post Jul 29 2017, 09:15 PM

Custom Title ?
4,246 posts

QUOTE(akagidemon @ Jul 29 2017, 01:09 PM)
pricing for the 16 core is said to be around rm5k....
https://www.facebook.com/Compuzone/photos/a...?type=3&theater

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0336sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:48 PM